$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
781 out of 781
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YEY
Business
New York
Sep 17, 2009

Excellence Trip

It was very relaxing! We took full advantage of the all inclusive. We did horseback riding. It was a wonderful romantic vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lizndee
Business
queens,ny
Sep 16, 2009

2009 punta cana

I would like to say the hotel was nice the pool area was huge.I love the food it was the best. The night time entertainment was awesome. What i really dint like about the hotel was the entertainment in the pool area there was really none very boring no music it was the first vacation my husband and i had taken that the entertainment suck during the day. besides that the rooms where not that clean.Im sorry to say i would not go back there again. The ride from the airport was an hour and it extends after they drop everyone else in there hotels they leave u for last because the hotel is the furthest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Do your shopping at the beach they have shops all the way at the end on the beach we dint no about them until the last day of our vacation prices are good always negotiate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Cana
Sep 16, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

We had read some reviews about the drive to the hotel, the staff ect. Sure there were bumps in the road, a few things may not have been perfect but over all everything at Club Excellence was top notch. Even though all was inclusive we tipped some help here and there. Also did not go with any expectations. All we can say is that it was a wonderful resort, the staff was excellent and went out of the way to make you feel comfotable, also the food was great. We met some very nice people from other areas also on vacation. Dominican people are wonderful. Some language differences but we also learned some Spanish along the way. We took a few day trips and it makes you feel lucky for what you have. 100% would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most are off the resort and they do a good job of keeping tabs on you for pick up and drop off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced Luxury Traveller
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 14, 2009

Drinks were good...

If you go to this resort expecting 2 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised. If you expect a luxury resort with 4 or 5 star quality then you will be very disappointed. The food was not good. The rooms were not impressive (and we stayed in one of the largest and best locations on the resort), and the beach was average. We had bugs in our room, the shower hose broke, and there was the constant odor of sewage in the bathroom. The only positive thing I can be fair about is the quality of the drinks. For the money you can get better all around in every category staying at a different resort. My wife and i are very particular and like nice quality resorts. If you don't mind average quality then this resort will be for you. If you are expecting luxury I would pass on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take enough cash with you before leaving. You will spend more if you need to take out Dominican Pesos and then change them back to US dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Fani
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 13, 2009

excellente!

The place very private with an excellent all-inclusive program. The food was delicious. Staff was friendly and entertaining. Great place for couples. Bring plenty of One dollar bills to tip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Be sure to join hotel activities- Lots of nice prizes like Spa treatments!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shery
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 7, 2009

Excellent Stay!

We stayed in a junior swim up suite and it was fantastic. At first we were on the opposite side of the resort than the other couple we went with, and the pool was beautiful with a waterfall. we requested to move closer to our friends, and the resort was extremely accommodating. we moved to a room that was 20 feet or so away from the swim up bar, which was fantastic. the beach was beautiful and we found out one night that the resort has employees with weapons patrolling the beach at night for all of the guests' safety. the restaurants were fantastic, although some (mexican, french) were without air conditioning. the sushi at the asian restaurant was the best i've had. we took an atv tour through a small town and countryside outside of the resort and had a really great time. the tour guide showed us around and told us about how real dominicans live. we also took a day trip to do the canopy adventure, which is a series of ziplines through the mountains about an hour away from the resort. it was absolutely beautiful and the staff were very friendly and safety-conscious. all of the resort staff were cheerful and extremely helpful, especially the entertainment staff who all made sure everyone was having a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

just down the beach from the resort is a sort of camp set up called nancy's walmart. do not buy cigars from there. they will give you a good cigar to try, and then sell you a box filled with rolled banana leaves. the best place we found to buy cigars is the rancho de differente gift shop outside of the resort. we stopped there on the way back from the atv tour and picked up a box of 25 along with some mama juana for $60 cheaper than on the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 7, 2009

Amazing Resort, Best I've been to

We celebrated our fifth anniversary there, and it was a great week. We chose to stay on the resort the whole time, and we loved it. Some people we know went on the excursions (island trip, safari, etc) and said they were great too, but we just wanted to relax and enjoy the ocean and pool. The service was excellent, with every person eager to help. The only small downside was the older man working at the sports desk (where you get snorkel, etc.). He seemed really annoyed every time we came for a snorkel or boogie board, but other than that one person, everyone on staff were great. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are very nice. I've got only good things to say about the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweet Carolyn
Business
NYC
Aug 31, 2009

Great Trip!!!

We have stayed at a bunch of all-inclusive resorts over the past 5 years or so. This one was definitely one of the best. Excellent staff that went the extra mile. It is obvious the staff is concerned about your stay as they are always trying to improve on things as we had multiple inquries on how our stay was going. In regards to resort entertainment, it was great. Food was very good for resort food with a very wide selection of fine dining. Beach was beautiful. Pool very nice and clean. No kids as it is adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, VA
Aug 29, 2009

Dominican Experience

The entertainment staff and Bar staff was great. The pool(s) were well maintained had a good swim up bar and easy access to chairs, both shaded and in the sun. Beach access and chairs again both in the sun and shade were excellent. Food was upscale for dinner, but had to were long pants which in the dominican heat was an issue. They put out a great spread on Friday and a dominican spread on Tuesday night on the beach, but was a little disrupted by mosquitos. Nightly entertainment at 10PM was great most nights. Access to shopping was limited, but to the resorts left there was a local market with reasonable shops within walking distance along the beach. Beach access was rougher waters than some other resorts in the area. Excursions were long rides to get to. A great relaxing resort if you tend not to leave the resort. Not recomended if you do excursions or swim in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To the left of the resort facing the beach are a set of shops that offer cheaper prices. They also offer a 70 minute massage for $45 vs the 50 minute massage at the resort for $70. Although the resort spa was beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Super Honeymoon

This was an amazing trip. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff as well as a glass of champagne. Throughout our stay we encountered friendly staff and an overall great experience. The only negative thing we encoutered were ants in our room. We called the front desk and they sent someone right up. However we still had ant problems during our stay. Overall, I would def recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top