$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
810 out of 810
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CASTALIA
Business
NEW YORK/NEW JERSEY AREA
Dec 13, 2010

excellence hotel not execllent at all.

the room was not what we expected.from the pictures on the internet the room was small,needed updating and had a smell to it.we stayed in the excellence club and was not worth it.we supposedly had a suite with a swim out to pool and ocean view.no ocean view and the swim out had no privacy.everybody walked by our room and the swim out pool was used by everybody. we spent a lot of money for nothing.concierge was not very accomodating when asked to change the room. My sister-in-law was staying at the same resort and she had a garden view and it was the same room type as our and she had found roaches in her room. Food was not very good and i had food poisining the 2nd night we were there and was sick for 3 days. The employees who serve you at the restaurants and pool and bars were very nice but management was a little stuck up.Service in restaurants were very slow.Shows were okay at night and disco and lounge were very good at night.otherwise the place was definitely not a 5 star resort. Beach was beautiful but the water was very rough.huge waves and not easy to swim in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for down time with a little golf
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 6, 2010

Mixed results

The rooms themselves were better than other all inclusives we have stayed in, the wi-fi worked great and the room was big with a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The food was marginal at best and could be the worst we have had at one of these higher end all inclusives. No nearby alternatives to the food choices and we ate at every restaurant looking for a good one without success. Limited understanding of English by the staff made communication difficult. [...] the Excellence Club Manager was outstanding and made up for much of the resorts faults. Beach was nice but to many crashing waves to swim in the ocean. Only saw a few brave swimmers all week and they did not go past thier heads in water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Golf anywhere is a long drive from the hotel. Closest is Rocco Ki which is overpriced and the resort there has laid off almost all of its workers since the construction was abandoned 18 months ago. Therefore they only get about 10 to 15 golfers each day and the maintenence crew cannot keep it in shape. There are a couple of holes with spectacular views and this is how they inticed us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 23, 2010

good and bad

a good and a bad experience...last year we went to exellence cancun mexico which was 10 times superior to the one in punta cana..better comfort , better customer service, better food and drinks, better beach and weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy1374
Business
New Jersey
Aug 3, 2014

Nice, other's Excellence is better

This hotel is nice, clean, and enjoyable, but having stayed at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres, I would recommend that resort over this as the food was much better there as well as it's a newer resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAL seasoned traveller.
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 5, 2014

Secluded

Nice, self-contained facility. Physically, very beautiful and picturesque. Secluded and about one hour from airport. Food rated from good/very good to poor!! NO need to pay extra for "Club" services. Some/most of staff (housekeeping, room service, etc.) don't speak English; which makes communication difficulty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nice nightly entertainment and small, but comfortable casino (tables, slots, etc.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Kimmie
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Oct 23, 2014

Nice and Relaxing

My fiancé and I recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding we attended. The property itself and the beach is beautiful. The staff was very accommodating and courteous at all times. Our rooms were nice, we ended up upgrading to a room with a swim up pool section on the 1st floor for a reasonable price, but need some updating and minor repairs here and there. This is an older resort however, and there was much work going on during the night time and some during the day for our duration of stay. There was a daily itinerary of events left by house keeping every morning to keep us informed of the events. We really enjoyed the fire show and the Viva Brazil show. I would however say that this is a resort for an older generation of Adults, unless coming strictly to relax, as there is minimal nightlife and everything closes at 2am. The food was hit or miss, but unfortunately our party did not find it that appetizing. We did take part in outside excursions offered by the hotel, such as the buggy rides, which was a lot of fun. Our experience overall was positive despite the minor setbacks of lack of entertainment and quality of food past a certain time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dune Buggies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gina P.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Beautiful location but not 5

To start off the beach, the common area and the staff all deserve the 5 star however this is not a 5 star.. Rooms are tired, layout of rooms have a lot to be desired, their idea of upgrading the rooms is putting a fresh coat of paint on the walls...strange tub in the midle of the bedroom. The bedroom has a glass window that looks into the shower and toilet area, make sure you are close friends with your roommate. This brings me to the food..plenty of restaurants to choose from but none worth getting excited about, staff needs training on sanitation..plastic place mats used in most dining rooms and never get washed..server uses your napkin when you get up to clean of the crumbs prior to setting the table for the next guest.. You will be offered an upgrade membership upon arrival, the best part of this package is the private beach and private lounge...plenty of booze available, shows at night most are okay.. I would give the hotel a 3 star rating but you are paying for 5..so look for the best deal you can get..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Traveller
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Good (but not great) beach getaway

The beach, pools, bars, gym, and other facilities were very good. Unfortunately the room and dining left a bit to be desired. The room was decent, but the bed was very uncomfortable. The food quality was okay at best. Most of the food, even at the sit-down restaurants, was pre-made (as opposed to cooked to order) and did not use fresh ingredients (e.g., canned mushrooms were used as a side at the steak restaurant). However, dining highlights were the freshly grilled items and brick-oven pizzas made on the beach and the Dominican-inspired food (i.e., the special Dominican dinner buffet and Dominican breakfast). The beach and staff (especially the entertainment folks) were top-notch. In summary, a good place to sit on the beach and drink from a coconut, as long as you don't have high expectations for the food/dining experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The Excellence Club benefits were worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danny r.
Business
kansas city
Apr 27, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic

There is a $10 per person charge tourist fee when entering the country. VIP Travel charged an additional $40 for their service. Stayed at Excellence Punta Cana because of the good experience at Excellence Playa in Cancun. Room with a Garden View had a moss covered pond. Meals were good with only one bad experience. Staff was not as friendly as in Cancun. Nice beach but not kept as nice as Cancun. Good weather which saved our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegger39
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Adults Version of Spring Break

Upon arrival the staff immediately greets you with champagne and a hot towel that is well needed after the 1 hour bus trip from the airport. Overall the grounds and lobby are pretty well kept. The rooms are quite musty and a bit outdated with an 80's vibe (pastel, pickeled wood). The musty odor is kind of a given with all the humidity. The mini bar in the base suite is beer and soda, no liquor. I am very familiar with my vodkas and this place boasts "premium liquor." They do offer Stoly, Absolut, or Finlandia, however there were multiple times where the liquor spoiled (possibly heat stress). We complained several times and they were willing to repour, however the issue was sometimes not resolved with a new bottle opened in front of our eyes. It was hit and miss. The bar staff was incredible, especially with a bit of tipping. Omar, Javier, Juan, Victor, and Altagarcia provided us with a plethora of service and a lot of humor, regardless of our location. They moved frequently but they always kept track of us. Pools were nice and good fun was had. The swim up bar gets a bit wild, but there were quiet areas for lounging. The beach was pretty, in terms of view. Beach maintenance was hit and miss. We did get kicked off the beach in the late evening. One staff member told us it wasn't a problem, but then it was according to another member. The food was decent and we really didn't go without choices. It wasn't five star quality but it was 3.5/5.0. It lists "casual elegance" for men, but jeans and a collared shirt and shoes are appropriate. We just wanted to lounge on the beach, in the pools, and take in some beverages. We went with one other couple, which is a good thing. There were many single couples that were looking for someone with which to converse. If you are looking for a kid-free, extended weekend with another couple, it is worth the trip. We went during "hurricane season" however experienced only one afternoon of rain. Going during this season provided a lower rate. I wouldn't pay peak season prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top