$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
810 out of 810
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EXCELLENCE NEW YORKER
Business
NY
Jul 8, 2010

PLEASE READ!!

Being that I have traveled to many different countries and have stayed at many different all inclusives, I would have to rank the excellence as the worst of the bunch. Now, I am a New Yorker who loves to eat. But lets be honest, you can't expect much when leaving the states. I didn't expect to have top of the line food in DR, but the food there was just miserable. I chose to upgrade to the excellence club, BIG MISTAKE!!! Here are the only two positives of the excellence club- 1. You share a private pool with everyone who upgraded 2. You share a private area on the beach with everyone who upgraded. Here are all the negatives- The excellence club lists that you have a private lounge with food; the food in the lounge consists of a tiny piece of bread with a slice of meat and a cheese, fruits, and pastries majority of the time (just miserable)- it also lists that in your room you have top shelf bar and drinks, we'll i went to DR for six days, and the excellence refilled my fridge maybe twice. - listed was that you would receive beach bag and towels, well i got the towels on the first day, and that's it. NO bag, or towels on the other days. - didn't have hot water one night (but i cannot blame the hotel staff) - had the front desk call me on day two of my trip asking what time i was checking out, when i told them i wasnt, they were shocked. All in All, the Excellence is by far not Excellent. If you do choose to go, I would make sure you DO NOT UPGRADE TO THE EXCELLENCE CLUB, It is not worth it. You get the same service as if you were in a regular room. I am not a complainer nor do I usually write reviews, but after this trip, I had to warn people. I did complain to the manage of the Excellence club after day three of my trip. He told me that he'll make sure everything would be taken care of. We'll it was, for that one day. Then it went back to garbage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Entertainment casino & club....if you like to party with your wife, husband this by far has the best nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
roc
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2011

Pros and cons

We are big fans of the all inclusive vacation, knowing that we knkw up front our costs. We have been to several different ones, though this was our first trip to Punta Cana, and our first (and last) trip to Excellence. We arrived late on Saturday (after midnight) , mainly because CocoTours! Who we booked our transportation with, was unorganized and had too many people booked into one van, so we had to wait over a hour to go. Arrival at Excellence had our hopes up. The reception was friendly, quck and informative. Our bags were taken right away to the room, which was lovely. We had a junior ocean view, and our room looked pit on the garden right in front of the ocean. Beautiful room and view. Now the issues. They red flagged the surf every 5/6 days we were there, so we could do nothing but swim. There is a huge wash-up of seaweed and garbage every morning on the beach, which is cleaned up by the resort but then bagged on plastic, which some days sat on the beach for hours. These are numerous, dozens of them. The one day we did get to boogie board, e staff was polite and friendly. Service on the beach is almost nonexistent some days. On Thursday, we saw one server for five minutes, who never went past the first group of people, and that wa it. We were on the beach for six hours and no one ever came near again. This was a recurrent event on the beach. The main pool is very noisy and crowded, and shallow, with one area only 1.1 feet. The cascade pool, which is where we spent most of our nonbeach time, is gorgeous, with a waterfall and great service, as well as a bar right here. The problem is, there are VERY few shaded spots here (one trellised area with eight loungers) so if you aren't early, you are out of luck. Drinks are routinely too warm, unfortunately. We always had to ask for more ice. Servers were friendly. The minibar is kept stocked with beer and glass boot,es of coke products, a big favorite of mine, so I loved that. The big cons: prices at the shops are astronomical. We ran out of sunscreen the last day, and a bottle was $45, medium size. The equivalent of Tums were $18 for six. There are sellers allowed at the pool, who VERY hard sell things such as beads, paintings and jewelry. It was difficult to avoid. This brings Me to the biggest con of all, the food. It started off mediocre, and ended up just bad. My husband came home with food poisoning, and another couple was taken to the hospital our last day for suspect of same. Even without that, the food was very disappointing. The wood stove pizza at the beach grill was the best thing we had. Breakfast buffet was good with a large variety. Lunch not so much. They Want a dress code for the dinners, yet do not enforce it. Our dinners were never served hot and at times we left and ordered room service, which was good. Things mist be made far on advance, as we had a tart that was like a rock. Yet room service chocolate cake was amazing. Several times we sat down to a tablecloth with large coffee stains on them, very unappealing. The pools close at 600 PM, which was much too early. There is a nightly show, which were entertaining. We had an amazing spa experience, a couples massage that was wonderful. We did have some pounding on our door at 200 AM one night, but otherwise the nights were quiet enough to near the surf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 4, 2011

Disappointing

The welcome was the best part of the trip from then it's all down hill. We got the Excellence Club room (their top of the line option) it comes with full size liquor bottles in your room that are restocked daily (good way to stock up for your trip home). This is the only time you will drink decent alcohol. We have noticed that all the drinks they serve use very cheap liquor poured into premium bottles. They do this so poorly that I had to order 5 vodka drinks before they found a bottle that actually had vodka in it rather than light rum (this happened at every bar every time). Food is average and portions are almost entertaining they are so small. We had everyone in our group get really sick at least once during the trip and they didn't even drink the water. The staff is very laid back, too laid back to get the most simple thing to happen you would easily need 2 hours and that's if you were lucky. We kept tipping hoping that would get better but no luck. Make sure to reserve your free horseback riding before you go, they have minimal spots and none of us were able to get a chance to go. Bottom line the liquor is cheap, the food is average, and service is nonexistent. The positives were the scenery, nightly shows, and company we brought with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order 2 of the dinners you want because the portion sizes are tiny and it's already all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, IL
Aug 8, 2010

OK Resort, Bad Rooms

Most trips are a long bus ride (at least an hour on bad roads and questionable buses...ours broke down). Rooms were turned to the max with Air Conditioning and fans, still very uncomfortable - never a good night sleep. This made for a wonderful mildew smell that overwhelmed you every time you entered the room. I opened my suitcase when I got home, and got a fresh reminder of the smell. We took along a plug in air freshener, but it didn't stand a chance. We traveled with several other couples, all rooms were the same. Very few friendly host/hostess on the resort. Most of the time, you had to wave down a bar tender even though it wasn't very busy. Hardly any smiled, they didn't look like they wanted to be there, which made the experience a lot less fun. Restaurants were OK, not bad, but nothing special. A couple of the night shows were good, some were really bad. Sometimes very difficult to understand if you don't speak a little Spanish. I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enrico
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 2, 2010

Lost quality

We were very satisfied from our stay in this resort in 2009. That's why we repeated this trip. This time, it began bad with the transfer to the resort. What takes normally 1 hour, took 2 hours as driver was first dropping off people at 2 other resorts, then also had to wait for some people coming back from an excursion to bring them also to our resort.( [...]). The quality of the food and the service all over at the resort went down by 50%. Saving money seems to be first goal. Will not go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Poor food

Nice staff , try to do their best , restaurants very pretneding to behigh class but they are not at all , lobster are not fresh but frozen , sushi were awfull with all the menu , frech food was not at all french , transportation was not organize , etc .....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

everything was far !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 24, 2008

Disappointing trip

If you do not speak Spanish, this is not the resort for you! 75% of the staff had a severe problem communicating & understanding what we were saying to them. Food orders were never taken correctly, menu choices were limited, all of the resturants are NOT open for lunch and some are not open for dinner on certain nights which limits your options. The cleaning staff knocked on our door at ALL hours of the day up until 10pm, even when the do not disturb sign was up. They also began cleaning each morning at 8am and shout to each other from outside your door, banging things and making quite a racket. The resort is an hour and a half by bus on dirt roads from the airport so be ready to bounce around on a bus!! The final straw was my husband getting sick on the 3rd day. The resort gets points for having a doctor who lives on the premises but locating his was a bit of a challenge. On the up side, the resort was pretty, beaches were nice, room was clean & the gym facility was fully equipt. But if I knew that many American came down with bacterial infections in this area, I would have never gone in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleteyo
Business
Amarillo, Texas
Jun 13, 2011

Not so Excellent indeed

Dominican Republic is not it if your looking for a relaxing get away. We ended up having to pay 100.00 dollars to get to and from this resort that is 1 hr away from the airport as well as any thing else you want to do. We were sick day 2 out of 5 because the food is not good. The only beer you will be drinking on this trip is Presidente. Wich in my opinion is Terrible. The mix drinks were great for the first couple of days until the heart burn and Diariea kicked in from all the sweets or from the suposedly purefied water. The shows at night were not worth seeing. I felt like I was at an Elemintery school play that adults were putting on. The water was not blue like the pics. We have lakes that are clearer. It was red flag the intire time we were there and my wife almost drownded from the under tow. If you do go Dominican stay on the Gulf side not the Atlantic. Make sure its not there rainy season and bring your medication. It was $18 for a small bottle of tums. O an $20 for a small sun screen. We will never visit The Dominicain again. Not worth seeing. For the money you can see more for less some where else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Pleasant
Oct 11, 2009

Excellence Club in )October 2009

I e-mailed request prior to arrival and nothing I requested was made. Room not what I requested, Bugs in the Room, Internet was hard getting to work, Ice Maker in the building did not work, Elevator did not work, Power went out on the day I arrived, food was so,so in most restaurants, Service was so, so, the resort looks good but do they have problems. I travel alone and this Resort is not for singles. I talked to the Management and they tries to help but the communication with staff was poor. As a Resort Operator and a Food and Beverage Director I was astonished with the Resort. five ( 5 ) Star it is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oriental restaurant was the best ( good ). The Lobster house was the worst. I did not try Room Service, you may want to. Helpful Hint: Save your money and stay away. If you go don't bother with the upgrade to the Excellence Club, you get clue less concierge, liquor in the room ( All Inclusave and free in the resort ? ), upgraded Amenities - What? , Morning Fruit basket about 7:00 PM, Morning News Paper about 4:00 PM and the opportunity to spend more money then you should.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Heather, Beach lover
Business
Wilmington, NC
Aug 26, 2010

Not happy or impressed!

Let me start by saying that we stayed at Secrets Maroma Beach in Mexico last year, and fell in love with the resort! I was in fact comparing my whole experience at Excellence to our previous trip and there was no comparison. We arrived on the 19th and expected nothing but excellence. The front desk staff wasn't very friendly, so it wasn't a very good first impression. Our room wasn't ready, so they told us to go eat lunch and come back to get the key. Walked into the room, and was very upset! The place reeked of mildew, it wasn't cool at all, and found numerous places that it didn't look like had been cleaned. My husband then proceeded to take a shower, and ran out of hot water. My sister in law and her husband also traveled with us, so I called to check on her room. She had the same complaints (but said her husband had just taken a shower, and it was fine) and we decided we both wanted another room. Went up to the front desk, and at first we were told we would have to wait until the next day to move, but after explaining to him that we didn't want to have to worry about packing up and moving, we demanded on another option. He then gave us the key to go see 2 other rooms. Same issues, so we went back up to the desk to inquire on another room. Sent us to the other option, and one reeked of cigarette smoke. Then said ok we have one more option and we finally agreed it wasn't going to get any better and we were already mad that we had wasted 2 hours looking. On the 3rd day, we left to go to the pool at 9. Came back at 2 and our room had not been cleaned. I called the front desk, and they said they would send up someone immediately. We left again, came back at 4, still not clean. Called the front desk, he apologized said he was going to call and see what was going on and call us back. Got ready for dinner and left (no word from anyone). Came back at 7, and the room still wasn't cleaned. Went back to the front desk and he said he would send someone immediately. After 3 calls, we finally got our room cleaned. Then we noticed the the mini bar hadn't been restocked so we had to call about that. Another complaint we had while on the beach was we asked a staff member to get us some cushions for the chairs, he pointed and told us we had to get them! Then the last thing that urked me was I went to the front desk to ask for a bandaid. He told me he didnt not have one (after I had seen the first aid kit), and then told me I had to go buy one at the pharmacy! The food was ok, room service tasted like cafeteria food. The best part about the experience was the scuba diving instructors, [...]. We opted to buy an excursion to Catalina Island, and it was the best decision we made. Also the 30 min horseback riding (offered at no cost) was nice, but I was ready to get off the horse! Not a horrible experience b/c a few things were nice, but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone! Someone at the resort (who had some of the same bad experiences) told us it had changed management and the resort wasn't at nice as their first visit there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top