$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alvin the Chipmunk
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Class but not world class

Got an free upgrade to Ambar which is quite and close to the beach and private pool. No drink service at beach. Quality of food is good. Warning do not use CoCo Tours as your transporation. CoCo Tours will waste a lot of your vacation time.The complex is too large, it takes a couple of days to figure out buses and hardly anbody speaks English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Mediterranean Restaurant and order the Chefs Seafood Grill. Take a cab to your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 9, 2011

Horrible Service

The hotel was awful. I went with my brother on vacation for a couple days. I called ahead and asked for a room with two beds, and they gave us a king. We arrived at 3:30pm, and the maid was still cleaning the room they assigned us. Not only that, but another maid and her were basically lounging around in our room for almost an hour chatting! The "two" buffets that they have are practically never open at the same time, forcing you to walk all the way to the beach or the lobby to eat. Our shower head was not secured and flew all over the place. We called to ask them to clean our room between 11-12 (because the maid routinely came at 4:30) and we got two phone calls and two unwanted entries at 9 in the morning on the day of departure. (Checkout is at noon) AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jul 7, 2011

Great!

We just chose Punta Cana as a weekend escape, everything was excellent. Hotel Staff was very polite and helpful in any way possible. We definitely will be back soon. The only thing wrong was not from the hotel but my Travel Agency; they did not transfer my reservation info to the hotel. But as I told you the staff was very helpful and provided me accommodation promptly according to my voucher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest333333333333
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Not so great

Here's what I did not like about this resort: 1) It was too big. Had to walk a long way to the beach or pools or front desk. 2) You could accomplish nothing from your room. If you wanted to do anything, even call to make a reservation for dinner, you had to go to the front desk. This was annoying because the front desk is a 20 minute walk from the beach and 5-15 minute walk from your room. 3) The food was subpar. They had a buffet with a lot of options, but it was not good. The meat was dried out, there was only limited seafood, and it was always crowded. 4) Could not get a chair at the pool or the beach. There were two pools near our room. We could never find an empty chair at them. We would then have to walk to the giant pool at the back of the resort and often not be able to find a chair there either, especially in the shade. Hard to find chairs at the beach too. 5) Staff was not very nice or helpful. The problem with all inclusive is there is no accountability. You have limited options, and no one really tips there, so the staff has no reason to go out of their way for you. 6) I honestly didn't like the guests who were staying here. Most guests apparently come from cultures where standing in lines is not the norm and where it is okay to shove or bump into people without even acknowledging their existence. Part of the reason there were no chairs was because guests would get to the pool at 8am, drop off a towel to claim their chair and then take off to do whatever. They would occupy the chair all day while only using the pool for an hour. Or one family member would reserve 8 chairs, just in case other people showed up, but most of the time they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desiplayer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice weekend getaway

We booked a quick 3 day getaway to Punta Cana for the July 4th weekend. Loved the Dominican. Bahia Principe was a great resort. It's a really huge resort but they have pretty decent shuttle service that takes you back/forth.. We mainly only ate at the buffet and the snack bar at the beach.. The restaurants need a reservation. But the buffet has a theme night everynight so pretty nice. The main pool area has a nice kiddie section so perfect for infants/toddlers etc. The night time shows at the Theatro Tropicana was awesome. Each night is a different show and a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Evening/night time shows at Theatro Tropicana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jplani
Business
sleepy hollow ny
Jun 20, 2011

the perfect getaway

the experience was excellent,the best of all is that you acess to visit and enjoy all the ameneriesi n the diffrent hotels of gran bahia execpt for the buffet that i consider unlogical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

el pueblito is the most popular place when people csn buy and find anything you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2011

Great time- if you are realistic

We went surfing- which was the best part of our trip. I thought the cleanliness was a little lacking but it is a third world country so you have to be realistic and take it for what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olmaz
Business
Moscow, Russia
May 29, 2011

Good trip but...

Overall it was a good trip, but few things i didn't like: 1)I paid extra charge (about $6 per day more) to get a better room. But didn't find any difference compare to my friends' rooms (3 more couples). 2)More than that we get a room with 2 separate beds instead of 1 king size. Why do i need 2 small beds if i am travelling with my wife? 3)Rooms looks old. Bathroom doesn't look fresh. 4)Toilet cover was broken but got it fixed when i informed reception. 5)First day we were told by receptionist that we will be able to have breakfasts and lunchs at one special separate restourant but when we tried to do that we have been told by restourant manager that we don't have such option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We liked a "Michle Jackson" show. It was very interesting!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiff Taff
Business
Chicopee, MA
May 28, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything you need is right here on the resort. Shopping, dancing, pools, beaches!!! The intertainment was outstanding. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The food could have been a little bit better but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nene Briceño
Business
Santiago chile
May 22, 2011

excelent for families

Nice place, good transportation to beach and lobby, good food!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top