$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 13, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
188 reviews
Very nice for family or couples

Had very good time although with two small kids. Had entertainment every night - family oriented... See full review

  • Sara Brenan
  • Apr 8, 2014
Will go back again and again!

I've stayed here twice now and it was even a better time the second time around! Very nice people... See full review

  • Mama Juana Chica
  • Apr 1, 2014
Located on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean - Playa Bvaro - on the east coast of the Dominican Republic. Recognized with a Blue Flag by the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). Playa Bvaro beach is world-famous for its white sand, turquoise water and palm trees that burst in with their striking green color: a paradise in which three types of ecosystems converge - the mangrove forest, coral reef and seagrass. It is easily accessed by a highway, in just 35 kilometers you are at the international airport and in 5 minutes at the fantastic 18-hole course of Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price.
The Gran Baha Prncipe Bvaro is surrounded by lush tropical gardens with species native to the region, inviting long and relaxing walks, with two large lake-style swimming pools with a children's section, a large sun terrace, hammocks, beach umbrellas, towels for the pool and beach and bar service. Gastronomy is another of its strengths, with its international buffet and a variety of a-la-carte restaurants. There is time to relax in the superb spa facilities, which will leave you renewed and relaxed with Caribbean treatments, Enjoy our varied choice of sports activities indoors or outdoors as well as our ultimate water sports.
The hotel has 792 rooms located in a lush tropical setting for maximum relaxation. Bars and Restaurants: Varied international cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner at the main buffet and the finest dinners in the five a-la-carte specialty restaurants. You can also enjoy the Complex's 5 a-la-carte restaurants: Gourmet, Italian, Spanish, Japanese and Mediterranean cuisine.
Sports: The hotel offers water sports for all tastes such as snorkeling and kayaking (each for 1 hour complimentary per day). Learn the basics of scuba diving in the pool (1 complimentary session per stay) or sailing aboard catamarans or on motorboats (with charge). If you prefer traditional sports, you have a gym and facilities to play soccer, basketball, volleyball, tennis, paddle tennis, lawn bowling, darts and mini-golf. For golf lovers, just five minutes away you'll find the fantastic 18-hole course at Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (with charge).
Wellness: The Resort's spa performs Caribbean health and beauty treatments in its magnificent facilities. There is a spectacular hydrotherapy area (water circuit) to combat stress with three different types of saunas, therapeutic and sensation showers and two splendid swimming pools. Couples can also enjoy VIP cabins with private Jacuzzi; and there are several Massage Palapas on the beach.
Entertainment: A vibrant daily international program, live music and a wide variety of nightly shows in the Hotel's amphitheater will entertain adults and kids alike.
Children: It is the perfect place for kids to have fun with multiple activities throughout the day. They can also play in the mini-club (from 4 to 12 years)and our new water park. Baby-sitting service available (with charge). And at night, they have the mini-disco.
Also: 24-hour medical service and pharmacy (both with charge). Personalized menu options for celiacs and diabetics, baby-sitting service (with charge), an auditorium for business meetings, celebration of weddings and anniversaries. Free Wi-fi in the lobby.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
JPCP
FLorida
Jul 17, 2013

Wonderful Vacation

This was my husband and I second all inclusive hotel vacation. This hotel was great, clean, the staff friendly and very helpful. We enjoy the food, specially the a la carte restaurants. We like the amenities, and we stayed at the Ambar hotel, which is one of the five inside the Gran Bahia Principe. I only think was bad was the transportation from VIP services, they were always late, including going back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
jplani
sleepy hollow ny
Jun 20, 2011

the perfect getaway

the experience was excellent,the best of all is that you acess to visit and enjoy all the ameneriesi n the diffrent hotels of gran bahia execpt for the buffet that i consider unlogical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

el pueblito is the most popular place when people csn buy and find anything you want

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2011

Great time- if you are realistic

We went surfing- which was the best part of our trip. I thought the cleanliness was a little lacking but it is a third world country so you have to be realistic and take it for what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Olmaz
Moscow, Russia
May 29, 2011

Good trip but...

Overall it was a good trip, but few things i didn't like: 1)I paid extra charge (about $6 per day more) to get a better room. But didn't find any difference compare to my friends' rooms (3 more couples). 2)More than that we get a room with 2 separate beds instead of 1 king size. Why do i need 2 small beds if i am travelling with my wife? 3)Rooms looks old. Bathroom doesn't look fresh. 4)Toilet cover was broken but got it fixed when i informed reception. 5)First day we were told by receptionist that we will be able to have breakfasts and lunchs at one special separate restourant but when we tried to do that we have been told by restourant manager that we don't have such option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We liked a "Michle Jackson" show. It was very interesting!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Tiff Taff
Chicopee, MA
May 28, 2011

Amazing Resort

Everything you need is right here on the resort. Shopping, dancing, pools, beaches!!! The intertainment was outstanding. The grounds of the resort were beautiful. The food could have been a little bit better but good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Nene Briceño
Santiago chile
May 22, 2011

excelent for families

Nice place, good transportation to beach and lobby, good food!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, Ca
May 6, 2011

Great Couple Getaway

Whent swimming with the dolphins Saw sanoa island which is a private beach Drank all day!! Spa Treatments were awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was really good at the hotels and they also had themed cuisine like Japanese, A steak house, French cuisine it was all really good.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
May 5, 2011

Complete Honesty - No Holds Barred

Ok...So I read so many reviews trying to figure out where to go in Punta Cana. We were traveling with our 7 month old so we needed a place that was family friendly. We settled on GBPB and all in all it was a really great trip, and a nice place to stay. The Pros: Beautiful location; plenty to do (if you are a beach bum); good drinks, mostly good food; decent room; amazing weather; and just a lot of fun. The Cons: Like other reviewers, my room was not ready on arrival; the language barrier is HUGE! I've seen some here say a little bit of spanish would help, but it is more than that (just wanted to make sure you knew in case you've never been anywhere like here or Mexico); SOME of the staff are friendly, but some are not; the rooms are decent and may just be a place to crash, sure, but they do have mold damage from all the humidity (so if you have allergies like me, bring your meds!). Also, make sure that you bring some sort of medication for the stomach while on your trip. As hard as you may try, something there will almost certainly upset your stomach. We had some nights in which we had the best service but at times when the hotel got slightly more crowded the service was okay at best. The beach was absolutely beautiful, they work hard to keep it clean. Finding chairs for me and my wife wasn't a problem, but if you have a larger party the earlier the better. Pool and swim up bar were also spectacular! Food at the specialty restaurants was mediocre, but we were unable to eat at any of the ones we wanted due to availability, so BOOK EARLY! Also, if you are traveling with a little one, be prepared to be stopped and talked to in spanish for 5-10 minutes at a time by the staff (it was cute at first, but got old fast). Make sure if you want to buy anything you bring only what you want to spend. Bargain with vendors in Principe Town, stay away from Lobby Shops. And as far as tipping goes, totally up to you, but IMHO save your money. It never made a difference in service for us, in fact sometimes after they got their tip service got worse! Last but not least, go ahead and book transportation with CoCo tours. It was nerve wracking from all of the other reviewers bad experiences, but we got to and from the resort just fine. Just make sure you do call them if your flight changes, if you can get through, or just e-mail them. And make sure to arrange your pick-up back to the airport the day you arrive at the hotel, since you are supposed to and nobody told us that, we almost didnt get a ride. So if you are looking for a great place, this one will work. We feel as though we got our money's worth and most things were baby friendly. Hope this jumbled up review helps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
MARILYN EXPERIENCED TRAVELER
MILFORD CT
Apr 25, 2011

SMALLER IS BETTER

THE HOTEL WAS WAY TOO BIG AND IMPERSONAL. THE STAFF WAS RUDE AND NOT VERY HELPFUL AT ALL. BESIDES THE FACT HARDLY NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH THEY WERE UNCARING AND NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. WE HAD GONE TO CABO LAST YEAR AT THE DREAMS AND THE STAFF AND HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL.IT WAS ABSOLUTE HEAVEN! THIS TIME WE WENT WITH 12 PEOPLE BUT WE COULD NOT GET DINNER ACCOMADATIONS TOGETHER. THE FACT THAT THEY ADVERTISE AS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH. WE WERE NOT ALLOWED IN MANY OF THE RESTURANTS BASED ON THE COLOR OF OUR WRISTBAND. THIS WAS NOT MAD CLEAR TO US BEFORE WE BOOKED OUR RESERVATION. ALL INCLUSIVE TO ME MEANS WE ARE ABLE TO USE "EVERYTHING" THE HOTEL HAS TO OFFER. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE. WE BASICALLY ATE AT BELOW AVERAGE BUFFETS THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS. HOW THEY GOT A 4 STAR RATING IS MIND BOGGLING. BETWEEN THE RUDE UNCOOPERATIVE STAFF, THE HORRIBLE FOOD AND THE AMOUNT OF WALKING U HAD TO DO TO GET FROM OUR ROOM TO THE BEACH I WOULD HAVE TO RATE THIS AS ONE OF MY WORST VACATION. IF IT WASNT FOR HAVING GREAT WEATHER AND BEING WITH WONDERFUL FAMILY AND FRIENDS IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A TOTAL DISASTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Sad to be back

Taxi to the hotel will be $38 USD total from the airport to the hotel. Another $38 from hotel to airport. I was there for spring break and there weren't any other college spring breakers at the resort. Everyone there was with their family. I don't know if it's always like this. Then again my college has a late spring break (April 18-22) The beach was great and so were the pools. The food and drinks were also good. I would have liked more variety in drinks. They didn't have any cranberry juice. The casino is very small. A few table games and mostly slots. There is an OK night club at the resort. One can take $15 taxis to the other nearby clubs. The extra activities (i.e. parasailing, scuba diving, etc.) are extra. Range from $50-$90. Staff was amazing. I had an overall great time. I really didn't want to come back home to final exams and projects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

The souvenirs are overpriced. You can negotiate and get a better price if you go to the outdoor vendors.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
MotherDaughterSpringBreak
Reno, NV
Apr 20, 2011

Spring Break Vacation

We swam in the gorgeous beach, went on tour to Snuba, Snorkel and drive speed boats, ate great meals and watched entertaining shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Le Gourmet French Food was delicious !!!

Back to menu Return to top