$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
768 out of 768
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tdm516
Business
Virginia Beach
Jun 2, 2014

Pretty good all inclusive

The food was actually really good and the staff was very friendly. Tipping the bar staff makes a huge difference in your wait time, just a few bucks here and there. Make sure to bring lots of small bills bc EVERYONE expects tips in the DR. The pools were great and the shows were fun. My biggest complaint is the room. It was fine in general but the bed is very uncomfortable. Really hard mattress and scratchy sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the Michael Jackson show... its impressive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAVC
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Jun 2, 2014

Relaxation

The food for dinner was delicious! The room, pool area and beach are absolutely beautiful. It is definitely a laid back environment. Sometimes we wished there was a little more excitement. I could have done 4 days rather than a whole week. They played the same music every day at the pool and a lot of the games were the same too. Unfortunately there is only one swim up bar and it is nestled way back. It would have been better if there were several swim up bars or if it was centrally located. There seemed to not be enough seating around the pool either. if you woke up late you could kiss finding a lounge chair good bye. We did the dune buggie excursion and it was a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arash
Business
Reseda, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 30, 2014

Overall it's good

The foods and restaurants were average. The building is old however the beach and pool are great. Overall we had a great time but I don't rate this resort as a 5 stars hotel. Probably either 3.5 or 4 starts hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karla B
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 27, 2014

Best vacation ever

We stayed at Excellence Punta Cana for our honeymoon and it was amazing. The food was of the best quality and the staff was so happy and polite. We were amazed at how clean and accommodating everything was. We will definitely go back if not every year then frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse VDB
Business
Iowa
May 20, 2014

First anniversary

We have stayed at another brand of all inclusive resorts- so that is what we compared Excellence to. The food at Excellence was better, but the staff at the other 'brand' was a lot more friendly. The beach at Excellence was wonderful! I suggest paying the extra and doing the 'Excellence Club.' We had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I love lube on my balls
Business
Rhode island
May 15, 2014

Good

Good place. Constant asking about tours etc. food was lacking but service was good i would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Small portions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ali896
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
May 15, 2014

Great trip to the Excellence

We stayed at the Excellence from May 2nd through May 8th, 2014. The resort was beautiful, both inside and out. Everything was very clean, including the rooms which were cleaned twice a day. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The drinks were excellent and the food was pretty good. There were a couple of restaurants that we wouldn't eat at again, but there were several that we ate at multiple times. We loved the breakfast at Toscana, dinners at the Grill and Agave, and lunch at the beach restaurant. And you can't go wrong with room service food. The shows at the theater were generally better than I expected. The only thing we got annoyed with was the resort's dress code. There is a strict dress code for almost every restaurant which required my husband to wear long pants, a dress shirt and dress shoes. I wish we would have been able to wear shorts, at least at the open-air restaurants which obviously are not air-conditioned. Overall, we were very impressed with everything the Excellence had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Can't think of 1
Business
New York
May 14, 2014

Staff Perfect! Food Eh...

Starting with the Pros: Staff was amazing! Always so happy and treated each guest special. Beach was clean and very private. Pools were nicely kept and easy to grab a good spot any time of day. Room was clean and fridge always stocked with drinks and water. Activities including shows, bars, casino, dancing were all very fun. Cons: Food! Read many reviews telling me to keep a Dominican mind set and don't expect American flavors, however they mostly serve American food! Burgers, fries, pizzas, etc. Lobster, Fish, and Chicken were always overcooked and dry. Best meal was the Taco's at lunch on the beach and a steak at Chez. Breakfast was good at Toscana. Every other restaurant didn't differ much from one to the next. Overall, I would go back due to the staff and beauty of the resort. Don't forget to visit the pond area with Flamingos and a Parrot who will wait to stand on your arm each morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tipping more didn't seem to get you better service, although they always deserved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jtstrongs
Business
New Jersey
May 12, 2014

Loved it!

Staff was extremely friendly. There were a lot of repeat visitors which should tell you a lot. The food at the Italian place needs to be polished a bit but overall a really wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Restaurant is the best yet the buffet always pleased us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clrwatr
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 29, 2014

Perfect getaway

My husband and I took our first all inclusive trip and it was everything we hoped it would be! The staff and amenities were fabulous and we loved all the shady spots to hang out! It did start to get busy over Easter weekend, but we waited only once (for only 10 minutes) for dinner. I never felt rushed or like there was something I wanted that I couldn't have. It was a bit more expensive than other places, but it was well worth it given the ease of our experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ask for top shelf liquor when ordering mixed drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top