$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
768 out of 768
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

The best vacation I have been on....

The minute we arrive we received first class service from the friendly and welcoming staff. The resort itself is amazing, beautiful, spotless, and very large. Lots and lots of tropical areas with all kinds of birds and flowers, quite impressive. The beach was gorgeous, very private to the resort go'ers only. *I have to mention the waves. I have been to the DR several times and have not seen waves like this. If you like body boarding or just waves in general, this is definitely the spot to hit. Not too rough, but lots and lots of fun. The food was wonderful, breakfast and lunch buffets very good quality. Dinner was above average, Agave, the Mexican place being the best of the bunch. Plenty of activities to keep you busy, but no one pressures you to do them if you would just like to relax. Plenty of bars EVERYWHERE, drinks are great, and all staff are friendly as can be. All around excellente, can't say enough about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We chose to do the excellence club...although there are many perks offered. I'm not certain it is worth the amount they charge you. It is nice to get the VIP service...but to be honest, it seeemed like whether you had paid for the Excellence club or not, the service was stellar across the board...so perhaps not the best idea if you are on the fence.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpi
Business
NJ
Apr 22, 2009

Great Resort!

Great resort. Service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen T
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2009

This is not a 5 star hotel.

My husband and I went for our honeymoon just last week. This is not a 5 star hotel! We arent sure if it was Murphys Law, "what can go wrong, will" but I will never return. We had upgraded to the Excellence Club, our room was nice but it had bugs where they keep the coffee and snacks...and in the closet where my clothes were! Beds are hard. They don't provide wash clothes (weird). Food was average at best. Our bathtub was filthy, after we cleaned it filled the tub the water was brown. One day we didnt have hot water. Seriously!!!! I have never written one of these things, nor do we ever complain but I would never recommend this place. The Excellence in Cancun is wonderful, this one is flat out awful. Sorry!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara & Kyle
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 11, 2009

What more could you ask for?

Our stay was fantastic from the minute we entered the hotel. What an amazing staff. We ended up staying an additional day because we just weren't ready to leave. I read all the reviews before I booked this hotel and everyone raved about it. Now I see why. There is no lack of activities, entertainment,food, service or relaxation. Whatever you like you will find. We had an amazing couples massage and moonlight dinner right on the beach. Talk about romantic. Wow! I can't wait to go back. The beach is beautiful and the pool is awesome. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. If you want to shop for souvenirs go down to the beach and hit the first little store/hut. The owner is Nancy and she is great and gives good deals. She will not bother you unlike the rest of the shops you enter. One more thing...make sure to tip staff around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most of the outside excursions are a far bus ride. Usually around a half hour to hour from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catonsville Honeymooners
Business
MD
Mar 10, 2009

Excellente

The service was unbelievable here. If there was something you needed or wanted, the staff would get it for you with a wmile on their face. The food was good and the hotel room was very nice. All in all this was an excellent experience. The only thing we were disappointed with is that Orbitz wouldn't allow us to get the shuttle to the hotel with our travel package, so we ended up having to pay $70 each way for a taxi. I even called Orbitz to add the shuttle and they said they couldn't do it. This was frustrating because when we got there the Orbitz representative told us we could have added the shuttle to our package for $100, which was different from what I was told over the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ANDREA & MIKE
Business
MARYLAND
Mar 5, 2009

VALENTINE HOLIDAY

THERE WAS NO BOREDOM HERE!! EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT TO DO OR DO NOTHING AT ALL. THE HARDEST DECISION EACH DAY WAS "WHAT'S MY NEXT DRINK?" THE RIDE FROM AIRPORT LONG AND TREACHEROUS WAS THE ONLY DOWNFALL. BEAUTIFUL RESORT, GRACIOUS STAFF, DECENT FOOD, AND LOTS OF ALCOHOL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MusicFan
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Awesome trip

This was my first all inclusive vacation. It was very nice from the moment we got there. The cab ride there was questionable, but the resort was first class. Some days, I was looking for lots of activities but some I just wanted to chill on the beach. This place did it all for me. You could do as much or as little as you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 3, 2009

Just Wonderful

My husband I went in January and we just loved it. It was one the best vacations that we have had. The hotel and staff were just wonderful. Very clean and the rooms were more than we expected. The food was excellent and never a wait. The pool and beach were very clean. If you want a relaxing vacation I would highly recommend it. The activites were also very good. Each night it is something different. We loved the dinner on the beach. The only bad thing I could find was the hour ride from the airport, but our cab driver tried to make it as pleasant as he could. The all inclusive is the way to go..........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M & E
Business
Selden, NY
Feb 23, 2009

Would go back in a second!!!

I am going to recommend this resort to everyone I know. Clean, peaceful, relaxing, excellent service and great food. All inclusive no kids is the way to go!! Anyone that has gives a 3 or lower rating is just impossible to please. Of course there will be little things here and there but I can't even remember them now. No need to leave the resort. We went to relax and that's what we did. We actually spent more time in the room than we had planned because it was so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring small sizes of ex: aloe gel or advil. expensive at the drugstore

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Feb 14, 2009

Mixed Bag

The resort is a 60 minute ride from the airport where you stave off porters to tote your bag 50 feet. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. Check-in is friendly but they pushed an upgrade. The room was clean but was outdated and not to the level we experienced with Excellence Cancun. The service staff were a mixed bag. Some were friendly and helpful. Others such as the activity staff were condescending. Don't expect anything extra; you won't get it without a healthy tip. Hang around the sports bar if you want to get drunk with the staff. Kudos to the staff at the Chez Isabella restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Remember to barter hard; the final deal is made only after you give the merchandise back and begin to walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top