$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
738 out of 738
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xindi's Mom
Orange County, California
Dec 31, 2012

Wonderful Birthday Vacation

The hotel is fantastic! Upgrade to a room with an ocean view and you won't be dissapointed. The service is great, the food is great, and we enjoyed walking the beach every day for exercise without fear of crime. We stayed at the resort and did not do any tours and there was enough amenities to keep us busy for the week,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to go into town to shop. There are plenty of local vendors within a short walk and it is safe to walk around and shop. Everyone is very friendly.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2009

Quality A1

Wonderful hotel, very friendly people, food was excellent and it WAS a luxury hotel. I was looking for quiet, and it was. Excellent staff service with many activities to join. This trip, by far, was the best experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There were 8 restaurants in this facility. I visited all 8 and have to say the food was outstanding in all 8 restaurants. Courtesy and kindness of staff was above average.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wish I was still traveling
Business
Boston, Ma
Jun 1, 2009

Good Times

We had a great time at the hotel. There are a few things that can be upgraded at the hotel (ie. Rooms and some facilities) but overall it was wonderful. We would recommend going. The service was top notch and the staff were fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justmarried09
Business
Austin, tx
Jun 1, 2009

Excellente honeymoon

Resort was fantastic overall. Small things we noticed were the beds were a bit hard and after a week we could tell it in our backs! Staff was incredible! Tip them a couple of bucks and they will take even better care of you! You will want to tip anyway, I'm a relatively rich guy with my money and I spent most of what I brought on tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I wouldn't do too many excursions. Most of them take a couple of hours each way to get to and by the end of them you haven't done much but drive. Stay at the resort and take advantage of their wonderful ammenities!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 28, 2009

Perfect romantic getaway!

Amazing! Didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LadybugLaura
Business
Pennington, NJ
May 26, 2009

Excedllence is Excellent!

Arrival and check in was very nice. The Lavender scented towel was a nice touch with a glass of chilled Champagne. We were taken to our room immediately and it was very clean and inviting. The people in the restaurants from the hostess to the busboy were very happy and friendly. The food was very good. Everything was good quality. The employees at Excellence work very hard to make sure everything is perfect and that you are having a good time. We went to the beach everyday and the service on the beach with drinks and pizza delivered right to you was wonderful. The ocean was a little bit rough but the lifeguards did a good job of warning people about the undertow. The food was very good. The animation group worked very hard at everyone participating and having a good time. This was one of the best resorts we have ever been to. We are hoping to go back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all of the restaurants. All of the restaurants offer something unique.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, Texas
May 24, 2009

Wonderful vacation!

We traveled with 3 other couples and had a great time. I sent a request in advance asking for all our rooms to be in the same building which they honored. First floor rooms have a little patio space with a hammock which is nice. Spacious rooms. Restaurants were great and gave us no problems with a larger table. You are given a beeper if there is a wait and can drink at one of the bars. Loved Chez Isabelle, Spice, Toscana, and Agave. Good shows in the evening especially the Cirque de Soleil type show. Palapas are readily available by the pools and on the beach but you may need to stake them out by 8:30 am for larger groups like ours. Service was great especially with the flow of drinks by waiters while at the beach or poolside, even had personal pizza delivery service! Spa prices are quite cheap compared to other places I have been and easily booked just hours in advance, they have daily spa specials that I took advantage of. Would go again. Bring Off to keep away the mosquitos at night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, ma
May 23, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

The one hour drive from the airport to the location was awful, I was nauseous to and from the airport as well as the one hour drive to the marina. I won't go back for that reason alone! Outside of the complex the island is so dirty, litter everywhere, but that's the governments fault no trash pickup outside of the city according to the locals. Also went deep sea fishing, I could deal with 8-10ft swells without a problem... oh caught 5 huge mahi mahi, Brought one back to the complex excellence, head chief prepared it, three different dishes all superb that very same day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Select a five star location closer to the airport!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. X
Business
Boston, MA
May 19, 2009

Excellente!

Upon arrival, all new guests are welcomed with cold towels and a champagne toast. Everybody is very professional and they will do their best to accomodate you in any way possible. [...] at the front desk was awesome and very helpful!This is a well spread out property with a great main pool (huge!) and another great quieter pool with yet another bar. The alcoholic drinks were fantastic and quick to come around. The food was above average and excellently prepared and presented.We did not take part in many excursions because most of them involved 2+ hours bus rides from the hotel, but instead we relaxed by the ocean and the pools everyday and really enjoyed the experience.We vacationed at Secrets Capri (sister property in Playa del Carmen) last year and will definitely return to another property managed by the same group! Can't wait for the next trip!I would absolutely recommend this hotel to couples looking to vacation in the Domincan Republic. The staff and property are great! The best party are the miles of beach on each side of the resort with no other hotels to be found! So relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The nightly shows at the hotel are well worth your time to see them. Make sure to be around for the Michael Jackson show!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 17, 2009

You won't be sorry!

This was the best all inclusive resort i've been to (and i've been to at least half a dozen); the food was excellent, the service couldn't have been better. The beach was very well kept on the resort with great soft sand and great options for under the sun (cabanas, hammocks, beach chairs under tropical huts, or chairs in the open sun, whatever you want); we had no problem finding chairs in the middle of the day at the pool or at the beach. The resort never felt crowded (not sure if was the recession or what). Night entertainment was pretty good as far as hotels go (love the michael jackson and circus shows); I was a little suspect of going to the DR based on friends past experiences, but they didn't stay at this resort and when I read the reviews I thought i'd give it a try, i'm glad I did, one of the best vacations I've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

bring sun screen; the resort charges 20-30 per bottle!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 13, 2009

Totally underwhelmed

We choose this hotel because we stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Club and thoroughly enjoyed that resort. This one was a huge disappointment!! From the very beginning, we were not greeted when we arrived and we were Excellence Club guests! The food was bad at all restaurants except one. There was mold in the shower in our room. It took 2 days to get washcloths in our room. The staff was very friendly and polite. I would not recommend anyone paying the extra for the Excellence Club. The only advantage that we could see was the use of the Club Lounge with snacks and internet. The grounds were lovely and the wildlife area was nice.We would not stay at this resort again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in this resort is awful with the exception of Chez Isabelle, French restaurant. That was great. Agave,Mexican food was the next best and if you drink Corona, that is only place in the resort that you can get it. I thought that was a little odd.

Back to menu Return to top