$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
723 reviews
Paradise in Punta Cana

The Excellence at Punta Cana is beyond excellent. The staff everywhere you went were friendly and... See full review

  • sunny and warm
  • Aug 17, 2014
Marvelous!

We had a marvelous time at The Excellence. We were treated like royalty and like family. The food... See full review

  • AmandaCox82
  • Aug 7, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (723)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
723 out of 723
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Worth
Jun 10, 2008

Great for Adults Only

When we arrived, we were escorted to the Excellence club check in because I upgraded our package. We were never told the benefits of being Excellence Club Members. We were just shown the room and had a private check in,etc. It was not until 2 days before we left that another couple with the same benefits told us we had special computers to use at our discretion, extra appetizers that the regular guests were not allowed to have, there was an extra bar and a special concierge we could use that was always available. There was also suppose to be a private dinner but we missed that as well. Also, there was a wait for the better restaurants, but the food was good. Our room was amazing but they would only give us 2 towels at a time and no hand towels. The view was the best and I recommned the junior swim up ocean view room. Room service was ridiculous, we waited 1 1/2 hours and they never came despite me calling 3 times! There was very little ice and my boyfriend got sick from drinking the tap water. There was a theater that we liked but after 10 pm, there was little night life and we were afraid to go off the grounds because the area we were was very remote and the shuttle was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midlothian, *
Jun 6, 2008

Great option for couples or friends

We had a great time at Excellence Punta Cana. It was our first stay at this resort and first trip to the DR. We had an awesome vacation with plenty to do, especially since it rained most days. But, despite the rain, we enjoyed our week in paradise. The rooms were very nice, we had an ocean view suite in building 3, with very nice views of the beach and wedding gazebo. Overall the food was wonderful, but our favorite restuarants were CheZ Isabelle and Agave. There were quite a few activities that you could participate in each day, many places to get a cold drink, pool and beach drink service and entertaining shows each night. Be sure to hang around the lobby Martini bar after the show each night to hear the wonderful sax player. Overall we loved this vacation and would return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manly
May 26, 2008

Excellence

Excellence Punta-cana Room Had every thingdown to wiight scale Dining excellence only had time to eat in4 of the 7 restaraunt Pool/beach excellence Staff lost my passports they FOUND them in 10 Hr what can I say Excellence

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
May 26, 2008

best staff!

The Excellence Punta Cana is a perfect resort for a romantic holiday. The main praise goes to the staff, so proper and humble, I suggest travelers should tip them for thier wonderful contribution to making your holiday great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the bonus is the ocean for the resort is remote

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 24, 2008

Disappointing trip

If you do not speak Spanish, this is not the resort for you! 75% of the staff had a severe problem communicating & understanding what we were saying to them. Food orders were never taken correctly, menu choices were limited, all of the resturants are NOT open for lunch and some are not open for dinner on certain nights which limits your options. The cleaning staff knocked on our door at ALL hours of the day up until 10pm, even when the do not disturb sign was up. They also began cleaning each morning at 8am and shout to each other from outside your door, banging things and making quite a racket. The resort is an hour and a half by bus on dirt roads from the airport so be ready to bounce around on a bus!! The final straw was my husband getting sick on the 3rd day. The resort gets points for having a doctor who lives on the premises but locating his was a bit of a challenge. On the up side, the resort was pretty, beaches were nice, room was clean & the gym facility was fully equipt. But if I knew that many American came down with bacterial infections in this area, I would have never gone in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 23, 2008

Very Nice

The Excellence Punta Cana was very nice, but I would not rate it 5 Star. The resort itself is beautiful and the grounds are immaculate with varieties of shrubs, trees, ponds and fountains everywhere. Our check-in was great and fast. The ride from the airport was not as rough as expected, but long since we shared a bus with people going to other resorts and ours was the last stop. Our room was well kept, but you could tell it was a refurbished room. A few areas needed to be addressed cosmetically. We were on the 3rd floor and our view was spectacular of the ocean and the wedding gazebo. There are 8 restaurants to choose from. We were not impressed with any of them except the Agave Mexican. All the food was good, but not exceptional. We only saw one of the shows in the theatre, the Michael Jackson Show, and the reason was that the lobby/theatre was open-air and was very hot and humid at night. We did enjoy the Michael Jackson Show and it was better than expected and worth the wait (l0PM). We enjoyed the nature park with Macaws, ducks, pink flamingos and turtles. There is an area to the left of the beach known as the resort Wal-mart. The prices are better there. One thing we did not like at the resort was the vendors that came in at night. They were very pushy, but they would negotiate prices if you could ignore their aggressive selling tactics. We did not spend the extra for the Excellence Club because of some previous reviews that we had read. We did find that those who did, got extra perks such as the private end of the pool and private beach. In some areas of the pool, the guests thought they owned the floats and would not share them. All in all, we had beautiful weather, no rain. The beach is beautiful, with blue water and many waves. Because of the waves and the area warnings, we could not enjoy the water sports. I would rate it a 4 and we did have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a four-wheeler excursion which was great. They took us to a beautiful beach on the south coast and to a cave. It was well worth the extra money and was so much fun.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
May 12, 2008

Incredible All Inclusive

The Excellence was outstanding. This all-inclusive featured 8 different restaurants - each that we sampled was excellent. Drinks were included in this all inclusive. Rooms were immaculate, large and nice. The staff was constantly sunny and smiling - they actually seemed eager to help you. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was amazing! We spent days on both the beach and near the pool, then returned to the room to change clothes for dinner and the evening. The entertainment was OK, a bit hokey maybe, but still entertaining. It's a big place, I don't think we saw all of it. Perfect place for a honeymoon [us] any any type of Adults Only get-away. We talked to other Punta Cana travelers who stayed at lesser resorts - all had numerous complaints... we just smiled and remembered the great time we had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

8 restaurants, plus 24 hr room service. Italian, Asian, Mexican, French, American, Seafood and more...

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Urbana, *
May 9, 2008

Marvelous experience

As this was our first stay at an all-inclusive resort my expectations were not well defined. That said we found the property and staff a delightful experience. I have never stayed in a property with a more helpful and amenable staff. In many ways my benchmark for this trip was prior cruising experiences and I will have to say that I really enjoyed this visit more. Our goal was to get away and relax and this turned out to be the ideal place for us. Some of our fellow guests found that the relative isolation of Excellence Punta Cana was a drawback while I found it a major plus. We found the design of the facility with its small number of rooms per building lent an intimate homey feeling that made us comfortable from minute one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 7, 2008

Fantastic Adult Get-Away from EVERYTHING

Excellence Punta Cana was excellente on customer service! There were activities round the clock. The restaurants, food, cocktails, staff..everything was wonderful and so accomodating. The only glitch...I wish the rooms were cleaned with some type of scent appealing to the nose...it always smelled damp and not too clean. When we got home all of our clothes (even the ones we didn't wear) smelled damp and mildewy. The location was wonderful; away from EVERYTHING. Really remote and relaxing; just what we needed... and no children in site! It was quite yet fun and exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 3, 2008

Great for couples

Everyone at Excellence was ready to serve you. There are many options for dining, though you can't have wet shorts to get into any of the restraunts. That's not a big deal though, there is food every day on the beach plus a Hot Dog vendor and Pizza Delivery guy come around the pool. We tried most of the places for dinner (we were only there 6 nights) and did not have one bad meal. We ate at the Barcelona twice because we liked it so much. The beach was great and the water was kind of rough, you can walk a minute or two down the beach to get in the ocean. We stayed in the Excellence room. This room is a great deal, but you can get a Jr Suite and have a much cheaper vacation. We talked with some people staying in the Jr Suite and they said it was plenty of room. I suggest you stay in the Excellence Club level. It costs more, but I think it was well worth it. The service was outstanding. I do not suggest you leave the resort. Everything you need is there. Pack SunScrene, Misquito Repellent, and any other items you may need. They have them, but the price is expensive. There are many more things to write, but I will end with it was the best vacation we've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search