$502 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
744 reviews
Nov8-22

This is a great hotel,from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after like... See full review

  • Garryqpr
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (744)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
744 out of 744
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Oct 6, 2009

Excellence Was Alright...

The hotel is in the middle of cow-town. We are scuba divers, and I asked the hotel before I booked to make sure that I could go scuba diving at least 3 or 4 times, but they lied to us. The reason we couldn't go diving was because we were so far away from the dive locations that they wouldn't come to the hotel to pick us up. A/C in the room sucks. and there isn't anywhere else that has A/C except for the buffet. There were a ton of bugs. Even though we wore a ton of bug spray each of us still ended up with 6 new bites every night. The pools were peaceful and the drinks tasted really good, but service was only good if you put out money to tip the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 13, 2010

Overall, a great time!

Overall, we had a great time! We have stayed at the Excellence resort in the Mayan Riviera. When comparing the two, the one in Mexico had better service and was overall a little newer looking, had more comfortable beds and a little nicer rooms with a lot less humidity in the rooms (got much cooler too). The food was good at both locations - Mexico and the DR. Also, the resort in the DR is about an hour from the airport. The roads are pretty rough so it made for a long ride. We did a private transfer through "Dominican Aiport Transfers" so that made it a little better. This resort had a much larger and better fitness center and the beach and water were much cleaner and easier to swim in, etc. than Mexico. Not sure we would make a second trip to the resort, but definitely had a great time and enjoyed experiencing a different country and culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KeithGP
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Jul 26, 2010

So so stay!

It's a good resort but was not excellente as I wanted it to be. The food was good but not spectacular. The drinks were good. The hotel is a little dated for my taste but cleaned nicely. Housekeeping was the worse. Towels were hard to come by and getting the room cleaned happened sometimes as late as 5PM. The beach was rough but enjoyable. The gift shop was laughable. With all that being said, the staff and actual Dominican people were very, very kind and warm. They really made the stay much better! I don't know if I would return, but I did have an enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For the men, bring some slacks. The dress code in some restaurants are strictly enforced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 23, 2010

Not up to Par

I got engaged on this trip, so was looking for a good, romantic time with my girlfriend/fiance. The place is beautiful, and the weather was perfect. However I was not happy with the service. We signed up for the anniversary package since it was our 1 yr, but when we arrived, there was no fruit plate/flowers on the bed/champagne. When we finally received it, they only sent one glass! There were 2 days were the mini-bar was not re-stocked. When we first arrived, the air conditioning didn't work, and we were told that this is just how it was. After numerous calls to the concierge, we were given a different room. Our TV was static-y, and when called, the guy just came in and wiggles the wire until it was clear. It seems like I am complaining about petty things, but this was supposed to be perfect to create a beautiful start of our life together, and I was disappointed. There were even a few staff members who were rude on purpose so they could be fired! I don't want to take away the good, because there were staff members who took it upon themselves to fix my room for the night of the proposal because no one else would, and were helpful in other ways. It seems that if everything goes well, this is a great place. However, if there is something wrong and you need assistance, service is lacking. Oh, and all the restaurants don't have air conditioning, so prepare to be warm while you are eating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucy World Traveller
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Mar 21, 2011

Salty Food

A very nice location with sandy beach and lots to do. My husband and I enjoyed our time by the beach and the pool. The resort is pretty clean and people who work there are nice. We found that the food was extremely salty. Our stay would have been better had we had a better selection of food. Feeling bloated throughout our holiday was not pleasurable. The entertainment was good at the beginning of the week but then got a little worse towards the end. The resort is located about an hour from the airport. Our drive back to the airport going home was horrible. Unfortunately the winding roads caused me to throw up at the airport. Our overall experience was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 26, 2010

HoneyMooners Review

Very nice. The service was good. Our first room had a leak in the ceiling and we were moved right away. The food was good, yet the bottled water bothered both my husband and myself but when we spoke to some other visitors they were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamom
Business
Saint Louis Missouri
Jun 6, 2010

solo trip

I loved my room, it was nice. I paid for an Oceanview and I could barely see the Ocean, it was obscured by a huge hut. I was in the excellence club which had it's own amenities,which I liked. I had a nice flat screen tv in my room with a dvd player which I made use of since I was traveling alone. This place caters to couples so at times I felt uncomfortable. The best part about the resort was the location. The beach was wonderful! And being part of the Excellence club, we had our own private beach area where we we catered to by the staff, which was great! The weather was not the best, it rained alot and was mostly overcast. I would probably not go again to this resort at this location. But I would try another Excellence property somewhere else.The sweet drinks were too, too sweet! It was almost as if they were giving you the concentrate. I conferred with other guests and they agreed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Take in some or all of the shows, most were pretty good. The disco was not good, it was never well populated and the DJ did not play the most popular music so there was not much dancing, even with the few people who were present.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 13, 2009

Totally underwhelmed

We choose this hotel because we stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Club and thoroughly enjoyed that resort. This one was a huge disappointment!! From the very beginning, we were not greeted when we arrived and we were Excellence Club guests! The food was bad at all restaurants except one. There was mold in the shower in our room. It took 2 days to get washcloths in our room. The staff was very friendly and polite. I would not recommend anyone paying the extra for the Excellence Club. The only advantage that we could see was the use of the Club Lounge with snacks and internet. The grounds were lovely and the wildlife area was nice.We would not stay at this resort again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in this resort is awful with the exception of Chez Isabelle, French restaurant. That was great. Agave,Mexican food was the next best and if you drink Corona, that is only place in the resort that you can get it. I thought that was a little odd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Oct 3, 2009

beautiful beach, aweful food

The service at Excellence resort from the moment I stepped onto the premise, until the minute I left, was impeccable. The beach is beautiful, the pools are clean, the grounds well kept. My primary goal was to rest and relax at the beach and that goal was achieved. The only complaint I have about the resort is the absolute TERRIBLE food. I have no words to describe the disappointment that I had, so much so that I sometimes skipped meals to avoid having to eat. The quality of the food was atrocious at worst and mediocre at best. For example, the fresh squeezed juices during breakfast were made from spoiled fruits. Nothing was really fresh. The quality of the food did not detract from the service of the staff, it was just very disappointing. If you enjoy eating DO NOT GO TO EXCELLENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
May 5, 2009

The Good and Bad

The people were really nice. Our room had a great view, but was getting wore down. The pool was very good. Every restaurant we at, the food was cold and just not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top