$502 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
747 reviews
Nov8-22

This is a great hotel,from the time you arrive to the time you leave you are looked after like... See full review

  • Garryqpr
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great Honeymoon package

all I can say is it was outstanding...the staff was so helpful and very kind. See full review

  • Pdogg
  • Nov 24, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Dining

Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (747)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
747 out of 747
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CASTALIA
Business
NEW YORK/NEW JERSEY AREA
Dec 13, 2010

excellence hotel not execllent at all.

the room was not what we expected.from the pictures on the internet the room was small,needed updating and had a smell to it.we stayed in the excellence club and was not worth it.we supposedly had a suite with a swim out to pool and ocean view.no ocean view and the swim out had no privacy.everybody walked by our room and the swim out pool was used by everybody. we spent a lot of money for nothing.concierge was not very accomodating when asked to change the room. My sister-in-law was staying at the same resort and she had a garden view and it was the same room type as our and she had found roaches in her room. Food was not very good and i had food poisining the 2nd night we were there and was sick for 3 days. The employees who serve you at the restaurants and pool and bars were very nice but management was a little stuck up.Service in restaurants were very slow.Shows were okay at night and disco and lounge were very good at night.otherwise the place was definitely not a 5 star resort. Beach was beautiful but the water was very rough.huge waves and not easy to swim in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for down time with a little golf
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 6, 2010

Mixed results

The rooms themselves were better than other all inclusives we have stayed in, the wi-fi worked great and the room was big with a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The food was marginal at best and could be the worst we have had at one of these higher end all inclusives. No nearby alternatives to the food choices and we ate at every restaurant looking for a good one without success. Limited understanding of English by the staff made communication difficult. [...] the Excellence Club Manager was outstanding and made up for much of the resorts faults. Beach was nice but to many crashing waves to swim in the ocean. Only saw a few brave swimmers all week and they did not go past thier heads in water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Golf anywhere is a long drive from the hotel. Closest is Rocco Ki which is overpriced and the resort there has laid off almost all of its workers since the construction was abandoned 18 months ago. Therefore they only get about 10 to 15 golfers each day and the maintenence crew cannot keep it in shape. There are a couple of holes with spectacular views and this is how they inticed us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy1374
Business
New Jersey
Aug 3, 2014

Nice, other's Excellence is better

This hotel is nice, clean, and enjoyable, but having stayed at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres, I would recommend that resort over this as the food was much better there as well as it's a newer resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAL seasoned traveller.
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 5, 2014

Secluded

Nice, self-contained facility. Physically, very beautiful and picturesque. Secluded and about one hour from airport. Food rated from good/very good to poor!! NO need to pay extra for "Club" services. Some/most of staff (housekeeping, room service, etc.) don't speak English; which makes communication difficulty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nice nightly entertainment and small, but comfortable casino (tables, slots, etc.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Kimmie
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Oct 23, 2014

Nice and Relaxing

My fiancé and I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding we attended. The property itself and the beach is beautiful. The staff was very accommodating and courteous at all times. Our rooms were nice, we ended up upgrading to a room with a swim up pool section on the 1st floor for a reasonable price, but need some updating and minor repairs here and there. This is an older resort however, and there was much work going on during the night time and some during the day for our duration of stay. There was a daily itinerary of events left by house keeping every morning to keep us informed of the events. We really enjoyed the fire show and the Viva Brazil show. I would however say that this is a resort for an older generation of Adults, unless coming strictly to relax, as there is minimal nightlife and everything closes at 2am. The food was hit or miss, but unfortunately our party did not find it that appetizing. We did take part in outside excursions offered by the hotel, such as the buggy rides, which was a lot of fun. Our experience overall was positive despite the minor setbacks of lack of entertainment and quality of food past a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dune Buggies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellie95tx
Business
Dallas, TX
May 5, 2009

Great Hotel

This was a great relaxing trip. The hotel staff was really friendly and there was never a wait for any of the restaurants. The food was overall very good at all the restaurants. My favorite was the French restaurant, Chez Isabelle for dinner. For lunch, The Grill was yummy. Breakfast was good at the Lobster House but room service breakfast not so good. Also,if you eat at the Lobster House for dinner don't expect Maine lobster. I really did not like it at all but I'm a lobster snob. The service was impeccable at the hotel. We never had to wait for a drink and they don't expect tips but it is always nice to do so. The entertainment in the evening was a little cheesy but fun nevertheless. The only negative is the hotel is really far from the airport and the roads were horrible (beware if you get carsick). Also the hotel bed was super uncomfortable but you're not there very much anyway. The hotel itself is kind of old and we had to get our screen door fixed but they did it immediately. Also, buy stuff at the shops by the beach because the hotel shops will rip you off (payed $20 for suntan oil). The pool was a lot of fun and the food was yummy so although this hotel is on the more expensive side it is worth every penny for what you get. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a fun, relaxing trip to get away from it all and eat some delicious food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at Chez Isabelle....it is sooo yummy. The mexican restaurant, Agave was also good. Eat at the Lobster House for breakfast not dinner. The Grill is great for lunch after being at the pool or beach all day. The breakfast buffet at Toscana has a good variety with a lot of hit or miss selections. Room service was not so yummy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shery
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent Stay!

We stayed in a junior swim up suite and it was fantastic. At first we were on the opposite side of the resort than the other couple we went with, and the pool was beautiful with a waterfall. we requested to move closer to our friends, and the resort was extremely accommodating. we moved to a room that was 20 feet or so away from the swim up bar, which was fantastic. the beach was beautiful and we found out one night that the resort has employees with weapons patrolling the beach at night for all of the guests' safety. the restaurants were fantastic, although some (mexican, french) were without air conditioning. the sushi at the asian restaurant was the best i've had. we took an atv tour through a small town and countryside outside of the resort and had a really great time. the tour guide showed us around and told us about how real dominicans live. we also took a day trip to do the canopy adventure, which is a series of ziplines through the mountains about an hour away from the resort. it was absolutely beautiful and the staff were very friendly and safety-conscious. all of the resort staff were cheerful and extremely helpful, especially the entertainment staff who all made sure everyone was having a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just down the beach from the resort is a sort of camp set up called nancy's walmart. do not buy cigars from there. they will give you a good cigar to try, and then sell you a box filled with rolled banana leaves. the best place we found to buy cigars is the rancho de differente gift shop outside of the resort. we stopped there on the way back from the atv tour and picked up a box of 25 along with some mama juana for $60 cheaper than on the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lizndee
Business
queens,ny
Sep 16, 2009

2009 punta cana

I would like to say the hotel was nice the pool area was huge.I love the food it was the best. The night time entertainment was awesome. What i really dint like about the hotel was the entertainment in the pool area there was really none very boring no music it was the first vacation my husband and i had taken that the entertainment suck during the day. besides that the rooms where not that clean.Im sorry to say i would not go back there again. The ride from the airport was an hour and it extends after they drop everyone else in there hotels they leave u for last because the hotel is the furthest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do your shopping at the beach they have shops all the way at the end on the beach we dint no about them until the last day of our vacation prices are good always negotiate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 30, 2009

The Excellence is Awesome!

I think this is one of the best resorts in the area. Service was great, the grounds crew is amazing, always sweeping and cleaning the pool, grounds are awesome and very clean. Everyone was so nice and friendly. They had tons of activities on the resort. They had Monday night football on the beach which was awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Night time entertainment was ok. There were bands and singers which was good, they had them every night. I would have liked more shows like that. Stay on the resort though!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
d4eo
Business
Weston, CT
Apr 25, 2010

Great place except for the spa

Excellence Punta Cana is a wonderful all inclusive vacation spot. The staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful, enthusiastic. The pools and beach are great, the food is very good. The wine and beer could be better but OK for an all inclusive resort. The only major let-down is the spa. It is small, but worse, it is shabby. Hard to believe it is owned by Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top