$361 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 25, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rjff56
Business
New York city
Aug 17, 2014

summer getaway

My wife and I recently traveled for a summer getaway. We had been here once before when the property was under different management. The summer getaway was certainly worthwhile. We did get off on the wrong foot. Be careful when booking the transportation from the airport to the hotel as the hotel is actually not in Punta Cana but approx 40 minutes outside. Being uninformed we just checked off the box for the transportation to the hotel. The tour company representative was professional and courteous and assisted us in booking the right transportation at the airport for a price of 72.00 for both of us r/t so not a ripoff just a detour based on our error. Now you know. Hotel grounds on gorgeous and well maintained. Guests are greeted with a champagne cocktail and warm washcloth.Staff is attentive and professional. We had purchased an upgrade to excellence club suite so we did get an expedited check in and check out. However in our opinion that was the only benefit of the upgrade. The rooms are the same as non club members. There is no expedited seating at the restaurants. When I inquired as to what the upgrade entailed I was told the liquor in the room was premium, ipads were available for our use, movies were available for the room, and there was a private beach section. They also have a private lounge . Well, I dont drink in my room, I have a smart phone , I didnt come to the DR to watch movies and it is a really big beach,. The lounge is an indoor area that looks like a hunting club lodge. Not what I was looking for at the beach!. Obviously in our opinion not worth the cost. The pools were beautiful. They are well maintained and there never was a problem getting chairs. The pool bar service was terrific and we didnt lack for drinks. They have something for everybody, a quiet cascading pool, a party pool and of course the swim up bar pool. Take your pick, all made you smile. The beach was great. Very clean and the water was like a postcard. Be forewarned the waves are rough and if you happen to drift out past the breaking point the undertow is strong. Again bar service here was excellent but we were at the excellence club area so I cant speak for the rest of the resort. I heard no complaints from anyone concerning the lack of service. Numerous bars throughout the resort. All the bartenders came with a smile. Interesting that some bars had American beer and others did not. The same with certain types of liquor . Once you got the lay of the land it was easy to get what you wanted. Entertainment was fine. They had different bands playing in an outdoor area from around 8:30- 9:30 and then a different theme show in the amphitheater from 9:30-10:15. The bands would then play from 10:15 to 11:00 in the outdoor area. They would shut it down at 11:00 and people would then head to the disco. I would have liked to stay outdoors and enjoyed the beautiful weather and music but I am assuming the music might be heard in some of the rooms so they limit the time. The dining does leave a lot to be desired. The breakfast and lunch buffets were certainly enjoyable. The dinners however didnt pass the exclusive resort test. The presentation was beautiful but the food itself was below standards.I realize that coming from NYC I am not going to get meals like home but the meals here left a lot to be desired. Again, some people thought the food was terrific so I guess it is a matter of opinion. This was a relaxing vacation for the two of us. We didnt partake in any tours or activities. We had been in the DR twice before approx 8-10 yrs ago. it was our impression that a lot more guests were venturing outside the resort for activities that in our previous trips. I heard no negative news concerning that. One last tip, the tiles in the room and the hallways get very slippery. It does seem to be a hazard for women in their high heels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

we didnt think the excellence club was worth the upgrade

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGilly14
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 8, 2014

Great vacation with friends! - with one hiccup...

My husband and I met up with my best friend and her husband for a 4-day getaway. Everything was great except we had an issue with our ground transportation to the resort. The taxi reservation for the four of us was set up through the resort, we received a confirmation email and were told to look for a sign with my friend's name outside the airport. After getting through customs and picking up our bags, my husband and I spent two hours looking for our taxi. My husband borrowed a cell phone from another taxi driver and called the resort to confirm where we needed to be. We were told that there was no record of a ground transportation reservation (even though we had a confirmation email). My husband and I ended up taking a separate taxi from our friends, and we all eventually made it to the resort, but it wasn't the ideal start to the vacation. Although mistakes happen, we assumed that setting up ground transportation through the resort would be more reliable. A few days into our stay we had to set up our transportation back to the airport and we explained the inconvenient ordeal to the concierge. We felt that, given the mishap on the resort's end, we should be compensated in the form of a discounted fare or complementary transfer back to the airport. We were told that the resort does not have it's own taxi fleet, and that they only offer to arrange ground transportation with third-party companies. For that reason, they could not offer us any discount to the standard fare. I didn't agree with this explanation, but we had to get back to the airport regardless; after some back and forth we dropped the issue and paid the standard fare. All of this to say that, if you can find better rates through other travel websites or by setting up your ground transfer yourself, go for it. I don't have an issue with the resort offering to coordinate taxi reservations with a third party company, however, I didn't feel they took appropriate responsibility for the mishap with our reservation. Everything else about the resort was great and we had an amazing time! We would definitely consider going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmandaCox82
Business
Raleigh NC
Aug 7, 2014

Marvelous!

We had a marvelous time at The Excellence. We were treated like royalty and like family. The food was good, the drinks were great, and the company we met was amazing. My husband and I would definitely recommend going there. We are not the pickiest people when it comes to vacations. We just wanted a beautiful beach, all you can eat and drink, and some activities to do (ie volleyball, yoga, tennis, ping pong, bike tour). We were able to accomplish all of that at The Excellence for a reasonable price so we were happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat and Jim
Business
New York, New York
Aug 7, 2014

Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

This is my third time in the Dominican Republic (second time in Punta Cana) and first time at the Excellence Resort. I was excited to see what the Excellence had to offer and how it would compare to my previous time in Punta Cana when I stayed at the Reserve in the Paradisus Palma Reale. Rather than give you a very long essay and spoil the joy of discovering all the Excellence has to offer, I will try to make this as short and concise as I can. First off, The Excellence blew my expectations out of the water! From the spot on customer service, to the immaculate grounds, and gorgeous beach; to say the least, this IS my new go to resort destination in Punta Cana. The service here rivals that of The Palma Reale. The staff is very attentive, quick, and will go out of their way to make sure you are accommodated. They convey the true notion of a ask and you shall receive policy. We stayed in a suite 5201 and it was just beautiful. Rooms come prestocked with beer, soda, water, and best of all, 4 bottles of your choosing including top shelf items such as Johnny Walker Black. The room also had a balcony which overlooked the cascade pool and a jetted Jacuzzi in the living room! The beach here is also one of my favorites in all of DR. In fact, I would say without hesitation that it's better than the beaches in Bavaro (I just pretty much proclaimed it the best beach in Punta Cana). The distinguishing factor to me when comparing the beach here in Uvero Alto compared to those of Bavaro is that, other than the fact that there are absolutely no rocks or seaweed getting in your way just soft sand, there ARE waves. In my opinion it makes the experience a whole lot better. If I wanted to be in calm water, I rather just hit the pool. What really hit the nail on the coffin for me is the fact that there is absolutely NO reservations required for the restaurants. There are 9 restaurants and you can go to every one of them on every night if your stomach allows. There is also a la carte breakfast and lunch. My favorite restaurants were the Flavor Market and the Chez Isabelle. In comparison with the food at the Palma Reale, the food here is MUCH better. In all, this is one of the best resorts I've ever been to. It is perfect for a romantic getaway with your significant other. As someone who loves to experience and try out new things, I will definitely be coming back in the imminent future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Amilton at the Lobster House is the BEST at what he does and will went out of his way to ensure the most romantic dinner for my girlfriend and I.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAL seasoned traveller.
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 5, 2014

Secluded

Nice, self-contained facility. Physically, very beautiful and picturesque. Secluded and about one hour from airport. Food rated from good/very good to poor!! NO need to pay extra for "Club" services. Some/most of staff (housekeeping, room service, etc.) don't speak English; which makes communication difficulty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Nice nightly entertainment and small, but comfortable casino (tables, slots, etc.).

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiFlo
Business
Flossmoor, IL
Aug 4, 2014

Relaxing convenience

Overall the experience was great! *Amenities were really good (entertainment, food choices, activities, on location shops and the beach was great) * Location was also enjoyable (distance from the airport and beachfront was excellent) *Rooms were clean and presentable *Staff was very hospitable, concerned and attentive *Room comfort was not the best (dated, humidity in the room kept the room feeling moist, bed was uncomfortable) *Value could have been five stars with a more comforting room experience (Great resort - improve the accommodations)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sammy1374
Business
New Jersey
Aug 3, 2014

Nice, other's Excellence is better

This hotel is nice, clean, and enjoyable, but having stayed at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres, I would recommend that resort over this as the food was much better there as well as it's a newer resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aimless traveler
Business
The District
Aug 2, 2014

Our 2nd trip all-inclusive in Punta Cana

We decided to return to Punta Cana for the second time this time with an all-inclusive resort. Excellence resort did not disappoint us, all is clean, the staff is friendly and courteous. The location can be very remote and it can be a plus, no resort for several miles around, therefore the beach is very private. There are no junk peddlers on the beach - what a delight! Food is a weak point here, the buffet is generous and varied but we get tired at the end... That's to be expected when it comes with a buffet, but in the evening, s a la carte menu is great, Barcelona is our favorite and Spice second. PLUS NO KIDS - no splashing water around the pool... THAT'S a vacation! The evening entertainment is great and everyone is dressed up in the evenings, we feel that everyone is making an effort to make our presence special and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caring mom
Business
Miami. Fl
Jul 13, 2014

Nice adult get away

It was very nice quite vacation . We had a good relaxing time. Clean pool and beach. Very friendly staff . Nice shows daily except the perfect match was not for us. Since we consider that only good for inside the bedroom not in the front of everybody. We loved the beach except the high wave part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

French was the best

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bow
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2014

Amazing

First time in the Dominican Republic. Resort does not allow children. Amazing resort, great staff, very clean. Room service and turn down service. Right on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Shows every night, casino, always events and activities going on near poolside. Do not eat at the Thai restaurant! Everything else is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top