$502 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
747 reviews
Nov8-22

This is a great hotel,from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after like... See full review

  • Garryqpr
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (747)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
747 out of 747
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester
Jun 29, 2008

Nice for Vacation

This was a great vacation spot! Being all inclusive really allowed you to just relax. The only thing to remember is that this resort is populated almost exclusively by couples. So, if you're not on a honeymoon, anniversary, or vacationing with the spouse, be prepared to feel a bit out of the loop. The staff is top notch. They understand how to treat you on vacation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock
Jun 18, 2008

Geat escape for couples

The Excellence Punta Cana resort was gorgeous! The grounds were beautifully landscaped with lush tropical plant life & the pool was spectacular! It was the largest one I ever seen! The room was very comfortable. The room decor was updated with beautiful tile throughout the room. The only problem that we encountered was that my husband did not pack any pants for the trip & the restaurants will not serve you unless you're wearing them. He ended up borrowing some waiter pants from the front desk. Women are allowed to wear anything they want(that's what was so frustrating!). Also, you might want to bring some bug spray because they like to come out at night. The island is very poor, so I wouldn't recommend venturing out on your own. We wish that we would have booked an excursion, b/c by the 5th day of laying out you're ready for something new. The resort has shows every night at 10 pm, but they are all pretty cheesey. The best nightly entertainment that we find was the karaoke set-up & sports bar. Overall we had a terrific time. The couples there are all really friendly, so be prepared to make some new friends:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best resort restaurants: Agave (Mexican), the french restaurant (attached to Agave), the mediterranean (which is located where breakfast is served) & the Grill (yummy steaks!). The best breakfast & lunch option is the buffet. You won't go hungry here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 16, 2008

Smiling Swindlers, Beautiful Setting, Terrifying Drive

We had the resort arrange a limo to pick us up at the airport. It was a limo but it was in terrible condition. The driver played chicken with dump trucks at 80 mph simultaneously dodging large craters in the road. We did not feel safe outside the resort at all. The people there look at tourists liek vultures, won't take no for an answer when they try to help you with your bags, and are schooled in the art of the guilt trip. Bugs were a slight issue, partially resolved by a anti-insect car that would drive through the resort on a daily basis. My wife and I had several mysterious bites on our backs that were not mosquito bites, we don't know what bit us. It wasn't too bad and only happened on one occassion. Every other day the resort would let some local shop owners set up multiple tables in one of the common areas. This would have been a nice option except the shop keepers were extremely agressive. We had to avoid the entire area when they set up. The people that ran the resort were untrustworthy. There was a huge stage and it had potential except the entertainment was laughable bording on depressing. The employees at the resort were all friendly, but it didn't take away from the fact that they were friendly because they had to be and they wanted our money. If you try to eat dinner after 8, expect to wait 45 minutes. Service and food at the restaurants was inconsistent: sometimes it was exceptionally good and sometimes it was practically nonexistent. The lifeguards at the beach were a confused and pesky lot. First of all, there are signs when you walk down to the beach stating that there are no lifeguards posted on the beach. But there are, and blow their annoying whistle if you go too far, which really wasn't very far at all. And some days, they don't care how far you go. We saw some people with boogie boards and when we tried to get some we got the run-around. Still not sure what happened there. The resort supplies towels, but runs out of them quickly so make sure to bring your own. The only place you can really achieve peace and quiet is your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsville
Jun 15, 2008

Very Relaxing

My wife and I spent out honeymoon at Excellence Punta Cana and would not hesitate to go back. The staff is very friendly and the place is beautiful. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Worth
Jun 10, 2008

Great for Adults Only

When we arrived, we were escorted to the Excellence club check in because I upgraded our package. We were never told the benefits of being Excellence Club Members. We were just shown the room and had a private check in,etc. It was not until 2 days before we left that another couple with the same benefits told us we had special computers to use at our discretion, extra appetizers that the regular guests were not allowed to have, there was an extra bar and a special concierge we could use that was always available. There was also suppose to be a private dinner but we missed that as well. Also, there was a wait for the better restaurants, but the food was good. Our room was amazing but they would only give us 2 towels at a time and no hand towels. The view was the best and I recommned the junior swim up ocean view room. Room service was ridiculous, we waited 1 1/2 hours and they never came despite me calling 3 times! There was very little ice and my boyfriend got sick from drinking the tap water. There was a theater that we liked but after 10 pm, there was little night life and we were afraid to go off the grounds because the area we were was very remote and the shuttle was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midlothian, *
Jun 6, 2008

Great option for couples or friends

We had a great time at Excellence Punta Cana. It was our first stay at this resort and first trip to the DR. We had an awesome vacation with plenty to do, especially since it rained most days. But, despite the rain, we enjoyed our week in paradise. The rooms were very nice, we had an ocean view suite in building 3, with very nice views of the beach and wedding gazebo. Overall the food was wonderful, but our favorite restuarants were CheZ Isabelle and Agave. There were quite a few activities that you could participate in each day, many places to get a cold drink, pool and beach drink service and entertaining shows each night. Be sure to hang around the lobby Martini bar after the show each night to hear the wonderful sax player. Overall we loved this vacation and would return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
May 26, 2008

best staff!

The Excellence Punta Cana is a perfect resort for a romantic holiday. The main praise goes to the staff, so proper and humble, I suggest travelers should tip them for thier wonderful contribution to making your holiday great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the bonus is the ocean for the resort is remote

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manly
May 26, 2008

Excellence

Excellence Punta-cana Room Had every thingdown to wiight scale Dining excellence only had time to eat in4 of the 7 restaraunt Pool/beach excellence Staff lost my passports they FOUND them in 10 Hr what can I say Excellence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 24, 2008

Disappointing trip

If you do not speak Spanish, this is not the resort for you! 75% of the staff had a severe problem communicating & understanding what we were saying to them. Food orders were never taken correctly, menu choices were limited, all of the resturants are NOT open for lunch and some are not open for dinner on certain nights which limits your options. The cleaning staff knocked on our door at ALL hours of the day up until 10pm, even when the do not disturb sign was up. They also began cleaning each morning at 8am and shout to each other from outside your door, banging things and making quite a racket. The resort is an hour and a half by bus on dirt roads from the airport so be ready to bounce around on a bus!! The final straw was my husband getting sick on the 3rd day. The resort gets points for having a doctor who lives on the premises but locating his was a bit of a challenge. On the up side, the resort was pretty, beaches were nice, room was clean & the gym facility was fully equipt. But if I knew that many American came down with bacterial infections in this area, I would have never gone in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 23, 2008

Very Nice

The Excellence Punta Cana was very nice, but I would not rate it 5 Star. The resort itself is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate with varieties of shrubs, trees, ponds and fountains everywhere. Our check-in was great and fast. The ride from the airport was not as rough as expected, but long since we shared a bus with people going to other resorts and ours was the last stop. Our room was well kept, but you could tell it was a refurbished room. A few areas needed to be addressed cosmetically. We were on the 3rd floor and our view was spectacular of the ocean and the wedding gazebo. There are 8 restaurants to choose from. We were not impressed with any of them except the Agave Mexican. All the food was good, but not exceptional. We only saw one of the shows in the theatre, the Michael Jackson Show, and the reason was that the lobby/theatre was open-air and was very hot and humid at night. We did enjoy the Michael Jackson Show and it was better than expected and worth the wait (l0PM). We enjoyed the nature park with Macaws, ducks, pink flamingos and turtles. There is an area to the left of the beach known as the resort Wal-mart. The prices are better there. One thing we did not like at the resort was the vendors that came in at night. They were very pushy, but they would negotiate prices if you could ignore their aggressive selling tactics. We did not spend the extra for the Excellence Club because of some previous reviews that we had read. We did find that those who did, got extra perks such as the private end of the pool and private beach. In some areas of the pool, the guests thought they owned the floats and would not share them. All in all, we had beautiful weather, no rain. The beach is beautiful, with blue water and many waves. Because of the waves and the area warnings, we could not enjoy the water sports. I would rate it a 4 and we did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a four-wheeler excursion which was great. They took us to a beautiful beach on the south coast and to a cave. It was well worth the extra money and was so much fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top