$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 2, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Very decieving,what you see is not what

The main hotel what you see on the pictures is very good but the area of the hotel where they place you [...] is not even on the hotel pictures it would be a few inches above the actual photos you see in the descriptions. Security at entrance to hotel took 15 minutes to get thru, Front desk very rude and in attentive. Rest of staff was friendly and helpful enough but not enough to overcome the bait and switch with the rooms and the security and front desk issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester , ny
Aug 5, 2011

GREAT HOTEL--PLEASE READ, WILL EXPLAIN

This hotel overall I thought was very well. Just like every review you see, theres bad and good ones. This will be a good one. We stayed there for one week 7/28-8/4. I traveled with my 2 bestfriends who happen to date. We also had our male friend come as well. Him and I both being single. First recommendation is to book taxi service [...]. Very precise, and the drivers get you to your resort as soon as you get off the plane. When we arrived to the hotel we were in awe. Lobby is huge, waitresses coming over giving you drinks, music, and tons of people. After about 40 minutes of getting our room and getting all checked in, our fun began. Food service is of course 24-7, with a great selection. Yes some of it does get repetitive, however bring into play that its all inclusive, your not going to get NY sirloin steaks. Drinks however were watered down a bit. We all came down to have a good time and to drink. We drank all day and did not feel it as much as we thought. Which is fine, better to pace yourself especially with that sun. our 2nd day we started early and hit the pool. In the main pool bar, come 2 or 3 pm, its a fantastic athmosphere. Music playing all the time. I didnt think there would be that many people at this resort, but i was way wrong. Everyday at that pool bar, theres around 100-130 people, all mixed ages. Im 25 , and I would say most were around 20-30 years old. There was alot of older couples there but mainly my age and a little older. Did alot of attractions, I would recomend doing the speed boats. Very fun, very fast. Staff does speak mainly spanish, but will do there best to speak and understand english. Room service was great, everyday same time it was done. Great place to go if your single, lots of single men/females. Most speaking spanish, but alot of english as well. We met a ton of people everyday and then would meet up with them in the night life. Night life I thought was great.At 9 pm everynight they have a show in the theatre. Very good show and nice bar there as well. People then usually drink in the lobby bar until 12, then walk to the sports bar, casino, or the nightclub right next to it. Casino is small and i have 2 complaints. You have to pay for drinks, also I was scammed one time. I cashed out with $135 and only receievd $100 back. I argued back and fourth but was no point because they didnt understand me. After they close at 2 am, if you want to keep drinking, not to many people know that they dont stop serving alcohol until 7 am. You can only get it at the snack bar by the main pool. Thats where I had the most fun. Lots of people my age that spoke english. I believe a few nights i strolled back in no earlier then 4 am, no later then 630 am. Make reservations for dinners. My favortie was italian and the japanesee. While sitting in the lobby just socially drinking, servers are coming around to take your order. Veyr nice staff, not as quick with getting drinks (depends on server) but very very proficient. EVerytime will wipe your table so you dont have liquid all over. also even if there is 1 ciggarette but in the ash tray they will replace it everytime. BY the end of the week, we wanted to drinks something different. They have a gift shop on the resort where they sell liqour and red bull. We went that way and had a phenominal time. The lobby breakfest/lunch or amazing. I recommened every day you goto those. Transportation service is a bit slow, but we realized if you use the trolleys in the middle, its faster by about 10 minutes. less stops, less speed bumps. Sorry for writing such a long review but You see good and bad, and I would def recomend this hotel/go back again. Have fun if you do go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 5, 2011

Great place but.......

The resort to begin was beautiful, the staff were friendly although I speak spanish I didn't see anyone have a problem. The room was big and the bed was a little hard but I guess that's personal preference. Our air conditioning was not working but they did take care of the problem. Now the but " The Food", unfortunately took away from all the good. The meat was low quality and the buffet was mediocre at best. Also the liquor are not big name, I asked for Jack Daniels drink and was charged because its considered top shelf. I drank at the casino which offered a better variety but I had to pay there, but was pretty cheap compare to new york prices. All in all I had a good time and enjoyed the atmosphere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Adventurous Mom
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 4, 2011

Excellent time!

The hotel was beautiful itself. They provided trains that would take you to your villas, since it is a huge place. There were restaurants and pools scattered throughout the resort. In the resort itself they have what's called "pueblito" which means small town, where you can do some shopping and they had nightly entertainment as well. In the pueblito they had bars, nightclubs, and a casino as well. I really enjoyed watching the different shows at night. The staff there are amazing! Like I mentioned before in order to get around the resort there are train stops that you wait in, or you can just walk. Everyone in the resort was friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speak other languages as well, that was very convenient. There was always a variety of food among the buffets as well. Because this is a tropical island there were plenty of mosquitos, ants, and other bugs in the rooms. Me and my daughter got bitten at night as we slept. I recommend to bring mosquito repellent! Other than the bug issue, we had a really good and memorable time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

You can easily get frustrated when shopping in the pueblito where the vendors are. They each try to lure you in to buy something from their stand. I suggest if you don't want to deal with the vendors that are in the middle of the plaza, walk along the front of the stores and stay on that path.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 2, 2011

Punta Cana Bahia Principe Bavaro

Staff doesn't speak English. There was a lot of confusion in regards to moving to another room, since part of my family was leaving and I had booked a separate room for an extra day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alvin the Chipmunk
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Class but not world class

Got an free upgrade to Ambar which is quite and close to the beach and private pool. No drink service at beach. Quality of food is good. Warning do not use CoCo Tours as your transporation. CoCo Tours will waste a lot of your vacation time.The complex is too large, it takes a couple of days to figure out buses and hardly anbody speaks English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Mediterranean Restaurant and order the Chefs Seafood Grill. Take a cab to your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 9, 2011

Horrible Service

The hotel was awful. I went with my brother on vacation for a couple days. I called ahead and asked for a room with two beds, and they gave us a king. We arrived at 3:30pm, and the maid was still cleaning the room they assigned us. Not only that, but another maid and her were basically lounging around in our room for almost an hour chatting! The "two" buffets that they have are practically never open at the same time, forcing you to walk all the way to the beach or the lobby to eat. Our shower head was not secured and flew all over the place. We called to ask them to clean our room between 11-12 (because the maid routinely came at 4:30) and we got two phone calls and two unwanted entries at 9 in the morning on the day of departure. (Checkout is at noon) AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jul 7, 2011

Great!

We just chose Punta Cana as a weekend escape, everything was excellent. Hotel Staff was very polite and helpful in any way possible. We definitely will be back soon. The only thing wrong was not from the hotel but my Travel Agency; they did not transfer my reservation info to the hotel. But as I told you the staff was very helpful and provided me accommodation promptly according to my voucher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guest333333333333
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Not so great

Here's what I did not like about this resort: 1) It was too big. Had to walk a long way to the beach or pools or front desk. 2) You could accomplish nothing from your room. If you wanted to do anything, even call to make a reservation for dinner, you had to go to the front desk. This was annoying because the front desk is a 20 minute walk from the beach and 5-15 minute walk from your room. 3) The food was subpar. They had a buffet with a lot of options, but it was not good. The meat was dried out, there was only limited seafood, and it was always crowded. 4) Could not get a chair at the pool or the beach. There were two pools near our room. We could never find an empty chair at them. We would then have to walk to the giant pool at the back of the resort and often not be able to find a chair there either, especially in the shade. Hard to find chairs at the beach too. 5) Staff was not very nice or helpful. The problem with all inclusive is there is no accountability. You have limited options, and no one really tips there, so the staff has no reason to go out of their way for you. 6) I honestly didn't like the guests who were staying here. Most guests apparently come from cultures where standing in lines is not the norm and where it is okay to shove or bump into people without even acknowledging their existence. Part of the reason there were no chairs was because guests would get to the pool at 8am, drop off a towel to claim their chair and then take off to do whatever. They would occupy the chair all day while only using the pool for an hour. Or one family member would reserve 8 chairs, just in case other people showed up, but most of the time they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desiplayer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 5, 2011

Nice weekend getaway

We booked a quick 3 day getaway to Punta Cana for the July 4th weekend. Loved the Dominican. Bahia Principe was a great resort. It's a really huge resort but they have pretty decent shuttle service that takes you back/forth.. We mainly only ate at the buffet and the snack bar at the beach.. The restaurants need a reservation. But the buffet has a theme night everynight so pretty nice. The main pool area has a nice kiddie section so perfect for infants/toddlers etc. The night time shows at the Theatro Tropicana was awesome. Each night is a different show and a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Evening/night time shows at Theatro Tropicana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top