$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
740 reviews
Honeymoon

Positives: -great customer service. Employees are there to please you and make your vacation... See full review

  • Scotty C
  • Nov 3, 2014
A great place to unwind

the staff the food everything was fantastic everything I had hope to get out of my vacation it was... See full review

  • very happy person
  • Oct 31, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (740)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
740 out of 740
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Aug 10, 2008

My review of Excellence Punta Cana - Adults Only All Inclusive

What a great trip!!!! We LOVED everything. The grounds are beautiful, rooms are spacious as they are all suites, food & drinks delicious. The pool and the ocean were wonderful. The staff was so friendly and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, *
Aug 3, 2008

Beautiful Resort

Excellence Punta Canta was great in every aspect. the room was beautiful and spacious. the staff friendly and very accomodating in every way. the food was excellent a lot of variety of foods. the entertainment every night was outstanding lots of fun. the pool area and beach area was always clean and well stock with all the amenities needed. the night club and the casino were lot of fun with great staff whose number one priority was our comfort and entertainment. I really loved this resort and I am planning on going back in December my experience was nothing but Excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Iberia, *
Aug 3, 2008

Aim to Please

Need to purchase the upgrade... It was worth it!! The private club house, you can get some top shelf drinks that are not offered around the resort!! and there are 3 different hot snacks to eat around the clock..... GREAT Atmosphere!! VERY FAR FROM AIRPORT!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rye Brook, NY
Jul 24, 2008

Great resort, recommend club level

Restaurants: 8 restaurants, I enjoyed all of them except the mediterranean, that was only ok. FRENCH (Chez Isabelle): 30 min. wait is worth it, great food/service, although they sorta push the pay-per bottle wine service on you.(house wine is free) Also, the flaming apple tart desert if overrated, although looks cool on fire. Rest of food is great! Best bet, check in and get the beeper and goto the Cafe Kafe bar and grab a drink while you wait. MEXICAN (Agave): Food was decent, but not as good as everyone made it out to be. Im from NY so maybe I'm spoiled. AMERICAN (The Grill): AWESOME! Best lunch spot there. Their steaks are amazing and tender, and every dish I had there was great.They really hit a homerun with the american food. ASIAN (Spice): All around good, we went twice we enjoyed it so much. Victor is the best waiter there. ITALIAN: Good lunch buffet, pizza is surprisingly good also. LOBSTER HOUSE: Great for breakfast, but expect the slowest service here. OREGANO: Great late night pizza joint. MEDITTERANEAN (Barcelona: Just OK, had the swordfish and wasnt impressed. Service OK. FRUIT/FOOD: Fresh fruit at the resort is amazing, you'll never find an unbitter pineapple or fresh mango like this anywhere. Try the Dominican Culture food night at the beach, pig roast plus tons of great food. SERVICE: Restaurant service is exceptional for the most part. Pool/Ocean side waiter service is pretty good, sometimes hard to find a waiter during slower/summer months. (Also this isnt mexico, mexicans are probably the best with service) DRINKS: BananaMama, Coco Loco, Sammy Sosa (not on the menu). Only non-domestic beer was Presidente', which is good enough. ENTERTAINMENT: Entertainment was pretty good for a resort, nightly at 10pm. Piana Bar / Kareoke Nights are recommended. Piano Bar jamaican guy is hilarious, and very good! (rule 1: Don't take anything personally) WILD ANIMALS: They have Flamingo and other birds out front, watch the parrots, they will eat your buttons off your shirt and theyre sort of a-holes. HA EXTRAS: The Vendor Sale involves high-pressure sales tactics, jewelery looked overpriced. they can be annoying but just ignore them and avoid eye contact and they go away quickly. P*T: If you're into smoke, don't get it from the staff, its dirt. Go out to the beach and make a left to the local vendors and say mamawanna... and you can get hooked up + pipe. ROOM: Was very clean and was always stocked with water/gatorade/soft drinks/beer/booze. **Make sure you close the patio door or the A/C turns OFF and you'll be sweating** (it has a sensor to save energy) Recommendations: Cut back on room view upgrade and put it into a club level room. Rooms are a few hundred feet from ocean and I dont think its worth the money to get an ocean view if youre not in club level.(unless its a honeymoon suite) Club level service is superior to a regular room and the private lounge is worth it for the food alone. (great for a quick snack between meals)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wakefield, *
Jul 23, 2008

Wonderful place to relax and have fun

Excellence was excellent. I would definitely revisit. The resort was beautiful, staff was friendly, rooms and grounds were very clean. If you like the beach, the waves were fantastic. To my understanding, the other resorts didnt have such great waves. It didnt take you a 1/2 hour to walk back to your room, or a different pool. And if you meet another couple, your sure to see them again (if you care too). My only regret is not staying long enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

ATV tour, beautiful cave, but be prepared to get dirty! FUN!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MS
Jul 23, 2008

Excellente, Indeed!

?Excellente, Indeed!!!!!? Everyone has their own experience and their own lens as to how they define an excellent vacation! We just returned from 11 days at the resort and are already excited about returning next Spring. We travel frequently throughout the Caribbean and tend to think that we have high expectations regarding our own definition of an excellent travel experience. The resort is a slice of paradise. Some thoughts that maybe haven't been expressed by everyone else... Rooms: We stayed in the Excellence Club and will not choose this option next time. Our room was in an ideal location in Building #7, which is in the center of the resort. The same identical swimout room in Building #6 would have cost us around $900 less for ten nights, and we would have been just fine without the other ammentities that come with the Excellence upgrade. Like other resorts we have visited in the Caribbean, our room had a bit of a musty smell. Since we had read about this issue in other reviews, we went to our local Lowes and purchased a product that we placed in the corner of the room, and it immediately took the smell out of the air. You might want to try it. Service: We found everyone to be friendly and helpful. The service was a bit slow at times at night when dining in one of the restaurants. You've probably read all of the reviews about tipping. It was a bit of a shock to see how many people don't tip. The staff does not push you for a tip and the service looked like it was the same regardless of whether folks tipped or not. We feel, however, that if we have the money to go on this type of trip, we should also be able to express our appreciation to the folks who go out of their way to make our experience a great one! Please consider taking a wad of 1$ bills with you, and put an extra smile on the faces of the people who work so hard. Food: Breakfast - Excellent with lots of choices! Lunch - Good with some great beach food throughout our stay! Dinner - Very average, but still ok. We don't expect all inclusives to be like a high end restaurant in the states! Neither one of us got sick. I eat everything, but I use common sense. If fish/seafood is served on the beach at 12:30, then I don't grab a plate full of mussels, shrimp, and calamari after it's been in the sun for two hours. Others didn't seem to understand this and will probably be talking about their food poisoning issues! Shows: We laughed and said that the shows were the ones rejected by Carnival Cruiseline back in the 80's. The sax player, as mentioned often, is outstanding! And we had fun just hanging out and being with all the fun people we met. Overall Resort (Facility): It really is like a slice of heaven - the beach - the pool - the botanical gardens with the parrots, peacocks, and flamingos! It is amazing! (And we laughed because we took about a case of mosquito spray with us and didn't have even one bite us during our whole trip! Maybe it's all about the time of year, amount of rain..whatever!) So....have fun! We'd love to hear from folks who are planning on being at the Excellence Punta Cana next March. That's when we plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington, NY
Jul 21, 2008

Romantic stay

Hotel is beautiful but very far from the airport. Be prepared to spend an entire day traveling! I liked the hotel itself but the food was horrible. The only good restaurant there was the french restaurant...everything else was so-so. the waves were a bit tuff so you can't really relax and play in the water (if you're not a strong swimmer, the waves take you by surprise!). staff was good. front desk was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 16, 2008

Not a 5 star

We stated for 10 nights,twice the room wasnt cleaned,turndown service recived only 3 times,beaktest and lunch so so,diners ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

best meal was at Barcelona rest. the red snapper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamilton, NJ
Jul 14, 2008

Romantic vacation for couples

The resort staff was very kind and helped us with everything. On the first night we had a problem with our A.C. and went down to the front desk and they switched our room for us without hesitation. The ocean view rooms are overrated, but I would suggest requesting a room in the center of everything, so you do not have to walk that far at night. The pool is nice, but the water is very warm and not that refreshing. The beach, lounge chairs and umbrellas are wonderful and the wait staff will get you a cold drink whenever you need one by the pool or on the beach. A U.S. dollar goes very far for a tip. The spa is very nice and the entertainment was fun. If you want to go horseback riding sign up for the one that costs $35.00 because it is definitely worth it. The free one that it comes with is not that great and is very short. The food was good, but not up to American 5-star quality. I would stay at another excellence resort but want to try it in another country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Jul 9, 2008

awesome

Incredible place. Zero complaints. People are extraordinarily nice and work very hard to please guests. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top