$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
736 out of 736
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kernersville, nc
Apr 23, 2009

excellence for adults

hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

don't bother eating at the lobster house

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Apr 23, 2009

Awesome resort

Beautiful resort, great staff, good food. Well worth the scary ride to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2009

Best Place on the Island!

The grounds were absolutely beautiful, the staff was great and the food was phenomenal for an all inclusive destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TuffetLady
Business
Cumberland, Maine
Apr 22, 2009

Treat for Mom and Dad

We had just written our last tuition payment for our son and decided we needed to reward ourselves so we went for it. We paid up for the Club level and it was worth every penny. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the overall experience more satisfying. The hotel is situated on the Atlantic side of the Island, so the water was a bit rough so we took an excursion to the Caribbean side and have a wonderful time. This is definitely a two thumbs up establishment!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Watertown NY
Apr 22, 2009

All Excellence Resorts are not Equal

After visiting the Excellence Playa Mujares in Cancun, Mexico we were a bit disappointed in the Excellence Punta Cana. We were so impressed with our Mexico trip we decided to try anothe Excellence vacation, this time in the Dominican. Definately not the same experiance. First off the ocean was rough and off limits for most of our stay, due to the undertow. Chairs by the pool were limited and if you didn't get down to claim your spot by 8AM then you couldn't get a spot by the pool. We decided to go on some tours arranged by our Orbitz representative [...]. The first tour was supposed to leave at 7:30 AM, we were waiting at 7:15 and didn't get picked up until 8:30. When we inquired at the front deck they just laughed and said that we needed to be on Dominican time. The tour was enjoyable, educational, and the toue guides were more than accomodating. The second tour again we were at the lobby at 7:30 AM, waited with other people until 9:00 only to find out Jasiel had forgotten to get a ride for us to the meeting place. This was our last day there and he said he would catch up with us in the morning to give us a refund, it was his day off. We were leaving in the morning so we called the Coco tours and they had another company refund our money for us. It wasn't so much the money but the disappointment of missing,what we had hoped would be a great day of beach and snorkling on Catalina Island,on our last day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The tour at the hotel on the four wheelers was the best part of the vacation.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

The best vacation I have been on....

The minute we arrive we received first class service from the friendly and welcoming staff. The resort itself is amazing, beautiful, spotless, and very large. Lots and lots of tropical areas with all kinds of birds and flowers, quite impressive. The beach was gorgeous, very private to the resort go'ers only. *I have to mention the waves. I have been to the DR several times and have not seen waves like this. If you like body boarding or just waves in general, this is definitely the spot to hit. Not too rough, but lots and lots of fun. The food was wonderful, breakfast and lunch buffets very good quality. Dinner was above average, Agave, the Mexican place being the best of the bunch. Plenty of activities to keep you busy, but no one pressures you to do them if you would just like to relax. Plenty of bars EVERYWHERE, drinks are great, and all staff are friendly as can be. All around excellente, can't say enough about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We chose to do the excellence club...although there are many perks offered. I'm not certain it is worth the amount they charge you. It is nice to get the VIP service...but to be honest, it seeemed like whether you had paid for the Excellence club or not, the service was stellar across the board...so perhaps not the best idea if you are on the fence.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpi
Business
NJ
Apr 22, 2009

Great Resort!

Great resort. Service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jen T
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2009

This is not a 5 star hotel.

My husband and I went for our honeymoon just last week. This is not a 5 star hotel! We arent sure if it was Murphys Law, "what can go wrong, will" but I will never return. We had upgraded to the Excellence Club, our room was nice but it had bugs where they keep the coffee and snacks...and in the closet where my clothes were! Beds are hard. They don't provide wash clothes (weird). Food was average at best. Our bathtub was filthy, after we cleaned it filled the tub the water was brown. One day we didnt have hot water. Seriously!!!! I have never written one of these things, nor do we ever complain but I would never recommend this place. The Excellence in Cancun is wonderful, this one is flat out awful. Sorry!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara & Kyle
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 11, 2009

What more could you ask for?

Our stay was fantastic from the minute we entered the hotel. What an amazing staff. We ended up staying an additional day because we just weren't ready to leave. I read all the reviews before I booked this hotel and everyone raved about it. Now I see why. There is no lack of activities, entertainment,food, service or relaxation. Whatever you like you will find. We had an amazing couples massage and moonlight dinner right on the beach. Talk about romantic. Wow! I can't wait to go back. The beach is beautiful and the pool is awesome. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. If you want to shop for souvenirs go down to the beach and hit the first little store/hut. The owner is Nancy and she is great and gives good deals. She will not bother you unlike the rest of the shops you enter. One more thing...make sure to tip staff around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Most of the outside excursions are a far bus ride. Usually around a half hour to hour from the hotel.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catonsville Honeymooners
Business
MD
Mar 10, 2009

Excellente

The service was unbelievable here. If there was something you needed or wanted, the staff would get it for you with a wmile on their face. The food was good and the hotel room was very nice. All in all this was an excellent experience. The only thing we were disappointed with is that Orbitz wouldn't allow us to get the shuttle to the hotel with our travel package, so we ended up having to pay $70 each way for a taxi. I even called Orbitz to add the shuttle and they said they couldn't do it. This was frustrating because when we got there the Orbitz representative told us we could have added the shuttle to our package for $100, which was different from what I was told over the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top