$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
1,230 reviews
Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff,... See full review

  • The Bow
  • Jul 8, 2014
Perfect honeymoon

This was the perfect resort for our honeymoon. The staff treats you like royalty the second you... See full review

  • Matt and melissa Z
  • Jun 22, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1230)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
1230 out of 1230
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xindi's Mom
Orange County, California
Dec 31, 2012

Wonderful Birthday Vacation

The hotel is fantastic! Upgrade to a room with an ocean view and you won't be dissapointed. The service is great, the food is great, and we enjoyed walking the beach every day for exercise without fear of crime. We stayed at the resort and did not do any tours and there was enough amenities to keep us busy for the week,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to go into town to shop. There are plenty of local vendors within a short walk and it is safe to walk around and shop. Everyone is very friendly.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucy World Traveller
Toronto, Ontario
Mar 21, 2011

Salty Food

A very nice location with sandy beach and lots to do. My husband and I enjoyed our time by the beach and the pool. The resort is pretty clean and people who work there are nice. We found that the food was extremely salty. Our stay would have been better had we had a better selection of food. Feeling bloated throughout our holiday was not pleasurable. The entertainment was good at the beginning of the week but then got a little worse towards the end. The resort is located about an hour from the airport. Our drive back to the airport going home was horrible. Unfortunately the winding roads caused me to throw up at the airport. Our overall experience was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2011

Like being on a land-locked cruise ship

First let me start by saying, I'm a Foodie and an independent traveler (meaning, I typically prefer charting my own course vs. relying on a tour guide). So please understand I see everything through that filter. I know everyone has a different travel style...but for me, Excellence was at BEST "Mediocre." The Property: A little old and beginning to show it's wear. Still, it's nice and maintained well. My A/c and hot water didn't work in the first room ...so they moved me to another room which was fine. The new room had teensy tiny ants in certain areas, but not really enough to change rooms again for. The Staff: Super friendly and helpful. Will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One drawback...(first cruise reference)... there were lots of "organized" activities. The staff were super aggressive about getting you to particpate in them. To the extent that you might be sleeping on the beach and they sit down beside you and wake you up to see if you want to play bingo. The Food: Left A LOT to be desired. Several themed restaurants... but they all apparently use the same "fajita spice mix"...so the asian themed restaurant offered a pad thai that tasted strangely mexican; the Lobster/Seafood themed restaurant offered a surf and turf featuring peppers sauted in a similar flavor profile (and the "turf" might have acutally been TURF b/c it was so tough ...and was also smothered in GRAVY?!?!; The Italian place ....you guessed it, fajita bolognese :-)... Strangely the at Mexican themed place I actually had a fajita...and it tasted like it'd been seasoned w/Oregano. Go figure. -- Second cruise reference...because ther resort is so far from everything ...you are TRAPPED...w/no access to anything else. No shopping, no new people, no new food. To get off the resort you need to spend a fortune on a taxi or do an excursion. I did two. Excursions: Super pushy sales people. Made me feel as though I was being scammed (for example a roving sales person at the beach offered me horseback riding for $45...and at the excursion counter it was $70. When I asked why the price difference...I got really vague answers.) I ended up doing the horseback riding, but felt super guilty the entire time as the horses were SKIN AND BONES. SO Sad! I tried to pick the most robust horse possible but even still was careful not to over work him. I also did a zip lining excursion, which was super fun and gave me a much needed break from the resort. All in all...the resort is fine, if you want to go somewhere...not think and kind of stay put. If you want to see the DR, eat good food and chart your own course...and if you're a single female...maybe pick a different, more accessible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamom
Saint Louis Missouri
Jun 6, 2010

solo trip

I loved my room, it was nice. I paid for an Oceanview and I could barely see the Ocean, it was obscured by a huge hut. I was in the excellence club which had it's own amenities,which I liked. I had a nice flat screen tv in my room with a dvd player which I made use of since I was traveling alone. This place caters to couples so at times I felt uncomfortable. The best part about the resort was the location. The beach was wonderful! And being part of the Excellence club, we had our own private beach area where we we catered to by the staff, which was great! The weather was not the best, it rained alot and was mostly overcast. I would probably not go again to this resort at this location. But I would try another Excellence property somewhere else.The sweet drinks were too, too sweet! It was almost as if they were giving you the concentrate. I conferred with other guests and they agreed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Take in some or all of the shows, most were pretty good. The disco was not good, it was never well populated and the DJ did not play the most popular music so there was not much dancing, even with the few people who were present.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen T
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2009

This is not a 5 star hotel.

My husband and I went for our honeymoon just last week. This is not a 5 star hotel! We arent sure if it was Murphys Law, "what can go wrong, will" but I will never return. We had upgraded to the Excellence Club, our room was nice but it had bugs where they keep the coffee and snacks...and in the closet where my clothes were! Beds are hard. They don't provide wash clothes (weird). Food was average at best. Our bathtub was filthy, after we cleaned it filled the tub the water was brown. One day we didnt have hot water. Seriously!!!! I have never written one of these things, nor do we ever complain but I would never recommend this place. The Excellence in Cancun is wonderful, this one is flat out awful. Sorry!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Great Wife
Boston, MA
Jun 28, 2010

not to bad

I wouldn't go again. The only reason I went was because my cousin was getting married. I did have a great time only because my family was there. Not worth the money spent on the package it offered. Not a safe place to visit unless you stayed @ the resorts. There is no direct flight! It was the worst experience I have EVER had traveling. 12 hrs spent traveling in one day! Go to Aruba instead. Now that is a great vacation! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Feb 24, 2011

PUNTA CANA

SERVICE WAS WONDERFUL ! FOOD HAD ALOT TO BE DESIRED,MAYBE JUST NOT INTO GOAT AND DIFFERENT TASTE IN THEIR BEEF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 13, 2010

Overall, a great time!

Overall, we had a great time! We have stayed at the Excellence resort in the Mayan Riviera. When comparing the two, the one in Mexico had better service and was overall a little newer looking, had more comfortable beds and a little nicer rooms with a lot less humidity in the rooms (got much cooler too). The food was good at both locations - Mexico and the DR. Also, the resort in the DR is about an hour from the airport. The roads are pretty rough so it made for a long ride. We did a private transfer through "Dominican Aiport Transfers" so that made it a little better. This resort had a much larger and better fitness center and the beach and water were much cleaner and easier to swim in, etc. than Mexico. Not sure we would make a second trip to the resort, but definitely had a great time and enjoyed experiencing a different country and culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KeithGP
Grand Prairie, TX
Jul 26, 2010

So so stay!

It's a good resort but was not excellente as I wanted it to be. The food was good but not spectacular. The drinks were good. The hotel is a little dated for my taste but cleaned nicely. Housekeeping was the worse. Towels were hard to come by and getting the room cleaned happened sometimes as late as 5PM. The beach was rough but enjoyable. The gift shop was laughable. With all that being said, the staff and actual Dominican people were very, very kind and warm. They really made the stay much better! I don't know if I would return, but I did have an enjoyable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

For the men, bring some slacks. The dress code in some restaurants are strictly enforced.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 23, 2010

Not up to Par

I got engaged on this trip, so was looking for a good, romantic time with my girlfriend/fiance. The place is beautiful, and the weather was perfect. However I was not happy with the service. We signed up for the anniversary package since it was our 1 yr, but when we arrived, there was no fruit plate/flowers on the bed/champagne. When we finally received it, they only sent one glass! There were 2 days were the mini-bar was not re-stocked. When we first arrived, the air conditioning didn't work, and we were told that this is just how it was. After numerous calls to the concierge, we were given a different room. Our TV was static-y, and when called, the guy just came in and wiggles the wire until it was clear. It seems like I am complaining about petty things, but this was supposed to be perfect to create a beautiful start of our life together, and I was disappointed. There were even a few staff members who were rude on purpose so they could be fired! I don't want to take away the good, because there were staff members who took it upon themselves to fix my room for the night of the proposal because no one else would, and were helpful in other ways. It seems that if everything goes well, this is a great place. However, if there is something wrong and you need assistance, service is lacking. Oh, and all the restaurants don't have air conditioning, so prepare to be warm while you are eating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Islanders
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 8, 2009

Excellente service, but bad food

It takes an hour from the airport to arrive to the hotel. We knew this, therefore, it did not bother us much. When we arrived, they received us with a champagne glass ang gave us an automatic upgrade. We paid the most affordable room, and they assigned us to a suite. The lobby is nice and the surroundings too. They upgraded us, but the room was not ready when we arrived, therefore , we went to the Italian restaurant. Do not be fool, they have eight restaurants, but all serve the same bad food. When the room was ready, two hours later, we noticed that it was very pretty. Also, I should say that Dominican people are amazing: friendly and they offer a great service. However, the food that they serve is terrible. This culinary disaster was shown over and over again: in the Pan Asian Restaurant (the sushi does not even look like one), the French and the Steak house. The shows at night are very, very low quality. The drinks are international. However, do not expect the most expensive ones, but you can find Chilean wines, and the Mojitos are great. For me, it was fine. The swimingpool is very nice too. The last day, we paid for a massage, and the experience was wonderful. They noy only gave us the massage, but also treated us like royalty. A good thing to do. In summary, I would not go back again, because the quality of the food is very important for me. and unfortunatedly it is very, very, very low... In addition, we found a big roach in the bedroom the last day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top