$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlyweds K and R
Business
Windham, ME
Jul 22, 2009

Absolutely amazing!

Our honeymoon at Excellence, Punta Cana was more than we could have hoped for! The staff went out of their way to give us everything we wanted and needed. The service was impeccable and each staff member greeted us with a smile and a warm, happy attitude, from the beach servers to the BBQ chefs to the bartenders. The food and drink choices were incredible, the entertainment was always exciting, and the grounds are beautiful and spotless (they are ALWAYS cleaning). There is always something to do, pool and beach volleyball, poolside dance lessons, shows at night, beach games, bbqs on the beach, Spanish lessons, and the staff will always join in. Your food options are endless, elegant dining to linen tableclothed bbqs on the beach. The beach is spotless and the service is astounding, from the drinks brought to you constantly to the helpers who will fluff your towels for you. Please always remember that even though it is an all-inclusive a small tip of a dollar or two means the world to the people who are treating you like kings and queens. It is worth every penny! Please be kind and polite to the wonderful people who work there. They work really hard and deserve a tremendous amount of respect. A please and thank you in Spanish is easy to learn! Have a wonderful time, enjoy every minute! We did and will go back as soon as we can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Wear sunscreen!!! Drink tons of bottled water each day so you don't dehydrate. Put ALL valuables in the safe!!! Don't bring a laptop- you're on vacation and shouldn't care about anything else other than relaxing. Always have a few single dollars on you to tip-they are constantly waiting on and serving you! Be polite, say hello, please and thank you in Spanish. See the shows at night. Do the Soama Island excursion. Remember to haggle when shopping but be nice about it. That is their culture. Go to Nancy's on the beach, just left of the resort for shopping but be prepared for them to push. Don't be rude and work with them on prices. Get massages there, better price and best massage. They need the money the most! Remember how poor they are...it puts it all into perspective. Let go and relax!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KY Kouple
Business
Kentucky
Jul 21, 2009

Pretty Good all around.

This was a nice resort - not the best, but nice. We paid extra for the ride to and from the airport, but had to meet with the Orbitz rep, who was never where he said he'd be, to arrange the ride back. This of course comes with a hard-sell about buying the extras. The second you step off the resort property, you are accosted by locals trying to sell you stuff, and one night they actually let these sales people into the hotel - they actually physically grab you to try to sell you their goods. Breakfast buffet was great, the activities were mostly fun, and the room was lovely. Towel and mini-bar service was sporadic. We had a hot tub in the room, but the water was murky and greasy looking. Nice shops, but some of the food was terrible - DON'T order the hamburger. I don't know what it was. Staff was great, except one guy who hung around the sports bar and tried to sell tennis lessons. He wouldn't let up and kept changing the TV channel to a soap opera when several people were there to watch the NBA playoffs. We avoided that bar after that, which was a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I'd go with someone other than Orbitz. This is the second time we've had trouble with their reps wasting our time and trying to sell us stuff.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vacation vicky
Business
indianapolis,in.
Jul 21, 2009

somethings wrong in punta cana

diarrhea was the theme at the pool. husband was sick for 7 days.paid alot but couldnt eat the gourmet or go on any excursions.saw the dr.on staff. rx was out of meds. due to everyone with diarrhea.if they can fix the bacterial issues we would have loved it.cant recommend tho.tourists from other resorts did not report this massive an outbreak of illness.sorry but it messed up the whole trip.love the people on staff tho. very kind.the room was clean but we still had roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the place was great,wonderful staff! the food was fermented .we couldnt go on any excursions.my hubby had severe diarrhea for7 of our 10 days there plus 2 more afterward.COMPLAINTS about illness.watch the food!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 20, 2009

Nice Getaway for Couples

Great location with beautiful beach, pools, & grounds. Excellent, friendly staff. Food and drinks were great. Room was moldy and musty smelling. Also, dress code for dinner was a little much for the hot weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring the coolest clothing possible.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
Jul 19, 2009

Excellence Resort Punta Cana

Friendly staff, clean rooms, amazing pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris,France
Jul 14, 2009

Fantastic holidays

Just came back from incredible holidays in this hotel. Everything was just perfect: *) incredible beach *) wonderful pools *) nice food *) first-class service except: *) some staff yelling early in the morning next to the door *) music way too loud in the evening for their shows But I'd definitively come back :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There's a cascade pool "hidden" next to the mexican restaurant. I did only find it a couple of days before leaving...

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John & Diana R.
Business
Queens, New York
Jul 13, 2009

THE PERFECT VACATION

THIS WAS THE PERFECT VACATION! Entertainment and the Casino were great! Great service all the time! We had a great time-we got engaged during Karaoke Night! Pool and facilities are perfect! Excellence Club is not necessary-everything except the minibar in hotel room was almost the same-remember, you can get any drink from any bar & there are 6 spots to choose from. The staff was excellent. They will teach you their Spanish language to Dance lessons at the local bar spot. Tips are not necessary but we were so pleased, we gave them a few dollars here and there. If you are looking to drink CORONAS, only at the Agave or Chez Isabelle restaurant serves them and stop by the restaurants too-excellent meals (except the pizza at Oregano) Its also best you book a bus ride to and from the airport, taxis are expensive because its a 1 hour ride to/from hotel. You will enjoy your stay. We are planning to visit again for a future wedding date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexicool
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 8, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

This was by far the best vacation ever. The room was amazing, the food excellent, the staff very accomodating, the entertainment was very entertaining, the beach was beautiful. I have nothing bad to say about our time at Excellence except that we weren't there long enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington, MN
Jul 3, 2009

Would recommend but pack wisely

We stayed there on our honeymoon and would recommend for those that want a romantic, and\or an "upscale" less party atmosphere.The resort is beautiful and we were greeted with cool towels and glasses of Champagne. The rooms are clean and all have a Jacuzzi tub, love seat, desk and small table. The entertainment is good and there is a variety of "better-than-well" drinks. Most of the food was good, we did not like some but most was pretty good.Pack wisely – this resort is away from everything else. If you want to purchase anything that you forgot you will be charged an arm and a leg at the gift shop (they make the airport look cheap). I would recommend bringing the following – Band-Aids, Pepto (or you favorite upset stomach medicine), Advil, lots of sunscreen, Afterbite (there were some bugs at night), and any other common medicines that you might take. This is also a more formal place, pools close at 6 and the restaurants are more formal, dress pants for guys, nice sandals, - look at their site and the dress codes. It is kind of nice, gets you to take a break and take a shower and get dressed up in the evening. If this is not you style, go somewhere else!Also, walk out to the beach and walk to your left, you will find about 5 – 6 little shops. They are great. The British couple that owns a shop, buy from them, our camera got stolen when we were at the resort and they lent us their digital camera for a week and saved our honeymoon. [...] is our second choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

More formal, make sure you pack accordingly

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 3, 2009

Great Couples Vacation

It was the best hotel I have ever been to. The food and service was excellent as well as the entertainment. The pool was enormous and the floats made it comfortable and fun. The ocean and sand were gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't leave the resort. We did the zipline and the long, long drive there on a bumpy road with no windows on the bus made it a torturous ride. Once we got to the zipline there were only 5 short ziplines. The ride back, they gave us a jeep because our hotel was further than everyone else. We got in the car with driver that spoke no english, started the car with a screwdriver and had a machette in the front seat. Extremely dangerous!!

Back to menu Return to top