$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
733 reviews
Excellent!

The hotel and staff was amazing! I would definitely recommend to future visitors. See full review

  • Groot
  • Sep 26, 2014
Awesome getaway

Great resort! Great time! Will definitely go back! Food and drinks were great! Staff was even better! See full review

  • 40th bday girl
  • Sep 18, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (733)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
733 out of 733
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikki 2013 Punta Cana
GSO NC
Sep 30, 2013

Punta Cana 2013

We had a wonderful time. We were taken care of the entire time will for sure go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own sunscreen and any medicine the cost is very high there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HevnSentGent
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Great for couples

We had a great time. There was always plenty to do. Although the water at the beach was a little rough, you can still enjoy the property and all of the food options. The lights went out for about an hour but never happened again. The staff is super friendly, highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Check out the nightly shows!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent All Incl Travelr
Detroit, MI
Sep 15, 2013

Good, not great.

Amazing location. Beach was fabulous, our favorite part. Food was terrible, bland. Not enough towels and staff was hard to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn and Mike
Macedon, NY
Sep 8, 2013

Can't wait to go back!

My husband and I just returned from our beautiful honeymoon at the Excellence, Punta Cana. We were treated like royalty from the moment we stepped on the property. I highly recommend upgrading to the Excellence Club. The service is unbelievable! The private dinner on the beach is exquisite. We will definitely go back, and I wouldn't even bother looking at another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are little shops set up just past the resort property line on the beach. You can bargain with these people. Some of the resort shops do not budge on prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShellsBells0626
New York
Sep 6, 2013

Awesome Vacation @ an Excellent Resort

I think this resort speaks for itself. I had a wonderful time. I went with my boyfriend and another couple and they loved it. Not only does this resort have over 5 restaurants,They have things to do ALL DAY and entertaiment every night @ 930pm. The best show are by far the One & One thousand Nights & Perfect Match (very funny). The others are good, but not as good as these two!!! The food was good but if I have to choose the best resturants were Chez Isabelle, Toscana & Agave. They were great!!! I think some ppl over react. Seriosly is all inclusive!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nekia
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 5, 2013

Sister bday getaway

Everything was excellent at this hotel, special thanks to mathias, chely, will, franklin, and all other staff! So friendly and thoughtful, there was not a need that wasn't met,can't wait to go back! Thanks for the memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Spice has awesome food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShellsBells0626
New York
Sep 4, 2013

Excellent Resort and an Excellent Experience

This resorts is great. It is worth every penny!! The restaurants were great and the entertainment was fantastic. This was my first time in Punta Cana and at an excellence resort, by far my expectations were exceeded! I will defenetely be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Work with ppl and they will work with you. I was able to work my spa treatment down :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Skillz
Lewisville, NC
Sep 3, 2013

Muy Excellente

From the moment my wife and I arrived to the time we left, the staff was amazing. They were always happy, smiling and ready to serve you in any way. The accommodation and amenities were like no other hotel I have been to as of yet. They get an A+ and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The price was right and we definitely got our moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you decide to order the lobster and aren't used to warm water lobster, be warned that the flavor and texture is quite different that what you normally get here in the states.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZekeK
Rwood
Sep 2, 2013

Great getaway

Just got back, our second time to Excellence Punta Cana, and the results are still the same, overall a great value for a 5 star resort. The hotel is dated, but they keep everything extremely clean!. The staff is the most friendly I have ever come across, especially Robert & Sonia - Café Café, Jose - Martini Bar, Mr. Chely - activities, Marlon - events, Juan - Spa Mille. These people were incredible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Excellence Club, we paid for this on our first trip to Excellence, but not this time. We made a request for buildings 1-3, 6 & 7 all in good locations and saved the $500 + it would have cost to be in Excellence Club buildings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveler's
Philadelphia
Aug 23, 2013

Worst Resort Experience Ever!

We were guests at a destination wedding. The experience was a disaster from the start. We are frequent travelers so we understand the system. This was our first experience with an "all-inclusive resort" and now we understand why we have never been in favor of such a trip. It is a real drag to be told you must exit the pools at 6pm and that you must eat the same food in every restaurant...and drink the same beer (Presidente with an occasional showing of Coors Light) and alcohol each day. The food quality in most restaurants was hit or miss but should be noted that the flavors seemed to blend no matter what you ate. The resort lost power and literally did nothing to assist their guests with lighting...it was a very dangerous situation because it occurred in the evening...no lighting in guest rooms...all restaurants except one that used an emergency generator were shut down...people wandering about in search of answers and got none. Back to the restaurants...the "house wines" served were so under quality that we had to buy off the wine list each night and even that was ridiculous as every wine we chose in the mid range was typically not available resulting in purchasing the next step up...ranging in the $40-$50 per bottle range! Btw...It is not very well documented that men are not allowed in most restaurants without long pants and dress shoes and women in elegant sandals! Also to make a reservation for a table of 10-12 guests was bazaar...I practically had to pay off the concierge. As guests of this resort we seriously felt like children being reprimanded by parents each and every time we asked a question. As for the guest rooms...mediocre at best...quite old and worn out...we took the advice of an online review and showed a $20 at check in for the 2nd floor room but truly...not necessary as our family had rooms all about the resort and all appeared the same...run down. Next comment is disturbing...we had frequent visits from cockroaches in our room...we did get immediate attention from the service people and had our room sprayed three times during our week long stay...the comment was that we are on an "Island" after all! Many people in our party became quite ill due to food/water quality...we later learned that this country has very poor water treatment plants so please be careful to all... since spoke to Infectious Disease MD who informed us that folks traveling to the Dominican should be immunized with Hep A (two doses..six months separated) and an a Typhoid Injection or pills. Also note that the Resort is quite spread out and that the restaurants are mainly only on one end so if you are rooming at the opposite end you will have a lot of exercise time walking back/forth...perhaps they should consider the golf cart method especially for their older guests. Ground transportation is a joke...you pay up front when making reservation and you get put in a van that hasn't ever been inspected...and little to no air-conditioning...and have to have an appointment the morning after you arrive to set up departure van only to find out that they are trying to sell you activities for your "all-inclusive" stay and "unsafe" activities at that. I went on to find out that these companies do not even work for the Excellence Corp...they sell space to them on premise so that they can harass their guests...go figure! Should be noted that the activities our family participated in were not safe...ie..sail boating and horseback riding. The tour that was taken for the horseback ride was off property on the crazy roads and ended up at their stable in lord only knows where...and a van ride back to the resort...So strange! I'm sorry about the negative comments but just being honest...We would never return...this was a very expensive trip and if it wasn't for spending good fun times with family I would demand a refund! Sincerely, A Few Disappointed Traveler"s!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do NOT drink the water...do not even brush teeth with the water!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top