$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
qfactor
atlanta
Oct 8, 2012

very nice resort

Excellent excellent staff, they make you feel like a king.No complaints at all.Only positive critic i will give is the main lobby gets extremely hot and if they can get one or two of those big ceiling fans this hotel will be flawless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lattenldy
Business
Washington DC
Dec 17, 2013

Group Trip

Over all enjoyed my stay. The breakfast food wasn't so good. Lunch and dinner were good, We made reservation at the Japanese steak house. That was excellent. The room was clean and staff was nice. Our location was great. We stayed only steps from the beach. We were at the Amber. The alcohol was free flowing at all of the bars. The only problem was it wasn't that way in the rooms. You only got little miniature bottles, one can of beer and different types of water. They only fill the fridges once a day. The pools were nice however it is hard to relax because they have people walking around trying to get you to sign up for excursions all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nickkil
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 12, 2013

First time out of the US

I was worried I would have trouble going to my first all inclusive and first time in another country but I couldn't be happier.. Everyone was helpful and attentive to my needs. Loved every single day. I did an incursion to string ray bay, went to the beach, ate great food, met really nice people, and stayed in a very clean beautiful room. Night life was fun. Karaoke bar, Casino, Dance club, singers and entertainment were all good times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Caribbean festival was the best day I had. Went to Swim with the sharks, play with the Sting Rays and then went out to snorkel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Penny pincher...
Business
Michigan
Dec 10, 2013

Ladies trip

Nice getaway with my mom's.... Didn't expect the beach to be so far away but transportation is available. Plenty of food so needed to walk off a few extra pounds. Didn't let the little things ruin my vacation. Would go back but would upgrade to be closer to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DR fan 7
Business
Ohio
Dec 9, 2013

Not truly all inclusive

Despite the fact it claims to be all inclusive there are lots of hidden costs - wifi (anywhere besides the lobby where you can get 60 min free per 24 hours), higher end liquors, the safe in your room ($4/day). You also have to have reservations for any restaurants other than the buffets even if they are not full. The beach is about a 7-10 minute tram ride away or a much longer walk. Our room was by the pool which was often noisy (loud music) from about 10a-6p every day because their animation team is constantly doing activities. While the activities are nice while you're at the pool, we could hear about all of them from our room with doors closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRE Mimi
Business
Punta Cana
Dec 5, 2013

good family fun

It's a good place too spend time as a family but if your a couple looking for a gateway select somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

food is not all that good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paloma R
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 6, 2013

A dissapointment!

Horrible customer service, no sense of urgency. Made the reservation in advance about a month in a half before we arrived and the rooms were not next to one another. After, they made me upset and I requested to speak with a manager who never show up, it took then about a hour to find two rooms at close proximity. The menu is almost the same everyday, except for some variations, the juices taste like water. Not many entertainment choices for adults. The children's water park was excellent. However, overall will not come back or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park for the children a five plus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noah's mom2
Business
NE PA
Aug 26, 2013

Beach getaway

The beach was beautiful. Soft sand and warm clear water. Water sports were very fun. There were many different pools and they were warm and clean. The rooms were average. Clean, except for the tiny ants that were everywhere. Got about 30 mosquito bites in 6 days. Bring bug spray and bug cream. Pay the couple of extra bucks for the hacienda club. Your room will be close to the beach and you get an extra night in the fancy restaurants. Buffet was average adult food. A little hard for my son, who also has a tree nut allergy. He couldn't eat any desserts for the entire stay. They speak "some" English. The ala carte restaurants were very good. We went to the barbecue, Italian, and Japanese restaurants. Bring snacks. They always have food to eat ( hamburgers,hotdogs), but not what Americans call snacks. Beach was the winner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puntacana chic
Business
Puntacana Domician republic
Aug 25, 2013

Family vacation

Everything was great, except not enough beach towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaTravels
Business
Bk, NY
Aug 22, 2013

Ordinary vacay

Got to the hotel at check-in time and there was one person manning the desk with a line of 8 ppl waiting. After about 10 minutes, 2 additional staff came and assisted. Got assigned to a room with a king size bed but I'm vacationing with my Mom. Placed call to front desk and was informed that hotel is full and won't be able to change room until 1pm next day but I would have to call. Room change took place with minimal fuss. Attempted to make reservations at speciality restaurants without success; informed that reservations had to be made the morning of desired day but this proved false. No linen change for entire stay. Bathroom sink finally thoroughly cleaned on day 6. Although entertainment titled Caribbean show and international night, focus was totally latin based which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean in Dallas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2013

Nothing like the pictures

Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 kids and asked for 2 queen bed and got a king size instead. My kids had to sleep on a sofa and they did not want to do anything about it. Booked this hotel because it showed big slides for the kids and fun activities but there weren't any big slides and the kids activity hall is a small room with 2 games and very loud music. Food was ok if you don't mind eating all three meals at the same place every day while you are there. We had no house keeping for 3 days out of the 5 days we were there. I normally don't like to wright these reviews but this place is really really unorganized and you should consider twice before booking in this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner reservations before you even arrive at the resort because they don't like giving those out even if the place is empty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top