$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
211 reviews
awesome vacation

This is one of the best resorts that I have stayed at ... love the food and the location.... and... See full review

  • ijpatel25
  • Sep 4, 2014
First Family Getaway

The staff were wonderful, friendly, and professional. We had a great time, and will come back here... See full review

  • Eygpt567
  • Aug 23, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lattenldy
Washington DC
Dec 17, 2013

Group Trip

Over all enjoyed my stay. The breakfast food wasn't so good. Lunch and dinner were good, We made reservation at the Japanese steak house. That was excellent. The room was clean and staff was nice. Our location was great. We stayed only steps from the beach. We were at the Amber. The alcohol was free flowing at all of the bars. The only problem was it wasn't that way in the rooms. You only got little miniature bottles, one can of beer and different types of water. They only fill the fridges once a day. The pools were nice however it is hard to relax because they have people walking around trying to get you to sign up for excursions all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nickkil
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 12, 2013

First time out of the US

I was worried I would have trouble going to my first all inclusive and first time in another country but I couldn't be happier.. Everyone was helpful and attentive to my needs. Loved every single day. I did an incursion to string ray bay, went to the beach, ate great food, met really nice people, and stayed in a very clean beautiful room. Night life was fun. Karaoke bar, Casino, Dance club, singers and entertainment were all good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Caribbean festival was the best day I had. Went to Swim with the sharks, play with the Sting Rays and then went out to snorkel.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny pincher...
Michigan
Dec 10, 2013

Ladies trip

Nice getaway with my mom's.... Didn't expect the beach to be so far away but transportation is available. Plenty of food so needed to walk off a few extra pounds. Didn't let the little things ruin my vacation. Would go back but would upgrade to be closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRE Mimi
Punta Cana
Dec 5, 2013

good family fun

It's a good place too spend time as a family but if your a couple looking for a gateway select somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

food is not all that good

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noah's mom2
NE PA
Aug 26, 2013

Beach getaway

The beach was beautiful. Soft sand and warm clear water. Water sports were very fun. There were many different pools and they were warm and clean. The rooms were average. Clean, except for the tiny ants that were everywhere. Got about 30 mosquito bites in 6 days. Bring bug spray and bug cream. Pay the couple of extra bucks for the hacienda club. Your room will be close to the beach and you get an extra night in the fancy restaurants. Buffet was average adult food. A little hard for my son, who also has a tree nut allergy. He couldn't eat any desserts for the entire stay. They speak "some" English. The ala carte restaurants were very good. We went to the barbecue, Italian, and Japanese restaurants. Bring snacks. They always have food to eat ( hamburgers,hotdogs), but not what Americans call snacks. Beach was the winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana chic
Puntacana Domician republic
Aug 25, 2013

Family vacation

Everything was great, except not enough beach towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaTravels
Bk, NY
Aug 22, 2013

Ordinary vacay

Got to the hotel at check-in time and there was one person manning the desk with a line of 8 ppl waiting. After about 10 minutes, 2 additional staff came and assisted. Got assigned to a room with a king size bed but I'm vacationing with my Mom. Placed call to front desk and was informed that hotel is full and won't be able to change room until 1pm next day but I would have to call. Room change took place with minimal fuss. Attempted to make reservations at speciality restaurants without success; informed that reservations had to be made the morning of desired day but this proved false. No linen change for entire stay. Bathroom sink finally thoroughly cleaned on day 6. Although entertainment titled Caribbean show and international night, focus was totally latin based which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean in Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2013

Nothing like the pictures

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and asked for 2 queen bed and got a king size instead. My kids had to sleep on a sofa and they did not want to do anything about it. Booked this hotel because it showed big slides for the kids and fun activities but there weren't any big slides and the kids activity hall is a small room with 2 games and very loud music. Food was ok if you don't mind eating all three meals at the same place every day while you are there. We had no house keeping for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. I normally don't like to wright these reviews but this place is really really unorganized and you should consider twice before booking in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations before you even arrive at the resort because they don't like giving those out even if the place is empty.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search