$502 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
747 reviews
Nov8-22

This is a great hotel,from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after like... See full review

  • Garryqpr
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (747)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 747
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
very happy person
Business
new york westchester
Oct 31, 2014

A great place to unwind

the staff the food everything was fantastic everything I had hope to get out of my vacation it was a birthday gift to myself so I was very happy. thank u EXCELLANCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jens travel stay
Business
California
Jan 13, 2014

Jens travel stay with friends

This hotel is breathtaking. Nothing about it looks cheap. The staff is so nice. I liked how we see the same staff everyday, your able to build a bond. Also the food was pretty good as well. Considering we are in the DR, you can't expect them to have the best food but it was good enough. By far the Mexican and Asian resultant were the best. The spa was nice. A little bit pricy but was so nice. Oh! Everyone speaks English!! French!! Spanish!! The cons ... This resort is defiantly for older people and a couples resort. This isn't a place to go of you are young and single! Lesson learned haha. All the night shows and activities are based on having a love one with you. The drinks .. There is only so much you can choose from. Their alcohol choice is very Minimal. And only have three types of beer, their beer, corona and coolers. Coolers and corona is very hard to find!! Almost impossible! Yes the wifi is free!! Pool closes at 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ladies, you can just wear Your beach Sandals! No need to wear heels when going to dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2011

Like being on a land-locked cruise ship

First let me start by saying, I'm a Foodie and an independent traveler (meaning, I typically prefer charting my own course vs. relying on a tour guide). So please understand I see everything through that filter. I know everyone has a different travel style...but for me, Excellence was at BEST "Mediocre." The Property: A little old and beginning to show it's wear. Still, it's nice and maintained well. My A/c and hot water didn't work in the first room ...so they moved me to another room which was fine. The new room had teensy tiny ants in certain areas, but not really enough to change rooms again for. The Staff: Super friendly and helpful. Will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One drawback...(first cruise reference)... there were lots of "organized" activities. The staff were super aggressive about getting you to particpate in them. To the extent that you might be sleeping on the beach and they sit down beside you and wake you up to see if you want to play bingo. The Food: Left A LOT to be desired. Several themed restaurants... but they all apparently use the same "fajita spice mix"...so the asian themed restaurant offered a pad thai that tasted strangely mexican; the Lobster/Seafood themed restaurant offered a surf and turf featuring peppers sauted in a similar flavor profile (and the "turf" might have acutally been TURF b/c it was so tough ...and was also smothered in GRAVY?!?!; The Italian place ....you guessed it, fajita bolognese :-)... Strangely the at Mexican themed place I actually had a fajita...and it tasted like it'd been seasoned w/Oregano. Go figure. -- Second cruise reference...because ther resort is so far from everything ...you are TRAPPED...w/no access to anything else. No shopping, no new people, no new food. To get off the resort you need to spend a fortune on a taxi or do an excursion. I did two. Excursions: Super pushy sales people. Made me feel as though I was being scammed (for example a roving sales person at the beach offered me horseback riding for $45...and at the excursion counter it was $70. When I asked why the price difference...I got really vague answers.) I ended up doing the horseback riding, but felt super guilty the entire time as the horses were SKIN AND BONES. SO Sad! I tried to pick the most robust horse possible but even still was careful not to over work him. I also did a zip lining excursion, which was super fun and gave me a much needed break from the resort. All in all...the resort is fine, if you want to go somewhere...not think and kind of stay put. If you want to see the DR, eat good food and chart your own course...and if you're a single female...maybe pick a different, more accessible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
Apr 18, 2011

Excellence Punta Cana review

I was there for destination wedding. The staff was attentive. The resort was well maintained. There were planty of things to do if you chose to participate(i.e horseback riding, fishing, exercise classes). Far drive from airport. Quality rooms. Favorable pricing. Great place to stay for a getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Doc
Business
Baltimore MD
Oct 27, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana is Excellent

Everything at the hotel was great, it was my second trip to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamom
Business
Saint Louis Missouri
Jun 6, 2010

solo trip

I loved my room, it was nice. I paid for an Oceanview and I could barely see the Ocean, it was obscured by a huge hut. I was in the excellence club which had it's own amenities,which I liked. I had a nice flat screen tv in my room with a dvd player which I made use of since I was traveling alone. This place caters to couples so at times I felt uncomfortable. The best part about the resort was the location. The beach was wonderful! And being part of the Excellence club, we had our own private beach area where we we catered to by the staff, which was great! The weather was not the best, it rained alot and was mostly overcast. I would probably not go again to this resort at this location. But I would try another Excellence property somewhere else.The sweet drinks were too, too sweet! It was almost as if they were giving you the concentrate. I conferred with other guests and they agreed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Take in some or all of the shows, most were pretty good. The disco was not good, it was never well populated and the DJ did not play the most popular music so there was not much dancing, even with the few people who were present.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SCJhawk
Business
Rock Hill, SC
May 1, 2010

Great place!

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! Loved the all-inclusive; great variety of food and drinks. Kayaked, boarded, snorkeled, and hobie-catted...all no additional charge. Fun classes; bartending, spanish, dance lessons, etc. Also, great beach and pools to relax if you wanted to just hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Pleasant
Oct 11, 2009

Excellence Club in )October 2009

I e-mailed request prior to arrival and nothing I requested was made. Room not what I requested, Bugs in the Room, Internet was hard getting to work, Ice Maker in the building did not work, Elevator did not work, Power went out on the day I arrived, food was so,so in most restaurants, Service was so, so, the resort looks good but do they have problems. I travel alone and this Resort is not for singles. I talked to the Management and they tries to help but the communication with staff was poor. As a Resort Operator and a Food and Beverage Director I was astonished with the Resort. five ( 5 ) Star it is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Oriental restaurant was the best ( good ). The Lobster house was the worst. I did not try Room Service, you may want to. Helpful Hint: Save your money and stay away. If you go don't bother with the upgrade to the Excellence Club, you get clue less concierge, liquor in the room ( All Inclusave and free in the resort ? ), upgraded Amenities - What? , Morning Fruit basket about 7:00 PM, Morning News Paper about 4:00 PM and the opportunity to spend more money then you should.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Oct 3, 2009

beautiful beach, aweful food

The service at Excellence resort from the moment I stepped onto the premise, until the minute I left, was impeccable. The beach is beautiful, the pools are clean, the grounds well kept. My primary goal was to rest and relax at the beach and that goal was achieved. The only complaint I have about the resort is the absolute TERRIBLE food. I have no words to describe the disappointment that I had, so much so that I sometimes skipped meals to avoid having to eat. The quality of the food was atrocious at worst and mediocre at best. For example, the fresh squeezed juices during breakfast were made from spoiled fruits. Nothing was really fresh. The quality of the food did not detract from the service of the staff, it was just very disappointing. If you enjoy eating DO NOT GO TO EXCELLENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 1, 2009

Nice stay, but not exceptional

One of the better resorts in the DR but keep in mind that this is by DR standards. Staff was extremely friendly and engaging. The food was good but not stellar; some of the food wasnt good at all. Rooms are nice and some have nice patios. Fairly clean for the most part but the water situation in the DR makes it inadvisable to use the jacuzzis in the rooms. Good entertainment and activities. The resort is fairly isolated from the areas where most of the other resorts are (one hour ride from the airport). Next time I would probably go to a resort in the Bavarro region since they are grouped together and offer different combinations of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Arrange transportation to and from the airport beforehand using Cocotours or another such company because they will only charge $35-$45. Taking a cab will cost $70 and the ride will be the most dangerous you will ever take in a car. The resort is one hour away from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top