$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
744 out of 744
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Oct 3, 2009

Relaxing and lazy vacation

The staff was fantastic, always in a good mood. The food offered for lunch and dinner was great, with a variety of selection, everything wonderful (especially the desserts). Breakfast wasn't on par with the other meals though but ok, lacking things we take for granted as typical American staples. The location of the restaurants was really nice, very convenient. The resort was perfect for relaxing, with no incessant hounding to join in activities. However there was a wide variety of things to do, spread from mid-morning through late night. The hotel was perfect for relaxing and doing as much or as little as you want. All of the building interiors were spectacular, from the lobby to the rooms. We got the lowest grade room available but it was still luxurious. Most days we'd come back to the room to see towels made up as swans, or rose petals on the sink and bed. We always had a handful of small bugs crawiling around the sink though. We went from Sept. 4th - Sept. 9th 2009, just as the rainy season is really getting underway. Our experience with rain was mostly isolated from late night through early morning, with it raining most nights. The power did go out for a few minutes here and there, once or twice during heavy rain, other times when it was sunny out. Believe this is common with the Dominican Republic as a whole. The main pool was amazing as well, stretching across most of the resort. The beach area was wonderful. More than enough chairs and cabanas to go around, at least at this time of year. The sand was superb. We've been to a handful of tropical beaches but something about the softness of their beach really stood out. Of note is the fact that an artist sets up some gorgeous paintings along the beach. If only it was easy to ship them home. The location of the resort itself is both good and bad. It's nice that it's away from everything but it does take a little over an hour by car from Punta Cana airport. Can't say enough about all-inclusive resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Atlanta, GA
Oct 1, 2009

Nice stay, but not exceptional

One of the better resorts in the DR but keep in mind that this is by DR standards. Staff was extremely friendly and engaging. The food was good but not stellar; some of the food wasnt good at all. Rooms are nice and some have nice patios. Fairly clean for the most part but the water situation in the DR makes it inadvisable to use the jacuzzis in the rooms. Good entertainment and activities. The resort is fairly isolated from the areas where most of the other resorts are (one hour ride from the airport). Next time I would probably go to a resort in the Bavarro region since they are grouped together and offer different combinations of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Arrange transportation to and from the airport beforehand using Cocotours or another such company because they will only charge $35-$45. Taking a cab will cost $70 and the ride will be the most dangerous you will ever take in a car. The resort is one hour away from the airport.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Orlando, FL
Sep 27, 2009

Couples Only

The hotel offered very little on site activities. The staff were very hard to communicate with, since they did not understand any English. Lack of proper air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark/Margaret
Couples
philly Metro
Sep 27, 2009

Our Honeymoon

GOOD 1.) Hotel Staff--Top Notch Service 2.) Restaurants - excellent choices 3.) Entertainment - great/funny 4.) Beach/Pool - wonderful and relaxing 5.) Remote Location - away from the street vendor/haggling--great!! BAD 1.) Remote location - so far from airport/excursions 2.) Entry to Hotel - road was so bumpy/needs repairs 3.) Traveler's Checks - hotel didn't want to cash in/take American Express

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Marlton, N.J.
Sep 23, 2009

The Ultimate All Inclusive Vacation

Compared to other all inclusive resorts that I have stayed at, this was the most inclusive! Premium liquor, minibar, room service, snacks in the rooms, robes and even slippers! The quality of the food was great, and the service staff was very friendly and accomodating. The resort is in a very wonderful & beautiful setting in a tropical location where your dreams can come true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Amboy, NJ
Sep 23, 2009

Excellence for sure

It doesn't get any more beautiful or relaxing. The resort and its staff are dedicated to making you happy and it's just perfection here. Excellence in Mexico was the same way. Beautiful and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MEL & EARLINE
Couples
Roswell, GA - USA
Sep 20, 2009

Excellence Punta Cana

We have been all over the Caribe since 1990 and this resort was the best. Hobie Cat Sailing was fantastic, Food was great, Staff was great. Just go and relax!!! MEL & EARLINE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hobie Cat Sailing was great, but they do not train you. You must be a seasoned sailor to enjoy it - they may upgrade them soon, but for now it's only a 14ft. Ask for [...], he's the best staffer at the Dive Shop Area. Also, since the resort is North of Barvaro Beach, it's a long ride up - but worth it!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YEY
Couples
New York
Sep 17, 2009

Excellence Trip

It was very relaxing! We took full advantage of the all inclusive. We did horseback riding. It was a wonderful romantic vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Punta Cana
Sep 16, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

We had read some reviews about the drive to the hotel, the staff ect. Sure there were bumps in the road, a few things may not have been perfect but over all everything at Club Excellence was top notch. Even though all was inclusive we tipped some help here and there. Also did not go with any expectations. All we can say is that it was a wonderful resort, the staff was excellent and went out of the way to make you feel comfotable, also the food was great. We met some very nice people from other areas also on vacation. Dominican people are wonderful. Some language differences but we also learned some Spanish along the way. We took a few day trips and it makes you feel lucky for what you have. 100% would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Most are off the resort and they do a good job of keeping tabs on you for pick up and drop off.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced Luxury Traveller
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Sep 14, 2009

Drinks were good...

If you go to this resort expecting 2 star quality you will be pleasantly surprised. If you expect a luxury resort with 4 or 5 star quality then you will be very disappointed. The food was not good. The rooms were not impressive (and we stayed in one of the largest and best locations on the resort), and the beach was average. We had bugs in our room, the shower hose broke, and there was the constant odor of sewage in the bathroom. The only positive thing I can be fair about is the quality of the drinks. For the money you can get better all around in every category staying at a different resort. My wife and i are very particular and like nice quality resorts. If you don't mind average quality then this resort will be for you. If you are expecting luxury I would pass on this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take enough cash with you before leaving. You will spend more if you need to take out Dominican Pesos and then change them back to US dollars.

Back to menu Return to top