$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two girls
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 15, 2011

Great stay

Our stay was wonderful, our room was amazing and the beach was only a few steps away. The staff was great and the food was good, the nightly entertainment was really good. My friend and I went to Saona Island which was one of my favorite when we were there. It was an all day excursion that included a speedboat, catamaran, buffet on the island, and a swimming pool in the middle of the Caribbean. Overall, I would definitely stay at the same resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KENTUCKY
Jan 11, 2011

AMAZING

Wonderful service. Amazing grounds and beaches. Great nightly entertainment. Food was amazing. Will return!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2010

Stay Somewhere Else(Gran Bahia Principe)

This place was way too big. We stayed in the Bavaro Premier section and they put us in the last hut, which was furthest from everything. They say a trolly comes every 5 mins to pick you up, but that is incorrect. We never saw a trolly pick us up or drop us off from our hut. But if we walked 5-10 mins. to the main lobby then they had trollys taking people to the beach and back, which was another 5-10 mins. trip. The buffet food was eatable but not good. If you ordered a drink at any of the restaurants, it would take at least 10 mins to get it. What really made me mad was the lack of organization of the place. We had a reservation to eat at the japanese restaurant on my GFs bday at 7:00. Our tour was supposed to come in at 5, instead we didn't get in till 645. We asked the front desk if they can change our reservation to any time later than 830 so my GF can get ready for her special night. They said no, everything is full. We begged and said please because she needs time to get ready, spend big money on a dress, etc... After about 30 mins of begging they changed it to 8:30 and said they can't make it any later because the restaurant is full and there's no room. Well, we rushed and got there by 8:30, and the place was basically empty. Maybe about 20% FULL. There were about 8 tables around us that never even seen people the whole time we were there. Very disappointed. We had 3 a la cart dinners. Japanese was ok, no where near as good as Benihana. Mexican was very disappointed for me, buy my GF liked it. The Italian was GREAT. So many interesting appetizers, and the pasta was very good. We were a little disappointed in the weather. It was a high of 80 during the day, and the sun peaked out in the morning, but was non-existent at night. So we were hoping to swim in the pools then, but the pools all closed at 6 pm (ridiculous) and none of them were heated, so it was too cold to swim. But they had lots of jacuzzis!!! Oh, but wait, these jacuzzis werent "hot tubs" they were just pools with jets. So they were the same temperature as the pools. They had no hot tubs on site. The entertainment was not good. The Michael Jackson tribute was decent. So every day you either have a card or a beach towel from the resort. You can go up to many huts and exchange your card for a towel, or dirty towel for clean towel, or whatever. Well, I at one point went 2 1/2 days without a towel because every hut was all out. They keep collecting all the dirty towels but probably clean them maybe once a day, so people are stuck without towels freezing. I heard many people complain. These are all easy fixes that can make this resort a nice place to stay. Open the pools till at least 8 pm. Get heaters for them. Was the towels more often. Get more trollys. The rooms were pretty clean. No bugs. The maid didn't really do a good job with our room. One day they gave us new sheets that were still damp when she put them on, so they smelled like dirty water. And the pillows she gave us looked like 8 handfulls of cotton stuffed into a pillowcase. We called to request new pillows and received them 4 hours later. Luckily the tours saved us. We went on the Dominican Republic tour will you visit their culture, make cigars, coffee, horseback riding, etc... It was great! Then we went on the ziplining tour as well, which was good but overpriced.The one day the sun was out the whole day, the waves were crashing hard and the tide was high, so they wouldnt let us swim in the beach. I went to an ATM once to get some money and they said they would charge $3 fee, well my statement showed up and they charged me a $10 fee for a $40 withdraw. We would not recommend this hotel. Stay somewhere else and you can enjoy the DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Italian place was grate. It's called Capricci or something like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S&B
Business
Lewes, DE
Dec 24, 2010

Absolutely phenomenal!

All we did was lay by the pool and get sun, walked on the beach, and just completely relaxed all day, every day. This was my first trip to Punta Cana, my boyfriend's second. It was everything I'd hoped it would be and so much more. There was nothing that could've made it more perfect. The room was comfortable and we had a deck we sat out on every morning to drink our coffee and look at the perfect blue sky. The beach was amazing! The sand was so smooth and soft, compared to the sand we have here at our beach. The food was amazing, the service was even better. We ate at the japanese, italian, and french a la carte restaurants. Japanese was okay, but the italian and french restaurants were SO fancy with the best food ever! Just an incredible time, absolutely amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AaronWhitt82
Business
Peru, IL
Dec 20, 2010

Excellent Resort, Weather not so great

I arrived at the Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro on 12/12/10 around 4PM. The Weather was cloudy and pouring down rain. It was roughly 45 minutes from the Airport. CHECK IN: Went fairly quickly and the room was ready when I arrived. I did not receive a welcome drink at all. I stayed in the Club Premier section (Villa 45.) The Resort was at 100% capacity when I arrived which I wasn't expecting because I wanted an upgrade to the Diamond or Hacienda section. GROUNDS & ROOM: Everything in the resort was very clean and the grounds & pools were very well kept. There was always workers out trimming bushes, mowing grass, cleaning etc. and everything was beautiful. The rooms were very clean as well and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The bed was a bit hard and I woke up with a stiff back a few of the days. The AC could have been a little colder as well. The water pressure for the shower was kind of low on certain days and higher on others. ACTIVITIES: There was many activities going on during the day around the pools which were pretty fun and exciting. The only thing I didn't like was these guys wearing a uniform with "FRAM" on it would come around and bug you to engage in the activities. I did a few of them, but not all. FOOD: Was pretty good and as other people have said some was cold and some was hot. There was also a lot of the same food each day which I didn't mind even though there was different "themes." I ate at 4 of the Ala Carte's: BBQ, Garden Grill, Italian, & Japanese. They were all excellent and food was very good. ALCOHOL: I'm mostly a beer drinker and the Presidente (on tap) & Brahma (in mini fridge) were really good beers. Some of the higher end alcohol was an extra charge like Jack Daniels, Jim Beam and stuff like that. I did try some of the Mamajuana and that stuff will catch up to ya quick. (Tastes like Jagermeister.) BEACH: It was very crowded and wall to wall people everyday and it was almost impossible to get a sun bed. It is also very narrow. The water was beautiful though and quite warm and was fun to swim in. WEATHER: It was cloudy and overcast for the first 5 days I was there and it did rain on and off in the afternoon for a while. Finally got to see the sun on Friday, Saturday & Sunday for a few hours before I had to leave. Overall I would rank this Resort about 4 out of 5. Many of the employees did not speak English very well and it was hard communicating. This was probably my biggest complaint. I did stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba in Riveria Maya last year and would have to say I would prefer it over this one...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fun Buggy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elite Traveller
Business
New York, NY
Oct 5, 2010

Beautiful Property, Lousy Service

The property was huge and extremely well-kept. Very beautiful. What would have been helpful before we booked, was to be aware that the hotel shared space with 4 other hotels of the same brand. There were places we could not go, pools we could not use, restaurants at which we could not eat, etc. This gave us a weird feeling when we were turned away from such locations. We requested an iron on day 2 or our 7 day stay and when we checked out we still did not receive the iron. This location is strictly for Spanish speakers, if you don't speak Spanish you will have to wing it. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. They were clearly not trained in customer service. Some who were helpful were [...]. I would not recommend this brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diana y juan
Business
queens, new york
Oct 4, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price"

the resort is fantastic everything its beautiful the food is delicious, all the employees were friendly. it was the perfect place for a vacation. the only badd thing was the weather which didn't help so much b/c it was raining but still we had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mervin R
Business
ca
Sep 13, 2010

Smoking Haven

The Hotel should have been great if they have a designated place for the smokers..You will feel like you are in las vegas hotel when you are in their lobby because there are a lot of people who smokes there. The staff in the buffet have some attitude also not friendly specially the greeters who hands you the cleansing gel..When your leaving early be aware , when you dial the front desk no body is answering the phone, we have to walk from our villa to the front desk. And you will not be greeted with good morning but with frowning faces... The Place was good , there are just things that have to be refined, specially the staff who are unfriendly... if you dont like smoking please beware..Bring some insect repellant ,definitely...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hav
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 12, 2010

Amazing Trip

Staff was amazingly serviceable. Room was amazing, Pool was great, all inclusive is always great. Overall a perfect trip. I can't wait to go back there with more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to do Para-Sailing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Girls
Business
New York, New York
Aug 16, 2010

We all loved it!

We had a lot of fun throughout our stay. The entire hotel was always very clean, all of the staff were always super friendly. There was always something to do for everyone. The only complaint we had was the reservation system, they only allot you two or three nights at the a la carte restaurants and all of the ones we wanted were booked throughout our entire stay. It was by far the funnest resort we've been to. The beach is the cleanest of any hotel we've ever stayed at. The food is only okay, there was the same selection every day, but the drinks were the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Learn their bus route, the hotel is huge. But their buses run so frequently that it makes the distance insignificant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top