$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
210 reviews
awesome vacation

This is one of the best resorts that I have stayed at ... love the food and the location.... and... See full review

  • ijpatel25
  • Sep 4, 2014
First Family Getaway

The staff were wonderful, friendly, and professional. We had a great time, and will come back here... See full review

  • Eygpt567
  • Aug 23, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Feb 22, 2010

Views about Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

The beach and ocean is beautiful, we love that there are no rocks in the water. The rooms were super clean and all bathroom areas in the resort were kept clean. The dinner reservation system was horrible. You waste your time upon arrival going to guest services to book dinners at the restaurants only to be told that there are no openings the entire weeek. The woman at guest services was pretty rude too. Luckily,my sister arrived earlier and was able to get some reservations. Even at 7:30 ( the earlier times) the restaurants were 50% empty or more. Why were we told that they were all filled? We have been to other resorts that do not require booking dinners and have never had problems nor had to wait on lines. The computer system they are using to confirm bookings is not accurate nor works well. The room was cleaned super well each day. The grounds were immaculate and the public area bathrooms were spotless. The workers work so hard so please remember to tip well. Unfortunately, and this is horrible- my sister's room the toilet never flushed properly and even with a tiny bit of paper in it would back up and flood the room. Every flush backed up which was disgusting. She and our brother in law were told that all used toilet paper must go into the wastebasket that the toilets were not meant to flush toiletpaper! We had no problem with our toilet. In order of preference we would rate this at 3 1/2 stars, Dreams resorts 4 stars and Excellence Punta Cana 5 stars. Yes, we read the reviews before hand, knew about the distance to the beach, the tram system, the cold food but THE BEACH AND WATER were perfect as were the cleanliness of the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We went on the two hour snorkeling trip through the water sports area. It was so much fun!!!!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reed City, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We had a wonderful time. We went mainly to get out of the cold and into the warm and we definitley did that. The grounds were beautiful (5 star) and the rooms very clean and the resteraunts very nicely laid out. The wait staff at the pools were not always that friendly unless they saw a tip in your hand. The ala carte meals were difficult to schedule and we had to eat very late to get into the ones that interested us (9:45pm) and we went right down the very first morning we were there to schedule and they were already completley booked. It took awhile to get used to what bars and pools you could go up to and order a drink but we finally figured it out but did cause frustration (more for the couple we were traveling with as they had spokent to alot of people who had done all inclusives and told you can walk up anywhere and order a drink), not so here. [...] We would go back again because the atmosphere and location was great and I would just know how the place works!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is large but they have travel trams that are going non stop to get you where you need to go.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, Ohio
Feb 21, 2010

gran bahai principe bavaro, punta cans

Beach great, grounds immaculate. Were told everyday that the specialty restaurants were all booked up, the reality was that you would look in and they were empty-many people very angry about this! Room toilet overflowed daily, buffet restaurants served the same food every day. Nighttime shows were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orleans MA
Feb 18, 2010

out door great play exellent beaches

Too many people. Not enough bathroom outdoor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, South Carolina
Feb 17, 2010

Disappointed

From check in to making dinner reservations, everything was difficult. Property is huge and we were nearly a mile away from the beach. Food was only average and the buffets were very crowded and much of the food was cold. We take a winter vacation each year but will never return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Happy to be back in the states
Washington state
Feb 17, 2010

Still fresh in my mind

The front desk staff sent us all over the resort to get what we needed. When we had a concern, it was someone else's problem. I heard a guest tell the front desk "horrible management" as he left, all the front desk guy said was "I agree, have a nice trip home." Guest Services sort of chuckled when we said that we had no luggage because the airline had sent it to another island. We had to spend $400 on one change of clothes because the stores are so expensive. Our seats at the buffet were given away when we got up to get a plate so we had to wander around with our plates to get a new table. The servers kept forgetting to bring our drinks. The shuttle service guy told us we had to be ready to go at 4am for an 8am flight, so we got there and waited an hour and a half at the airport before it opened. The toilet ran constantly in the room, the shower flooded the bathroom, and the minibar was stocked once when I cornered the maid and she gave me drinks from other rooms. If you stop the servers and tell them what you want, they are great, but don't expect it to be brought to you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Pack a carry on. We didn't get our clothing for three days and the airport staff kept saying they would call and update us but never did. I made some local calls and the front desk charged $2. They didn't give the clerk a cash drawer so he had to pull money out of his own wallet to make change for me. The cab driver didn't have change either, so he ended up with a 100% tip. Clever.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, SC
Feb 17, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro

Wonderful beach, although very crowded. Delightful water--quite warm. Very difficult to get reservations to Non-buffet restaurants. Food in buffets sub-par & a la carte certainly not 1st class. Wait staff provided good service. Rooms often not cleaned by 5PM. I would never give this resort 5 stars[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CANADA
Feb 16, 2010

great resort, a la carte, not so much

great resort, great ammenities, perfect weather, hot hot and sunny every day, beautiful beach and immaculately maintained beach, grounds, pools etc. However, not a great place if you want to any sort of "group" dining in the a la carte restaurants, reservations system is laughable and there is never anything available to your liking, its a take what you get kinda of dinner deal as far as the a la carte, however the ones we did/were able to sneak in a reservation to eat at were great. We paid for the diamond/hacienda club upgrade, not really worth it since all the rooms are suites and the extra a la carte meal wasn't readily available to our selections. Overall still a fantastic place, great evening atmosphere we sat in the lobby or terrace and had drinks while enjoying the music, fantastic theatre shows and lots to do! Would return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Michael Jackson theatre production was great a must see!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
minnesota
Feb 16, 2010

Good times

Everything was very good. The food at the buffet was all you really needed, however, the TexMex restaurant was great. The grounds were very well kept. No garbage or litter anywhere. We were there for 8 days and it went fast! The only thing that we didn't expect is that it was so big. We have stayed at smaller resorts and like those better, but can't complain at all about this place. It was beautiful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barbied53
Howell, Michigan
Feb 15, 2010

Beautiful Place, but too big

Started off very bad. Our plane was 6.5 hours late and we arrived at 9:00 PM to the hotel. It was dark and not very well lighted. They handed us maps and sent us (and our two friends) into different directions as far away from each other as possible. The complex is so large we both got lost and could not find our rooms. Very frustrating after a long day at the airport. When you finally find out where everything is, it is time to go home. Bring your walking shoes. There were too many people at the resort and we were tired of fighting people in the buffet lines. Buffet was good and varied at night, but breakfast buffets were the same old thing and everything was cold when you put it on your plate. This is our 4th time to Punta Cana Hotels, I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search