$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Megan B.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

I was very unhappy

I was looking forward to my vacation away with my boyfriend, from the busy city of NY however after our first day at the resort everything was less than ideal. My boyfriend and I were first told our in room mini bar would be restocked everyday (just some basic items soda, water and coffee). After the first day it was never restocked again. The woman who cleaned our room also never put the blanket back on the bed when she made the room up. Our AC also in our room did not work. Prior to our trip I called to make a reservation at the French restaurant. I was told we were unable to make reservations for the restaurants prior to our arrival but they would make a note of it for us. When we arrived apparently there were several reservations made by people prior to their trips and the restaurants were then unavailable. Because I emailed in advance we were booked at the French restaurants and were told its location. We traveled up and down the resort looking for the restaurants and were told by several ppl different locations. Eventually we were taken to the "Italian Restaurant" which they had changed to the French one and had not notified anyone. We went to a couples massage and the whole time the women were coughing and sneezing...less than relaxing. The staff when asked questions appeared indifferent and often did not know the answer to questions like location of items or who we could ask for help. We were told to meet our travel guide to plan our trip back at a certain time, the man did not come, we were often left wandering the resort looking for someone who knew the answer to our questions. The food overall was really unpleasant and we survived mostly on bread and butter. So overall I would say our experience was very unpleasant, we both were very happy to come home and felt very upset that our trip cost so much and was so unhappy. It wouldn't ever go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharum N.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Not What you expect

If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it. Even though they lie and show pictures of the resort on the beach. It is 4 different resorts shown as one. You have to take a 10 minute shuttle to get to the beach each time. There is no room service, they advertise it because one of the 4 resorts have room service. But you would have to take shuttles to just grab a small bite. The rooms had bedbugs and were not clean. The beds were really hard and springs popping out. Over all if you just want to be in a warm place and wast half your trip in shuttles go for it. If you want to relax on the Beach and have some drinks look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good thing about the trip is when we left the resort and went to the dolphin show about 30 minutes from the resort driving. $125 to swim with the dolphins or $35 for just the show. Along with the dolphins they had many other animals to view and pet.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manuel F.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Romantic Getaway...

This was such a beautiful hotel! Great for couples or family getaways... Lots to do, believe me you won't be bored! Restaurants are GREAT! Me and my husband really enjoyed it especially the club and casino, YES, CASINO! We had an AMAZING time! Thank you, Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly B.
Business
Gwynn Oak
Dec 29, 2014

Awesome couples get away

As always the Grand Bahia was a great place to visit..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SgtMo
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Dec 6, 2014

Great for all family and adult only!

The staff is wonderful...tip them don't be cheap. The down side? The slew of rude, obnoxious foreign tourist. They will shove their way through the buffet and smoke in your face EVERYWHERE! Minus the rude foreign tourists I love this place. We will redo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danni007
Business
NJ
Dec 1, 2014

Would recommend :-)

Clean rooms, good food/good selection. Amazingly friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mateo Ross
Business
Kentucky
Nov 27, 2014

Things you need to know

Getting there is about 35 minutes but not a bad drive. The cost is 60 from airport by taxi. The resort is comprised of 5 resorts, which you are not allowed to go ro 3 of them if you stay at this resort. We were there 6 nights and are only allowed to eat ala carte 3 times and are only choices were Japanese and barbq. We travel a lot and this is our third time in Dominican and the resort is nice and clean. The shows were good and they make every effort to transport guests around the large campus. The beach is nice but trying to get a chair is extremely difficult due to 5 resorts guests. The communication at check in is extremely poor and guest services was a joke. They do not let you know where things will be held or when, it's up to you to figure things out. The food was good at the Buffett and the two restaraunts. I have read posts that said they will offer a club priveledge and you can purchase upon check in, so I called and asked and they stated that was true, so when we get there I was ready to purchase and they said nothing available so started off poor. I think the staff really are attentive and work hard but the communication was just lacking and with the resort being so big it seemed like we probably missed a lot of fun events. I am not saying not to go here but be prepared, the resort is nice but the experience could be improved signifiCantly by just improving communication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the Buffett because restaraunts are limited

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zqmaster666
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2014

Good place to stay for vacation

The staff are very helpful! Recommend! The meals are just ok tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhillyDiva215
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 25, 2014

grand bahia

This resort is close to perfection. For the price you just cant beat it. Always something to do, entertainment at the pool/beach/lobby, etc. The only thing i did not like was the restaraunts required a reservation you cannot just walk in and eat. I dont like being timed on a vacation. Anywhoo, the resort is huge and BEAUTIFUL. The beach is not as clear as i thought it would be but thats punta cana in general, not the resort. I would definitely come back here but next time I'd stay at adults only side. They only played spanish music and most of the employees did not speak english. At night it can get a little rowdy. None of these things bothered me, but if thats not your thing consider staying elsewhere. All in all, great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

imagine- a nightclub made out of a cave.. awesome

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneM 49
Business
Niagara Falls On
Nov 24, 2014

Fabulous

Had a great week there last week. Food is great , taste, variety, presentation. Drinks excellent. My second time here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Teppanyaki steak house was amazing.

Back to menu Return to top