$361 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 25, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love lube on my balls
Business
Rhode island
May 15, 2014

Good

Good place. Constant asking about tours etc. food was lacking but service was good i would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Small portions

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ali896
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
May 15, 2014

Great trip to the Excellence

We stayed at the Excellence from May 2nd through May 8th, 2014. The resort was beautiful, both inside and out. Everything was very clean, including the rooms which were cleaned twice a day. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The drinks were excellent and the food was pretty good. There were a couple of restaurants that we wouldn't eat at again, but there were several that we ate at multiple times. We loved the breakfast at Toscana, dinners at the Grill and Agave, and lunch at the beach restaurant. And you can't go wrong with room service food. The shows at the theater were generally better than I expected. The only thing we got annoyed with was the resort's dress code. There is a strict dress code for almost every restaurant which required my husband to wear long pants, a dress shirt and dress shoes. I wish we would have been able to wear shorts, at least at the open-air restaurants which obviously are not air-conditioned. Overall, we were very impressed with everything the Excellence had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can't think of 1
Business
New York
May 14, 2014

Staff Perfect! Food Eh...

Starting with the Pros: Staff was amazing! Always so happy and treated each guest special. Beach was clean and very private. Pools were nicely kept and easy to grab a good spot any time of day. Room was clean and fridge always stocked with drinks and water. Activities including shows, bars, casino, dancing were all very fun. Cons: Food! Read many reviews telling me to keep a Dominican mind set and don't expect American flavors, however they mostly serve American food! Burgers, fries, pizzas, etc. Lobster, Fish, and Chicken were always overcooked and dry. Best meal was the Taco's at lunch on the beach and a steak at Chez. Breakfast was good at Toscana. Every other restaurant didn't differ much from one to the next. Overall, I would go back due to the staff and beauty of the resort. Don't forget to visit the pond area with Flamingos and a Parrot who will wait to stand on your arm each morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tipping more didn't seem to get you better service, although they always deserved it!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jtstrongs
Business
New Jersey
May 12, 2014

Loved it!

Staff was extremely friendly. There were a lot of repeat visitors which should tell you a lot. The food at the Italian place needs to be polished a bit but overall a really wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Restaurant is the best yet the buffet always pleased us!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clrwatr
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 29, 2014

Perfect getaway

My husband and I took our first all inclusive trip and it was everything we hoped it would be! The staff and amenities were fabulous and we loved all the shady spots to hang out! It did start to get busy over Easter weekend, but we waited only once (for only 10 minutes) for dinner. I never felt rushed or like there was something I wanted that I couldn't have. It was a bit more expensive than other places, but it was well worth it given the ease of our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask for top shelf liquor when ordering mixed drinks!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ohio
Business
Tallmadge, Ohio
Apr 27, 2014

Beautiful resort

It was a beautiful resort, all the employees went out of there way to please and make us feel comfortable especially Isael and Louise. No request was unanswered. Don't forget sunscreen very pricey there and is a must have. The food was average but we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you stay in the resort very little extra money is needed but bring a lot of smaller bills for tips.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean14
Business
NJ
Apr 24, 2014

Great for Honeymoon and Couples

Husband came for our honeymoon and had a great time overall! Staff and services were outstanding, people were very pleasant. Drinks were flowing and there were activities every night. The food was just OK, but there were many options. I really enjoyed the lobster house. We took advantage of the spa and tried every restaurant! We played tennis and basketball everyday. Would have enjoyed more if taxi service wasn't as scary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family Funmaker
Business
Fredonia, New York
Apr 23, 2014

Best Family Getaway

Was one of the nicest places we have been to. Beautiful beaches, wonderful food, and top notch service. We took our adult children here as part of a Christmas gift, and they all enjoyed everything, from the nightly shows, horseback riding (included), to the Casino. We were not able to partake in Water Sports unfortunately because of unsafe conditions, but that was not fault of hotel. The only thing needing updating was the sports equipment (darts, archery,shooting) but that doesn't keep me from rating this resort 5-star. We have stayed at Sandals Resorts on two different islands and Excellence was my favorite and cost almost 1/2 as much! Special thanks to Jonathon and the rest of the Excellence entertainment team for making our vacation one of the best. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D2013
Business
Rockland, NY
Apr 18, 2014

Amazing Ambience with Adequate Food & Drink

The hotel environment was just breathtaking. This is a place to rest on the beach and enjoy time with your significant other. The pool and beach were just amazing!!! The staff was delightful and attentive yet were not bothersome or in your face. There were many activities during the day, little entertainment at night. Drinks were fine, just disappointed in food. Some of the restaurants were delicious like Toscana and Flavor Market, the rest either had cold food that should be hot or food that turned cold or just blah. Buffets for breakfast and lunch were decent, you can find something you'd like. If you're used to diners, NY pizza or good bar food you have to be a little more open. It's hard to spend a lot of money at a place but not have food your dying to eat. Spend the extra money on Excellence Club you get little extras like champagne upon arrival, club room amenities, wifi and private beach access. Private beach area especially great if you don't want obnoxious pool drinkers on top of you. Overall, you can't beat the stunning views and peaceful splendor of the Carribean!! Restful and Relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Married Mrs.
Business
Ohio
Apr 15, 2014

Amazing place to honeymoon

We were so pleased with Excellence. The hotel was beautiful, the beach was gorgeous and more private than others that we've been to, and the food was delicious! It's so nice that you didn't have to make reservations for any of the restaurants, we just walked right in. The longest we waited was about 30 minutes, which wasn't bad at all, we just had some drinks at the bar! The nightly shows were great as well, they do a good job keeping you entertained. We went on a dune buggy excursion and a snuba excursion, both of which were well done and lots of fun. We also had breakfast in bed and room service several times, and it was well worth it! The room itself was spacious and pretty, and had a jacuzzi tub and rain shower. My only caveat was that the beds were so hard! But if you take advantage of the unlimited food and drinks, you shouldn't have a problem sleeping! The Excellence was by far the best place we've ever stayed in. Would go back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Go to the nightly shows, they are lots of fun!

Back to menu Return to top