$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,231 reviews
Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly... See full review

  • Caring mom
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 1231
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lowlow
punta cana D.R
Jun 21, 2014

Great place to getaway

It was a great place .The staff was so nice always in a happy and helpful. If u needed anything they always went out there way to get what u need. The rooms were nice to with all u need in them . I love the shower tube the mini bar .The excellece is my number one place. The beach was so nice with the way the got it layed out. I can go on on about this place . Just talking about it puts a smile on my face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fulkstr
Virginia
Apr 7, 2014

Great getaway!

Wonderfully relaxing! Something there for everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen OC
New York, NY
Mar 31, 2014

It's what you make it...

This is a great resort to "choose" the kind of vacation you want to have. You can relax quietly on the beach, go to the spa, sleep in. OR you can take part in all the activities by the pool, dance the night away to the band on the plaza and have fun! I've been both with my husband and with girlfriends, and it's fun either way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The pat couple of times I've gone, the rooms have not been ready before check-in time. So don't book a flight that gets in town really early.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jamming jamika
atlanta ga
Jan 5, 2014

Great time in punta cana

The property was beautiful. Very spacious but not too huge that you need a golf cart to get around. The restaurants were great. The french, Mexican and tapas were our favs. The staff is amazing. If you can go for an ocean view room. We upgraded once we got there. The activities were plenty and fun. Loved aqua aerobics. Gym and spa are awesome. We had a great time and was so worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We asked the concierge to get us a cab ride into the city to experience authentic dominican food, tourist attractions, and get cheaper souvenirs. Cab ride was about $90 u.s. but he stayed with us all day and took us all around.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen83
Teaneck, NJ
Nov 23, 2013

Good times!

I went to The Excellence with a few of my friends for my 30th birthday. We had a great time with great food and great drinks. My only complaint is that the resort is a bit off the beaten path. There really is no reason to leave the resort unless you are going on an excursion which they completely set everything up for you. However, if you did want to do something not associated with the resort or go for a walk or shop there is really not much you can do because there is nothing around outside the immediate area. The Excellence really does have anything that would need in a nice relaxing adult vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go out to a club there is not much of an option. The club is about 45 minutes and you can set up a shuttle with the hotel but, they do have a minimum amount of people that they would have to take and you have to stay out until they pick you up when the club is closing. It is just easier to hang out at the resort and go to the casino or the "disco" they have there.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler's
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

Worst Resort Experience Ever!

We were guests at a destination wedding. The experience was a disaster from the start. We are frequent travelers so we understand the system. This was our first experience with an "all-inclusive resort" and now we understand why we have never been in favor of such a trip. It is a real drag to be told you must exit the pools at 6pm and that you must eat the same food in every restaurant...and drink the same beer (Presidente with an occasional showing of Coors Light) and alcohol each day. The food quality in most restaurants was hit or miss but should be noted that the flavors seemed to blend no matter what you ate. The resort lost power and literally did nothing to assist their guests with lighting...it was a very dangerous situation because it occurred in the evening...no lighting in guest rooms...all restaurants except one that used an emergency generator were shut down...people wandering about in search of answers and got none. Back to the restaurants...the "house wines" served were so under quality that we had to buy off the wine list each night and even that was ridiculous as every wine we chose in the mid range was typically not available resulting in purchasing the next step up...ranging in the $40-$50 per bottle range! Btw...It is not very well documented that men are not allowed in most restaurants without long pants and dress shoes and women in elegant sandals! Also to make a reservation for a table of 10-12 guests was bazaar...I practically had to pay off the concierge. As guests of this resort we seriously felt like children being reprimanded by parents each and every time we asked a question. As for the guest rooms...mediocre at best...quite old and worn out...we took the advice of an online review and showed a $20 at check in for the 2nd floor room but truly...not necessary as our family had rooms all about the resort and all appeared the same...run down. Next comment is disturbing...we had frequent visits from cockroaches in our room...we did get immediate attention from the service people and had our room sprayed three times during our week long stay...the comment was that we are on an "Island" after all! Many people in our party became quite ill due to food/water quality...we later learned that this country has very poor water treatment plants so please be careful to all... since spoke to Infectious Disease MD who informed us that folks traveling to the Dominican should be immunized with Hep A (two doses..six months separated) and an a Typhoid Injection or pills. Also note that the Resort is quite spread out and that the restaurants are mainly only on one end so if you are rooming at the opposite end you will have a lot of exercise time walking back/forth...perhaps they should consider the golf cart method especially for their older guests. Ground transportation is a joke...you pay up front when making reservation and you get put in a van that hasn't ever been inspected...and little to no air-conditioning...and have to have an appointment the morning after you arrive to set up departure van only to find out that they are trying to sell you activities for your "all-inclusive" stay and "unsafe" activities at that. I went on to find out that these companies do not even work for the Excellence Corp...they sell space to them on premise so that they can harass their guests...go figure! Should be noted that the activities our family participated in were not safe...ie..sail boating and horseback riding. The tour that was taken for the horseback ride was off property on the crazy roads and ended up at their stable in lord only knows where...and a van ride back to the resort...So strange! I'm sorry about the negative comments but just being honest...We would never return...this was a very expensive trip and if it wasn't for spending good fun times with family I would demand a refund! Sincerely, A Few Disappointed Traveler"s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do NOT drink the water...do not even brush teeth with the water!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PGood
Wake Forest, NC
Aug 5, 2013

Wonderful Vacation

This resort was great. Not the best I have been to but not far from it. If I had to nit pick about things it would be the lack of English language by the staff. It was hard to communicate sometimes as to what you wanted or were looking for. Food was fine. Buffets were tasty and there was a lot to choose from. Beef was a little suspect. I wouldnt eat it again if given the choice. Seafood was good though. Amenities were exactly as I expected them to be. Great pool and great beach. Never any crowds anywhere. More rafts for the pool would be nice though. Excellence Club was worth it in our opinion. Having all the snacks in the club, those were the best desserts in the whole place. I would reccommend this place but dont think I will return only because there there are so many other places I want to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared for a long and nausiating shuttle ride. It seems there are no traffic laws.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30 something couples
Richmond, VA
Jun 27, 2013

Nice Resort

Beautiful Beach: deep beach with plenty of seating options and clean water. Waiter Service at the pool and beach was a nice surprise, even though we were did not upgrade to the Elegance Club. It's a long drive from the airport (1 hour), but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet was very good, but the room was hot and stuffy. Get 'to go' containers and eat brekfast overlooking the beach at Las Olas.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CardioNazi
Camarillo, CA
Apr 20, 2013

Paradise in Punta Cana!

This was my first trip to Punta Cana and Excellence Resort exceeded any expectations I had prior to arrival. The staff here is amazing and will go out of their way to help in any way they can and will always tell you it is no problem. The resort property itself is immaculate. The rooms are spacious and luxurious and the property is kept very clean at all times. My friend and I dined at six of the eight restaurants and were delighted with the food and loved the appropriate portion sizes (unlike the U.S.). The view and beach on this property will take your breath away. I spent four days on teh beach enjoying the sun and reading and never tired of the view. The gym here has all up to date equipment and Wander teaches pilates or yoga every morning except for Sunday. He gives you a great workout. Edwin at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us arrange a taxi to take us to a nightclub in Bavaro for dancing, even getting us drinks to take with us on the way. The absolute only downfall to this trip for me was that my friend and I were the ONLY singles on the entire resort. If you are in a couple this place could not be any better for you. If you are single and not looking to mingle this place is for you. You will not be bothered. If you are single and looking to mingle I would try a different singles oriented resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jurian1971
Russia
Mar 19, 2013

yuriy

An unforgettable holiday! We were in heaven! I recommend it 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top