$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
737 out of 737
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rugby Ralphy
Bayonne New Jersey
Feb 22, 2013

Couples retreat, fall in love all over again

The setting is absolutely beautiful, just amazing. The grounds are meticulously well kept and boast a wonderful ecological park. The amenities are top quality with most of the fixtures having been upgraded or refitted within the last few years. The staff is absolutely amazing, the restaurants excellent and the all-inclusive package offers everything, top shelf liquors, room service, etc. The only thing you'll go out of pocket for are special services or upgrades (meals on the beach or a great bottle of wine with dinner). Evenings are elegant with casual dress codes at most restaurants and NO cafeteria dining. All dinner restaurants are sit down affairs with no reservations and very rarely a wait. Only downsides, if there are any, the resort is an hour from the hotel, a bit more travel there but totally worth it. The resort sits on the Atlantic face of the island, the water is warm but can be rough on days, limiting local water sports (although excursions are available to sheltered bays for all day water adventures. Just returned from my 4th trip with my wife. can't wait to get back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 24, 2009

Amazing

Me and my wife had a great time!!! very relaxing and the staff was great!!!! we loved and we hope we can go back very soon!!!! Bring bug spary, some people we met got bit up pretty bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

When they have the guys in te middle area dont be affraid to have a price and stick with it... we bought a bracelet and earrings for $50 and people we met got it for less... and the price started at $120

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia Suburbs
Jun 14, 2009

Excellence was Excellent!!

I arrived with my new wife on our honeymoon to Excellence and was greeted immediately with champagne and friendly staff. Our first impression was the main lobby which was amazing to look at and was much larger then I expected. We were then escorted to our walk out pool room which was great. The king size bed was comfortable and the in-room jacuzzi was a nice touch. Out back, we had our own porch, hammock and were within walking distance to the pool. Along with the pool being there, we were lucky enough to be right next to the pool bar which we swam up to to get any drinks we wanted. Overall, the resort was in tip top shape. There were a few minor things that needed touch up but to be honest, that would be me just nitpicking an amazing place. Onto the food. The resort has about 7 or 8 five star restaurants and they definitely live up to the five stars. Each restaurant has its own unique flavor such as Italian, French Style, Japanese, Mexican, Mediterranean, Steak House, Lobster House and a couple others. Along with the restaurants, almost every night there was an outdoor buffet of cuisines which included a night with traditional Dominican food which was amazing. The lunch and breakfast buffets were also top notch with sooo many things to chose from you could never get bored. Along with the food, there were constant activities all day long and each day, a daily schedule was left in the room with the next days activities. Also shows at night kept you entertained with dances, music, circus acts and more. The staff too was top notch. Just about everyone was friendly 24-7 which was great. I know personally its not easy to be "on" every second and every day dealing with guests but they did a great job of giving out a positive vibe. All in all, I could go on for another 20 minutes of typing but I can sum it up with this. If you are looking for a five star resort, I can't imagine anything being better then this place. It truly was Excellente!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I'd recommend going to Toscana for lunch as they had just about everything there. The Grill is nice but we didn't go to Toscana until near the end of the trip and missed out on some great lunches.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
group of ten
Business
the excellence at Punta Cana, Dominican
Jun 13, 2009

Well worth the money we paid

I think that for the price we paid for this vacation we definitely got our monies worth. The staff at the hotel were wonderful, the pool and beach were great. Not a lot of inclusive amenities but we weren't looking to do too much. Just relaxed, ate and drank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kjb
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

Had a wonderful time. Celebrating our 20th anniversary and was looking for a quiet, relaxing place with great service. The Excellence Punta Cana was a perfect choice. Beautiful beach and one of the largest pool areas I've ever seen. Never had an issue finding the "perfect" spot. It was the perfect destination for our vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit "Nancy's" just west of the resort for gifts and souvenirs at lower prices and more "negotiation" possibilities.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raquel R
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 12, 2009

Great Service - Great Value

The hotel is top-notch and worth every penny! We wanted to relax and do nothing and it was the perfect place to do that. You can expect, comfy rooms, large pool area that never feels too crowded (and the hotel was very busy!), lots of palapas and chairs on the beach - we would show up at the beach around 9:30 - 10:30 am and there were always empty chairs. The staff is great, walk on the beach and they bring you drinks, pizza, great service. Great morning breakfast featuring smoothie bars, fresh fruit etc. You'll like most of the dinner options. For the beach area - the waves are not that bad as other reviews mention. My husband and I loved jumping the waves (small waves) nothing major. The ocean by the hotel is not tranquil as you imagine Turqs and Caicos, really not bad at all. The water is a great, refreshing, temp around 75-83 deg. Really, I recommend this hotel because of the superb service and wonderful ammenities beach. Worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooner Jennifer
Business
Minnesota
Jun 9, 2009

Friendly staff, Great food!

This resort is about an hour from the Punata Cana airport but worth the bumpy drive. We went for our honeymoon and were worried that we wouldn't have anything to do but there is a night club, nightly shows, and lots of access for excursions that you can do during the day. Dress code is only needed for evening meals otherwise there is access to buffett style eating during the day with more variety than i could ever ask for. Service was wonderful- we actually debated staying longer because we felt so welcome and enjoyed it so much. Not only are you on the ocean but have great pools to choose from as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy honeymooners of Punta Cana
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 9, 2009

Most Amazing Honeymoon

Being that this was our honeymoon, location was not a really big issue we just wanted to rest and relax some where tropical. The resort was excellent, very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Our room was very large. The food was awesome with a wide selection of restaurants to choose from. The resort offered many activities such as horseback riding, spanish lessons, cooking lessons, dancing lessons, ect... The grounds around the resort including the beach were also well kept, the staff did a great job of keeping them clean. This was our first all-inclusive resort and we fear that we may have spoiled oursleves if we choose to try a different resort next time for it wont be as nice as this one. Over all we would highly recommend the resort to any one looking for some R and R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Royal Oak, MI
Jun 7, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana Family Vacation

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Obviously, we loved it because we convinced our family to go back when my sister-in-law graduated. It was a great trip again, but I'm only giving 4 stars because of an incident we had there. My sister and her husband had a laptop and camera stolen from their room. The hotel did an "investigation" but said that they couldn't compensate them because that would be admitting guilt. They did give them a "gift" of 2 massages. Overall, though, this is a great resort. Lock your stuff up, and I promise you'll have a great time. I would still go back. So much to do there, you'll need at least 7 nights. The drinks are good, the water is safe, and the "adults-only" rule makes all the difference in the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

House wine is free! Don't order off the wine list unless you want to pay for something you've already paid for.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Barbara
Business
Freehold, NJ
Jun 2, 2009

You won't be sorry!

My husband and I were looking for a week or rest and relaxation and that is what we got! When we first arrived we were greated with champagne and a friendly face! We thought, we're off to a great start. The room was beautiful and clean. This resort offers 8 restaurants and each and every one was delic! Best thing, no reservations needed! If they can't seat you, they will give you a buzzer and you will be notified when your table is ready. Until then,have a cocktail at one of their many bars. I especially loved the martini bar - they make an excellent espresso martini!! The pools are breathtaking - largest pool I've ever seen - it sprawls around the entire resort. Should you want to keep busy, there is plenty to do including horseback riding, which is free! We had a wonderful trip and can't wait to check out their new resort being built in Jamaica next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

When the vendors come to the hotel to see items, BARGAIN WITH THEM!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2009

Quality A1

Wonderful hotel, very friendly people, food was excellent and it WAS a luxury hotel. I was looking for quiet, and it was. Excellent staff service with many activities to join. This trip, by far, was the best experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There were 8 restaurants in this facility. I visited all 8 and have to say the food was outstanding in all 8 restaurants. Courtesy and kindness of staff was above average.

Back to menu Return to top