$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
782 out of 782
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CC, JJ and KK
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 6, 2010

Couples getaway

Long and rather interesting cab ride from airport to hotel. Cost $90 for 6 of us each way. Beaches were wonderful, Dominican people were wonderful. Bring bugspray for the evenings (lots of mosquitos). The beach sand was wonderful, no rocks, shells or sea weed. Hotel pool was really nice and they kept the hotel grounds up very well. Rooms need to be upgraded. Hallways were all tile so very slippery. Friends of ours had their sunglasses stolen from their room, their room key kept getting stuck so they were back and forth to the front desk often. Beds were not that comfortable and air conditioning didn't work in one of our rooms. All of the rooms were very musty smelling. We liked the stocked refridgerator in the room. The beers from the different Bars around the resort were never very cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We really enjoyed Spice and Agave for dinner but struggled with most of the other restaurant meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 14, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana

Nice place to relax for the price, but nothing worth getting excited about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 29, 2010

Not as good as everyone says

Overall the hotel is not as good as everyone says. The staff is hit or miss on if they can speak english. I would say more then have the staff speak little or no english. When we ordered room service, they got our order wrong 5 out of the 6 times we ordered. We met other couples while we were there and set up a dinner for 14 people. When we got to the resturant the staff would not allow us to all sit together. They would not even place us in tables next to each other. When I spoke to the manager and front desk again they would not allow it to happen and they were rude. The air conditioning in the rooms were not strong enough. We were still swetting in the rooms. Also, the drinks are not extremely cold. The staff is slow in time to get things done. Our mini bar was linking and broke. we told them four times and nothing was done. Lastly, everything at the resort and island is expensive. You would think because it is such a poor country that the prices of good and services would be less but that is not the case. You must take into account I am from New York City, so high prices is somthing I am use to. If you leave the resort do not wear any jewerly. The air conditioning in the restuarants is low that you will be swetting from the moment you wake up to the moment you go to sleep and even during your sleep. The one positive thing about this resort was that the grounds were in excellent condition and the pool was so large that it was never crowded. The food was good. It was not great but it was not bad. Overall, I would never go back to this hotel. It is definetly not a 5 star hotel. 3 1/2 stars is more like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2010

Beautiful beaches saved this hotel

We have been to all of the Excellence resorts now. This one was least by far our favorite. The staff was ok, the grounds were beautiful and manicured. Hotel is showing its age. The beaches were absolutely gorgeous and we took one excursion to Saona Island which was breathtaking. We HATED being harassed by the vendors they let onto the properties almost every day! My husband and I were sick about 5 of the 9 days we were visiting. We could not figure out what it was as we were not drinking the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Feb 24, 2011

PUNTA CANA

SERVICE WAS WONDERFUL ! FOOD HAD ALOT TO BE DESIRED,MAYBE JUST NOT INTO GOAT AND DIFFERENT TASTE IN THEIR BEEF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2009

ok, but not great

our vacation was ok, but not great. Our issue is we have stayed at very lovely locations in the caribbean and this place was very average. The food was not very good. The service was adequate, but was not helpful if there was a problem or concern. They were somewhat dismissive. Don't venture off the resort property. The beach becomes very litered and we were told somewhat unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marley01
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Feb 20, 2011

Has the potential to be a lot better

Our Honeymoon: We were pretty disappointed when we walked into our oceanfront suite and were hit in the face by a strong smell of mildew. After we woke up the next morning with bites all over us, I demanded a new room. They did accomodate us, but it was a lesser room in the Excellence Club. The food is plentiful, but mediocre at best and service was slow. Don't bother with the Lobster House unless you like lobster thats like paste. One plus I can give is they have top shelf liquor and are generous with their pours! The resort has amazing potential with a great set up and beautiful surroundings but it just doesn't live up to its hype.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lastminute getaway
Business
PHILADELPHIA,PA
May 19, 2010

A BIT OVER RATED

OVER RATED,ROOMS ARE HORRIBLE,HAD TO BE MOVED TWICE,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

VARIETY/STEAK HOUSE WAS THE BEST

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2011

Like being on a land-locked cruise ship

First let me start by saying, I'm a Foodie and an independent traveler (meaning, I typically prefer charting my own course vs. relying on a tour guide). So please understand I see everything through that filter. I know everyone has a different travel style...but for me, Excellence was at BEST "Mediocre." The Property: A little old and beginning to show it's wear. Still, it's nice and maintained well. My A/c and hot water didn't work in the first room ...so they moved me to another room which was fine. The new room had teensy tiny ants in certain areas, but not really enough to change rooms again for. The Staff: Super friendly and helpful. Will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. One drawback...(first cruise reference)... there were lots of "organized" activities. The staff were super aggressive about getting you to particpate in them. To the extent that you might be sleeping on the beach and they sit down beside you and wake you up to see if you want to play bingo. The Food: Left A LOT to be desired. Several themed restaurants... but they all apparently use the same "fajita spice mix"...so the asian themed restaurant offered a pad thai that tasted strangely mexican; the Lobster/Seafood themed restaurant offered a surf and turf featuring peppers sauted in a similar flavor profile (and the "turf" might have acutally been TURF b/c it was so tough ...and was also smothered in GRAVY?!?!; The Italian place ....you guessed it, fajita bolognese :-)... Strangely the at Mexican themed place I actually had a fajita...and it tasted like it'd been seasoned w/Oregano. Go figure. -- Second cruise reference...because ther resort is so far from everything ...you are TRAPPED...w/no access to anything else. No shopping, no new people, no new food. To get off the resort you need to spend a fortune on a taxi or do an excursion. I did two. Excursions: Super pushy sales people. Made me feel as though I was being scammed (for example a roving sales person at the beach offered me horseback riding for $45...and at the excursion counter it was $70. When I asked why the price difference...I got really vague answers.) I ended up doing the horseback riding, but felt super guilty the entire time as the horses were SKIN AND BONES. SO Sad! I tried to pick the most robust horse possible but even still was careful not to over work him. I also did a zip lining excursion, which was super fun and gave me a much needed break from the resort. All in all...the resort is fine, if you want to go somewhere...not think and kind of stay put. If you want to see the DR, eat good food and chart your own course...and if you're a single female...maybe pick a different, more accessible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ft lauderdale
Aug 8, 2009

good but not great

very nice but only a 3/4 star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top