$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
781 out of 781
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikki 2013 Punta Cana
GSO NC
Sep 30, 2013

Punta Cana 2013

We had a wonderful time. We were taken care of the entire time will for sure go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your own sunscreen and any medicine the cost is very high there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 13, 2009

Totally underwhelmed

We choose this hotel because we stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Club and thoroughly enjoyed that resort. This one was a huge disappointment!! From the very beginning, we were not greeted when we arrived and we were Excellence Club guests! The food was bad at all restaurants except one. There was mold in the shower in our room. It took 2 days to get washcloths in our room. The staff was very friendly and polite. I would not recommend anyone paying the extra for the Excellence Club. The only advantage that we could see was the use of the Club Lounge with snacks and internet. The grounds were lovely and the wildlife area was nice.We would not stay at this resort again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in this resort is awful with the exception of Chez Isabelle, French restaurant. That was great. Agave,Mexican food was the next best and if you drink Corona, that is only place in the resort that you can get it. I thought that was a little odd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 13, 2009

Probably the best in Punta Cana

On the flight home, I heard others talking about other Punta Cana resorts -- inattentive staff, overpriced, etc. Excellence is probably one of the more expensive resorts, but worth it. The staff are unyieldingly attentive, friendly, and appear genuinely happy with their jobs. The lobby, restaurants, pools, beach and bars are all beautiful. Restaurant service is slow by U.S. standards, though I understand that our party size of 20 probably slowed things down as well. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 12, 2009

Romantic Getaway

The Resort was beautiful and the staff was overall, very friendly. The food was good and there were plenty of restaurants to choose from. The one thing that made our stay more enjoyable was definitly the staff. We did have the advantage that we also speak spanish, but I also noticed many of their employees spoke basic English. It is definitly better to speak Spanish but I never saw any tourist struggle with communicating UNLESS they were asking for something out of the ordinary that the staff couldn't understand. I noticed the staff was not disgruntedled with their employer. That is something I always inquire about with workers. None had any complaints which also reflects in their job performance. Happy employees work better which also makes me feel better that they are not getting exploited. We arrived at the airport and all the transportation companies are waiting for anyone that pre-booked their ride to their resorts. We used COCO Tours which Orbitz uses. They were not at their stand when we arrived but everyone else was. Someone did arrive shortly there after but they seemed to stuggle with who was doing what. The man that greeted us at the counter apparently wasnt even scheduled to work that day at the airport, he came to help us because the other tour workers told him someone needed COCO tours. He was there for something else and ended up taking care of us so we didnt have to wait for the late employee. The good thing was we were the only ones in the van so we went straight to the resort and didnt have to drop anyone else off. Excellence is really not locateed in Punta Cana, its located in Uvero Alto. Its approximately 1 hour from the airport. It takes long because the roads are small and a little bumpy. If it was a highway, it wouldnt take more thatn 20 minutes. The drive is not that bad. It goes rather quickly because you are looking at the scenery. At times the drive may seem desolate and there are no signs showing you are on right path, but it is the right way. One thing everyone should know about this resort is the intensity of the beach. It is not the typical beach you may get in the Bavaro area. This stretch of beach is very dangerous. You are not allowed to even go in the beach on 3/4 of the beach front, it is all RED flagged. There is an area in the far right with yellow flags that they consider safe to go in. Needless to say, my husband and another older gentelman got stuck in a rip tide and had to be rescued. My husband had a boogie board but the other man didnt. I was at the shore line when it happened. I was not impressed by their "emergency" protocols....which they dont have. There was a lone lifeguard who came to help. He had an old boogie board and a pair of flippers. He jumped in and swam to the man. My husband was bilingual so he was bale to help them communicate. I kept waiting to see the "other" hotel staff come to help during this dangerous situation but no one ever came. THere was a security guard in the area but he does not get involved. There was a wave runner sitting on the beach, which we thought was used for these situations. The lifeguard told my husband to stay behind while he got the other man out. My husband told him OK but to send someone else with the wave runner to get him. The lifeguard humbly replied that it DIDNT WORK! While on shore, I kept wondering why someone else didnt come to help or why no one took out the wave runner. When my husband told me about that, I couldnt believe how ill prepared they are for this exact situation which apparently happens often. They definitly need TWO lifeguards out there and the hotel needs to provide them with better equipment. The only positive part of the beach is that it looks beautiful and the sounds of the crashing waves is very relaxing. One last thing, if the hotel wants to continue being s 5 star (which I dont really think it is) they need to replace older looking fixtures. The bathroom fixture...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jackson nj
May 11, 2009

welcome, warmth, and relaxation

I would recomend this trip to anyone easy to get in and out of the country just have your $10.00 ready for entry in. everything was so clean,the staff plesant, and really seemed to want to make my stay wonderful 1st vacation with myself out of usa and would like to make it an annual Event!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to the left of the resort on the beach is shopping be ready to pick one shop and bargan, it seems overwhelming at first but stick to it and you can get really good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, illinois
May 10, 2009

excellent trip

We went there for our honeymoon and it was the best vacation we could have ever taken. We want to go back every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food taste wonderful, but the lobster house is the worst. The lobster tail tasted like rubber

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim Chicago sports fanatic
Business
Chicago ,Illinois
May 9, 2009

FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We stayed at the Excellence from April 28th thru May 4th. Our stay was absolutely wonderful!We had a swim up room (room 1004)which was extremely close to the lobby area which was very convenient.Our room was very clean and we always had an adequate amount of towels everyday. One day clean beach towels were brought to our room which was great.The only complaint about the room was the lighting for my wife applying her makeup.She said it was too dark and made it a little difficult but she managed just fine and looked great ;) An added bonus was channel 21 ,lol, ;) We had read many reviews about the beach and it was exactly what we expected Huge waves!We loved this, we were able to boogie board everyday this was soooo fun and we kayaked as well. The beach was VERY clean and there always seemed to be enough open chairs for us to lay out on. I'm not sure why people reserve their chairs early with their beach towels we found this extremely rude and childish.We loved the beach service as well and found these waitresses to be very hard workers, people should be tipping them more often even though it wasn't expected. The pool was very clean and big, we loved floating around with the floats provided and always found one available.Service around the pool was just as good as beach and the swim up bar was an added bonus! We visited every restaurant and thought they were all great except for The Lobster House.We especially liked Toscana every morning for breakfast and The Grill everyday for lunch.The food was very good and 2 evenings there were lovely outdoor cookouts with every food imaginable!The staff prepared for these all day it seemed and it was very enjoyable and appreciated!! The bars were great and the bartenders were very hard workers it seemed. Our favorite bartender was Denny at The Sports Bar. He never allowed our drinks to go empty and was such a nice guy! We only went on one excursion because we found enough to do at the resort. We went on the ATV excursion and found it to be very fun except 2 stops we made we were bombarded with vendors again extremely annoying. We heard about the road conditions from other reviews and found it to be a bit exaggerated.We live in Chicago and we have crazy drivers and monstrous potholes so we were not bothered by this.Stop being wimps people! The drive was a bit long ( 1 hour) from airport but well worth it!! Stop complaining people it is a 3rd world country and they are doing the best they can! All in all we would have no problem recommending this resort to any and all friends and family.We will definitely be back!! If your looking for a great place with no kids running around look no further. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Everything you would need to purchase including souveneirs you can find on resort property. If you feel brave enough to be hasseled by vendors have at it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington state
May 9, 2009

the great, good and ok of our trip

Dolphin Island is a must, just make sure to book the one that is about a one and half hours away and only tues, thurs, leaves 12:10 back 6:00, 30.00 dvd is great for take home pics. Also the quad trip to the cave and beach was pretty good,but again get the right one as above, because the other quad trip was awful as other guests found out. Spa is also great, couples hot stone massage, about 215.00 but worth it. The pool or should I say pools are beautiful, it gets really hot so we set our alarm for 4am daily to put out towels and a paper or bottles of water to get pool chairs and a covered chair or bed, you can just go right back to bed, and really worth it as people burned to a crisp everywhere!!! 30 lotion all day will get anyone brown and save alot of pain as your in the sun all day. Room service food and out door grills are great for lunch and tuscana, spice was best dinner, seafoood was not good anywhere. Buy sun dresses ect at mini mart! they will barter too. If beach venders or people in town sell, they will give in to your price when you walk away! Excellence club worth it but average food, you can take your premium liqour home, 3 liters each, on your last day and women can buy cuban cigars, just put them in the bottom of your purse for travel, buy cigs before you go,or duty free in punta cana airport 25.00 for a carton if you arrive in the day or on your way home and that is also how many you can take home so dont bring home more than a carton. The property is stunnung, great shows, sax music and dance club, casino is fun and staff is very sweet but hardly speak any english!! rooms very nice, some show wear but why complain about that, get rooms on second or third levels there swim ups are not that nice at all!! we found a few cockroaches and so did others and little tiny flies or misquitos leave nasty bites so get spray for eve. time. coco loco in the coconut is fun drink and the dirty monkey. Tons of folks here as we were because of mexico problems but said they have been to excellence mujures cancun and service was better but food the same, I think food had alot to be desired but what a beautiful hotel, grounds with flamings,parrots, nice beach but no safe water to swim in. So might go back had an awsome time and really would recomend it. I just think for the money I would have liked a pretty ocean to swim in but the the pools are so great and you get to make great friends that way too. It may sound crazy to have to save chairs but that is the way it is and your on vacation so, go back to bed youll thank yourself later and plenty of girl shopping right on the resort and cool tank tops dresses beautiful sandals swim suits ect. at the mini mart, bella blue has copy channel handbags and jewelry which are really pretty, the 1st jewelry store has some great silver chains and bracelets for men about 200.00 nice stuff, and womens jewlery really nice just not real gem stone- wont find that anywhere except larimar which is only mined there, beautiful, but only buy on the resort or nice place, beach vendors? spent over 800.00 just on stuff, great fun. If you can, book activities for early in the stay and relax later. Also check weather as this is rainy season and it poured for half the last two days , not fun. Bring lots of dollar bills for staff tips, it really makes their day and they show their appreciation - it comes back to you!! Not a waste of money, will never regret it. After all NOTHING is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

everything you need without going out for a whole day to seonna and in town a little scary, if you go on quad trip the locals really bother you too much, you just say no thank you alot and they are nice people so be nice. the only place that gave only 5% off was the new jewlery store, but great stuff!! the local vendors on the beach and around you when you get off resort can really barter- if 25-35 try 15 you will get it if you stand your ground sometimes even cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Islanders
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 8, 2009

Excellente service, but bad food

It takes an hour from the airport to arrive to the hotel. We knew this, therefore, it did not bother us much. When we arrived, they received us with a champagne glass ang gave us an automatic upgrade. We paid the most affordable room, and they assigned us to a suite. The lobby is nice and the surroundings too. They upgraded us, but the room was not ready when we arrived, therefore , we went to the Italian restaurant. Do not be fool, they have eight restaurants, but all serve the same bad food. When the room was ready, two hours later, we noticed that it was very pretty. Also, I should say that Dominican people are amazing: friendly and they offer a great service. However, the food that they serve is terrible. This culinary disaster was shown over and over again: in the Pan Asian Restaurant (the sushi does not even look like one), the French and the Steak house. The shows at night are very, very low quality. The drinks are international. However, do not expect the most expensive ones, but you can find Chilean wines, and the Mojitos are great. For me, it was fine. The swimingpool is very nice too. The last day, we paid for a massage, and the experience was wonderful. They noy only gave us the massage, but also treated us like royalty. A good thing to do. In summary, I would not go back again, because the quality of the food is very important for me. and unfortunatedly it is very, very, very low... In addition, we found a big roach in the bedroom the last day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Village Green Man
Business
Miami, Florida
May 8, 2009

excellent excellence

The resort is well designed and kept up neat and clean. restaurants and bars offer a decent selection and will leave you happy during your trip. The cuisine will get a little old, as the menues do not change; since there are 8 restaurants, this only becomes a challange after the first week... Our treatments at the spa was excellent (massages) and certainly are noteworthy. The pools is nice and very clean. we had a swim up suite that was a real treat. If you like more action, gowith the garden views, as the swim up suits are abutt the second, quiter pool (we loved that!) The activities coordinator what not very motivating. Even though a number of daily events were organized and presented in the nightly menu, the execution of these events was a little lame...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Christy
Business
Houston, TX
May 8, 2009

Fantastic Honeymoon

Our visit started with being greeted at our car with moist towels and champagne. The service did not stop there. We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there. Staff was extremely helpful, and fluent enough in English to carry on a conversation. We had a Honeymoon Suite which was fantastic. While it was air conditioned, it is not the A/C we were used to. The room did not get down to frigid temperatures as we would have liked, but it got cool enough and we adjusted. The bed was good enough, but a little firm for our taste. We had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and on the other side of our room, we had a large deck with a hot tub, 2 chaise lounges, and a sunning bed. It was fantastic. The restaurants were good for the most part. While the Lobster House sounds like it would be the place to go, I did not hear any rave reviews about it. We still tried it, but should have just listened to everyone else. All other restaurants we tried were good...especially considering this is an all-inclusive place. Even room service was good with a decent selection. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely gorgeous. We walked all around our first night to see everything. There are several ponds towards the front of the building that you can walk around. There are little stations so you can get bread to feed the parrots, flamingos, peacocks, ducks, turtles, etc. It was a lot of fun. The beach is beautiful, though the water is COLD since this is on the Atlantic side of the DR. As nice as the pool is, it was tough to leave that for the beach anyways...but at least you have waiter service on the beach so there is no need to walk for your own drinks if you do decide to be lazy on the beach. If you stick to the pool, as we did, there are several bars in and around the pool, and all are great. We frequented several of the bars. During the day you have to get in the pool and hit the pool bar. At night, our favorite place was the Kafe Cafe bar. Jose was definitely our favorite bar tender and we went to see him nightly. One thing we did not pay attention to enough was the theme nights of the hotel. Once we saw one, we went to a couple more. One night was a beach party with great food. Another was just a night with more great food cooked right in front of you with tables set up all over in an open area outside the main lobby and pool. Those were definitely a lot of fun. All in all, this was a fantastic vacation and a fantastic resort. If we go back to Punta Cana, we would not hesitate staying at Excellence again. We highly recommend it. ONE WARNING - the ride to and from the airport takes a while, and the drivers are crazy. My new wife was mildly frightened, but I laughed more then anything. It was like a free roller coaster ride to and from the airport. If you book your transportation through Coco Tours, plan on it taking about an hour and a half to get to the hotel. Also be warned that for your return flight, they pick you up 4 hours before your flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the theme nights and dinners they do separate from the restaurants. The night weather is amazing, the food is great, and it really can't be beat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top