$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not el happy o
Business
Detroit Michigan
Feb 28, 2012

Average

Our room wasn't ready when we got there, the bed was like sleeping on a rock, the comforter smelled like urine and the ceiling above our shower leaked when the people above us were using their shower. The food was very bland, and I'm not a picky eater. The breakfast was the best. The meat was over cooked. The individual restaurants really were not good. The pool was awesome, Henry and Lorenzo were the only thing the Hotel had going for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is not good, you dont need to go to the resutrants because they are as bad as the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RB9562
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Gigantic beach resort

The most important thing to know about this resort is that you must be prepared for a huge "complex" - this is really something like 5 hotels grouped into one. There are a bunch of different lobbies and buffets (which are all different bracelet access levels). I'm writing this from the perspective of a 26 yr old guy who went down with a group of college friends. We had a great trip, the staff is overly friendly and nice (in a good way). It will be noticeable how friendly they are on your first day. I speak a little Spanish, but you can get around with no issues if you speak none at all. We all thought food was pretty good, buffets and the reservation restaurants. You are not going to be wowed the way you would at some $20+/plate restaurant in the US but the food will not disappoint either. The beaches are beautiful and the pools are clean. Weather was perfect in the middle of Feb, 80s and mostly sunny every day. We checked out a couple of shows which were pretty good. If you are out late drinking it seems like they funnel you towards the middle/back of the resort where there is a karaoke bar, then the disco club. These are all relatively popular but still fairly tame. After the Disco closes up ~2:00 AM they do have a beach bar that is still open which you can get to via the drunk tram right around 2:00. This is a nice concept that they keep this open for another couple hours for people not wanting to call it quits right at 2:00. IMPORTANT --- As far as the all-inclusive stereotype that drinks are watered down goes: it doesn’t apply here. Maybe with some of the daily specials etc. but if you order a rum and coke you can watch them as they fill it ~50/50. People who are really looking for a serious party are going to need to go off resort to one of the clubs (discos) in the area (Imagine, Mangu, Oro). Overall I give this hotel great remarks, the scenery, architecture, landscaping, and presentation are all very high level for what you pay. I would recommend against Ambar, it is much lower key, the only thing you are paying for is proximity to the beach (which I would argue is not worth the price). If you are quiet and secluded this is probably not the spot for you. You get a lot for the low prices you pay to book this resort so I would fully recommend it to those without outrageous expectations. If you expect more than this from a hotel/resort YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO PAY MORE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach snack bar serves til 4am and beyond...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdawgy209
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Second time as good as the first

second time around with a bunch of friends from college and it was a blast. the food is above average, which is about what you can expect for an all-inclusive place. pools are clean, beaches are clean, and a $1 tip here or there and the staff will load you up with mixed drinks that are quite hearty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Family
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Family vacation

Food is below average Resort is huge. rooms can be 20 min away from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maoria
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Feb 16, 2012

The food is terrible

Everything about the resort was great except the food. We would go all day without eating just so we didn't have to eat it. The beach was nice and the entertainment and night was great. But they really news to upgrade the food. We will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ELIZERQ
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 15, 2012

fantastic

GREAT FOOD,GREAT STAFF THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBH2
Business
Lewes, DE, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Another Perfect Vacation

This was our second time staying at this particular resort. We loved it so much the first time we decided to go again. Everything was perfect from the weather to the food. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at three of the a la carte restaurants and were blown away by them! (Especially El Pescador). The food was incredible, even at the buffets (we ate at all 3). One of our favorite things about this resort is definitely the staff. They are always ready with a warm, genuine smile. Another thing we love about this resort is the size. A lot of people we talked to complained about it being too big, but we loved the nice walk to the beach from our villa. We would definitely recommend this resort to our friends and family and anybody else who is looking for a nice, relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

For those who want to go to the beach and are staying at either the Punta Cana or Bavaro resorts, take the trams if you don't like/want to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tvoya2006
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Loved it! coming back soon!

Huge resort, rooms are always well maintained and cleaned. Service was amazing from checking in to checking out, very fast and no problems at all. The beach is beautiful although little overcrowded, but we always find a place to lay in the sun. Food was OK but I never care for that. There are plenty stuff to do, entertaining group was awesome. Club is good though closes too early - at 2 am. Lots of people, so if you are looking for quiet and peaceful place - not for you! Coming back in June!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We stayed at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro - Premier. Rooms are close to entertainment but we had to take bus to get to the beach - it was 8-10 min ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Summer7
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Dec 23, 2011

Incredible Vacation!

I first want to say our vacation was absolutely incredible! The Dominican people work very hard to keep the tourists happy. The language is Spanish and it can be a little difficult with not speaking anything but English but my daughter and I always managed to find an person who spoke some English. We both learned a few Spanish words that went a long way to getting what we needed. As for the hotel room itself we stayed in the Bavarro( orange bracelet) building 5 the top floor which was the 3rd floor (no elevator) and the view was overlooking the pool. It was very quiet for us. If you hate noise make sure you say you want a room away from the main road. The maid did a great job and kept our fridge stocked with pop, and waters. We left her notes of what we wanted and brought presents from the dollar store(for hair and toiletries) and children’s toys and games and art things. We left her something each day with a dollar and bubblegum candy canes. At the end we gave her $10.00 The beach was exceptionally clean and beautiful, it was very warm when we went in the week of December 14-21, 2011. It is a bit rough at times and the waves could take you out far, if you have children it would be smart to bring a life jacket for them if you can. This beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever saw in my life! You will not be disappointed! We did not do any excursions this trip! I would recommend bring $40.00 and 1.00 bills as the Dominican is a place that a tip goes a long way. We did tip a few times in the dining room for supper and the staff will always remember you and take care of you. From the second we got off the plane people were running to us to get our money. At the airport they charge you $10.00 each just to enter their country. Be careful to not go with the wrong shuttle as we almost did. They are forceful and pushy at the airport to take you with them and the chaos can be confusing. We booked through O and we thought our shuttle was paid for and we found out soon enough we were not on the list, it was a $30.00 ride from the airport and then $25.00 ride back to the airport. Make sure your travel agency sends you a paper voucher for the shuttles or you will be paying! The hotel “ shopping” is overpriced and ridiculous, I would recommend to bring lots of snacks with you as we did, as a bag of chips is $7 to 10 a bag. The sunscreen is $25 and 30 dollars. I would recommend 2 to 3 bottles depending on family size, we used almost two bottles just for my daughter and I. The shuttles are awesome and take you to the beach from your hotel. Or just about anywhere. My only complaint: As for the food well being a diabetic their was no dessert that was sugarless and they were all loaded with sugar, I am also a vegetarian and the choices were very limited and by the end of the week we were both sick of the repetition and tired of the food. And meat was in almost everything including salads. The hotel needs to do better with the food as perhaps having a table strictly for vegetarians. As when I had an omelette made I gave the guy my plate ( as we have to)I put the vegetables and cheese on and he mixed it in the same bowl as with the other hotel guests that had ham. Needless to say I had ham in my what was suppose to be vegetarian omelette, I never ate it. I even had him do it again and said no meat, he did the same mistake and then made it in the same bowl. Jewish people and vegetarians could not eat the omelettes. This needs improving! Yuri is a wonderful lady with a beautiful smile at the front door at the buffet( Bavarro) and when I requested fruit to take to my room as I am diabetic she was more than happpy to get it for me. Thank-you Yuri! All in all the week was amazing and I would go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For people with diabetes, their were no desserts that were sugarless and the food was limited if you were vegetarian. By the end of the week we were eating the same things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben78
Business
NC
Nov 4, 2011

Not What I was hoping For

The staff were excellent. Food at the restaurants were delicious. Food at the the buffet was hit or miss. Beach was wonderful. Very Disappointed with the room(not clean, broken fixtures, bed smelled).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top