$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
815 reviews
GREAT GREAT GET AWAY

My wife and I are newlyweds. We've been to a couple of islands. This is by far the best we've been... See full review

  • Craig M.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Awesome Girls Getaway

The hotel was excellente! There many many dining options as well as full access to the beach. The... See full review

  • Courtney P.
  • May 30, 2015

The Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults-Only All-Inclusive Resort in Punta Cana is one of the Dominican Republic's most comfortable tropical getaways. Guests are able to create a personalized visit as they enjoy the lapping ocean waves and the soothing beats of merengue that softly bathe the hotel. Eight romantic restaurants await the visitors, each with its own unique culinary specialties and ethnic styles. The resort also features a wide variety of leisure and light-adventure activities that are sure to ease visitors into a mindset of rest and relaxation under the warm Dominican sun.

Rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Highlights

Visitors to the Excellence Punta Cana can line themselves across a 30-mile stretch of palm-lined coast or engage in the resort's numerous sports and adventure activities. Those looking to relax can try out yoga or Pilates, or they get in a good workout at the resort's state-of-the-art fitness center. Other light activities include water aerobics and aqua fitness, squash, bocce, basketball, beach volleyball and football. Guests also have their choice of Spanish dancing or cooking lessons or a 30-minute guided horseback riding session per visitor, per stay. For an extra fee, guests can visit the world-class Miilé Spa & beauty salon, go on helicopter rides to view a rich panorama of Punta Cana, go horseback riding or watch for humpback whales.

Nearby attractions
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Flavor Market
Try something different for dinner. Small plates deliver big flavor in this cozy gourmet restaurant. Order from an extensive menu of tapas dishes paired with premium wines recommended by our sommelier. Reservations not required
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chadillac
fords.nj
Jan 15, 2014

winter getaway

my wife and I had an excellent time. weather was perfect (January). mid 80's all week long with a nice breeze. breakfast and lunch is offered in a form of a buffet. plenty of choices, but nothing is spectacular. its good but not breathtaking. on the other hand, dinner is absolutely amazing. they have 8 restaurants. our favorite was the lobster house and the Barcelona. rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. the nightly shows are entertaining. not Vegas entertaining, but its not bad. overall we had an amazing time. the only thing I would change is the beds. it is a bit hard. would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for an awesome time without kids screaming 24/7. remember ADULTS only.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Barcelona and Lobster House was our fav

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig M.
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

GREAT GREAT GET AWAY

My wife and I are newlyweds. We've been to a couple of islands. This is by far the best we've been to. When I say it's great, it's great. The Hotel 10+ The Staff 8 The Food 8 The Pools 10+ The Beach 10++ Plus there was a lot to see and do... We loved it very much. WE WILL RETURN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Park hopper
Business
GOSHEN
Jun 4, 2015

Couples weekend

Had a very nice time. Staff could not be more pleasant or attentive. The resort itself though is dated. I have stayed at The Excellence Resort in Playa Mujeres, Mexico which is why I chose this resort. It was much newer with larger rooms and nicer pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel A.
Business
Pittston
Jun 2, 2015

Vacation

Excellence was a very good hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly. The food was good but not great - you could tell it is mass produced, and many of the restaurants weren't open as early or late as expected. I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courtney P.
Business
Hyattsville
May 30, 2015

Awesome Girls Getaway

The hotel was excellente! There many many dining options as well as full access to the beach. The resort offered nightly activities from going to the casino to a full show. I would recommend anyone to this resort. Also each room came with a private balcony or patio. Very spacious rooms and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonathan W.
Business
Bothell
May 10, 2015

Anniversary

This resort really has it all. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food is amazing. The resort was very clean. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aaron L.
Business
Madison
May 1, 2015

Great Romantic Getaway

Decent food, beach was great, staff was very helpful. A great experience for our first romantic getaway. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danny r.
Business
kansas city
Apr 27, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic

There is a $10 per person charge tourist fee when entering the country. VIP Travel charged an additional $40 for their service. Stayed at Excellence Punta Cana because of the good experience at Excellence Playa in Cancun. Room with a Garden View had a moss covered pond. Meals were good with only one bad experience. Staff was not as friendly as in Cancun. Nice beach but not kept as nice as Cancun. Good weather which saved our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Awesome girls vacation

This hotel is adults only and it was nice not having kids roaming around. There were great choices of restaurant and located right on the beach. The only downfall is that the pool & pool bars close at 6pm!! I am not sure why this is and thought was unnecessary. Other than that, it was such a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tipster Vince
Business
SOUTH EUCLID
Apr 10, 2015

Great Vacation

The Excellence Resort was beautiful, my wife and I along with the couple traveling with us had a really great time, we felt very relaxed and pampered. There is a lot to say so I will list as pros/cons. Pros: The grounds are immaculate, the lobby and common areas are very well cared for. The gym was state of the art everything, the ecological park was a nice surprise. The staff was great (except for the concierge) Everyone else though was friendly, attentive, and very upbeat. My favorites of the week - Cassandra from the entertainment team Hector Luis, Basillio, John, & Edward from the beach bars Joell & Sandy from Chez Isabelle, they treated us like royalty and even sang to us LOL...The best restaurants are Chez Isabelle and Las Olas Grille, the Dominican night on the beach was amazing. I have family from DR so I was anxious to try some authentic Dominican cuisine. Paula, our housekeeper was as sweet as pie. The mini bar service was awesome, they refilled drinks, snacks and coffee daily, they even switched out a bottle of liquor for something that we would like better than what was in the room. I loved the location we were in, because we were not constantly surrounded by noise and partying. When we were ready to relax, we were able to. If you stay and need that, DO REQUEST IT. Cons: The rooms and the building need some freshening up. Small repairs here and there, and some painting would make a huge difference. In the sports bar, the air hockey table is beyond repair, for the cost of ONE night stay, I am sure it could be replaced. The water on this side of the island is a bit too rough to swim in, so don't expect much time in the ocean. The concierge, I am sorry to say... not polite at all. Very short, as if annoyed to be approached. There is not enough authentic Dominican food available. My thought is that one of the 9 restaurants should be all about DR. The rest of the food was OK, but nothing spectacular. I must say having been to an all inclusive twice before, this seems to be a pattern with them all. The bike ride was a bit scary, and if you are an animal lover, don't do it. They will take you to a farm, where the animals do not look well fed at all. Overall it was a great trip. One more thing....THIS IS SPANISH SPEAKING COUNTRY! There a million apps that can be downloaded to your phone/tablet that can give you the basics of Spanish. If you at least try, they sincerely appreciate it, and will show you by the extra special attention they give you while there. At least that was our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly
Business
Smyrna
Apr 6, 2015

Great Resort!

We've stayed at Excellence Riveria Cancun so that's why we chose to stay at Excellence Punta Cana. We had a great time!! The room was clean, food was good, service was good (had a small mix up with transportation that the resort had set up, but I believe it was due to the fact we actually missed our flight and had a new landing time which I did call them and make them aware of and they said they would still be there but weren't however, in the end they paid for our transportation back to the airport when we left which was nice) and we had an overall great time!! Would definitely return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top