$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beautiful Latin girl
Goshen, IN
Sep 22, 2012

Best vacation ever!

OMG is all I have to said! Gran Bahia Principe is the best Hotel in Punta Cana, rooms are big and very nice, the hotel is beutiful, lots of things to do and places to go, the restaurants OMG are the best, the food is excellent all you wanna eat and drink all day and all night long. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is can like to do things and explore the Dominican culture. Beutiful place I LOVE IT, Can't wait to go next year AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dominican Republic is a very beautiful place, Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DonDonD18
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2014

Punta Cana - Grand Bahia Bavaro

We did not have a "4 Star" experience in Punta Cana. We were incredibly disappointed. Very limited with restaurant choices and the buffets were not open for very long. The food was terrible and the casino was under construction. We will not recommend this resort and actually recommended to some friends that were planning to go there to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dirksen
Business
Chicago
Nov 15, 2014

Great couples retreat

The resort was great. Events going on every night at no additional cost. The drinks are great and the servers are fantastic - especially if you speak some Spanish. The A La Cart restaurants were great, and the buffet was pretty decent. The beach was unreal and has no closing time!!! Feel free to take a cigar or drink to the beach after dark and enjoy the waves, incredibly soft sand, and waves crash to the shore in the moonlight. Also.... even just walking through the waves at night is the best idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
little Morena
Business
Mass
Nov 2, 2014

WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the negatives were true, the staff was phenomenal always made sure that everything was up to par. i will be coming back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

all attractions are beautiful and worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Business
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLawrence22781
Business
Franklin, NH
Oct 19, 2014

Great vacation!

Great time! Would recommend to couples, singles, and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoneLady traveler
Business
Phoenix, Az
Oct 4, 2014

Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful time during my stay in punta cana. All the hotel staff were very accommodating and inviting. I had no trouble making new friends, The resort is very large and has a very diverse population of people from all over the world. Great value for the dollar. I will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Be ready for lots of American tunes, if you want to dance to Latin you'll have to go off the resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Susan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 28, 2014

Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a perfect vacation..Simon the grave shift manager was amazing...and our driver Sandri was too beautiful and kind to us......so many people to assist with anything you need and even thought a huge resort - easy to move around on the trains available all day and night...Doctor on-site as well as a pharmacy....we had a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak House was excellent food and the staff was perfection..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elysendra
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 24, 2014

great paradise getaway

my sixth time in Punta Cana, and each time I stay at different resorts, I would definitely return to this one, its very spacious, very clean, great variety of food and lots of it...friendliest staff, and immaculate and beautiful grounds and beach !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sisi md
Business
Maryland
Sep 22, 2014

Dont ruin your vacation at this place

Hotel is one of 4 or 5 hotels and they all share same grounds. Showers are poorly designed and when you take shower entire floor soaked in water. There is no fan in bathroom so imagine how much it steams. Pools are big and nice but too much activity and its sooo loud, hard to relax. Hotel has small stores owned by local people and you cant walk around with out being harassed by them. They have no price tags on anything. We wanted to buy a bottle of mammajuana and they tried to sell us from $25 which we purchased from hotel's gift shop $10( where they have price tags on items). They have bunch of activity companies for snorkeling, parasailing, dolphin swimming etc and they dont leave you alone not even 5 mins. Good luck relaxing! They bug you all the time and dont accept the answer no. We stayed 4 nights and they told us we can only dine in 2 alacart restaurants but they were booked for 2 weeks. They told us what time and which restaurant we can eat. Booked us in Meditaranean at 6.30pm one evening which was too early to eat for us but we have had no choice. Restaurant had no AC, closed space with couple of windows open. We ate dinner which was really blaahh and left asap because of heat.. Very uncomfortable dining experience! Food is not good in buffet restaurants. Left for hours with out protection so you are most likely to find a fly in it.. The company called Vip for transportation service is a joke. He told us he will leave our pick up time to the room but never did. He gave us his cell and said if we ask for him in the lobby they will find him asap. Unfortunately he was no where to be found. We talked to someone from Soultour which is what i understand is a sister company to Vip. She told us we ll be picked up at 11.15 in the lobby for airport. No one showed up.. We tried to call this Vip rep Victor guy but no one found him.. Only thing they said Victor is not here..They kept sending us from one desk to another. Eventually they said Vip car left and if we pay another $40 they will take us to airport. There were another couple in same situation. I ve had a nervous breakdown and yelled at some people and 30 mins later they sent another car to take us airport. It was very scary because Dominican Republic can be very dangerous place.. Only good thing was servers at the restaurants. Nice friendly people. They went up and beyond to make sure we were having good time and we tipped them very well. Overall, scary experience with airport transportation and poor quality hotel. I will never go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do not shop from locals!! They will try to screw you.. Go to hotel owned gift shop where you can see prices on everything..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nnnnnnnnn
Business
Virginia
Sep 22, 2014

Needs Improvement

First off the the pool and the beach was amazing. But, sadly that was the best part of this resort. The food and the room was horrible. Our rooms had flies coming out of the sink in the bathroom. We also bought a safe for the room but that didn't work so we had to call to get that fix, which took about 30 mins. The staff was good for the most part, and they spoke english so that was a plus. We tried to make reservation for the restaurants but it was all full so we only got to try out the Japanese restaurant. The buffets had the same food so it got very repetitive, and the quality of the food was very poor. The buffet had flies flying over there food on certain dishes. There snack bar was disgusting because the food was kept outside in the warm weather and flies were once again around the foods. I would NOT recommend this resort to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants well ahead or do it asap when you arrive because they do book up quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top