$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
810 out of 810
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SunnyBrittany
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 21, 2013

Best vacation

We stayed for 6 nights, every night we went to a different restaurant and every time we had delicious food. The portions are big and cooked perfectly. They have activities planned all day everyday that you can participate in and win prizes. The beach is very close and there is a bar always in reach. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to have a good time without kids being around. The staff is great. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Check out the shows they have at night. The Michael Jackson show was amazing. They are very talented.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 7, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana Family Vacation

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Obviously, we loved it because we convinced our family to go back when my sister-in-law graduated. It was a great trip again, but I'm only giving 4 stars because of an incident we had there. My sister and her husband had a laptop and camera stolen from their room. The hotel did an "investigation" but said that they couldn't compensate them because that would be admitting guilt. They did give them a "gift" of 2 massages. Overall, though, this is a great resort. Lock your stuff up, and I promise you'll have a great time. I would still go back. So much to do there, you'll need at least 7 nights. The drinks are good, the water is safe, and the "adults-only" rule makes all the difference in the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

House wine is free! Don't order off the wine list unless you want to pay for something you've already paid for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Barbara
Business
Freehold, NJ
Jun 2, 2009

You won't be sorry!

My husband and I were looking for a week or rest and relaxation and that is what we got! When we first arrived we were greated with champagne and a friendly face! We thought, we're off to a great start. The room was beautiful and clean. This resort offers 8 restaurants and each and every one was delic! Best thing, no reservations needed! If they can't seat you, they will give you a buzzer and you will be notified when your table is ready. Until then,have a cocktail at one of their many bars. I especially loved the martini bar - they make an excellent espresso martini!! The pools are breathtaking - largest pool I've ever seen - it sprawls around the entire resort. Should you want to keep busy, there is plenty to do including horseback riding, which is free! We had a wonderful trip and can't wait to check out their new resort being built in Jamaica next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

When the vendors come to the hotel to see items, BARGAIN WITH THEM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2009

Quality A1

Wonderful hotel, very friendly people, food was excellent and it WAS a luxury hotel. I was looking for quiet, and it was. Excellent staff service with many activities to join. This trip, by far, was the best experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There were 8 restaurants in this facility. I visited all 8 and have to say the food was outstanding in all 8 restaurants. Courtesy and kindness of staff was above average.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wish I was still traveling
Business
Boston, Ma
Jun 1, 2009

Good Times

We had a great time at the hotel. There are a few things that can be upgraded at the hotel (ie. Rooms and some facilities) but overall it was wonderful. We would recommend going. The service was top notch and the staff were fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justmarried09
Business
Austin, tx
Jun 1, 2009

Excellente honeymoon

Resort was fantastic overall. Small things we noticed were the beds were a bit hard and after a week we could tell it in our backs! Staff was incredible! Tip them a couple of bucks and they will take even better care of you! You will want to tip anyway, I'm a relatively rich guy with my money and I spent most of what I brought on tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I wouldn't do too many excursions. Most of them take a couple of hours each way to get to and by the end of them you haven't done much but drive. Stay at the resort and take advantage of their wonderful ammenities!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 28, 2009

Perfect romantic getaway!

Amazing! Didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadybugLaura
Business
Pennington, NJ
May 26, 2009

Excedllence is Excellent!

Arrival and check in was very nice. The Lavender scented towel was a nice touch with a glass of chilled Champagne. We were taken to our room immediately and it was very clean and inviting. The people in the restaurants from the hostess to the busboy were very happy and friendly. The food was very good. Everything was good quality. The employees at Excellence work very hard to make sure everything is perfect and that you are having a good time. We went to the beach everyday and the service on the beach with drinks and pizza delivered right to you was wonderful. The ocean was a little bit rough but the lifeguards did a good job of warning people about the undertow. The food was very good. The animation group worked very hard at everyone participating and having a good time. This was one of the best resorts we have ever been to. We are hoping to go back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the restaurants. All of the restaurants offer something unique.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, Texas
May 24, 2009

Wonderful vacation!

We traveled with 3 other couples and had a great time. I sent a request in advance asking for all our rooms to be in the same building which they honored. First floor rooms have a little patio space with a hammock which is nice. Spacious rooms. Restaurants were great and gave us no problems with a larger table. You are given a beeper if there is a wait and can drink at one of the bars. Loved Chez Isabelle, Spice, Toscana, and Agave. Good shows in the evening especially the Cirque de Soleil type show. Palapas are readily available by the pools and on the beach but you may need to stake them out by 8:30 am for larger groups like ours. Service was great especially with the flow of drinks by waiters while at the beach or poolside, even had personal pizza delivery service! Spa prices are quite cheap compared to other places I have been and easily booked just hours in advance, they have daily spa specials that I took advantage of. Would go again. Bring Off to keep away the mosquitos at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, ma
May 23, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

The one hour drive from the airport to the location was awful, I was nauseous to and from the airport as well as the one hour drive to the marina. I won't go back for that reason alone! Outside of the complex the island is so dirty, litter everywhere, but that's the governments fault no trash pickup outside of the city according to the locals. Also went deep sea fishing, I could deal with 8-10ft swells without a problem... oh caught 5 huge mahi mahi, Brought one back to the complex excellence, head chief prepared it, three different dishes all superb that very same day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Select a five star location closer to the airport!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. X
Business
Boston, MA
May 19, 2009

Excellente!

Upon arrival, all new guests are welcomed with cold towels and a champagne toast. Everybody is very professional and they will do their best to accomodate you in any way possible. [...] at the front desk was awesome and very helpful!This is a well spread out property with a great main pool (huge!) and another great quieter pool with yet another bar. The alcoholic drinks were fantastic and quick to come around. The food was above average and excellently prepared and presented.We did not take part in many excursions because most of them involved 2+ hours bus rides from the hotel, but instead we relaxed by the ocean and the pools everyday and really enjoyed the experience.We vacationed at Secrets Capri (sister property in Playa del Carmen) last year and will definitely return to another property managed by the same group! Can't wait for the next trip!I would absolutely recommend this hotel to couples looking to vacation in the Domincan Republic. The staff and property are great! The best party are the miles of beach on each side of the resort with no other hotels to be found! So relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The nightly shows at the hotel are well worth your time to see them. Make sure to be around for the Michael Jackson show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top