$281 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

4 stars
Arena Gorda Macao, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
225 reviews
Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not... See full review

  • Jersey Cindy
  • Nov 22, 2014
WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the... See full review

  • little Morena
  • Nov 2, 2014
Large Caribbean resort at coastal golf course
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive is a regal Spanish colonial style resort between Punta Blanca Golf Course and the white sands of the coconut coast. Have an active vacation with water sports, and unwind on beachfront day beds in total comfort. Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro guests share restaurants, 5 pools and nighttime entertainment with guests of two adjacent Gran Bahia hotels, all landscaped with native vegetation and protected mangrove ecosystem.
Highlights
  • 9 restaurants, 16 bars, nightclub, adjacent resorts and 24/7 room service
  • Entertainment for adults and children with live music (Merengue, Bachata and Salsa)
  • Snorkeling, windsurfing, sailing, beach yoga, tennis and Merengue lessons available
  • On-site scuba dive center, day spa and golf course (fees apply)
  • Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms
  • Childcare available (fees apply)
Rooms
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro provides a varied range in 1,296 rooms. Decorated in sophisticated red hues with terra cotta tile floors and outdoor terraces, most rooms sleep 4 on a sofa sleeper and pillow-top king bed. All units are air-conditioned and have ceiling fans, and in-room safes (fees apply). Mini-refrigerators have a daily supply of chilled water, soft drinks and beer. Upgrade to a hacienda for extra space, free high-speed Internet access, a special breakfast and lunch terrace.
Features
Recreation
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive guests get an hour of windsurfing, kayaking, sailing and bike rentals. Two lake pools have shallow children's' areas and a swim-up bar serving endless cocktails. All 5 Gran Bahia complex swimming pools and the beachfront are equipped with luxury wooden sun beds and complimentary towel service. Activities (fees apply) include beachfront massages, golf, 4WD adventures, speedboating and deep sea fishing tours. Upgraded rooms have additional
Dining
16 bars (3 along the beach) and 9 restaurants at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro – All Inclusive provide daily buffets for every meal and three specialty restaurant dinners per week. Access to a karaoke piano bar, nightclub and live music theater are included. Premium top shelf drinks available at all bars (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)
  • La Romana Airport (49.7 mi/80.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport (113 mi/182 km)
  • Free resort shuttle
Attractions
  • Bavaro Beach (Adjacent)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Club (Adjacent)
  • Macao Beach (10.3 mi/16.5 km)
  • Cap Cana Marina (19.4 mi/31.2 km)
  • Higuey (24.1 mi/38.7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Laptop computer rental, faxing and mail services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Superior
The room includes:2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Ironing set
Junior Suite Club Hacienda
2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 king-size bed (2 m x 2 m) with pillow top mattresses Sofa bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Fully fitted bathroom Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Satellite LED television Direct-dial telephone (outside calls with charge) Safe (with charge) Alarm clock Mini-bar Balcony or terrace with anti-hurricane shutter in some rooms Hair dryer Bathtub with Jacuzzi Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slippers in the room (upon request) VIP Amenities Telephone with private help line Alarm clock Coffee machine in the room Private reception Welcome Cocktail The exclusive restaurant for breakfast and lunch. 4 Dinners in A La Carte Restaurants per week (advance reservation) WIFI in the room (with charge) Free WIFI in the lobby

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

IL CAPRICCIO
Italian Restaurant
MAIKO
Japanesse Restaurant
EL MESON
Spanish Restaurant
SANTA FE
Tex Mex Restaurant, exclusive for guest in Club Hacienda Rooms
LE GOURMET
Gourmet Restaurant
BUGAMBILLA
Buffet Restaurant
LAS OLAS
Buffet & Bar
LAS OLAS II
Buffet & Bar
SNACK BAR
Night Snack Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boardin'
Toronto
Apr 17, 2013

Best Beach - Awesome Property

You won't find a better value for the location and beach in Bavaro - the property is huge and the staff is great. They take great care of the beach and you have lots of options for activities. I have been to this resort multiple times and always come home happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

To be honest - unless you are on a romantic dinner and really want someone to serve you... the only restaurant to get to that is a better experience than the buffet is the Japan restaurant - here you will get a good show and good food that you can't get at the normal buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danni007
Business
NJ
Dec 1, 2014

Would recommend :-)

Clean rooms, good food/good selection. Amazingly friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zqmaster666
Business
Boston
Nov 25, 2014

Good place to stay for vacation

The staff are very helpful! Recommend! The meals are just ok tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jersey Cindy
Business
New Jersey
Nov 22, 2014

Amazing experience

Wow! One of the best vacations ever ! The staff is so friendly and entertaining. I could not believe all the attention we received! Six days was not enough. This resort is so huge and the bartenders were the best . Six days there and we didn't make it to all the pools. There was one manager señor Felix who was so honest and genuine he drove us to our room instead of leaving Us by the bus stop.The pool side bartenders Jose, Enrique, and Hugo definitely made my vacation better with all the strong drinks. I would definitely go back to this resort it was amazing the only thing was when we went to the pool closest to the beach there wasn't a lot of chairs available but it wasn't a big deal. Overall I recommend everyone to go to this resort the entertainment is the best at night and the aerobics instructor at the pool is hilarious I can definitely see that all the employees love their job ! Amazing experience thank you to the staff for the amazing attention and experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Michael Jackson show gets really packed try to find a good seat at least 20 mins before. The mr Bahia show is a must see and also the circus show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DonDonD18
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2014

Punta Cana - Grand Bahia Bavaro

We did not have a "4 Star" experience in Punta Cana. We were incredibly disappointed. Very limited with restaurant choices and the buffets were not open for very long. The food was terrible and the casino was under construction. We will not recommend this resort and actually recommended to some friends that were planning to go there to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dirksen
Business
Chicago
Nov 15, 2014

Great couples retreat

The resort was great. Events going on every night at no additional cost. The drinks are great and the servers are fantastic - especially if you speak some Spanish. The A La Cart restaurants were great, and the buffet was pretty decent. The beach was unreal and has no closing time!!! Feel free to take a cigar or drink to the beach after dark and enjoy the waves, incredibly soft sand, and waves crash to the shore in the moonlight. Also.... even just walking through the waves at night is the best idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
little Morena
Business
Mass
Nov 2, 2014

WELL WORTH IT!

this vacation was well worth my money. i read many reviews before booking it and none of the negatives were true, the staff was phenomenal always made sure that everything was up to par. i will be coming back here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

all attractions are beautiful and worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LanaB
Business
DC
Oct 23, 2014

Bahia Principe

I have to say that the overall the experience was very nice and for the price we paid it was great. Resort is located within 30 min drive from the airport. Here are the details of why I gave only three stars to the property: The grounds are very well maintained, with that little special touch of sun imprints and pictures everywhere! I thought that was adorable! Several pools, swim-up bars, restaurants, hangout areas. Great! Using those amenities is another story. Pools ran out of towels quite often. The resort does not have a shuttle service to and from the airport so you have to book your own. We worked with one of companies that provides shuttle service and it worked out just fine. Our room, although nice, was not cleaned properly. The floors were never! cleaned with soap and water (even though outside grounds were) - our feet were so dark from walking around barefoot in the room it was embarrassing and we could not wash that dirt off! Only after we got back and I got a spa pedicure it came off. The shower, sink, and toilet all needed replacement. We could not switch between the tap and the shower head in the bath completely. Water was running from both at all times and it was difficult to shower because the pressure was low. Sink tap was so difficult to use, we had to use both hands to turn it on/off. Toilet flush button was constantly getting stuck and there's no ventilation in the bathroom. Staff - nice and friendly - but not very helpful. They either didn't know anything, or gave conflicting information. However I have to say thanks to Guest Services Rep. who went out of his way to help me with writing a letter to the restaurants in Spanish because I have allergies to make sure I don't get sick! The beach area was very clean and supplied with enough long-chairs. So was the pool. The pool deck can get very slippery when wet so be careful walking around. The bartenders were nice and attentive. The place felt like a land of plenty! Food, drinks, entertainment! I was particularly impressed with food selection, was very worried about it because of numerous allergies, but had no issues and did not feel left out! It was a great vacation with minor set backs. I gave three starts only because we didn't get to fully enjoy the entertainment program because of being misinformed and I like my room floors clean. :-) Overall, I liked the place and would recommend. Maybe we would've had a different experience if it was not our first time in Dominican Republic. ADVICE: Research in advance, make all arrangements as soon as you arrive and most importantly ENJOY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can bargain! Also be prepared to pay triple compared to US prices if you run out of a sun block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLawrence22781
Business
Franklin, NH
Oct 19, 2014

Great vacation!

Great time! Would recommend to couples, singles, and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoneLady traveler
Business
Phoenix, Az
Oct 4, 2014

Great experience for a lone traveler

I was a little nervous about traveling to another country by myself. But I have the most wonderful time during my stay in punta cana. All the hotel staff were very accommodating and inviting. I had no trouble making new friends, The resort is very large and has a very diverse population of people from all over the world. Great value for the dollar. I will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Be ready for lots of American tunes, if you want to dance to Latin you'll have to go off the resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Just Susan
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 28, 2014

Punta Cana was gorgeous!!

It was so perfect...staff was wonderful, room clean and comfortable, food excellent - - just a perfect vacation..Simon the grave shift manager was amazing...and our driver Sandri was too beautiful and kind to us......so many people to assist with anything you need and even thought a huge resort - easy to move around on the trains available all day and night...Doctor on-site as well as a pharmacy....we had a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak House was excellent food and the staff was perfection..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top