Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
724 reviews
Paradise in Punta Cana

The Excellence at Punta Cana is beyond excellent. The staff everywhere you went were friendly and... See full review

  • sunny and warm
  • Aug 17, 2014
Marvelous!

We had a marvelous time at The Excellence. We were treated like royalty and like family. The food... See full review

  • AmandaCox82
  • Aug 7, 2014
Enjoy gardens and a quiet beach at this Dominican adults-only resort

For an adults-only getaway in the gorgeous, sunny Dominican Republic, the Excellence Punta Cana resort can't be beat. Stroll through coconut groves and lush green landscapes, and be sure to visit the delightfully isolated beach just a few meters from the hotel. Activities range from snorkeling and yoga to horseback riding at this lovely all-inclusive getaway. Get pampered at an on-site spa that's nestled in a relaxing, restful garden. There are 10 bars around the beach and pool areas, and eight restaurants serving international and local dishes.

Reason to stays
  • The Punta Cana area is famous for its sunny weather and postcard-perfect beaches
  • A swim-up suite or room with a private Jacuzzi are available
  • An all-inclusive resort in a quiet, secluded area
  • An adults-only policy
Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive rooms
The rooms at the Excellence Punta Cana have a distinct Colonial-inspired atmosphere and 12 different room categories with different features including 24-hour room service, swim-up access, private balcony, marble bathroom and four poster beds. All rooms provide guests with bathrobes, TV, CD/DVD player and free Internet/Wi-Fi access as well as a refreshing whirlpool tub.
Things to do nearby
  • Punta Cana Beach (0 mi/0 km)
  • La Basilica (19 mi/30 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (21.9 mi/35.3 km)
  • Reserva Ecologica Ojos Indigenas (32.9 mi/52.9 km)
  • Casa de Ponce de Leon (43.4 mi/69.9 km)

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Garden View or Mountain View
All our Junior Suites Garden or Mountain View are 51 square meters in size and offer a private furnished patio or balcony. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, Free wireless Internet, Air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player; Direct dial telephone, Radio/alarm clock, electronic in room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks, water and snacks, iron & ironing board; pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING OR 2 DOUBLE BEDS.
Junior Swim up Suite Pool View
All our Junior Swim Up Suites Pool View are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks,water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Junior Suite Ocean View
All our Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and view to the Ocean. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wireless Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Suite Ocean View
All Excellence Suites Ocean Views are larger rooms of 52 square meters in size and offer private furnishings in a double patio or balcony and ocean view. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, free wireless Internet, Flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Master Suite Pool View
All Master Suites Pool View are larger rooms of 54 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony and separate living-room area. Room amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes, slippers, Flat-screen TV, free wirelees Internet, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, stocked mini-bar with beer, juices, soft drinks water and snacks, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary. KING BED.
Excellence Club Junior Suite Garden or Mountain View
All Excellence Club Junior Suites Garden or Mountain Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony. Superior amenities includes a full equipped bathroom with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, flat-screen satellite television, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod connectivity, electronic in-room safe, coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and upgraded room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence Stationary, daily fruit and complimentary newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished patio or balcony will full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.
Excellence Club junior Swim Up Suite Ocean View
All our Excellence Club Junior Swim up Suites Ocean Views are 51 square meters in size and offer private furnished terrace with direct access to the pool and full view to the ocean. Superior amenities includes full equipped bathrooms with a jetted whirlpool bathtub and separate shower, hair dryer, scales, vanity mirror, Superior VIP toiletries and phone, bathrobes & slippers, Flat-screen TV, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, CD/DVD player, direct dial telephone, radio/alarm clock with Ipod conectivity, electronic in-room safe,coffee/tea maker, upgraded mini-bar including wine and liquor preference and room service menu, iron & ironing board, pillow menu, turn-down service and Excellence stationary, daily fruit and newspaper. Other amenities from the Excellence Club: private concierge service with smart buffets, bar service and free Internet access, private beach area, complimentary beach bag for use during your stay, shoe shine service. KING BED.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Hotel Map

18.8273 -68.6018
Area served
Situated on the east coast of the Dominican Republic, 50 minutes away from Punta Cana Intl. Airport and 75 minutes away from La Romana Intl. Airport.
Nearby airports
PUJ Punta Cana Intl Airport. LRM La Romana International Airport.
Area description
Excellence Punta Cana is located on the east coast of the Dominican Republic about 50 min. away from PUJ Punta Cana International Airport and 75 min away from La Romana International Airport. The resort is surrounded by a beautiful palm grove, bordering a beach of fine sand.

Dining

Oregano
Pizzeria/Tratoria a la carte for dinner. reservations not required.
Agave
Mexican cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Chez Isabelle
French Cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Barcelona
Mediterranean cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
The Grill
Provides continental breakfast, casual a la carte lunch and Steakhouse for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Toscana
Provides Breakfast and lunch in Buffet style, and for dinner is an Italian Restaurant a la carte. Reservations not required.
The Lobster House
Lobster Restaurant open for breakfast and a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.
Spice
Oriental cuisine for a la carte dinner. Reservations not required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellence Punta Cana dispose of several large meeting rooms of several sizes, a theater, cocktail terraces and in addition we have a small boardroom of 30 m2 for approximately 15 people. Audiovisuals are available. Conference facilities are subject to extra charges.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (724)

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
724 out of 724
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Village Green Man
Miami, Florida
May 8, 2009

excellent excellence

The resort is well designed and kept up neat and clean. restaurants and bars offer a decent selection and will leave you happy during your trip. The cuisine will get a little old, as the menues do not change; since there are 8 restaurants, this only becomes a challange after the first week... Our treatments at the spa was excellent (massages) and certainly are noteworthy. The pools is nice and very clean. we had a swim up suite that was a real treat. If you like more action, gowith the garden views, as the swim up suits are abutt the second, quiter pool (we loved that!) The activities coordinator what not very motivating. Even though a number of daily events were organized and presented in the nightly menu, the execution of these events was a little lame...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Christy
Houston, TX
May 8, 2009

Fantastic Honeymoon

Our visit started with being greeted at our car with moist towels and champagne. The service did not stop there. We were treated like royalty the whole time we were there. Staff was extremely helpful, and fluent enough in English to carry on a conversation. We had a Honeymoon Suite which was fantastic. While it was air conditioned, it is not the A/C we were used to. The room did not get down to frigid temperatures as we would have liked, but it got cool enough and we adjusted. The bed was good enough, but a little firm for our taste. We had a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs, and on the other side of our room, we had a large deck with a hot tub, 2 chaise lounges, and a sunning bed. It was fantastic. The restaurants were good for the most part. While the Lobster House sounds like it would be the place to go, I did not hear any rave reviews about it. We still tried it, but should have just listened to everyone else. All other restaurants we tried were good...especially considering this is an all-inclusive place. Even room service was good with a decent selection. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely gorgeous. We walked all around our first night to see everything. There are several ponds towards the front of the building that you can walk around. There are little stations so you can get bread to feed the parrots, flamingos, peacocks, ducks, turtles, etc. It was a lot of fun. The beach is beautiful, though the water is COLD since this is on the Atlantic side of the DR. As nice as the pool is, it was tough to leave that for the beach anyways...but at least you have waiter service on the beach so there is no need to walk for your own drinks if you do decide to be lazy on the beach. If you stick to the pool, as we did, there are several bars in and around the pool, and all are great. We frequented several of the bars. During the day you have to get in the pool and hit the pool bar. At night, our favorite place was the Kafe Cafe bar. Jose was definitely our favorite bar tender and we went to see him nightly. One thing we did not pay attention to enough was the theme nights of the hotel. Once we saw one, we went to a couple more. One night was a beach party with great food. Another was just a night with more great food cooked right in front of you with tables set up all over in an open area outside the main lobby and pool. Those were definitely a lot of fun. All in all, this was a fantastic vacation and a fantastic resort. If we go back to Punta Cana, we would not hesitate staying at Excellence again. We highly recommend it. ONE WARNING - the ride to and from the airport takes a while, and the drivers are crazy. My new wife was mildly frightened, but I laughed more then anything. It was like a free roller coaster ride to and from the airport. If you book your transportation through Coco Tours, plan on it taking about an hour and a half to get to the hotel. Also be warned that for your return flight, they pick you up 4 hours before your flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the theme nights and dinners they do separate from the restaurants. The night weather is amazing, the food is great, and it really can't be beat.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nellie95tx
Dallas, TX
May 5, 2009

Great Hotel

This was a great relaxing trip. The hotel staff was really friendly and there was never a wait for any of the restaurants. The food was overall very good at all the restaurants. My favorite was the French restaurant, Chez Isabelle for dinner. For lunch, The Grill was yummy. Breakfast was good at the Lobster House but room service breakfast not so good. Also,if you eat at the Lobster House for dinner don't expect Maine lobster. I really did not like it at all but I'm a lobster snob. The service was impeccable at the hotel. We never had to wait for a drink and they don't expect tips but it is always nice to do so. The entertainment in the evening was a little cheesy but fun nevertheless. The only negative is the hotel is really far from the airport and the roads were horrible (beware if you get carsick). Also the hotel bed was super uncomfortable but you're not there very much anyway. The hotel itself is kind of old and we had to get our screen door fixed but they did it immediately. Also, buy stuff at the shops by the beach because the hotel shops will rip you off (payed $20 for suntan oil). The pool was a lot of fun and the food was yummy so although this hotel is on the more expensive side it is worth every penny for what you get. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a fun, relaxing trip to get away from it all and eat some delicious food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at Chez Isabelle....it is sooo yummy. The mexican restaurant, Agave was also good. Eat at the Lobster House for breakfast not dinner. The Grill is great for lunch after being at the pool or beach all day. The breakfast buffet at Toscana has a good variety with a lot of hit or miss selections. Room service was not so yummy.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
May 5, 2009

The Good and Bad

The people were really nice. Our room had a great view, but was getting wore down. The pool was very good. Every restaurant we at, the food was cold and just not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 4, 2009

Unbeatable location

Great staff and a wonderful way to relax!! Entertainment could have been better at night. Would have preferred the saxaphone combo to the live groups. This trip rated among the best that I have had on the islands. cj

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Great beaches for long walks

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport Beach, CA
Apr 29, 2009

Amazing resort

The hotel is beautiful and the service is amazing. Food ranges from good to excellent. The breakfast and lunch buffets are very good with a huge selection. My favorite restaurant was Barcelona; make sure to try the whole red snapper. Most restaurants desserts are fair at best but Barcelona has an amazing chocolate mousse that is firm and in the shape of a cake. Be warned, after breakfast all decaf is instant. The bars make great drinks, the coco loco is so sweet that it makes a great dessert. The beach is beautiful, there are no other resorts within sight. Although the resort is far from the airport (60 minutes by private transport) it is worth the drive. I took Connexion for private airport transport and they were excellent. They were waiting at the airport and had a new minivan with AC. This is the best way to get to the resort. The water is crystal clear with no seaweed and there was always a safe area for swimming. My only concern is the treatment of the horses. The hotel offers a free 30 minute horseback ride. This is through an arragement with a local stable. The horses for the rides are abused. The are whipped in the face and backside during the ride and are very thin with many bones showing. If you see mistreatment of the horses please let the hotel know. If enough people voice concern hopefully they will insist on better treatment of the horses or use another stable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Swimming wtih the dophins and sea lions was a lot of fun. They are treated wonderfully and seem to enjoy the interactions with people.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Allis wisconsin
Apr 27, 2009

Carefree romantic get away

Carefree, relaxing,and romantic. the food was great. We weren't bothered by any one trying to sale us anything. Rooms were clean and comfortable, everything we needed was right thereand accessable. The only time we saw staff personnel was when they were trying to make our experience better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Apr 27, 2009

Very nice and enjoyable

The hotel itself is very clean and is situated beautifully on the beach. The pool is very nice and the waitstaff does an excellent job keeping you happy. Out of the 8 restaurants we had only one bad meal which was at the Lobster House, they also had bad service. The positive things I would suggest: 1) Eat at the French restaurant (it is excellent)and the Italian (also very good). 2) Look out for afternoon grilling on the beach, usually really good lunch food. 3) Order room service, very good and comes in a timely manner. 4) Don't buy anything from the shops within the resort (very expensive), go to the local shops at the end of the beach. They can be aggressive but if you hold your ground you will do well. 5) Make sure you tip everyone a 2/3/4 dollars..they are very aprpeciative and it will show in how you are treated. 6) If you are going to be there for 5 - 7 days and enjoy history take the day long excursion to Santo Domingo (the capital). Takes 3.5 hours each way, but once there worth the visit. These are few suggestions... We definitely enjoyed our trip and met several couples who have come back to Excellence after trying other resorts. We and others we befriended just wish they kept the sports bar open past 10pm, it get a little quiet at night unless you want to go to the "nightclub". The language barrier can be a little frustrating at times, but nothing that would cause me to suggest to people not to go. It is a long trip from the airport (at least an hour) and the infrastructure of the country is in bad shape (craters for potholes)...but "it is what it is" and that shouldn't stop you from going. Just keep your eyes shut for your cab or bus ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Truly make sure you tip, especially leaving a couple dolllars on your pillow when you leave..you'll come back to a very clean room and a full minibar.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GJA
Excellence
Apr 24, 2009

Excellence Review

The Hotel and staff was great upgraded to the Excellence Club not sure but probably not worth 100.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
kernersville, nc
Apr 23, 2009

excellence for adults

hotel was very nice and the staff was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

don't bother eating at the lobster house

Back to menu Return to top