$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
282 reviews
Family Vacation july 2014

We all had a wonderful time. All the staff were helpful . Punta Cana Grande Bahia Principe Bavaro... See full review

  • Boggie MD
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fantastic vacation

I keep saying that if you're ever down, go to Punta Cana. The staff is so friendly and happy. They... See full review

  • Fabi B
  • Jun 18, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby
Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7219 -68.4647
Area served
Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport.
Area description
GRAN BAHIA PRINCIPE BAVARO located in the East Coast of the Dominican Republic, at 20 km from the Punta Cana Airport (30 minutes by car) and 70 km of the La Romana Airport (90 minutes by car), and is 60 minutes from the Higuey Town, in the Province of Altagracia.

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qfactor
atlanta
Oct 8, 2012

very nice resort

Excellent excellent staff, they make you feel like a king.No complaints at all.Only positive critic i will give is the main lobby gets extremely hot and if they can get one or two of those big ceiling fans this hotel will be flawless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cali Pachanguera
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2011

RECOMMEND

It was my first time in Punta Cana and an All-Inclusive Resort BUT not our last. We enjoyed every moment of it. I must emphasize that as soon as you check-in at the hotel, you book the a-la-cart restaurants, we weren't able to get a reservation because I did it the morning after we arrived, and basically, HURRY UP AND BOOK. The shows at the Pueblo Principe and dancing at the Disco, "Congas Bachata" was a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mkre
Gran Bahia Bavaro
Aug 14, 2011

Bahia

It was a very nice resort. A lot of seaweed at the beach, but i think that was because of a storm that was coming. Otherwise it was very pleasent. Food was sub-par, but it's what you would expect at an all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Very decieving,what you see is not what

The main hotel what you see on the pictures is very good but the area of the hotel where they place you [...] is not even on the hotel pictures it would be a few inches above the actual photos you see in the descriptions. Security at entrance to hotel took 15 minutes to get thru, Front desk very rude and in attentive. Rest of staff was friendly and helpful enough but not enough to overcome the bait and switch with the rooms and the security and front desk issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx, NY
Aug 11, 2011

Very decieving,what you see is not what

The main hotel what you see on the pictures is very good but the area of the hotel where they place you [...] is not even on the hotel pictures it would be a few inches above the actual photos you see in the descriptions. Security at entrance to hotel took 15 minutes to get thru, Front desk very rude and in attentive. Rest of staff was friendly and helpful enough but not enough to overcome the bait and switch with the rooms and the security and front desk issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 5, 2011

Great place but.......

The resort to begin was beautiful, the staff were friendly although I speak spanish I didn't see anyone have a problem. The room was big and the bed was a little hard but I guess that's personal preference. Our air conditioning was not working but they did take care of the problem. Now the but " The Food", unfortunately took away from all the good. The meat was low quality and the buffet was mediocre at best. Also the liquor are not big name, I asked for Jack Daniels drink and was charged because its considered top shelf. I drank at the casino which offered a better variety but I had to pay there, but was pretty cheap compare to new york prices. All in all I had a good time and enjoyed the atmosphere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester , ny
Aug 5, 2011

GREAT HOTEL--PLEASE READ, WILL EXPLAIN

This hotel overall I thought was very well. Just like every review you see, theres bad and good ones. This will be a good one. We stayed there for one week 7/28-8/4. I traveled with my 2 bestfriends who happen to date. We also had our male friend come as well. Him and I both being single. First recommendation is to book taxi service [...]. Very precise, and the drivers get you to your resort as soon as you get off the plane. When we arrived to the hotel we were in awe. Lobby is huge, waitresses coming over giving you drinks, music, and tons of people. After about 40 minutes of getting our room and getting all checked in, our fun began. Food service is of course 24-7, with a great selection. Yes some of it does get repetitive, however bring into play that its all inclusive, your not going to get NY sirloin steaks. Drinks however were watered down a bit. We all came down to have a good time and to drink. We drank all day and did not feel it as much as we thought. Which is fine, better to pace yourself especially with that sun. our 2nd day we started early and hit the pool. In the main pool bar, come 2 or 3 pm, its a fantastic athmosphere. Music playing all the time. I didnt think there would be that many people at this resort, but i was way wrong. Everyday at that pool bar, theres around 100-130 people, all mixed ages. Im 25 , and I would say most were around 20-30 years old. There was alot of older couples there but mainly my age and a little older. Did alot of attractions, I would recomend doing the speed boats. Very fun, very fast. Staff does speak mainly spanish, but will do there best to speak and understand english. Room service was great, everyday same time it was done. Great place to go if your single, lots of single men/females. Most speaking spanish, but alot of english as well. We met a ton of people everyday and then would meet up with them in the night life. Night life I thought was great.At 9 pm everynight they have a show in the theatre. Very good show and nice bar there as well. People then usually drink in the lobby bar until 12, then walk to the sports bar, casino, or the nightclub right next to it. Casino is small and i have 2 complaints. You have to pay for drinks, also I was scammed one time. I cashed out with $135 and only receievd $100 back. I argued back and fourth but was no point because they didnt understand me. After they close at 2 am, if you want to keep drinking, not to many people know that they dont stop serving alcohol until 7 am. You can only get it at the snack bar by the main pool. Thats where I had the most fun. Lots of people my age that spoke english. I believe a few nights i strolled back in no earlier then 4 am, no later then 630 am. Make reservations for dinners. My favortie was italian and the japanesee. While sitting in the lobby just socially drinking, servers are coming around to take your order. Veyr nice staff, not as quick with getting drinks (depends on server) but very very proficient. EVerytime will wipe your table so you dont have liquid all over. also even if there is 1 ciggarette but in the ash tray they will replace it everytime. BY the end of the week, we wanted to drinks something different. They have a gift shop on the resort where they sell liqour and red bull. We went that way and had a phenominal time. The lobby breakfest/lunch or amazing. I recommened every day you goto those. Transportation service is a bit slow, but we realized if you use the trolleys in the middle, its faster by about 10 minutes. less stops, less speed bumps. Sorry for writing such a long review but You see good and bad, and I would def recomend this hotel/go back again. Have fun if you do go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 5, 2011

Great place but.......

The resort to begin was beautiful, the staff were friendly although I speak spanish I didn't see anyone have a problem. The room was big and the bed was a little hard but I guess that's personal preference. Our air conditioning was not working but they did take care of the problem. Now the but " The Food", unfortunately took away from all the good. The meat was low quality and the buffet was mediocre at best. Also the liquor are not big name, I asked for Jack Daniels drink and was charged because its considered top shelf. I drank at the casino which offered a better variety but I had to pay there, but was pretty cheap compare to new york prices. All in all I had a good time and enjoyed the atmosphere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester , ny
Aug 5, 2011

GREAT HOTEL--PLEASE READ, WILL EXPLAIN

This hotel overall I thought was very well. Just like every review you see, theres bad and good ones. This will be a good one. We stayed there for one week 7/28-8/4. I traveled with my 2 bestfriends who happen to date. We also had our male friend come as well. Him and I both being single. First recommendation is to book taxi service [...]. Very precise, and the drivers get you to your resort as soon as you get off the plane. When we arrived to the hotel we were in awe. Lobby is huge, waitresses coming over giving you drinks, music, and tons of people. After about 40 minutes of getting our room and getting all checked in, our fun began. Food service is of course 24-7, with a great selection. Yes some of it does get repetitive, however bring into play that its all inclusive, your not going to get NY sirloin steaks. Drinks however were watered down a bit. We all came down to have a good time and to drink. We drank all day and did not feel it as much as we thought. Which is fine, better to pace yourself especially with that sun. our 2nd day we started early and hit the pool. In the main pool bar, come 2 or 3 pm, its a fantastic athmosphere. Music playing all the time. I didnt think there would be that many people at this resort, but i was way wrong. Everyday at that pool bar, theres around 100-130 people, all mixed ages. Im 25 , and I would say most were around 20-30 years old. There was alot of older couples there but mainly my age and a little older. Did alot of attractions, I would recomend doing the speed boats. Very fun, very fast. Staff does speak mainly spanish, but will do there best to speak and understand english. Room service was great, everyday same time it was done. Great place to go if your single, lots of single men/females. Most speaking spanish, but alot of english as well. We met a ton of people everyday and then would meet up with them in the night life. Night life I thought was great.At 9 pm everynight they have a show in the theatre. Very good show and nice bar there as well. People then usually drink in the lobby bar until 12, then walk to the sports bar, casino, or the nightclub right next to it. Casino is small and i have 2 complaints. You have to pay for drinks, also I was scammed one time. I cashed out with $135 and only receievd $100 back. I argued back and fourth but was no point because they didnt understand me. After they close at 2 am, if you want to keep drinking, not to many people know that they dont stop serving alcohol until 7 am. You can only get it at the snack bar by the main pool. Thats where I had the most fun. Lots of people my age that spoke english. I believe a few nights i strolled back in no earlier then 4 am, no later then 630 am. Make reservations for dinners. My favortie was italian and the japanesee. While sitting in the lobby just socially drinking, servers are coming around to take your order. Veyr nice staff, not as quick with getting drinks (depends on server) but very very proficient. EVerytime will wipe your table so you dont have liquid all over. also even if there is 1 ciggarette but in the ash tray they will replace it everytime. BY the end of the week, we wanted to drinks something different. They have a gift shop on the resort where they sell liqour and red bull. We went that way and had a phenominal time. The lobby breakfest/lunch or amazing. I recommened every day you goto those. Transportation service is a bit slow, but we realized if you use the trolleys in the middle, its faster by about 10 minutes. less stops, less speed bumps. Sorry for writing such a long review but You see good and bad, and I would def recomend this hotel/go back again. Have fun if you do go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Adventurous Mom
Chicago, il
Aug 4, 2011

Excellent time!

The hotel was beautiful itself. They provided trains that would take you to your villas, since it is a huge place. There were restaurants and pools scattered throughout the resort. In the resort itself they have what's called "pueblito" which means small town, where you can do some shopping and they had nightly entertainment as well. In the pueblito they had bars, nightclubs, and a casino as well. I really enjoyed watching the different shows at night. The staff there are amazing! Like I mentioned before in order to get around the resort there are train stops that you wait in, or you can just walk. Everyone in the resort was friendly and helpful. Most of the staff speak other languages as well, that was very convenient. There was always a variety of food among the buffets as well. Because this is a tropical island there were plenty of mosquitos, ants, and other bugs in the rooms. Me and my daughter got bitten at night as we slept. I recommend to bring mosquito repellent! Other than the bug issue, we had a really good and memorable time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

You can easily get frustrated when shopping in the pueblito where the vendors are. They each try to lure you in to buy something from their stand. I suggest if you don't want to deal with the vendors that are in the middle of the plaza, walk along the front of the stores and stay on that path.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 2, 2011

Punta Cana Bahia Principe Bavaro

Staff doesn't speak English. There was a lot of confusion in regards to moving to another room, since part of my family was leaving and I had booked a separate room for an extra day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top