$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
With mi vida
Business
Boston. MA
May 29, 2012

Very Good Vacation!!

Staff was more than willing to satisfy1 food was good, plenty to eat. Will go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ledh
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 13, 2012

couple getaway

excellent experience, very good service, nice location, we had really good time and we will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick20
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Great place to stay

Upon arriving was a little overwhelmed by the size of the resort. After learning the location of everything it got much easier to get around. The trolley car was helpful to get from one end to the other. Overall the staff was very friendly accept for the staff at the reception desk - never a smile or cordial greeting during check in/check out or any interactions during our stay. We would return and probably enjoy it more now that we know how to get around the very large complex.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy J
Business
New Brunswick, NJ, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Spring Break 2012- Money Well Spent

I couldn't have asked for a better time at this resort. Went with a big group of college friends for our spring break and everyone had a blast. The pools are beautiful and the beaches are amazing. One recommendation would be to understand everything the resort has to offer before you get there or latest on the first day. There is a lot to experience. Bring along any sporting equipments such as volleyballs to play on the beach or in the pool. Certain equipments are scarce. Trolleys go from lobby to lobby and to the beach. They run from 5am to 3am. There are shows at night in the middle of the resort at the "Pueblo Principe" and you can enjoy the shows while shopping at the little stores near it. You can very easily bargain down all prices at every store within the resort. Tips go a long way, especially at the bars. I gave a $5 tip to start the night at the discoteca (nightclub) within the resort, and the bartender gave me far more attention than anyone else there. If you plan on taking the taxi anywhere outside the resort, ask in advance the total price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are buffets available for all meals, but if you want to eat at the many restaurants within the resort you should make reservations early. Same day reservations must be made by 3pm that day, but you really need to make reservations at least the day before to get one of your first few choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
granbahiawithfriends
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Lots of fun, lots of options

This resort definitely had variety and lots of choices. There were lots of bars, pools, places to eat and they were all spread out through the resort so there was always something near by. The food at the buffet got boring pretty quickly but we took advantage of making reservations at the resort restaurants so that made dinners much more enjoyable. The most annoying thing was the pools closing at 6pm. That was way too early for our group. Other than that the only criticism I have is the staff was never on the same page. People were always leading us in opposite directions which was a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The japanese restaurant and mexican restaurant were delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tommythunder
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Big resort but ordinary

Thought I that upgrading to Hacienda or Diamond would be good value. It was not cheap drinks and ordinary food. The Ambar hotel is the higher class resort. The staff was kind and great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debpete49
Business
Alabama, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Very nice vacation spot. Beautiful resort with nice beach

We enjoyed our experience there. The beaches are beautiful and weather was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the little buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not el happy o
Business
Detroit Michigan
Feb 28, 2012

Average

Our room wasn't ready when we got there, the bed was like sleeping on a rock, the comforter smelled like urine and the ceiling above our shower leaked when the people above us were using their shower. The food was very bland, and I'm not a picky eater. The breakfast was the best. The meat was over cooked. The individual restaurants really were not good. The pool was awesome, Henry and Lorenzo were the only thing the Hotel had going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is not good, you dont need to go to the resutrants because they are as bad as the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB9562
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gigantic beach resort

The most important thing to know about this resort is that you must be prepared for a huge "complex" - this is really something like 5 hotels grouped into one. There are a bunch of different lobbies and buffets (which are all different bracelet access levels). I'm writing this from the perspective of a 26 yr old guy who went down with a group of college friends. We had a great trip, the staff is overly friendly and nice (in a good way). It will be noticeable how friendly they are on your first day. I speak a little Spanish, but you can get around with no issues if you speak none at all. We all thought food was pretty good, buffets and the reservation restaurants. You are not going to be wowed the way you would at some $20+/plate restaurant in the US but the food will not disappoint either. The beaches are beautiful and the pools are clean. Weather was perfect in the middle of Feb, 80s and mostly sunny every day. We checked out a couple of shows which were pretty good. If you are out late drinking it seems like they funnel you towards the middle/back of the resort where there is a karaoke bar, then the disco club. These are all relatively popular but still fairly tame. After the Disco closes up ~2:00 AM they do have a beach bar that is still open which you can get to via the drunk tram right around 2:00. This is a nice concept that they keep this open for another couple hours for people not wanting to call it quits right at 2:00. IMPORTANT --- As far as the all-inclusive stereotype that drinks are watered down goes: it doesn’t apply here. Maybe with some of the daily specials etc. but if you order a rum and coke you can watch them as they fill it ~50/50. People who are really looking for a serious party are going to need to go off resort to one of the clubs (discos) in the area (Imagine, Mangu, Oro). Overall I give this hotel great remarks, the scenery, architecture, landscaping, and presentation are all very high level for what you pay. I would recommend against Ambar, it is much lower key, the only thing you are paying for is proximity to the beach (which I would argue is not worth the price). If you are quiet and secluded this is probably not the spot for you. You get a lot for the low prices you pay to book this resort so I would fully recommend it to those without outrageous expectations. If you expect more than this from a hotel/resort YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY MORE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach snack bar serves til 4am and beyond...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdawgy209
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Second time as good as the first

second time around with a bunch of friends from college and it was a blast. the food is above average, which is about what you can expect for an all-inclusive place. pools are clean, beaches are clean, and a $1 tip here or there and the staff will load you up with mixed drinks that are quite hearty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top