$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
738 out of 738
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xindi's Mom
Orange County, California
Dec 31, 2012

Wonderful Birthday Vacation

The hotel is fantastic! Upgrade to a room with an ocean view and you won't be dissapointed. The service is great, the food is great, and we enjoyed walking the beach every day for exercise without fear of crime. We stayed at the resort and did not do any tours and there was enough amenities to keep us busy for the week,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to go into town to shop. There are plenty of local vendors within a short walk and it is safe to walk around and shop. Everyone is very friendly.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 23, 2010

Not up to Par

I got engaged on this trip, so was looking for a good, romantic time with my girlfriend/fiance. The place is beautiful, and the weather was perfect. However I was not happy with the service. We signed up for the anniversary package since it was our 1 yr, but when we arrived, there was no fruit plate/flowers on the bed/champagne. When we finally received it, they only sent one glass! There were 2 days were the mini-bar was not re-stocked. When we first arrived, the air conditioning didn't work, and we were told that this is just how it was. After numerous calls to the concierge, we were given a different room. Our TV was static-y, and when called, the guy just came in and wiggles the wire until it was clear. It seems like I am complaining about petty things, but this was supposed to be perfect to create a beautiful start of our life together, and I was disappointed. There were even a few staff members who were rude on purpose so they could be fired! I don't want to take away the good, because there were staff members who took it upon themselves to fix my room for the night of the proposal because no one else would, and were helpful in other ways. It seems that if everything goes well, this is a great place. However, if there is something wrong and you need assistance, service is lacking. Oh, and all the restaurants don't have air conditioning, so prepare to be warm while you are eating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucy World Traveller
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Mar 21, 2011

Salty Food

A very nice location with sandy beach and lots to do. My husband and I enjoyed our time by the beach and the pool. The resort is pretty clean and people who work there are nice. We found that the food was extremely salty. Our stay would have been better had we had a better selection of food. Feeling bloated throughout our holiday was not pleasurable. The entertainment was good at the beginning of the week but then got a little worse towards the end. The resort is located about an hour from the airport. Our drive back to the airport going home was horrible. Unfortunately the winding roads caused me to throw up at the airport. Our overall experience was fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 13, 2009

Totally underwhelmed

We choose this hotel because we stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Club and thoroughly enjoyed that resort. This one was a huge disappointment!! From the very beginning, we were not greeted when we arrived and we were Excellence Club guests! The food was bad at all restaurants except one. There was mold in the shower in our room. It took 2 days to get washcloths in our room. The staff was very friendly and polite. I would not recommend anyone paying the extra for the Excellence Club. The only advantage that we could see was the use of the Club Lounge with snacks and internet. The grounds were lovely and the wildlife area was nice.We would not stay at this resort again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in this resort is awful with the exception of Chez Isabelle, French restaurant. That was great. Agave,Mexican food was the next best and if you drink Corona, that is only place in the resort that you can get it. I thought that was a little odd.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 26, 2010

HoneyMooners Review

Very nice. The service was good. Our first room had a leak in the ceiling and we were moved right away. The food was good, yet the bottled water bothered both my husband and myself but when we spoke to some other visitors they were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnamom
Business
Saint Louis Missouri
Jun 6, 2010

solo trip

I loved my room, it was nice. I paid for an Oceanview and I could barely see the Ocean, it was obscured by a huge hut. I was in the excellence club which had it's own amenities,which I liked. I had a nice flat screen tv in my room with a dvd player which I made use of since I was traveling alone. This place caters to couples so at times I felt uncomfortable. The best part about the resort was the location. The beach was wonderful! And being part of the Excellence club, we had our own private beach area where we we catered to by the staff, which was great! The weather was not the best, it rained alot and was mostly overcast. I would probably not go again to this resort at this location. But I would try another Excellence property somewhere else.The sweet drinks were too, too sweet! It was almost as if they were giving you the concentrate. I conferred with other guests and they agreed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Take in some or all of the shows, most were pretty good. The disco was not good, it was never well populated and the DJ did not play the most popular music so there was not much dancing, even with the few people who were present.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Oct 3, 2009

beautiful beach, aweful food

The service at Excellence resort from the moment I stepped onto the premise, until the minute I left, was impeccable. The beach is beautiful, the pools are clean, the grounds well kept. My primary goal was to rest and relax at the beach and that goal was achieved. The only complaint I have about the resort is the absolute TERRIBLE food. I have no words to describe the disappointment that I had, so much so that I sometimes skipped meals to avoid having to eat. The quality of the food was atrocious at worst and mediocre at best. For example, the fresh squeezed juices during breakfast were made from spoiled fruits. Nothing was really fresh. The quality of the food did not detract from the service of the staff, it was just very disappointing. If you enjoy eating DO NOT GO TO EXCELLENCE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
May 5, 2009

The Good and Bad

The people were really nice. Our room had a great view, but was getting wore down. The pool was very good. Every restaurant we at, the food was cold and just not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen T
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2009

This is not a 5 star hotel.

My husband and I went for our honeymoon just last week. This is not a 5 star hotel! We arent sure if it was Murphys Law, "what can go wrong, will" but I will never return. We had upgraded to the Excellence Club, our room was nice but it had bugs where they keep the coffee and snacks...and in the closet where my clothes were! Beds are hard. They don't provide wash clothes (weird). Food was average at best. Our bathtub was filthy, after we cleaned it filled the tub the water was brown. One day we didnt have hot water. Seriously!!!! I have never written one of these things, nor do we ever complain but I would never recommend this place. The Excellence in Cancun is wonderful, this one is flat out awful. Sorry!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Aug 27, 2010

Punta Cana in August, muy caliente!!!!

It was extremely hot and humid there in August. The A/C could not keep up and ceiling fans didn't cut it. The restaurants were nice, but the fact that we men had to wear pants sucked!! Too hot for pants that time of year for sure. Many bars, good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 5, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana

Excellent restaurants, especially the French Restaurant. Problem with the Airport. Poor placement of the aircraft. Worker took me in a wheelchair to the plane. He wasn't paying attention, hit a crack in the pavement and dumped me on the ground. Poor housekeeping - failed to provide towels and other amenties on several occassions,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Excellent french restaurant!

Back to menu Return to top