$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,231 reviews
Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly... See full review

  • Caring mom
  • Jul 13, 2014
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1231)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
1231 out of 1231
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoJo Princess
Centerville, Ohio
May 5, 2013

Excellence at Excellence

Wonderful resort! The only complaint was our mattress was very worn out and very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Embrass the Dominican style food, you are not there in search of american food.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDMH
Boston MA
May 3, 2013

Relaxation Vacation

Great service...great pool...great drinks Adults only was great. Food was really good and our intent was to do nothing and that's what we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn from VA
Washington, DC
May 2, 2013

Excellence at the Excellence

I was thoroughly impressed with the friendliness of the staff at the resort. Service was top notch all the way around. Great food and drink selections, beautiful landscape and amenities, fun activities and nighttime entertainment. Great for couples honeymooning, vacationing, or just wanting to relax. We were celebrating my birthday, and the staff made sure it was extra special. I will definitely be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COGrammy
Broomfield, CO
May 1, 2013

Overall a good trip

A family group of 5 stayed here April 11-17, 2013. Overall, it was a good experience. The public areas are beautiful, but we found the rooms to be tired and slightly worn. They could use an update, but are perfectly adequate. I had called ahead and requested that our three rooms be close together. There was mix-up over this. They immediately tried to fix the problem which resulted in our rooms being in the farthest building. This was a hassle for a family member with a knee problem. The staff was just plain wonderful. We found the food to be very good and were delighted with the staff in all the restaurants. Although there was an Activity Staff, we were not aware of a lot that was going on. This could be because of our location in Building 14. This could be improved. Overall, it was a lovely vacation for our family, but I don't think we would make the LONG trip to Punta Cana again. Travel from the east coast was definitely worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crispen
New Jersey
Apr 26, 2013

Very nice and food was better than expected

The hotel was great and the staff was overly nice. Most of the restaurants like Lobster House, The Grill and Toscana were good but there are 2 resturants and stood much higher than the rest. An absolute must would be Spice (the asian fusion) and Chez Isabella (the french). These two resturants were excellent!!! If i had to do it over again i would probably go to both twice and use the other resturants for lunches and breakfast. Overall great time, just be careful with some of the staff being flirty with your significant other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CardioNazi
Camarillo, CA
Apr 20, 2013

Paradise in Punta Cana!

This was my first trip to Punta Cana and Excellence Resort exceeded any expectations I had prior to arrival. The staff here is amazing and will go out of their way to help in any way they can and will always tell you it is no problem. The resort property itself is immaculate. The rooms are spacious and luxurious and the property is kept very clean at all times. My friend and I dined at six of the eight restaurants and were delighted with the food and loved the appropriate portion sizes (unlike the U.S.). The view and beach on this property will take your breath away. I spent four days on teh beach enjoying the sun and reading and never tired of the view. The gym here has all up to date equipment and Wander teaches pilates or yoga every morning except for Sunday. He gives you a great workout. Edwin at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us arrange a taxi to take us to a nightclub in Bavaro for dancing, even getting us drinks to take with us on the way. The absolute only downfall to this trip for me was that my friend and I were the ONLY singles on the entire resort. If you are in a couple this place could not be any better for you. If you are single and not looking to mingle this place is for you. You will not be bothered. If you are single and looking to mingle I would try a different singles oriented resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Welch
OKC
Apr 8, 2013

First Honeymoon second excellence resort

This resort is the oldest of the excellence resorts but it has had some more modern upgrades to the rooms. We booked in advance for the lowest rate and then called to book our trip as an anniversary for the extra perks. Last year at the same time we went to the Playa Mujeres excellence. I would have to say overall I liked the newer Playa Mujeres resort more, but there were definitely things that were better at the Punta Cana resort. Pros: 1. At check in we were offered an upgrade to a honeymoon suite for about $100 extra a day. Not sure if this was a worth the money but the honeymoon suite was much bigger than the excellence club jr suite oceanview and had 2 bathrooms and 2 Jacuzzis. Our balcony was much larger and private than the other rooms. 2. Coco Loco drinks made using a coconut. The Mexican resort had certain days were they would dress up a pineapple or coconut with a face which my wife really enjoyed. The DR resort would give you as many drinks as you wanted made out of a coconut. They poured the coconut water into the frozen mix and then filled it back up. 3. The recreation area was large and had many choices. Basketball, tennis, squash, Foosball, pool, and a mini golf course. The gym was large and the equipment all modern as well as free weights. 4. The beach is great but there is a con as many others note that the water is rough and the red flag always out. So take pictures and listen to it. You can also get in it but don't go out too far. No seaweed on this beach. 5. Beach grill is a nice touch and allows you to get food right by the beach with your sandy feet. Saves you going inside. They cook a different special each day and have nachos and brick oven pizzas. Hot dogs and hamburgers too but I didn't really enjoy the burger to me it tasted weird. 6. The Mexican restaurant is really good and it is the only place that serves Coronas. So stop in and order one since you can't get it anywhere else on the resort. Cons 1. The balconies on most rooms are small with no hot tub. In Mexico every room had a hot tub on the balcony. 2. The regular rooms seemed small, keep in mind I only peaked in as my room was the honeymoon and was pretty large, closer to what we had in Mexico but that room wasn't at the same price point. 3. We had mostly great service but there were lapses. We are easy going so any issues didn't really affect our enjoyment. 4. The road there can be a bit scary. The locals seem to cut each other off and pass without good visibility. We got a private transport which was comfortable. We saw many buses completely filled with new vacationers who didn't look to happy. The trip there was about an hour and another hour to get back. 5. The entertainment was pretty good but not as good as the Mexican resort (although there was overlap like the Michael Jackson show). The fun and games staff did a good job of setting up events during the day. I would recommend getting to know them and doing some of the activities they offer. 6. The Punta Cana airport is slow and the restrooms were flooded and didn't seem clean. It is open air and you will have to walk outside to and from your airplane to the gate. 7. Views of the ocean were ok but not great. Try to get a room on a third floor. Second floor can see the ocean through palm trees unless you get a room with a clear path. 8. They only have 4 beers that you can get in your room. Presidente, Presidente Light, The One, and Coors Light. Last word. The resort is great. I would definitely say it is hard to not enjoy. The food was good, the staff good and the room well appointed. My list of items are just to help you know the things I experienced in case they help you in your decision or trip once you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jbboston
boston ma
Mar 23, 2013

excellent family vacation

Beautiful beach ..great food fun time! Perfect getaway foe our family vacation !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opie from Iowa
Hiawatha, Iowa
Mar 22, 2013

GOING BACK

I honestly can say, I would suggest this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Adan is amazing in the Lobster house! Tito doing the games is an amazing person!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jurian1971
Russia
Mar 19, 2013

yuriy

An unforgettable holiday! We were in heaven! I recommend it 100%

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top