$301 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
241 reviews
Would absolutely return!

Awesome hotel! This was our first all-inclusive, and we would absolutely go back to this hotel. The... See full review

  • smarsh22
  • Feb 3, 2015
Fantastic trip

Grand Bahia is a beautiful hotel. The grounds, rooms, activity areas and overall area is well kept... See full review

  • Hector A.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maoria
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Feb 16, 2012

The food is terrible

Everything about the resort was great except the food. We would go all day without eating just so we didn't have to eat it. The beach was nice and the entertainment and night was great. But they really news to upgrade the food. We will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELIZERQ
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 15, 2012

fantastic

GREAT FOOD,GREAT STAFF THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBH2
Business
Lewes, DE, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Another Perfect Vacation

This was our second time staying at this particular resort. We loved it so much the first time we decided to go again. Everything was perfect from the weather to the food. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at three of the a la carte restaurants and were blown away by them! (Especially El Pescador). The food was incredible, even at the buffets (we ate at all 3). One of our favorite things about this resort is definitely the staff. They are always ready with a warm, genuine smile. Another thing we love about this resort is the size. A lot of people we talked to complained about it being too big, but we loved the nice walk to the beach from our villa. We would definitely recommend this resort to our friends and family and anybody else who is looking for a nice, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For those who want to go to the beach and are staying at either the Punta Cana or Bavaro resorts, take the trams if you don't like/want to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tvoya2006
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Loved it! coming back soon!

Huge resort, rooms are always well maintained and cleaned. Service was amazing from checking in to checking out, very fast and no problems at all. The beach is beautiful although little overcrowded, but we always find a place to lay in the sun. Food was OK but I never care for that. There are plenty stuff to do, entertaining group was awesome. Club is good though closes too early - at 2 am. Lots of people, so if you are looking for quiet and peaceful place - not for you! Coming back in June!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We stayed at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro - Premier. Rooms are close to entertainment but we had to take bus to get to the beach - it was 8-10 min ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer7
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 23, 2011

Incredible Vacation!

I first want to say our vacation was absolutely incredible! The Dominican people work very hard to keep the tourists happy. The language is Spanish and it can be a little difficult with not speaking anything but English but my daughter and I always managed to find an person who spoke some English. We both learned a few Spanish words that went a long way to getting what we needed. As for the hotel room itself we stayed in the Bavarro( orange bracelet) building 5 the top floor which was the 3rd floor (no elevator) and the view was overlooking the pool. It was very quiet for us. If you hate noise make sure you say you want a room away from the main road. The maid did a great job and kept our fridge stocked with pop, and waters. We left her notes of what we wanted and brought presents from the dollar store(for hair and toiletries) and children’s toys and games and art things. We left her something each day with a dollar and bubblegum candy canes. At the end we gave her $10.00 The beach was exceptionally clean and beautiful, it was very warm when we went in the week of December 14-21, 2011. It is a bit rough at times and the waves could take you out far, if you have children it would be smart to bring a life jacket for them if you can. This beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever saw in my life! You will not be disappointed! We did not do any excursions this trip! I would recommend bring $40.00 and 1.00 bills as the Dominican is a place that a tip goes a long way. We did tip a few times in the dining room for supper and the staff will always remember you and take care of you. From the second we got off the plane people were running to us to get our money. At the airport they charge you $10.00 each just to enter their country. Be careful to not go with the wrong shuttle as we almost did. They are forceful and pushy at the airport to take you with them and the chaos can be confusing. We booked through O and we thought our shuttle was paid for and we found out soon enough we were not on the list, it was a $30.00 ride from the airport and then $25.00 ride back to the airport. Make sure your travel agency sends you a paper voucher for the shuttles or you will be paying! The hotel “ shopping” is overpriced and ridiculous, I would recommend to bring lots of snacks with you as we did, as a bag of chips is $7 to 10 a bag. The sunscreen is $25 and 30 dollars. I would recommend 2 to 3 bottles depending on family size, we used almost two bottles just for my daughter and I. The shuttles are awesome and take you to the beach from your hotel. Or just about anywhere. My only complaint: As for the food well being a diabetic their was no dessert that was sugarless and they were all loaded with sugar, I am also a vegetarian and the choices were very limited and by the end of the week we were both sick of the repetition and tired of the food. And meat was in almost everything including salads. The hotel needs to do better with the food as perhaps having a table strictly for vegetarians. As when I had an omelette made I gave the guy my plate ( as we have to)I put the vegetables and cheese on and he mixed it in the same bowl as with the other hotel guests that had ham. Needless to say I had ham in my what was suppose to be vegetarian omelette, I never ate it. I even had him do it again and said no meat, he did the same mistake and then made it in the same bowl. Jewish people and vegetarians could not eat the omelettes. This needs improving! Yuri is a wonderful lady with a beautiful smile at the front door at the buffet( Bavarro) and when I requested fruit to take to my room as I am diabetic she was more than happpy to get it for me. Thank-you Yuri! All in all the week was amazing and I would go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For people with diabetes, their were no desserts that were sugarless and the food was limited if you were vegetarian. By the end of the week we were eating the same things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben78
Business
NC
Nov 4, 2011

Not What I was hoping For

The staff were excellent. Food at the restaurants were delicious. Food at the the buffet was hit or miss. Beach was wonderful. Very Disappointed with the room(not clean, broken fixtures, bed smelled).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angie n George
Business
Pawtucket, RI, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Fantastic vacation!

the hotel was great. it had a lot of things to do. the shows were very entertainin and the staff was very friendly and always willing to help with directions. the room was always cleaned by the same time. the reservations at the restaurants were great and the food all around the hotel was delicious. the beach was very relaxing and the pool was always so much fun with drinks available at the swim up bar and the paella constently being refilled and also a cart coming around the pool with champaing, penuts, olives and mixed drinks. We absolutley loved this resort and it's staff!! We def recommend this resort to EVERYONE!!! you will not regret it and you will have the best vaca ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't stop when non-staff or sellers call you over trying to sell you anything. it's not worth it, everything iss too expensive. it will just wate your time & they will give you an attitude when you say no and walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fede
Business
Boston MA
Sep 21, 2011

Great Value All inclusive

Very good place to go and relax. Amenities were impresive and great value for the all inclusive. I reccomend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a.j.m
Business
nj
Sep 5, 2011

fantastic getaway

this resort was amazing! more then what i was expecting recomend to anyone looking to go to punta cana

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to make reservations the day you get to the resort! restuarants get filled up really quick

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fede
Business
Boston MA
Sep 4, 2011

Great value All inclusive hotel

Very nice facilities good service and excellent food. Definitively reccomendable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top