$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
735 reviews
Best Vacation Ever!

From the moment we arrive and until we left we were pampered. The people and the Excellence were... See full review

  • saltcay01
  • Oct 12, 2014
Excellent!

The hotel and staff was amazing! I would definitely recommend to future visitors. See full review

  • Groot
  • Sep 26, 2014
Come see what it really means to get away from it all. At Excellence Punta Cana we surround you with luxury. We seclude you among palms on a perfect powdery -sand beach. We invite you to experience the natural friendliness of people who call the Caribbean home and to enjoy the ease of an all-adult resort. Here, everything is taken care of and nothing is left out. So you are free to create those moments you dream of and memories you'll have forever. At Excellence Punta Cana you are secluded but not isolated. Our all-adult, all suite world is situated on a beautiful beach in a palm grove on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, convenient to both Punta Cana International Airport and La Romana International Airport. Its architecture is in the classic colonial style, and two enormous pools wind through our grounds. We created The Excellence Club to provide an exclusive level of luxury and amenities at each of the Excellence Group Luxury Resorts. You are privately greeted and checked into your suite, which is adorned with welcoming flowers upon your arrival. Each morning, fresh fruit and newspapers are delivered to your suite. You can enjoy our private Excellence Club beach and lounge, complete with complimentary Internet access, buffet & bar service. At Excellence Punta Cana, dining is truly international, and you have a total of eight irresistible restaurant options. In addition to its evening fare, our Italian restaurant serves breakfast,lunch and a la carte Diner. For dinner, you may choose from our French, Mediterranean, Asian/Japanese & Mexican, as well as restaurants specializing in lobster steak and pizzeria. And best of all, reservations are never required. Ten different bars complete the experience. You can swim up to the pool bar or join fellow fans in the sports bar. Whatever your pleasure, there is a convivial watering hole for everyone. Or you can stay in and enjoy room service, which is available 24-hours a day. Our Spa is virtually a resort within a resort. It is tucked away in a beautiful colonial building facing the Dominican mountains. There, in a private relaxation garden surrounding a Zen fountain, you will discover a unique combination of hydrotherapy and indigenous treatments that allow you to create your own moments of wellness and renewal. You may choose from single and couple treatment cabins, or opt to enjoy your spa services outdoors, facing the sea. Our spa offers a complete array of personal pampering services, including expert skin care and hair styling. Separate facilities for men and women include authentic Swedish saunas, steam rooms and luxury locker rooms. Our spa also offers you an on-site gym and large whirlpool. Healthy refreshments are always close at hand. Visit the spa boutique for the finest skin-care products and other selections. Your stay at Excellence Punta Cana is peaceful but never boring. You can go scuba diving and deep-sea fishing or enjoy a friendly game of bocce, water polo, beach football, squash, tennis, archery or billiards. Or, wrap up a day of snorkeling and diving with a horseback ride along the beach. You can improve your fitness and personal wellness through classes in yoga, dancing or water aerobics, or go for a jog on our 607-meter track. All this is in addition to Excellence Punta Cana's fully equipped fitness and cardio-conditioning center. In between all these activities, you can even take Spanish or cooking classes. Above all, we want you to enjoy as much activity, or as little, as you wish.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (735)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
735 out of 735
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bow
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2014

Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff, very clean. Room service and turn down service. Right on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Shows every night, casino, always events and activities going on near poolside. Do not eat at the Thai restaurant! Everything else is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saltcay01
Business
Long Island NY
Oct 12, 2014

Best Vacation Ever!

From the moment we arrive and until we left we were pampered. The people and the Excellence were beyond expectation. I recommend this vacation to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrade to the executive club and enjoy an even better vacation experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess0915
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 29, 2014

Awesome Hotel & Average Food/Staff

We booked a flight and this hotel for 13 days. I think the value was worth it. I have some tips for you that are essential. 1) SHUTTLE: When booking, make sure you change the destination from Punta Cana Hotels to Uvero Alto Hotels. The Excellence location is farther so it cost a little more. Also, expect for the shuttle to drop everyone else off at their hotels first since Excellence is the furthest away. 2) ARRIVAL: They greet you with champagne and a cold towel upon arrival. Amazing! 3) SERVICE/STAFF: The service is extremely slow in the Dominican Republic. It sometimes takes an hour just to get water delivered to your table; however, alcoholic drinks are always easily available. Room service usually takes over an hour and is sometimes cold. You’ll find some employees that give great service, but don’t expect much. 4) TIPS: Tipping is included in the price; however, it’s nice to tip for good service (which is hard to find) or if you reserve a special event. We stopped tipping half way through our trip because the service didn’t improve. 5) FOOD: The food is ok here. I was expecting a lot more. The menus sound incredible; however, the ingredients are sometimes inconsistent, lost in translation (toast is tostadas, they put pickles in beef stroganoff, potatoes are fries, etc.), and if they run out of something, they just serve it anyway instead of substituting something else for it. During the day you have a choice of a buffet (Toscano), sit down (The Grill) or snacks (Las Olas). It can get a little boring for lunch because the buffet doesn’t change too often. Also, don’t expect good Mexican food. 6) HOUSEKEEPING: These ladies are incredible! Make sure to tip them! They are extremely appreciative. You can also request they come during a certain time each day. This is perfect if you know you’ll be at the pool/beach/lunch the same time each day and don’t want to be woken up at 8am. 7) EXCURSIONS: They don’t have much. We did the Deep Sea Fishing trip. I’ve never gotten sea sick but the swells were at least 10 feet (they told us 4-5 ft) and extremely boring (4 hours) with not even a bite (same price). Basically it’s 4 hours of rocking up and down (you can’t even walk around). 8) SPECIAL EVENTS: They provide special dinners and treats for special events. Make sure you book your special event IMMEDIATELY. They told us we could book our anniversary dinner, breakfast in bed, and horseback riding the day before but everything was booked, which was really disappointing. 9) CLOTHING ATTIRE: For dinner every restaurant requires PANTS for guys – even if it’s extremely hot. 10) MOSQUITOES: This place is awful for mosquitoes. Spray yourself each night before dinner if you don’t want to be eaten alive. The Lobster House and Grill are outside restaurants. Bring plenty of bug spray! We went through a brand new can in 2 weeks. Also, expect to take 2-3 showers a day to wash off sun screen and mosquito repellent. 11) OVERALL: I think this hotel was a great value for the price. It's worth it being Adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Groot
Business
Greenwood, IN
Sep 26, 2014

Excellent!

The hotel and staff was amazing! I would definitely recommend to future visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Grill has the best lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
40th bday girl
Business
Georgia
Sep 18, 2014

Awesome getaway

Great resort! Great time! Will definitely go back! Food and drinks were great! Staff was even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kelly123456
Business
Ashville, NC
Sep 16, 2014

EH

Although the staff was quick to fix issues, there were many things that were an inconvenience. The AC in my room broke the first day we were there, they sent someone out the next morning but the night was tough to get through. The shelf in our room broke prior to us arriving so when we got there, we had to deal with the repair men drilling and hammering while we were trying to unpack. There were also a ton of tiny ants crawling around the coffee machine/drinkware area making me not want to touch any of the drinking glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spilleary
Business
Philadelphia
Sep 16, 2014

Almost Perfect!

My husband and I stayed at Excellence Punta Cana for 12 amazing nights in August. We stayed in a ground floor junior suite in building 2, which had its own hammock and patio area and a beautiful view of the garden and ocean. The food overall was better than your average all-inclusive and some dishes were really delicious. We tried all the restaurants except Oregano (pizza), and our favorite was Flavor Market (tapas). The service was always great, and we didn't feel like you had to tip to get good service (although we almost always did anyway). The only major downside during our stay was the mosquitos. Douse yourself in bug spray as soon as you get to the hotel and never leave your room without it day or night. We got the most bites within the first hour when we were unprepared. Other than that, we had a great time eating, drinking, and doing absolutely nothing! We'd return in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of bug spray and apply it liberally and often!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tito's Mom
Business
Lake Worth, FL
Sep 16, 2014

50th birthday celebration

The grounds were lovely and comfortable. The food and service were disappointing for a 5 star resort, more on the lines of a 3 star. I find it incredible that a 5 star oceanfront resort did not serve fresh seafood. It was clearly frozen, even the lobster. Guess I'm spoiled living in coastal Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
40th bday girl
Business
Georgia
Sep 7, 2014

Awesome getaway!!!

Love this place!!! Everything was even better than expected!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elli
Business
Washington DC
Sep 5, 2014

A perfect Caribbean vacation

Hotel Excellence in Punta Cana is everything you expect and more!!! Great Deal!!! Beautiful architecture & landscape, tasteful art decoration with a nice large swimming pool, Very clean & spacious rooms, Welcoming environment, great hospitality, entertaining, Variety of quality food, Private & relaxing for adults who only want the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the Grill restaurant located in the hotel offers the best quality food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JandAchavez
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Sep 4, 2014

Excellente!

Resort was beautiful! Our room was the master suite pool view it was very big. Shower and bathrooms were very clean. I was really looking forward to the Jacuzzi bathtub but when I filled it the water was yellow! Water in toilet was yellow to so don't know that they could have fixed it. Staff was great beware that they do accept and seem to expect tips. We weren't used to that we had only been to sandals were they do not accept tips. Some restaurants were soo good!! Others were just ok. Pools were beautiful, ocean was beautiful! It was a great deal for the price! Oh bring bottles of bug spray, mosquitoes were out of this world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top