$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
282 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Feb 7, 2011

Would go again hotel!!!!!!!!!

- Just chilled - convenience shops(i.e. food,snacks) - first trip with husband so it would get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Feb 7, 2011

Would go again hotel!!!!!!!!!

- Just chilled - convenience shops(i.e. food,snacks) - first trip with husband so it would get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two girls
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 15, 2011

Great stay

Our stay was wonderful, our room was amazing and the beach was only a few steps away. The staff was great and the food was good, the nightly entertainment was really good. My friend and I went to Saona Island which was one of my favorite when we were there. It was an all day excursion that included a speedboat, catamaran, buffet on the island, and a swimming pool in the middle of the Caribbean. Overall, I would definitely stay at the same resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two girls
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 15, 2011

Great stay

Our stay was wonderful, our room was amazing and the beach was only a few steps away. The staff was great and the food was good, the nightly entertainment was really good. My friend and I went to Saona Island which was one of my favorite when we were there. It was an all day excursion that included a speedboat, catamaran, buffet on the island, and a swimming pool in the middle of the Caribbean. Overall, I would definitely stay at the same resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KENTUCKY
Jan 11, 2011

AMAZING

Wonderful service. Amazing grounds and beaches. Great nightly entertainment. Food was amazing. Will return!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KENTUCKY
Jan 11, 2011

AMAZING

Wonderful service. Amazing grounds and beaches. Great nightly entertainment. Food was amazing. Will return!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2010

Stay Somewhere Else(Gran Bahia Principe)

This place was way too big. We stayed in the Bavaro Premier section and they put us in the last hut, which was furthest from everything. They say a trolly comes every 5 mins to pick you up, but that is incorrect. We never saw a trolly pick us up or drop us off from our hut. But if we walked 5-10 mins. to the main lobby then they had trollys taking people to the beach and back, which was another 5-10 mins. trip. The buffet food was eatable but not good. If you ordered a drink at any of the restaurants, it would take at least 10 mins to get it. What really made me mad was the lack of organization of the place. We had a reservation to eat at the japanese restaurant on my GFs bday at 7:00. Our tour was supposed to come in at 5, instead we didn't get in till 645. We asked the front desk if they can change our reservation to any time later than 830 so my GF can get ready for her special night. They said no, everything is full. We begged and said please because she needs time to get ready, spend big money on a dress, etc... After about 30 mins of begging they changed it to 8:30 and said they can't make it any later because the restaurant is full and there's no room. Well, we rushed and got there by 8:30, and the place was basically empty. Maybe about 20% FULL. There were about 8 tables around us that never even seen people the whole time we were there. Very disappointed. We had 3 a la cart dinners. Japanese was ok, no where near as good as Benihana. Mexican was very disappointed for me, buy my GF liked it. The Italian was GREAT. So many interesting appetizers, and the pasta was very good. We were a little disappointed in the weather. It was a high of 80 during the day, and the sun peaked out in the morning, but was non-existent at night. So we were hoping to swim in the pools then, but the pools all closed at 6 pm (ridiculous) and none of them were heated, so it was too cold to swim. But they had lots of jacuzzis!!! Oh, but wait, these jacuzzis werent "hot tubs" they were just pools with jets. So they were the same temperature as the pools. They had no hot tubs on site. The entertainment was not good. The Michael Jackson tribute was decent. So every day you either have a card or a beach towel from the resort. You can go up to many huts and exchange your card for a towel, or dirty towel for clean towel, or whatever. Well, I at one point went 2 1/2 days without a towel because every hut was all out. They keep collecting all the dirty towels but probably clean them maybe once a day, so people are stuck without towels freezing. I heard many people complain. These are all easy fixes that can make this resort a nice place to stay. Open the pools till at least 8 pm. Get heaters for them. Was the towels more often. Get more trollys. The rooms were pretty clean. No bugs. The maid didn't really do a good job with our room. One day they gave us new sheets that were still damp when she put them on, so they smelled like dirty water. And the pillows she gave us looked like 8 handfulls of cotton stuffed into a pillowcase. We called to request new pillows and received them 4 hours later. Luckily the tours saved us. We went on the Dominican Republic tour will you visit their culture, make cigars, coffee, horseback riding, etc... It was great! Then we went on the ziplining tour as well, which was good but overpriced.The one day the sun was out the whole day, the waves were crashing hard and the tide was high, so they wouldnt let us swim in the beach. I went to an ATM once to get some money and they said they would charge $3 fee, well my statement showed up and they charged me a $10 fee for a $40 withdraw. We would not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere else and you can enjoy the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Italian place was grate. It's called Capricci or something like that.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2010

Stay Somewhere Else(Gran Bahia Principe)

This place was way too big. We stayed in the Bavaro Premier section and they put us in the last hut, which was furthest from everything. They say a trolly comes every 5 mins to pick you up, but that is incorrect. We never saw a trolly pick us up or drop us off from our hut. But if we walked 5-10 mins. to the main lobby then they had trollys taking people to the beach and back, which was another 5-10 mins. trip. The buffet food was eatable but not good. If you ordered a drink at any of the restaurants, it would take at least 10 mins to get it. What really made me mad was the lack of organization of the place. We had a reservation to eat at the japanese restaurant on my GFs bday at 7:00. Our tour was supposed to come in at 5, instead we didn't get in till 645. We asked the front desk if they can change our reservation to any time later than 830 so my GF can get ready for her special night. They said no, everything is full. We begged and said please because she needs time to get ready, spend big money on a dress, etc... After about 30 mins of begging they changed it to 8:30 and said they can't make it any later because the restaurant is full and there's no room. Well, we rushed and got there by 8:30, and the place was basically empty. Maybe about 20% FULL. There were about 8 tables around us that never even seen people the whole time we were there. Very disappointed. We had 3 a la cart dinners. Japanese was ok, no where near as good as Benihana. Mexican was very disappointed for me, buy my GF liked it. The Italian was GREAT. So many interesting appetizers, and the pasta was very good. We were a little disappointed in the weather. It was a high of 80 during the day, and the sun peaked out in the morning, but was non-existent at night. So we were hoping to swim in the pools then, but the pools all closed at 6 pm (ridiculous) and none of them were heated, so it was too cold to swim. But they had lots of jacuzzis!!! Oh, but wait, these jacuzzis werent "hot tubs" they were just pools with jets. So they were the same temperature as the pools. They had no hot tubs on site. The entertainment was not good. The Michael Jackson tribute was decent. So every day you either have a card or a beach towel from the resort. You can go up to many huts and exchange your card for a towel, or dirty towel for clean towel, or whatever. Well, I at one point went 2 1/2 days without a towel because every hut was all out. They keep collecting all the dirty towels but probably clean them maybe once a day, so people are stuck without towels freezing. I heard many people complain. These are all easy fixes that can make this resort a nice place to stay. Open the pools till at least 8 pm. Get heaters for them. Was the towels more often. Get more trollys. The rooms were pretty clean. No bugs. The maid didn't really do a good job with our room. One day they gave us new sheets that were still damp when she put them on, so they smelled like dirty water. And the pillows she gave us looked like 8 handfulls of cotton stuffed into a pillowcase. We called to request new pillows and received them 4 hours later. Luckily the tours saved us. We went on the Dominican Republic tour will you visit their culture, make cigars, coffee, horseback riding, etc... It was great! Then we went on the ziplining tour as well, which was good but overpriced.The one day the sun was out the whole day, the waves were crashing hard and the tide was high, so they wouldnt let us swim in the beach. I went to an ATM once to get some money and they said they would charge $3 fee, well my statement showed up and they charged me a $10 fee for a $40 withdraw. We would not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere else and you can enjoy the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Italian place was grate. It's called Capricci or something like that.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S&B
Lewes, DE
Dec 24, 2010

Absolutely phenomenal!

All we did was lay by the pool and get sun, walked on the beach, and just completely relaxed all day, every day. This was my first trip to Punta Cana, my boyfriend's second. It was everything I'd hoped it would be and so much more. There was nothing that could've made it more perfect. The room was comfortable and we had a deck we sat out on every morning to drink our coffee and look at the perfect blue sky. The beach was amazing! The sand was so smooth and soft, compared to the sand we have here at our beach. The food was amazing, the service was even better. We ate at the japanese, italian, and french a la carte restaurants. Japanese was okay, but the italian and french restaurants were SO fancy with the best food ever! Just an incredible time, absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S&B
Lewes, DE
Dec 24, 2010

Absolutely phenomenal!

All we did was lay by the pool and get sun, walked on the beach, and just completely relaxed all day, every day. This was my first trip to Punta Cana, my boyfriend's second. It was everything I'd hoped it would be and so much more. There was nothing that could've made it more perfect. The room was comfortable and we had a deck we sat out on every morning to drink our coffee and look at the perfect blue sky. The beach was amazing! The sand was so smooth and soft, compared to the sand we have here at our beach. The food was amazing, the service was even better. We ate at the japanese, italian, and french a la carte restaurants. Japanese was okay, but the italian and french restaurants were SO fancy with the best food ever! Just an incredible time, absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top