$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mihaiela S.
Couples
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Perfect vacantion

Beautiful hotel Perfect clean Very nice people One dream vacation !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinny V.
Family
Morganville
Jan 15, 2015

Whole Family trip

This was an excellent trip for myself and my wife and her family. It was an excellent value, so much so, we were able to book 3 nights for her family that lives in the DR. It was a great experience for them and a joy to be a part of. The hotel was great, with the kids water park area and the shows at night were very good and everything else that you would expect for an all inclusive hotel in punta cana... pools, beach, restaurants, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure to book the a la carte restaurants in advance.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arber
Couples
Melrose
Jan 14, 2015

Great Experience.

We enjoyed a lot our staying at Grad Bahia Principe. The beach was wonderful, the staff was excellent and friendly ( especially the waiters and bartenders) and the food was delicious with plenty of drinks all inclusive. There were a lot of entertainments and shows all the day. The only things that I didn't like was the mattress and the pillows of our bed. The mattress was very hard, it should have been softer than that. As overall experience I'll give 5 stars to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily P.
Couples
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Beach was Great. Food was awful.

I would not recommend this hotel again. The food was absolutely awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily P.
Couples
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Pools/Beach/Drinks Great - Food was awful

We stayed 8 nights and 9 days. Positive: Beach were beautiful. Pools were so clean. Landscaping was impecable. Drinks were easy to get and well made. Negative: The food was the worst that I have ever experienced, and the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful 80 of the time. Tip- Reserve your beach/pool chair by 8am at the latest. Do not eat at the seafood restaurant. We would not reserve a room night again here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fritzy
Friends
Dorchester
Jan 6, 2015

It was okay for the price

The hotel is huge. if you want more accommodations you have to stay in a different section of the resort. Bravo was okay for the price you get. The food was not the best. You also have to tell the staff if you want liquor in your drink. Everybody does things for a tip. It was worth the price but not the best place you can stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claudia L.
Couples
Pico Rivera
Jan 5, 2015

Great couple's trip

We had an amazing time!!!! The hotel was very nice and clean. All of the staff we had the pleasure of meeting were incredibly helpful and nice. The food was good. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natalie18
Couples
Fort Drum
Jan 5, 2015

Relaxing Honeymoon (Hacienda Club)

My husband and I stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro for our honeymoon in December 2014 and had a great time! We paid the few extra dollars a night for the "Hacienda Club" and it was a great decision! Upon check in, you are taken to a private welcome with a welcome drink and friendly staff. Not only was the Hacienda room close to the beach and main pools, but there's a separate breakfast & lunch restaurant right next to the main pool area (it also serves as the Mexican restaurant for dinner). The breakfast was amazing! It was very close to our room so we didn't try the main buffet for breakfast but what was nice about the separate breakfast area was that it was never packed, and people weren't scrambling to get food. We didn't do any excursions, but when I had been to Punta Cana a couple years ago I did the "Bavaro splash" (a half day of snuba and you can drive a two-seater speed boat) which I would suggest for anyone who's interested in snuba (combination of scuba diving and snorkeling). Instead of doing an excursion we paid extra for a "Romantic Dinner on the Beach" which was well worth the money in my opinion. The room was very nice and always clean, the restaurants were good, and the staff was friendly. We only stayed for 5 nights and the only reservation times that were available were for after 9pm, so upon arrival I would suggest making a reservation right away. We didn't mind eating late since we enjoyed most of the day by the pool and beach and wanted to take advantage of that. We had reservations at the BBQ and at the Japanese restaurant and both were good! The BBQ had similar food as the main buffet besides some extra meats, I wish we would have opted for the Italian or French instead but BBQ was all that was available for that day. The Japanese restaurant has a regular sit down menu and also hibachi. We didn't realize until we got to dinner that we had reservations for the regular sit down dinner but it was still really good! The main buffet for dinner had an abundance of options, so I have a hard time seeing how some people claim to not find anything to eat. We also went to the casino that they had multiple slot machines and a few different tables. Heads up that drinks are NOT included in the casino. We did not go to the disco, we heard it was so-so but I regret not checking it out. The lobby area seemed to close down every night at around 11pm, so if you want to keep drinking then I would go to the disco. One thing we didn't know about until the second to last day was that there is a late night snack bar which are both located by the main pool. One was open from 10pm-midnight and the other from midnight-3am. The food at the late night snack bar was burgers, hot dogs, nachos, salad bar, and other foods of that sort. For the price of this resort it was definitely nice and I would suggest anyone who doesn't want to spend a lot of money to go to this resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would suggest spending a little bit more money on the Hacienda Club!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Megan B.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

I was very unhappy

I was looking forward to my vacation away with my boyfriend, from the busy city of NY however after our first day at the resort everything was less than ideal. My boyfriend and I were first told our in room mini bar would be restocked everyday (just some basic items soda, water and coffee). After the first day it was never restocked again. The woman who cleaned our room also never put the blanket back on the bed when she made the room up. Our AC also in our room did not work. Prior to our trip I called to make a reservation at the French restaurant. I was told we were unable to make reservations for the restaurants prior to our arrival but they would make a note of it for us. When we arrived apparently there were several reservations made by people prior to their trips and the restaurants were then unavailable. Because I emailed in advance we were booked at the French restaurants and were told its location. We traveled up and down the resort looking for the restaurants and were told by several ppl different locations. Eventually we were taken to the "Italian Restaurant" which they had changed to the French one and had not notified anyone. We went to a couples massage and the whole time the women were coughing and sneezing...less than relaxing. The staff when asked questions appeared indifferent and often did not know the answer to questions like location of items or who we could ask for help. We were told to meet our travel guide to plan our trip back at a certain time, the man did not come, we were often left wandering the resort looking for someone who knew the answer to our questions. The food overall was really unpleasant and we survived mostly on bread and butter. So overall I would say our experience was very unpleasant, we both were very happy to come home and felt very upset that our trip cost so much and was so unhappy. It wouldn't ever go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharum N.
Family
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Not What you expect

If you are looking for a beach resort this is not it. Even though they lie and show pictures of the resort on the beach. It is 4 different resorts shown as one. You have to take a 10 minute shuttle to get to the beach each time. There is no room service, they advertise it because one of the 4 resorts have room service. But you would have to take shuttles to just grab a small bite. The rooms had bedbugs and were not clean. The beds were really hard and springs popping out. Over all if you just want to be in a warm place and wast half your trip in shuttles go for it. If you want to relax on the Beach and have some drinks look for something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good thing about the trip is when we left the resort and went to the dolphin show about 30 minutes from the resort driving. $125 to swim with the dolphins or $35 for just the show. Along with the dolphins they had many other animals to view and pet.

Back to menu Return to top