$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
208 reviews
chasing paradise

Very good nice hotel good food good drinks, overall a good hotel See full review

  • chasing joe
  • Aug 12, 2014
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beautiful Latin girl
Goshen, IN
Sep 22, 2012

Best vacation ever!

OMG is all I have to said! Gran Bahia Principe is the best Hotel in Punta Cana, rooms are big and very nice, the hotel is beutiful, lots of things to do and places to go, the restaurants OMG are the best, the food is excellent all you wanna eat and drink all day and all night long. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is can like to do things and explore the Dominican culture. Beutiful place I LOVE IT, Can't wait to go next year AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dominican Republic is a very beautiful place, Love it!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
May 6, 2011

Great Couple Getaway

Whent swimming with the dolphins Saw sanoa island which is a private beach Drank all day!! Spa Treatments were awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was really good at the hotels and they also had themed cuisine like Japanese, A steak house, French cuisine it was all really good.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
May 5, 2011

Complete Honesty - No Holds Barred

Ok...So I read so many reviews trying to figure out where to go in Punta Cana. We were traveling with our 7 month old so we needed a place that was family friendly. We settled on GBPB and all in all it was a really great trip, and a nice place to stay. The Pros: Beautiful location; plenty to do (if you are a beach bum); good drinks, mostly good food; decent room; amazing weather; and just a lot of fun. The Cons: Like other reviewers, my room was not ready on arrival; the language barrier is HUGE! I've seen some here say a little bit of spanish would help, but it is more than that (just wanted to make sure you knew in case you've never been anywhere like here or Mexico); SOME of the staff are friendly, but some are not; the rooms are decent and may just be a place to crash, sure, but they do have mold damage from all the humidity (so if you have allergies like me, bring your meds!). Also, make sure that you bring some sort of medication for the stomach while on your trip. As hard as you may try, something there will almost certainly upset your stomach. We had some nights in which we had the best service but at times when the hotel got slightly more crowded the service was okay at best. The beach was absolutely beautiful, they work hard to keep it clean. Finding chairs for me and my wife wasn't a problem, but if you have a larger party the earlier the better. Pool and swim up bar were also spectacular! Food at the specialty restaurants was mediocre, but we were unable to eat at any of the ones we wanted due to availability, so BOOK EARLY! Also, if you are traveling with a little one, be prepared to be stopped and talked to in spanish for 5-10 minutes at a time by the staff (it was cute at first, but got old fast). Make sure if you want to buy anything you bring only what you want to spend. Bargain with vendors in Principe Town, stay away from Lobby Shops. And as far as tipping goes, totally up to you, but IMHO save your money. It never made a difference in service for us, in fact sometimes after they got their tip service got worse! Last but not least, go ahead and book transportation with CoCo tours. It was nerve wracking from all of the other reviewers bad experiences, but we got to and from the resort just fine. Just make sure you do call them if your flight changes, if you can get through, or just e-mail them. And make sure to arrange your pick-up back to the airport the day you arrive at the hotel, since you are supposed to and nobody told us that, we almost didnt get a ride. So if you are looking for a great place, this one will work. We feel as though we got our money's worth and most things were baby friendly. Hope this jumbled up review helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MARILYN EXPERIENCED TRAVELER
MILFORD CT
Apr 25, 2011

SMALLER IS BETTER

THE HOTEL WAS WAY TOO BIG AND IMPERSONAL. THE STAFF WAS RUDE AND NOT VERY HELPFUL AT ALL. BESIDES THE FACT HARDLY NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH THEY WERE UNCARING AND NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. WE HAD GONE TO CABO LAST YEAR AT THE DREAMS AND THE STAFF AND HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL.IT WAS ABSOLUTE HEAVEN! THIS TIME WE WENT WITH 12 PEOPLE BUT WE COULD NOT GET DINNER ACCOMADATIONS TOGETHER. THE FACT THAT THEY ADVERTISE AS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH. WE WERE NOT ALLOWED IN MANY OF THE RESTURANTS BASED ON THE COLOR OF OUR WRISTBAND. THIS WAS NOT MAD CLEAR TO US BEFORE WE BOOKED OUR RESERVATION. ALL INCLUSIVE TO ME MEANS WE ARE ABLE TO USE "EVERYTHING" THE HOTEL HAS TO OFFER. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. WE BASICALLY ATE AT BELOW AVERAGE BUFFETS THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS. HOW THEY GOT A 4 STAR RATING IS MIND BOGGLING. BETWEEN THE RUDE UNCOOPERATIVE STAFF, THE HORRIBLE FOOD AND THE AMOUNT OF WALKING U HAD TO DO TO GET FROM OUR ROOM TO THE BEACH I WOULD HAVE TO RATE THIS AS ONE OF MY WORST VACATION. IF IT WASNT FOR HAVING GREAT WEATHER AND BEING WITH WONDERFUL FAMILY AND FRIENDS IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TOTAL DISASTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Sad to be back

Taxi to the hotel will be $38 USD total from the airport to the hotel. Another $38 from hotel to airport. I was there for spring break and there weren't any other college spring breakers at the resort. Everyone there was with their family. I don't know if it's always like this. Then again my college has a late spring break (April 18-22) The beach was great and so were the pools. The food and drinks were also good. I would have liked more variety in drinks. They didn't have any cranberry juice. The casino is very small. A few table games and mostly slots. There is an OK night club at the resort. One can take $15 taxis to the other nearby clubs. The extra activities (i.e. parasailing, scuba diving, etc.) are extra. Range from $50-$90. Staff was amazing. I had an overall great time. I really didn't want to come back home to final exams and projects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

The souvenirs are overpriced. You can negotiate and get a better price if you go to the outdoor vendors.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MotherDaughterSpringBreak
Reno, NV
Apr 20, 2011

Spring Break Vacation

We swam in the gorgeous beach, went on tour to Snuba, Snorkel and drive speed boats, ate great meals and watched entertaining shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Gourmet French Food was delicious !!!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carib Traveler
NY, NY
Apr 18, 2011

Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro - Very Good

The hotel was good. The waters were a little rough, but the pool was warm. The drinks lacked alcohol, but it seems to be the trend accross all carribean. Staff was good and food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anttraveller
Moscow
Apr 12, 2011

GREAT PLACE!

Perfect hotel. A bit crowdy but empty beaches close to this place. The huge territory allow this place to do a perfect shows every day. I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami,fl
Apr 7, 2011

Excellent value

Awesome service, super clean. Lots to do, loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Specialty el meson is the best restaurant

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
looking for a good time!!
West Texas
Mar 12, 2011

Awesome vacation

More information about the hotel up front would be well worth it. This place is huge with lots to do. It takes a couple of days to figure the layout of the property out but it is easy. Staff was friendly and the place was super clean. Plenty to eat and drink. If you want to eat at the specialty restaurants you need to place reservations early. No one told us this when we checked in so restaurants were unobtainable. I heard you can reserve on line. This was the only draw back to the whole experience. If you are traveling with family or a group be sure you book together so you stay in the same area. All areas have different colored bands and one color may not be allowed in another color area. Each area/color has its own pool and eating facility. There are common area pools/buffets. Fun place lots to do or just relax. Swim up pool bars everywhere. Staff has something going on all day and night if you want to join in. Good nightly entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian Winter Migrants
Ottawa , Canada
Mar 10, 2011

A groomed paradise

While at the Bahia Principe Bavaro my gf and I enjoyed every minute of the stay. We found all of the entertainment at night to be truly excellent as far as shows go. the crew was genuinely funny and quick witted as well 5 tongued. one of the mc's spoke english, french, spanish, italian, and some slavic language that i could not decipher. The food at the restuarantes are great especially Le Gourmet (french) , Garden Grill (steak house) , Mikado (japonese) . all the staff are amazing. on a few occasions we heard some people giving them a har time and they responded with okay no problem sir enjoy.... you can get away with basically anything within a certain range obviously. very accomedating. also not 1 person will beg u for tips or anything they are happy with anything they give you and will never make you feel uncomfortable with your choice to tip or not, always a smile and salut or w/e . iv stayed in mexico and i felt the exact opposite in the sense that that expected money. all the dominicans seam to have a good life style all to 90% has a cell phone in hand or accessable with a wardrobe shift lol and 50% were black berrys and not the old ones either. i personally saw 4 iphone 4's so by no means are they that far behind america in terms of communication. all the hsops had IMAC's as there desktops..haha i dont even have one. very safe place we left our bags unattened on the ebach for hours and never where they touched, nor were our towels or chairs moved stolen or touched. great time great rooms. we were in the diamond section didnt even need a/c our place was shadded all day just barely and so it stayed cool. we stayed on the beach until 5 or so each day and had no problem getting drinks or a chair. they had 2-3 guys clenaing the ebaches all day from anyting from sea-debris , cups (they cam and grabbed them from you). very clean beach, water, rooms, eating area, the ground are breath taking true island and carbiean feel. sorry for the crazy run on sentences and jumping form one topic to another i just got back and had to spit it out this is how it came. were both 23 and not party animals. the casino was fun, the disco and the kareokee bar were fun . lots of great times to eb had here. the tram comes ever 5 minutes if you ina rush it only take 8 minutes to walk from your room to the buffet from the middle and maybe 10 from end to end (beach to main buffet but there are 2 buffets for lunhc by the beach too win win win)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

as mentioned below : the japonese (mikado) (its tepanyaki so they cook in front of you + a fire show !!) the french (le gourmet) (get the lobster ) and the steak house (garden grill) + get the fillet mignone its their best meat if ur a beef guy/girl!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search