$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
280 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beautiful Latin girl
Goshen, IN
Sep 22, 2012

Best vacation ever!

OMG is all I have to said! Gran Bahia Principe is the best Hotel in Punta Cana, rooms are big and very nice, the hotel is beutiful, lots of things to do and places to go, the restaurants OMG are the best, the food is excellent all you wanna eat and drink all day and all night long. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is can like to do things and explore the Dominican culture. Beutiful place I LOVE IT, Can't wait to go next year AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dominican Republic is a very beautiful place, Love it!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tam B.
Clarion, PA
Mar 28, 2014

the weather couldn't have been better!!!!

The resort is beautiful and well manicured! It is a large resort so that is something you want to know before going, if you are looking for a resort that has everything centraly located this is not the resort for you. We enjoyed the pool by the beach and the bar service was good but very limited seclection of alcohol and beer choices. Food was tasteful. after traveling to many resorts one of the downsides I experienced was being bothered to do excursions/pictures, I went there to relax not get pressured to take excursions.Overall it is a beautiful resort and we were treated well by staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

email and set reservations for the a la carte resturants in advance.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany Active Couple
Saint Albans, Vermont
Mar 22, 2014

Amazing getaway

My spouse and I had a wonderful experience here! The buffet food was actually better than I expected with quite a bit of variety. The one downfall was that we couldn't get into the restaurants that we wanted, we only got into one that we were interested, the other three were picked for us. The resort is extremely large and very confusing at first but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call to reserve the restaurants prior to arriving at the resort. Otherwise, you will end being stuck with what they give you. I tried to call to do this but kept getting transferred or hung up on, I should've been more persistent because we only got one restaurant we wanted and most of our dinner reservations were at 9 pm.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaLoutre
Montreal, Canada
Mar 14, 2014

GREAT FAMILY ESCAPE!!!

Everyone in our party had a great time! From 1 yr-old to 65+! Beach was breathtaking, food ranged from good to memorable and service was always on par. the site is wayyyy too big, but we knew that going in but everything else was excellent. Clean, friendly and joyful hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach queen
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 13, 2014

Service surpasses everything else

The staff at this resort were the best. Always friendly and always ready to take care of customers. The room was well below what I would have expected from a 4star resort. The lights didn't all work, the bathroom ceiling was about to fall down and the floors were terribly dirty. And no wash clothes in the bathroom. The beach was great, grounds were impeccable. Should make it more clear how large the property is and if you are staying in the adult only area you cannot escape the kids. The shuttle service was efficient, but it was a sprawling place. The drinks were nothing exciting, very watered down and way too much sugar. All said, it was a great getaway weekend in terms of location and service, but rooms and information about the facility should be upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

go early to buffets because the crowds get bad and not everyone has adequate table and buffet manners. Book the dinners as soon as you arrive to get a chance at good times and places.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tg56
Punta Cana
Mar 1, 2014

great trip

I had a great time at this hotel. I met a lot of nice people. Me and my friends will come back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jennyjennyc
New York city
Feb 22, 2014

Perfect vacation

I had a wonderful stay at this resort. The grounds are beautiful and very clean. The room was average nothing great but that doesn't bother me since I was barely in the room. The staff was very friendly but it is hard to communicate with them since most don't speak any English. I didn't think the food was that good but I'm from new York where we have the best food so I wasn't expecting it to be that great. The beach area is gorgeous I had no problem getting a spot on the beach or at the pool. But I was there by 830 every morning. I would definitely stay here again the beach is large and there are plenty of pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi Nichelle
Hanmer, On
Feb 9, 2014

great time with family and friends

Aside from being slow at check in we were treated great. The staff were awesome. They made you feel welcome, the food was good, the rooms clean and cozy (need new mattress's) the beach was relaxing, and the drinks were refreshing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. DB
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Huge Resort

I spent two weeks at this resort over the Christmas and New Year's holiday. It is in a wonderful location and the beach is beautiful. The resort is huge. If you do no like or are unable to walk, you must rely on the shuttle to and from all locations in the resort. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Customer service was below average for a resort that promotes itself as it does. It was impossible to get a reservation at a speciality restaurant after four different attempts. I was always told there were no reservations available but upon investigating two different times when I was refused, each restaurant was less than one fourth full. Food in the buffet was good but lines were long and many tourist were rude and inconsiderate of others. The Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve buffets were elaborate with many speciality food items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are interested in dining at one of the speciality restaurants go to the service desk immediately after check in and be persistant until you get the reservations you want

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Verunchik
Russia
Jan 6, 2014

So so

Huge and beautiful area on which you can move on the small busses. A lot of chairs on the beach but there are smbd's towels everywhere. Low water pressure after 5 pm so you can not take a shower. Slow and lazy staff even for tips. Ants in the room and mosquitoes are everywhere nights. Music follows you on the beach, by the pool, in the lobby, so if you find quiet poolside somewhere you'll be "pleased" by frolicking kids. But I liked the sea, climate, nature and hope to visit Dominicana again ;) Probably it will be Bahia Ambar hotel (in case of sale).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Ohio
Jan 1, 2014

Disappointing

You are restricted to restaurants in your part of the hotel despite the huge complex. Staff was friendly but did not go out of the way as much as staff at other hotels in Punta Cana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top