$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
736 out of 736
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pdogg
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 24, 2014

Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the Dominican show that they put on nightly was outstanding I would recommend getting there early to get a good seat.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolina nana
Business
Bergen County, New Jersey
Nov 19, 2014

Excellent vacation at Excellence Hotel

Beautiful property with acres to walk and see parrots, turtles, egrets all waiting for the bread that;s proviede for the guests. The beach is perfect. There are enough huts with lounge chairs for everyone to sit in the shade. The buffets couldn't be better. High quality food with different choices each day. The staff was so pleasant and accommodating. The view from our room couldn't be nicer. It was an overall wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

long beautiful walk to the restaurants through manicured gardens with exotic tropical orchards, birds of paradise and other native plants and flowers. You can be as active as you want or just relax.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scotty C
Business
Charlotte, nc
Nov 3, 2014

Honeymoon

Positives: -great customer service. Employees are there to please you and make your vacation enjoyable. -food. 24/7 room service and all of the restaurants were great! -grounds. Beautifully maintained from the beach to the nature areas. -pools. We enjoyed the size of the pools and never felt like there was not enough room. Negatives: -bed was a little hard so we ordered a mattress pad that helped. Tip: -make sure you call prior to arrival to confirm honeymoon occasion to receive rose petals in room. We forgot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
very happy person
Business
new york westchester
Oct 31, 2014

A great place to unwind

the staff the food everything was fantastic everything I had hope to get out of my vacation it was a birthday gift to myself so I was very happy. thank u EXCELLANCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Kimmie
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Oct 23, 2014

Nice and Relaxing

My fiancé and I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding we attended. The property itself and the beach is beautiful. The staff was very accommodating and courteous at all times. Our rooms were nice, we ended up upgrading to a room with a swim up pool section on the 1st floor for a reasonable price, but need some updating and minor repairs here and there. This is an older resort however, and there was much work going on during the night time and some during the day for our duration of stay. There was a daily itinerary of events left by house keeping every morning to keep us informed of the events. We really enjoyed the fire show and the Viva Brazil show. I would however say that this is a resort for an older generation of Adults, unless coming strictly to relax, as there is minimal nightlife and everything closes at 2am. The food was hit or miss, but unfortunately our party did not find it that appetizing. We did take part in outside excursions offered by the hotel, such as the buggy rides, which was a lot of fun. Our experience overall was positive despite the minor setbacks of lack of entertainment and quality of food past a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dune Buggies

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xtine n todd
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 22, 2014

READ THIS REVEW don't pass this place up......

My husband and I went to the Excellence on our honeymoon October13-21 2014. I did sooooo much research leading up to our honeymoon because I wanted the perfect stay. I am SO GLAD I chose Excellence. If you are going to Punta Cana, this is the only place to choose. First off, I will explain how unbelievably breathtakingly gorgeous it is. The landscape is like a forest at every turn. Water, greenery, palm trees GALORE.... all natural....parrots! birds, butterflies, dragonflies.. the pools are soooooo nice!! There are party pools with games, relaxing ones with floats and waterfalls and the cascade pool was our favorite. It was very secluded. The room service is PERFECT! The staff is incredible, they wait on you hand and foot and they are such nice generous sweet sweet people. You need something? You get it! The food is GOOD!! Don't listen to the reviews that say its not, because it IS!! I have stayed at all inclusives before and this one is the best for both food and alcohol. You have sooooooo many options! The buffet is like a buffet you would probably pay $50 per person at in the states. The restaurants are so authentic! spice, the Asian place...has sake, sushi and just feels like an actual japanese restauarant. The lobster house is on the beach and soooooo good!! i had steamed lobster and it was amazing!!!!! The drinks.....woooooooo well prepare yourself because they are FUERTE!!!! (strong in spanish) I got too many a couple days and lets just say I think I have photos to prove if not, i wont ever remember what happened.... lol We did the horseback excursion....I am not a horse rider but my husband loves horses and it was just perfect. I wouldn't spend too much on excursions, I mean they are fun and all but the resort is enough for you to enjoy during your stay. Our bus took us by a couple resorts to pick up other travelers to and from airport and our resort was by far the nicest. CHOOSE EXCELLENCE and you will be beyond satisfied!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Tucker's
Business
Dallas Tx
Oct 21, 2014

A honeymooner's Paradise

We were treated like royalty from the minute we arrived!! Such pampering was amazing on our honeymoon!! Thanks to all the staff at the Excellence!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saltcay01
Business
Long Island NY
Oct 12, 2014

Best Vacation Ever!

From the moment we arrive and until we left we were pampered. The people and the Excellence were beyond expectation. I recommend this vacation to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to the executive club and enjoy an even better vacation experience.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Tucker's
Business
Dallas Tx
Oct 12, 2014

Absolutely amazing!

It's was the honeymoon of our dreams and we would totally recommend this amazing resort! It was so romantic and there were also lots of things to do without being overbearing! The staff did everything to make us feel special and the beach was incredible!! Delicious food too!! Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you have transfers to and from the resort squared away!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess0915
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 29, 2014

Awesome Hotel & Average Food/Staff

We booked a flight and this hotel for 13 days. I think the value was worth it. I have some tips for you that are essential. 1) SHUTTLE: When booking, make sure you change the destination from Punta Cana Hotels to Uvero Alto Hotels. The Excellence location is farther so it cost a little more. Also, expect for the shuttle to drop everyone else off at their hotels first since Excellence is the furthest away. 2) ARRIVAL: They greet you with champagne and a cold towel upon arrival. Amazing! 3) SERVICE/STAFF: The service is extremely slow in the Dominican Republic. It sometimes takes an hour just to get water delivered to your table; however, alcoholic drinks are always easily available. Room service usually takes over an hour and is sometimes cold. You’ll find some employees that give great service, but don’t expect much. 4) TIPS: Tipping is included in the price; however, it’s nice to tip for good service (which is hard to find) or if you reserve a special event. We stopped tipping half way through our trip because the service didn’t improve. 5) FOOD: The food is ok here. I was expecting a lot more. The menus sound incredible; however, the ingredients are sometimes inconsistent, lost in translation (toast is tostadas, they put pickles in beef stroganoff, potatoes are fries, etc.), and if they run out of something, they just serve it anyway instead of substituting something else for it. During the day you have a choice of a buffet (Toscano), sit down (The Grill) or snacks (Las Olas). It can get a little boring for lunch because the buffet doesn’t change too often. Also, don’t expect good Mexican food. 6) HOUSEKEEPING: These ladies are incredible! Make sure to tip them! They are extremely appreciative. You can also request they come during a certain time each day. This is perfect if you know you’ll be at the pool/beach/lunch the same time each day and don’t want to be woken up at 8am. 7) EXCURSIONS: They don’t have much. We did the Deep Sea Fishing trip. I’ve never gotten sea sick but the swells were at least 10 feet (they told us 4-5 ft) and extremely boring (4 hours) with not even a bite (same price). Basically it’s 4 hours of rocking up and down (you can’t even walk around). 8) SPECIAL EVENTS: They provide special dinners and treats for special events. Make sure you book your special event IMMEDIATELY. They told us we could book our anniversary dinner, breakfast in bed, and horseback riding the day before but everything was booked, which was really disappointing. 9) CLOTHING ATTIRE: For dinner every restaurant requires PANTS for guys – even if it’s extremely hot. 10) MOSQUITOES: This place is awful for mosquitoes. Spray yourself each night before dinner if you don’t want to be eaten alive. The Lobster House and Grill are outside restaurants. Bring plenty of bug spray! We went through a brand new can in 2 weeks. Also, expect to take 2-3 showers a day to wash off sun screen and mosquito repellent. 11) OVERALL: I think this hotel was a great value for the price. It's worth it being Adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top