$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
738 out of 738
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Wed K and G
Greensboro, NC
May 24, 2013

Great Trip

We took our honeymoon here. It is a bit off the beaten path but compared to other resorts we pulled up at dropping people off for excursions or airport pickups - it was super nice. Also, we were able to see the country side and how people live away from the resort. If you are interested in an all-inclusive, this is a great location. Tried all of the restaurants but Barcelona and they were all good. In room bar is top notch with 4 full bottles of liquor. Of course there are some language barriers with some of the staff but we worked it out. Go see Cheap Charlie at Nancy's right off the resort if you want to buy from local vendors. He doesn't harass or bother you and has great prices. Also, Mel from VIP was very helpful. We did dune buggies, scuba diving, Saona Island trip and Canopy ziplines. Wigi Wigi from Canopy made our ride to the zipline a lot of fun :) If you visit this beautiful country, get out and SEE the country! The mountains are awesome! Great place to visit. My husband called it his best trip ever! Would definitely recommend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bia
Business
Aventura, FL
Jul 27, 2009

Great Ambience for Couples

First off, the staff are very nice and very hospitable! They are always there to serve you with a smile on their face and to do whatever you ask them to! One thing that I didn't like was the distance from the airport. It is about 1 hour drive until you get to the hotel. I bought a transfer online which Orbitz recommended, Coco Tours, but I wouldn't recommend it, because on the way back, they pick you up at the hotel 4 hours before your flight leaves. So, my husband and I were at the airport for 3 hours, with nothing to do, when we could be back at the hotel enjoying it for a little longer. I would suggest getting a taxi if you are with other people so you can share. If you don't want to take a cab, try to find a different way of getting to the airport or check with other companies to see if they take you to the airport later. One thing about the hotel that I didn't like was that only 3 restaurants are open for lunch out of 8. I wish they would open all the other restaurants for lunch as well, and not only for dinner. I LOVED the French restaurant and the Mexican restaurant... GREAT food! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel... I would go back there for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Jul 27, 2009

Excellence is appropriate name

It was our anniversary and we recieved the complimentary anniversary package. Everything was wonderful and wiould definetly consider returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The flea market next to the resort is cheaper than the on resort stores. Nancey's do not high pressure you like the other stores at the flea market

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romancing mama
Business
Coatesville, PA
Jul 26, 2009

Paradise for 10th wedding anniversary

This is our third trip to the caribbean for an all-inclusive and it was by far the BEST! The staff is stellar, we never wanted for anything. Examples- mini bar stuffed to overflowing each day, hot bubble bath prepared while we were at dinner, cushions brought to us for the chaise lounge chairs on beach, food was delicious...we know 3 couples who have gone to Punta Cana and all got sick at other resorts- i drank the restaurant water like a fish and was fine! (they tell you to use bottle water in your room- and we did do that.) beach was clean and enormous but rough. my husband loved riding the waves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bar by the beach has help yourself soft serve which is delicious!! Didn't discover til the third day. Look for the spa's daily specials. One day you can get free axcess to the spa pools.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 25, 2009

Excellence, Punta Cana

Beautiful hotel; staff very friendly and helpful; extra activities available or do nothing but take in the sun, no pressure.. Some caveats: Room A.C. underpowered (can get pretty warm in rooms at times) Food at some restaurants not great (Stick to grill, pan-asian and mediterranean) Again, the service provided by the staff was outstanding (enough for us that we plan on returning)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dover, Delaware
Jul 23, 2009

Secluded Paradise

July 2009 - We have been to the islands 15 times now and we enjoyed this resort very much. Loved the fact that their isn't any other hotels anywhere near this resort which means a beautiful and secluded beach. The entertainment was entertaining, don't expect Las Vegas quality. They did have fireworks on the beach on the 4h of July, a nice touch. The restaurants were good and you did not have to make reservations. The resort was very clean and the people were "Excellente". Plenty to do at the resort so you won't have to go into town. The locals can be a bit pushy selling their stuff. The weather this time of year can me quite muggy but we did not have any mosquito issues. Do not wear flip flops on the wet tile floors if it rains. I slipped down the stairs and had to make a trip to the local hospital. ALthough they were very nice it was not a place you would want to go for a serious injury. Made the trip by taxi avoiding a few mules, horses, dogs and people in the roads. Go, enjoy and have fun. We saw Pedro Martinez there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newlyweds K and R
Business
Windham, ME
Jul 22, 2009

Absolutely amazing!

Our honeymoon at Excellence, Punta Cana was more than we could have hoped for! The staff went out of their way to give us everything we wanted and needed. The service was impeccable and each staff member greeted us with a smile and a warm, happy attitude, from the beach servers to the BBQ chefs to the bartenders. The food and drink choices were incredible, the entertainment was always exciting, and the grounds are beautiful and spotless (they are ALWAYS cleaning). There is always something to do, pool and beach volleyball, poolside dance lessons, shows at night, beach games, bbqs on the beach, Spanish lessons, and the staff will always join in. Your food options are endless, elegant dining to linen tableclothed bbqs on the beach. The beach is spotless and the service is astounding, from the drinks brought to you constantly to the helpers who will fluff your towels for you. Please always remember that even though it is an all-inclusive a small tip of a dollar or two means the world to the people who are treating you like kings and queens. It is worth every penny! Please be kind and polite to the wonderful people who work there. They work really hard and deserve a tremendous amount of respect. A please and thank you in Spanish is easy to learn! Have a wonderful time, enjoy every minute! We did and will go back as soon as we can!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Wear sunscreen!!! Drink tons of bottled water each day so you don't dehydrate. Put ALL valuables in the safe!!! Don't bring a laptop- you're on vacation and shouldn't care about anything else other than relaxing. Always have a few single dollars on you to tip-they are constantly waiting on and serving you! Be polite, say hello, please and thank you in Spanish. See the shows at night. Do the Soama Island excursion. Remember to haggle when shopping but be nice about it. That is their culture. Go to Nancy's on the beach, just left of the resort for shopping but be prepared for them to push. Don't be rude and work with them on prices. Get massages there, better price and best massage. They need the money the most! Remember how poor they are...it puts it all into perspective. Let go and relax!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KY Kouple
Business
Kentucky
Jul 21, 2009

Pretty Good all around.

This was a nice resort - not the best, but nice. We paid extra for the ride to and from the airport, but had to meet with the Orbitz rep, who was never where he said he'd be, to arrange the ride back. This of course comes with a hard-sell about buying the extras. The second you step off the resort property, you are accosted by locals trying to sell you stuff, and one night they actually let these sales people into the hotel - they actually physically grab you to try to sell you their goods. Breakfast buffet was great, the activities were mostly fun, and the room was lovely. Towel and mini-bar service was sporadic. We had a hot tub in the room, but the water was murky and greasy looking. Nice shops, but some of the food was terrible - DON'T order the hamburger. I don't know what it was. Staff was great, except one guy who hung around the sports bar and tried to sell tennis lessons. He wouldn't let up and kept changing the TV channel to a soap opera when several people were there to watch the NBA playoffs. We avoided that bar after that, which was a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I'd go with someone other than Orbitz. This is the second time we've had trouble with their reps wasting our time and trying to sell us stuff.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vacation vicky
Business
indianapolis,in.
Jul 21, 2009

somethings wrong in punta cana

diarrhea was the theme at the pool. husband was sick for 7 days.paid alot but couldnt eat the gourmet or go on any excursions.saw the dr.on staff. rx was out of meds. due to everyone with diarrhea.if they can fix the bacterial issues we would have loved it.cant recommend tho.tourists from other resorts did not report this massive an outbreak of illness.sorry but it messed up the whole trip.love the people on staff tho. very kind.the room was clean but we still had roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the place was great,wonderful staff! the food was fermented .we couldnt go on any excursions.my hubby had severe diarrhea for7 of our 10 days there plus 2 more afterward.COMPLAINTS about illness.watch the food!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 20, 2009

Nice Getaway for Couples

Great location with beautiful beach, pools, & grounds. Excellent, friendly staff. Food and drinks were great. Room was moldy and musty smelling. Also, dress code for dinner was a little much for the hot weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring the coolest clothing possible.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
Jul 19, 2009

Excellence Resort Punta Cana

Friendly staff, clean rooms, amazing pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top