$371 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2014 Check-out: May 18, 2014

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
695 reviews
Amazing place to honeymoon

We were so pleased with Excellence. The hotel was beautiful, the beach was gorgeous and more... See full review

  • Newly Married Mrs.
  • Apr 15, 2014
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only

The best place to go for adults only time. We will be going back. See full review

  • Rhonda1
  • Apr 7, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (695)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
695 out of 695
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
SunnyBrittany
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 21, 2013

Best vacation

We stayed for 6 nights, every night we went to a different restaurant and every time we had delicious food. The portions are big and cooked perfectly. They have activities planned all day everyday that you can participate in and win prizes. The beach is very close and there is a bar always in reach. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to have a good time without kids being around. The staff is great. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the shows they have at night. The Michael Jackson show was amazing. They are very talented.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 7, 2008

Fantastic Adult Get-Away from EVERYTHING

Excellence Punta Cana was excellente on customer service! There were activities round the clock. The restaurants, food, cocktails, staff..everything was wonderful and so accomodating. The only glitch...I wish the rooms were cleaned with some type of scent appealing to the nose...it always smelled damp and not too clean. When we got home all of our clothes (even the ones we didn't wear) smelled damp and mildewy. The location was wonderful; away from EVERYTHING. Really remote and relaxing; just what we needed... and no children in site! It was quite yet fun and exciting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 3, 2008

Great for couples

Everyone at Excellence was ready to serve you. There are many options for dining, though you can't have wet shorts to get into any of the restraunts. That's not a big deal though, there is food every day on the beach plus a Hot Dog vendor and Pizza Delivery guy come around the pool. We tried most of the places for dinner (we were only there 6 nights) and did not have one bad meal. We ate at the Barcelona twice because we liked it so much. The beach was great and the water was kind of rough, you can walk a minute or two down the beach to get in the ocean. We stayed in the Excellence room. This room is a great deal, but you can get a Jr Suite and have a much cheaper vacation. We talked with some people staying in the Jr Suite and they said it was plenty of room. I suggest you stay in the Excellence Club level. It costs more, but I think it was well worth it. The service was outstanding. I do not suggest you leave the resort. Everything you need is there. Pack SunScrene, Misquito Repellent, and any other items you may need. They have them, but the price is expensive. There are many more things to write, but I will end with it was the best vacation we've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2008

Watch what you eat!!!!!

For the most part our stay was beautiful. The people were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was very nice, housekeeping does an exceptional job twice daily. We stayed for five nights. The downfall was the food. My husband and I ordered the Lobstertail at The Lobster House,it was served lathered in an overly butterd sauce and the meat itself was mushy and at room tempuature!It was to a point difficult to continue eating. The buffet food seems to sit out for long periods of time, we wanted ice cream the one night and the vanilla ice cream had turned soupy.We also ordered a T-bone steak which was on the tougher side at The Grill. The french restaurant, Chez Isabelle, was decent the chiateaubriand was most delighful. But the first night I ordered duck and it was extremely hard to cut through and hardly any flavor. My husband ordered an omelet at THe Toscona , for breakfast one morning, and it had egg shells in it. The resort is very nice, clean, and pools we very clean and well maintained. We would go back to the Dominican Republic becuase of our food experiences with the food we would not go back to The Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
thegooner
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 1, 2008

Excellent Service

Excellence Punta Cana was a very good choice on my part. The hotel staff were some of the friendliest I have ever seen. The service was top notch. While there was not alot to do there, that was not my reason for going. It was a very relaxing vacation. I loved the beds at the beach and pool. The rooms were comfortable. The only minor complaint I had was that there was no CD player in the room. Just a DVD player. I like going to new places I havent been and have never been to the same place twice. I would definitely go back there~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

There are a couple if nice shops in the complex. The complex is so secluded that there is nothing at all nearby.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 29, 2008

Beautiful Resort

We had a great experience at the Excellence Punta Cana -All Inclusive Resort in PUNTA CANA, Dominican Republic. We were there 3-23-2008 to 3-29-2008. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the variety of restaurants and the quality and presentation of the food. The rooms were large and well maintained. The one disappointment was that the ocean here was too rough to swim in at this beach. The reason is the location of this resort on the island, and the fact that there is no reef offshore to break the waves before they hit the shoreline. The pools on the resort however are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 1, 2008

beautiful resort

Excellence Punta Cana is a beautiful property. That being said, it is not in a great spot because the beach is quite windy, the waves are very strong and getting there is a long, uncomfortable ride. We had a great time, there were many more pluses than minuses. We had a beautiful ocean view room, which was tended to twice daily, the grounds are beautiful, the activities were fun (if you choose to participate) and it was very romantic. The downside is the food and the drinks. It is inexcusable to serve watered down drinks, and that is the practice at this resort. My husband and I drink vodka straight with a piece of fruit, it is very easy to tell when you drink that way, that the liquor is not full strength. Breakfast and lunch were fine, but the dinners were pretty awful. All in all, we had a good week but would not go back, nor would we recommend this resort to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Feb 15, 2008

Great getaway!

I loved the Excellence. The only bad thing I can say is that the drive to and from the airport was long and bumpy. The bed was a little hard, but we got used to it. I liked the Asian and Mexican restaurants the best, although they were all good. Small casino, but a lot of fun. Casino is open from 7:00pm-3:00am. The pools are unbeleivable...they wind through most of the resort. Great show every night in the lobby area. The beach is beautiful, but the water is rough and the sand is thick...hard to walk in. The staff is friendly, but they don't speak much English...learn some Spanish basics before you go! Take lots of $1.00 bills with you...they come in handy! The more you hand out, the nicer they get. The weather was fabulous, sunny everyday and breezy! I am ready to go back already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some local vendors at the end of the resort, just a short walk down the beach or follow the pool to the end. You have to bargain with them, and they will come down on prices. Typically, you can get t-shirts for under $10.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
Jan 5, 2008

an awful experience

This was the worst service that i have ever had at a hotel..We were turned away on two seperate evenings and were unable to eat due to a completly incompetent staff and management. Are bed had some type of biting ants...the jacuzzi tub for the resort only worked a third of the time...no one spoke more than a few words of english..and the food all tasted the same which was horrible....dont go to this resort !! !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2007

Perfect

I am reluctant to write this review because it was not a crowded hotel and I would love for it to remain that way when I return. The staff were the friendliest I have ever encountered. The food was excellent for an all inclusive resort. Try the chateaubriand in the French themed restaurant. It was excellent. The hotel was the best I have ever been too. My girlfriend and I are considering returning for our wedding. Tropical Storm Olga swept through while we were there unexpectedly for a day. The hotel didn't miss a beat by providing indoor entertainment for the day to keep everyone occupied. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously kept. I would recommend this place to any couple, but would advise against it to singles. It is definitely a couples place. The ride to the hotel was bumpy and scary, but once again ? not the hotel's fault. Overall trip I would give 4 out of 5. Solely the hotel, I would give 6 out of 5. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 24, 2007

Great Escape for Couples

The hotel and staff were incredible. Very friendly and Excellent Service. The only thing we were not satisfied was with mattress, it was a bit uncomfortable. Everything else was extrordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top