$371 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
741 reviews
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Honeymoon

Positives: -great customer service. Employees are there to please you and make your vacation... See full review

  • Scotty C
  • Nov 3, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (741)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
741 out of 741
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 14, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana

Nice place to relax for the price, but nothing worth getting excited about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 29, 2010

Not as good as everyone says

Overall the hotel is not as good as everyone says. The staff is hit or miss on if they can speak english. I would say more then have the staff speak little or no english. When we ordered room service, they got our order wrong 5 out of the 6 times we ordered. We met other couples while we were there and set up a dinner for 14 people. When we got to the resturant the staff would not allow us to all sit together. They would not even place us in tables next to each other. When I spoke to the manager and front desk again they would not allow it to happen and they were rude. The air conditioning in the rooms were not strong enough. We were still swetting in the rooms. Also, the drinks are not extremely cold. The staff is slow in time to get things done. Our mini bar was linking and broke. we told them four times and nothing was done. Lastly, everything at the resort and island is expensive. You would think because it is such a poor country that the prices of good and services would be less but that is not the case. You must take into account I am from New York City, so high prices is somthing I am use to. If you leave the resort do not wear any jewerly. The air conditioning in the restuarants is low that you will be swetting from the moment you wake up to the moment you go to sleep and even during your sleep. The one positive thing about this resort was that the grounds were in excellent condition and the pool was so large that it was never crowded. The food was good. It was not great but it was not bad. Overall, I would never go back to this hotel. It is definetly not a 5 star hotel. 3 1/2 stars is more like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2010

Beautiful beaches saved this hotel

We have been to all of the Excellence resorts now. This one was least by far our favorite. The staff was ok, the grounds were beautiful and manicured. Hotel is showing its age. The beaches were absolutely gorgeous and we took one excursion to Saona Island which was breathtaking. We HATED being harassed by the vendors they let onto the properties almost every day! My husband and I were sick about 5 of the 9 days we were visiting. We could not figure out what it was as we were not drinking the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Feb 24, 2011

PUNTA CANA

SERVICE WAS WONDERFUL ! FOOD HAD ALOT TO BE DESIRED,MAYBE JUST NOT INTO GOAT AND DIFFERENT TASTE IN THEIR BEEF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2009

ok, but not great

our vacation was ok, but not great. Our issue is we have stayed at very lovely locations in the caribbean and this place was very average. The food was not very good. The service was adequate, but was not helpful if there was a problem or concern. They were somewhat dismissive. Don't venture off the resort property. The beach becomes very litered and we were told somewhat unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marley01
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Feb 20, 2011

Has the potential to be a lot better

Our Honeymoon: We were pretty disappointed when we walked into our oceanfront suite and were hit in the face by a strong smell of mildew. After we woke up the next morning with bites all over us, I demanded a new room. They did accomodate us, but it was a lesser room in the Excellence Club. The food is plentiful, but mediocre at best and service was slow. Don't bother with the Lobster House unless you like lobster thats like paste. One plus I can give is they have top shelf liquor and are generous with their pours! The resort has amazing potential with a great set up and beautiful surroundings but it just doesn't live up to its hype.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lastminute getaway
Business
PHILADELPHIA,PA
May 19, 2010

A BIT OVER RATED

OVER RATED,ROOMS ARE HORRIBLE,HAD TO BE MOVED TWICE,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

VARIETY/STEAK HOUSE WAS THE BEST

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2011

Like being on a land-locked cruise ship

First let me start by saying, I'm a Foodie and an independent traveler (meaning, I typically prefer charting my own course vs. relying on a tour guide). So please understand I see everything through that filter. I know everyone has a different travel style...but for me, Excellence was at BEST "Mediocre." The Property: A little old and beginning to show it's wear. Still, it's nice and maintained well. My A/c and hot water didn't work in the first room ...so they moved me to another room which was fine. The new room had teensy tiny ants in certain areas, but not really enough to change rooms again for. The Staff: Super friendly and helpful. Will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One drawback...(first cruise reference)... there were lots of "organized" activities. The staff were super aggressive about getting you to particpate in them. To the extent that you might be sleeping on the beach and they sit down beside you and wake you up to see if you want to play bingo. The Food: Left A LOT to be desired. Several themed restaurants... but they all apparently use the same "fajita spice mix"...so the asian themed restaurant offered a pad thai that tasted strangely mexican; the Lobster/Seafood themed restaurant offered a surf and turf featuring peppers sauted in a similar flavor profile (and the "turf" might have acutally been TURF b/c it was so tough ...and was also smothered in GRAVY?!?!; The Italian place ....you guessed it, fajita bolognese :-)... Strangely the at Mexican themed place I actually had a fajita...and it tasted like it'd been seasoned w/Oregano. Go figure. -- Second cruise reference...because ther resort is so far from everything ...you are TRAPPED...w/no access to anything else. No shopping, no new people, no new food. To get off the resort you need to spend a fortune on a taxi or do an excursion. I did two. Excursions: Super pushy sales people. Made me feel as though I was being scammed (for example a roving sales person at the beach offered me horseback riding for $45...and at the excursion counter it was $70. When I asked why the price difference...I got really vague answers.) I ended up doing the horseback riding, but felt super guilty the entire time as the horses were SKIN AND BONES. SO Sad! I tried to pick the most robust horse possible but even still was careful not to over work him. I also did a zip lining excursion, which was super fun and gave me a much needed break from the resort. All in all...the resort is fine, if you want to go somewhere...not think and kind of stay put. If you want to see the DR, eat good food and chart your own course...and if you're a single female...maybe pick a different, more accessible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ft lauderdale
Aug 8, 2009

good but not great

very nice but only a 3/4 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Oct 6, 2009

Excellence Was Alright...

The hotel is in the middle of cow-town. We are scuba divers, and I asked the hotel before I booked to make sure that I could go scuba diving at least 3 or 4 times, but they lied to us. The reason we couldn't go diving was because we were so far away from the dive locations that they wouldn't come to the hotel to pick us up. A/C in the room sucks. and there isn't anywhere else that has A/C except for the buffet. There were a ton of bugs. Even though we wore a ton of bug spray each of us still ended up with 6 new bites every night. The pools were peaceful and the drinks tasted really good, but service was only good if you put out money to tip the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top