$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
768 out of 768
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xindi's Mom
Orange County, California
Dec 31, 2012

Wonderful Birthday Vacation

The hotel is fantastic! Upgrade to a room with an ocean view and you won't be dissapointed. The service is great, the food is great, and we enjoyed walking the beach every day for exercise without fear of crime. We stayed at the resort and did not do any tours and there was enough amenities to keep us busy for the week,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to go into town to shop. There are plenty of local vendors within a short walk and it is safe to walk around and shop. Everyone is very friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John & Diana R.
Business
Queens, New York
Jul 13, 2009

THE PERFECT VACATION

THIS WAS THE PERFECT VACATION! Entertainment and the Casino were great! Great service all the time! We had a great time-we got engaged during Karaoke Night! Pool and facilities are perfect! Excellence Club is not necessary-everything except the minibar in hotel room was almost the same-remember, you can get any drink from any bar & there are 6 spots to choose from. The staff was excellent. They will teach you their Spanish language to Dance lessons at the local bar spot. Tips are not necessary but we were so pleased, we gave them a few dollars here and there. If you are looking to drink CORONAS, only at the Agave or Chez Isabelle restaurant serves them and stop by the restaurants too-excellent meals (except the pizza at Oregano) Its also best you book a bus ride to and from the airport, taxis are expensive because its a 1 hour ride to/from hotel. You will enjoy your stay. We are planning to visit again for a future wedding date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexicool
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 8, 2009

Amazing Honeymoon

This was by far the best vacation ever. The room was amazing, the food excellent, the staff very accomodating, the entertainment was very entertaining, the beach was beautiful. I have nothing bad to say about our time at Excellence except that we weren't there long enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington, MN
Jul 3, 2009

Would recommend but pack wisely

We stayed there on our honeymoon and would recommend for those that want a romantic, and\or an "upscale" less party atmosphere.The resort is beautiful and we were greeted with cool towels and glasses of Champagne. The rooms are clean and all have a Jacuzzi tub, love seat, desk and small table. The entertainment is good and there is a variety of "better-than-well" drinks. Most of the food was good, we did not like some but most was pretty good.Pack wisely – this resort is away from everything else. If you want to purchase anything that you forgot you will be charged an arm and a leg at the gift shop (they make the airport look cheap). I would recommend bringing the following – Band-Aids, Pepto (or you favorite upset stomach medicine), Advil, lots of sunscreen, Afterbite (there were some bugs at night), and any other common medicines that you might take. This is also a more formal place, pools close at 6 and the restaurants are more formal, dress pants for guys, nice sandals, - look at their site and the dress codes. It is kind of nice, gets you to take a break and take a shower and get dressed up in the evening. If this is not you style, go somewhere else!Also, walk out to the beach and walk to your left, you will find about 5 – 6 little shops. They are great. The British couple that owns a shop, buy from them, our camera got stolen when we were at the resort and they lent us their digital camera for a week and saved our honeymoon. [...] is our second choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

More formal, make sure you pack accordingly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Jul 3, 2009

Great Couples Vacation

It was the best hotel I have ever been to. The food and service was excellent as well as the entertainment. The pool was enormous and the floats made it comfortable and fun. The ocean and sand were gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't leave the resort. We did the zipline and the long, long drive there on a bumpy road with no windows on the bus made it a torturous ride. Once we got to the zipline there were only 5 short ziplines. The ride back, they gave us a jeep because our hotel was further than everyone else. We got in the car with driver that spoke no english, started the car with a screwdriver and had a machette in the front seat. Extremely dangerous!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Doylestown, PA
Jun 30, 2009

Amazing couples getaway

Great secluded area for couples to relax and getaway from the every day things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan the Groom
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 30, 2009

Great Vacation

This was the best all inclusive I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Try all the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2009

ok, but not great

our vacation was ok, but not great. Our issue is we have stayed at very lovely locations in the caribbean and this place was very average. The food was not very good. The service was adequate, but was not helpful if there was a problem or concern. They were somewhat dismissive. Don't venture off the resort property. The beach becomes very litered and we were told somewhat unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, AL
Jun 28, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

Everything about the Excellence is excellente, except for the food. However, as long as you know this going in and don't expect to much from it, the resort is well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G & D @ Twenty
Business
Georgia
Jun 28, 2009

Our 20th Anniversary Paradise

First ever all inclusive experience and we enjoyed it. The choice of entertainment as well as dining experiences was unending. Friendly staff gave us a unique personal experience from the moment we left our room until we closed the club late every morning. We also meet some very nice couples and enjoyed the evening shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask Orbitz for airport transport voucher when booking this package so that you are not surprised by the $70 trip fee to and from the airport. Being in a foreign country, with a cell phone that suddenly picks up en espanol can be quite a challenge as you try to figure out if the $70 trip fee is legitimate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicabanda
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 27, 2009

amazing service, beautiful beach

The hotel was very luxurious and very beautiful. Most of the resort (except for the rooms and a few of the restaurants) are open air. The main pool was HUGE and amazing. It has a swim up bar, and is just the right depth to stand in. It also has shallow sections you can lay in too. The staff was so helpful and was always ready to bring you whatever food or drinks you wanted. There are lots of shady cabanas all around the pool so that you can relax in the shade too. The beach was very clean and beautiful and the sand was pristine. The food selection was very good, and the quality of the food was okay. We got sick (not sure if it was the food or swallowed ocean water) and the medic was able to take care of us, and the concierge checked up on us and made sure we had everything we needed. The main drawback was being an hour from the airport. If you take a taxi like we did it is $70 USD one way. Overall I recommend this resort, especially if you like not having crying whiny children around =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The hotel has some shops to buy souveniers and other things you might need, but it is pricey. If you walk just to the edge of the hotel's property along the beach there are several other shops that sell the same stuff for much less.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top