$502 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
747 reviews
Nov8-22

This is a great hotel,from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after like... See full review

  • Garryqpr
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (747)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 747
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation True Review
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Hated It!

Went with three other couples and everyone agreed that this place was the worst place we have ever stayed. The service was terrible and no one speaks English. It is impossible to get a drink from a waiter or waitress, you need to get everything yourself. Drinks are watered down and cheap alcohol is put in top-shelf bottles--no one is fooled, most of us are adults and know the difference. I say "most of us" because there were quite a few loud drunken people who were screaming at the pool until all hours of the night, yelling at us every time we walked past. No way is this a 5 star hotel. Not 4 star. Not 3 star. If I could leave zero stars, I would. Food was horrible throughout, especially breakfast since you would expect that is the one meal that no one can mess up. What a disappointment. This place is old and dirty too. The rooms are small and the TV has about 2 channels in English and the reception is awful. They also have these poor birds (6 of them) stuck in a cage in the main lobby just looking miserable like they are in jail. Is there a point to that? Does anyone want to see birds crammed in a cage? It was depressing to see these poor animals trying to flap their wings in this tiny cramped cage. No idea why they would have that there, I think in an adult only resort all adults would have by this point in their lives seen enough birds that they wouldn't need to see a bunch of them crammed in a cage. This place is old, depressing, and don't forget EXPENSIVE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler's
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

Worst Resort Experience Ever!

We were guests at a destination wedding. The experience was a disaster from the start. We are frequent travelers so we understand the system. This was our first experience with an "all-inclusive resort" and now we understand why we have never been in favor of such a trip. It is a real drag to be told you must exit the pools at 6pm and that you must eat the same food in every restaurant...and drink the same beer (Presidente with an occasional showing of Coors Light) and alcohol each day. The food quality in most restaurants was hit or miss but should be noted that the flavors seemed to blend no matter what you ate. The resort lost power and literally did nothing to assist their guests with lighting...it was a very dangerous situation because it occurred in the evening...no lighting in guest rooms...all restaurants except one that used an emergency generator were shut down...people wandering about in search of answers and got none. Back to the restaurants...the "house wines" served were so under quality that we had to buy off the wine list each night and even that was ridiculous as every wine we chose in the mid range was typically not available resulting in purchasing the next step up...ranging in the $40-$50 per bottle range! Btw...It is not very well documented that men are not allowed in most restaurants without long pants and dress shoes and women in elegant sandals! Also to make a reservation for a table of 10-12 guests was bazaar...I practically had to pay off the concierge. As guests of this resort we seriously felt like children being reprimanded by parents each and every time we asked a question. As for the guest rooms...mediocre at best...quite old and worn out...we took the advice of an online review and showed a $20 at check in for the 2nd floor room but truly...not necessary as our family had rooms all about the resort and all appeared the same...run down. Next comment is disturbing...we had frequent visits from cockroaches in our room...we did get immediate attention from the service people and had our room sprayed three times during our week long stay...the comment was that we are on an "Island" after all! Many people in our party became quite ill due to food/water quality...we later learned that this country has very poor water treatment plants so please be careful to all... since spoke to Infectious Disease MD who informed us that folks traveling to the Dominican should be immunized with Hep A (two doses..six months separated) and an a Typhoid Injection or pills. Also note that the Resort is quite spread out and that the restaurants are mainly only on one end so if you are rooming at the opposite end you will have a lot of exercise time walking back/forth...perhaps they should consider the golf cart method especially for their older guests. Ground transportation is a joke...you pay up front when making reservation and you get put in a van that hasn't ever been inspected...and little to no air-conditioning...and have to have an appointment the morning after you arrive to set up departure van only to find out that they are trying to sell you activities for your "all-inclusive" stay and "unsafe" activities at that. I went on to find out that these companies do not even work for the Excellence Corp...they sell space to them on premise so that they can harass their guests...go figure! Should be noted that the activities our family participated in were not safe...ie..sail boating and horseback riding. The tour that was taken for the horseback ride was off property on the crazy roads and ended up at their stable in lord only knows where...and a van ride back to the resort...So strange! I'm sorry about the negative comments but just being honest...We would never return...this was a very expensive trip and if it wasn't for spending good fun times with family I would demand a refund! Sincerely, A Few Disappointed Traveler"s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do NOT drink the water...do not even brush teeth with the water!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

an awful experience

This was the worst service that i have ever had at a hotel..We were turned away on two seperate evenings and were unable to eat due to a completly incompetent staff and management. Are bed had some type of biting ants...the jacuzzi tub for the resort only worked a third of the time...no one spoke more than a few words of english..and the food all tasted the same which was horrible....dont go to this resort !! !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Boccee
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Food is a BIG Disappointment

I have been to punta cana once before for my honeymoon and we stayed at paradisus and I can't tell you how wonderful it was. The grounds were amazing the food was amazing and the service was great. This time we went back for a friend's wedding and so we had no choice but to stay at excellence. The place was nice, but not spectacular like paradisus. I will say having a large group the small grounds made it convenient to find people. The rooms are nice and clean, the beach is beautiful, but the resort has no pizazz. My biggest problem was the food. I understand that it is an all inclusive, but the food at other resorts can be delicious. I can not say the same. I was asked by another person on the trip if there was anything we ate that we could say was really good, and the answer was no. Kind of sad. Food isn't everything, but saying that the wendy's I had at the airport when I left was the best thing I ate all week is pretty sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 4, 2011

Disappointing

The welcome was the best part of the trip from then it's all down hill. We got the Excellence Club room (their top of the line option) it comes with full size liquor bottles in your room that are restocked daily (good way to stock up for your trip home). This is the only time you will drink decent alcohol. We have noticed that all the drinks they serve use very cheap liquor poured into premium bottles. They do this so poorly that I had to order 5 vodka drinks before they found a bottle that actually had vodka in it rather than light rum (this happened at every bar every time). Food is average and portions are almost entertaining they are so small. We had everyone in our group get really sick at least once during the trip and they didn't even drink the water. The staff is very laid back, too laid back to get the most simple thing to happen you would easily need 2 hours and that's if you were lucky. We kept tipping hoping that would get better but no luck. Make sure to reserve your free horseback riding before you go, they have minimal spots and none of us were able to get a chance to go. Bottom line the liquor is cheap, the food is average, and service is nonexistent. The positives were the scenery, nightly shows, and company we brought with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order 2 of the dinners you want because the portion sizes are tiny and it's already all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel More for Business Than Pleasure
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 12, 2010

Only Worth It If It's SUPER CHEAP.

Overall, my experience at the Exellence Punta Cana was a solid "so-so". I had fun, but it was because I was with good friends, not because it was an awesome resort. Here's the detailed report: For 2 people we paid about $3000 (including flight) for 6 nights in the standard room (no fancy upgrades to the Excellence Club, which would have added an extra $500 to the trip for the week), and I think I would have been happy if we had paid about half that amount (i.e. $1500 for 2 people including flights). For the $3k we paid though, the experience was a let-down. I should note that I usually travel for business (domestic and international), so my expectations (re. service, room quality, etc) are set by the service I typically get at a nicer Starwood hotel... especially when paying $3k to stay for a week in a country like Dominican Republic where the $USD is still relatively strong. Unfortunately, the Excellence Punta Cana didn't hit my expectations for the 4-star hotel that it was sold as. Here are the pro's and con's: PRO: - AWESOME bar staff, especially at the pool bar. Good drinks, nice personality, good service. - Pool and beach areas were nice. The upkeep wasn't awesome, but they were fine. - Food. Overall the food, as usual for the Excellence resorts (I've also been to Excellence Cancun), was better than the other all-inclusives I've been to. (Iberostar Riviera Maya, Barcelo Maya Palace in Mexico, Paradisus Punta Cana, etc). The Lobster House was the only disappointment (lobster was mushy/ fishy so we left and went to a different restaurant) but the others were good. We liked Agave (mexican), Spice (asian fusion) and Toscana (italian) the best; our friends liked Chez Isabelle (french) the best. We would have liked the french place better if the service had been better, since the food *was* good - but the awful service made it one of our least favorites. - Welcome staff. The bellhops and front desk staff were very good, and had nice personalities - like they actually enjoyed their jobs. :) This was unlike the rest of the service staff at the hotel (excluding bar staff), who seemed to hate being there most of the time. - Entertainment. Surprisingly AWESOME, especially on the nights when they did theater shows with dancing, which was really high quality! (e.g. broadway, Micheal Jackson, etc). Also, the day-time entertainment people were lots of fun if you like the cute games and stuff. They gave away bottles of rum with $40 gift certificates to the spa if you won, so that was cool. CON: - Rooms. They were on the shabby side. You can tell they used to be really nice, but now they're a little old. I'd say the quality was comparable to an older Holiday Inn Express in the US. My husband had to DEFROST our in-room fridge himself just to get it to work (always fun after a 6 hr plane ride), the chain lock on our door was broken, the shower head was dangling from the shower when we arrived (he fixed that himself too), and the shower drain was plugged. The bed was lumpy and the pillows were small and hard. Not sure when the last time was that the comforter had been washed. Also, we had that lovely musty/ moldy smell that seems ubiquitous in the tropics. We didn't think the smell was too bad til we got home and realized that everything in the suitcase smelled like the room, and it was rancid. Oh, and the air conditioning was not strong. It was cooler while we were there (thank god) so it was okay, but I can't imagine how the rooms would feel in the middle of the hot season. Overall, the rooms were not thrilling. - Housekeeping. They often took our dirty towels without leaving clean ones. You get a max of 2 bath towels, 2 washcloths and 2 hand towels, no more (despite many requests via notes in Spanish, left for housekeeping along with $USD tips) and often times way less than that (as in, only 1 bath towel for 2 people). :( - Mini bar. When we arrived, everything in the mini bar was room temperature...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to go to the "Micheal Jackson" show if you get the chance. It was AWESOME - as in, I'd pay money to see it back home! (Surprising, since most of the all-inclusives have awful/ cheesey entertainment!) :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Islanders
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 8, 2009

Excellente service, but bad food

It takes an hour from the airport to arrive to the hotel. We knew this, therefore, it did not bother us much. When we arrived, they received us with a champagne glass ang gave us an automatic upgrade. We paid the most affordable room, and they assigned us to a suite. The lobby is nice and the surroundings too. They upgraded us, but the room was not ready when we arrived, therefore , we went to the Italian restaurant. Do not be fool, they have eight restaurants, but all serve the same bad food. When the room was ready, two hours later, we noticed that it was very pretty. Also, I should say that Dominican people are amazing: friendly and they offer a great service. However, the food that they serve is terrible. This culinary disaster was shown over and over again: in the Pan Asian Restaurant (the sushi does not even look like one), the French and the Steak house. The shows at night are very, very low quality. The drinks are international. However, do not expect the most expensive ones, but you can find Chilean wines, and the Mojitos are great. For me, it was fine. The swimingpool is very nice too. The last day, we paid for a massage, and the experience was wonderful. They noy only gave us the massage, but also treated us like royalty. A good thing to do. In summary, I would not go back again, because the quality of the food is very important for me. and unfortunatedly it is very, very, very low... In addition, we found a big roach in the bedroom the last day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gamecock
Business
Fort Mill, SC, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great Beach, Horrible Service

After staying at Excellence Playa Mujeres, I had very high hopes for this vacation. We went with friends who have all stayed at Excellence Resorts in the past and had great experiences. We were there over New Years. The drive from the airport is almost and hour. If you get car sick, the take some medicine beforehand since the roads are rough. When we got to Excellence, it looked nice. The front desk workers were very friendly. We were supposed to stay in building 12, but they changed us to 4. Thanks goodness they did. Our other friends got 12 and it was a dump. Room: The room was average at best. The shower was very small. The bed was minimally comfortable and had about 50 thread count sheets that feel like sandpaper. The comforter was cheap and felt like polyester. Pillows thin and uncomfortable. The AC barely worked and the room was hot and muggy. Bars, Food, and Restaurants: Other than the Grill, I would say the food was terrible. It was worse than food on a bad cruise. The service was equally as bad. We spent 3 hours at the New Years Eve dinner and the food was not good. Service was so bad that we eventually went to the bar to get our own drinks. Most of the waiters did not speak good English and things got lost in translation. I am not sure if the regular staff was off for vacation, but it was bad. The drinks and service at the beach and bars was pretty good though. Beach and Pools: These are the only saviors for this resort. The beach is immaculate and the water is beautiful. The pools are well maintained and extend almost the entire property. pool service for the bar is great. Entertainment: The New Years bash was great until the ball dropped. I mean who plays Mariah Carey's "All I Want For Christmas" as their New Years song? The breakdancing was pretty awesome. The sports area is also pretty nice. Casino: The casino is very small. Only Blackjack, Roulette, and Slots. The staff is not very friendly, but we still had fun. Not very much English spoken in here either. Overall I was very disappointed with this resort. I expected more from Excellence. The Dominican is very beautiful, but this hotel ruined it for me. If I ever decide to go back it WON'T be at Excellence. Playa Mujeres was about a 1000 times better than this one. Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 14, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana

Nice place to relax for the price, but nothing worth getting excited about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 25, 2010

Betty's Bday Celebration

The hotel was situated on the beach and was nicely laid out. While the food was generally good, it did not meet expectations in terms of quality. We generally ate grilled fish most of the time which I enjoyed but steered clear of the Lobster House based on reviews read or those expressed by current guests. For the resturants that were indoors air conditioning was very poor. The same was for the room air conditioning. The casino was very small and was therefore not appealing. The evening entertainment was ok (Bdway review, Tribute to Michael Jackson). Overall, I would not recommend Punta Cana as a destination for future travelers. Perhaps other locations in DR are more attractive with more to offer. I generally felt sorry for those who were on their honeymoon. Overall, the resort is isolated with nothing else to do then what is offered there unless you care to take excurions which are 1.5 hours away. The sports bar is located outside so in the evenings if you wanted to play pool or ping pong you would be eaten alive by the mosquitos. The water was beautiful, however, it was quite rough for several days so those who are not good swimmers, beware. Shopping is limited unlike most other islands where duty free shopping is prevelant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Skip it. Too limited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top