$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
774 out of 774
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vacation vicky
Business
indianapolis,in.
Jul 21, 2009

somethings wrong in punta cana

diarrhea was the theme at the pool. husband was sick for 7 days.paid alot but couldnt eat the gourmet or go on any excursions.saw the dr.on staff. rx was out of meds. due to everyone with diarrhea.if they can fix the bacterial issues we would have loved it.cant recommend tho.tourists from other resorts did not report this massive an outbreak of illness.sorry but it messed up the whole trip.love the people on staff tho. very kind.the room was clean but we still had roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the place was great,wonderful staff! the food was fermented .we couldnt go on any excursions.my hubby had severe diarrhea for7 of our 10 days there plus 2 more afterward.COMPLAINTS about illness.watch the food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

an awful experience

This was the worst service that i have ever had at a hotel..We were turned away on two seperate evenings and were unable to eat due to a completly incompetent staff and management. Are bed had some type of biting ants...the jacuzzi tub for the resort only worked a third of the time...no one spoke more than a few words of english..and the food all tasted the same which was horrible....dont go to this resort !! !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mocha2101
Business
Charleston SC
Aug 29, 2014

The Most Horrible Trip Ever

Excellence Punta Canta is a nice hotel in the Dominican Republic. Most of the staff was very friendly. The rooms and service was ok and we constantly had to.ask that our room be cleaned. The food was horrible along with the excursions. The beach was not good either not.well kept nor was it white.sand.The mosquitoes and other insects will eat you Alive, the worst.ever!!!! All sorts of hidden fees as.well as a rediculous 6hr lay over in Miami.Worst Vacation Ever!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BRING ATLEAST A GALLON OF BUG SPRAY, THE GOOD STUFF OFF!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebecca of Sunnybrook
Business
PA
Feb 25, 2014

Disappointed

We've stayed at lots of all-inclusives. For this price, we were expecting more. The staff was all great, except in the Flavor restaurant, where orders were slow and usually wrong. Food in the restaurants was good-not bad, not terrific. Desserts were terrible. Almost all of the meat was badly overcooked. The hotel wasn't filthy, but wasn't super clean either. Public bathrooms were dirty even right after cleaning women walked out. Our tub had sand in the bottom, and there's pink mildew all over the bathroom tiles. Who knows if it would come off if scrubbed. The towels smelled mildewy. Activities were lacking. No water sports were available because the water was rough, but return visitors said that's alway been the case. Not the resort's fault, but false advertising if not really ever available. The mini-golf was a joke-TERRIBLE condition. We had to find our own balls for ping-pong, and one of the two pool tables was missing a ball. The pool was fairly narrow and was pretty cold, maybe because of partial shade because the air was warm. The craft activity was stringing beads every day. Shooting was never available, archery twice during a week. Snorkeling was not available, except as extra paid excursion. Night shows were good, but theater is not great, so you have to get there pretty early to be able to see. Excellence Club level was included in our package, but would not be worth the extra expense. It's just more free alcohol and snacks, and you could borrow an iPad to use right there. There's free Wi-fi all over the resort that worked reasonably well. The spa was pretty good. The hydrotherapy was a nice "extra". Unfortunately, I would not go here again or recommend this resort. For the same amount, you can have much more in Cancun or the Bahamas. People who'd been to other Excellence hotels said this one did not compare. Without a major facelift, this resort will struggle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Boccee
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Food is a BIG Disappointment

I have been to punta cana once before for my honeymoon and we stayed at paradisus and I can't tell you how wonderful it was. The grounds were amazing the food was amazing and the service was great. This time we went back for a friend's wedding and so we had no choice but to stay at excellence. The place was nice, but not spectacular like paradisus. I will say having a large group the small grounds made it convenient to find people. The rooms are nice and clean, the beach is beautiful, but the resort has no pizazz. My biggest problem was the food. I understand that it is an all inclusive, but the food at other resorts can be delicious. I can not say the same. I was asked by another person on the trip if there was anything we ate that we could say was really good, and the answer was no. Kind of sad. Food isn't everything, but saying that the wendy's I had at the airport when I left was the best thing I ate all week is pretty sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DMTrip
Business
washington, dc
Jul 14, 2013

Not so great

The main disappointment was the food. The first night I couldn't eat most of my meal and while we had some good meals later in the week nothing was excellent. My husband and I both disliked having people approach us around the resort to buy excursions. The room was good except when they forgot to leave clean towels a couple of times. It would have been much nicer for us if there had been smoking areas around the resort so that we weren't exposed to cigarette and cigar smoke in public areas. The best thing was that the staff is very friendly. The grounds are also very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced Luxury Traveller
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 14, 2009

Drinks were good...

If you go to this resort expecting 2 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised. If you expect a luxury resort with 4 or 5 star quality then you will be very disappointed. The food was not good. The rooms were not impressive (and we stayed in one of the largest and best locations on the resort), and the beach was average. We had bugs in our room, the shower hose broke, and there was the constant odor of sewage in the bathroom. The only positive thing I can be fair about is the quality of the drinks. For the money you can get better all around in every category staying at a different resort. My wife and i are very particular and like nice quality resorts. If you don't mind average quality then this resort will be for you. If you are expecting luxury I would pass on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take enough cash with you before leaving. You will spend more if you need to take out Dominican Pesos and then change them back to US dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2009

Great Beach / Great Staff......THAT'S IT

Just not my style. If you have traveled at all you would understand

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby Township, MI
Jan 25, 2010

Avoid Excellence Punta Cana

We went to this resort 4 and 5 years ago and it was great. Now it has gone downhill considerably. It appears that this resort is in financial trouble. They have reduced meal portions, meal selections and meal quality. They are now watering down drinks and have reduced drink glass sizes. My wife and I were very dissapointed. Next year we will go back to one of the Excellence clubs near Cancun. They are truely a 5 star resort. This Excellence Club Punta Cana neads to be reduced to a 2-3 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EXCELLENCE NEW YORKER
Business
NY
Jul 8, 2010

PLEASE READ!!

Being that I have traveled to many different countries and have stayed at many different all inclusives, I would have to rank the excellence as the worst of the bunch. Now, I am a New Yorker who loves to eat. But lets be honest, you can't expect much when leaving the states. I didn't expect to have top of the line food in DR, but the food there was just miserable. I chose to upgrade to the excellence club, BIG MISTAKE!!! Here are the only two positives of the excellence club- 1. You share a private pool with everyone who upgraded 2. You share a private area on the beach with everyone who upgraded. Here are all the negatives- The excellence club lists that you have a private lounge with food; the food in the lounge consists of a tiny piece of bread with a slice of meat and a cheese, fruits, and pastries majority of the time (just miserable)- it also lists that in your room you have top shelf bar and drinks, we'll i went to DR for six days, and the excellence refilled my fridge maybe twice. - listed was that you would receive beach bag and towels, well i got the towels on the first day, and that's it. NO bag, or towels on the other days. - didn't have hot water one night (but i cannot blame the hotel staff) - had the front desk call me on day two of my trip asking what time i was checking out, when i told them i wasnt, they were shocked. All in All, the Excellence is by far not Excellent. If you do choose to go, I would make sure you DO NOT UPGRADE TO THE EXCELLENCE CLUB, It is not worth it. You get the same service as if you were in a regular room. I am not a complainer nor do I usually write reviews, but after this trip, I had to warn people. I did complain to the manage of the Excellence club after day three of my trip. He told me that he'll make sure everything would be taken care of. We'll it was, for that one day. Then it went back to garbage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Entertainment casino & club....if you like to party with your wife, husband this by far has the best nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top