$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
774 out of 774
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 5, 2010

Excellence Punta Cana

Excellent restaurants, especially the French Restaurant. Problem with the Airport. Poor placement of the aircraft. Worker took me in a wheelchair to the plane. He wasn't paying attention, hit a crack in the pavement and dumped me on the ground. Poor housekeeping - failed to provide towels and other amenties on several occassions,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Excellent french restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New City, NY
Jan 5, 2010

Wonderful anniversary celebration

My husband & I went to celebrate our 30th Anniversary. We loved everything about this resort. We were greeted with a glass of champagne upon check in. The staff was very courteous and helpful. All 8 restaurants were fantastic, the food & service was great. The beach & pool area are amazing, & we had no problems getting a seat at either, & we were there over New Year's Weekend. The staff came around often asking if we neeeded drinks, they even delivered pizza to us & we didn't have to leave the beach. The resort put on a spectacular New Year's Eve celebration - a circus act, followed by fireworks at midnight & then a bon fire on the beach. There was a show every night at 10pm in the main theatre area. The resort was kept very clean. The staff was constantly working to keep the place spotless. The bed was alittle hard, & the pillows were too flat, but that was the only complaint. We would highly recommend The Excellence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hyattplacewpb
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 4, 2010

Fabulous New Year's Vacation

This was a last minute trip for my hubby and I to end our year. The food at all restaurants was great, the service was outstanding and the people were so friendly and accomodating. The pool and beach were both great. They had a more active area and laid back area on each. The rooms were comfortable. Make a request, and they are there. We ate at Spice, The Grill twice, Toscano for lunch most days, Agave and the pool grill. All food was fantastic. The casino was also an added bonus along with the tropical area with flamingos, peacocks and ducks. The place was super clean and like a private little city in paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Agave - Vallarta Spring and the vanilla triple layer cake was the best, awesome service and atmosphere!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jan 4, 2010

Better then expected

Best that I've experienced in Punta Cana. Compares with Sandles resorts. The rip current prevented swimming in the ocean almost every day. The staff was friendly and had lots of personality. Be leary of the deep sea fishing. Very rough seas, 80% got sick 2 fish out of 5 boats with 6 people on each. I would highly recomned this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Go Cubbies
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 3, 2010

Absolutely Amazing!

This was the best all inclusive hotel we have ever stayed at! A little about us - We live in the heart of Chicago and work about 60 hours a week, so when we go on vacation, we want it to be perfect. This was perfect! The minute we arrived we had cool towels and glasses of Champagne. We checked in and they gave us a little tour of the resort and took us into the Excellence Club. It was worth the upgrade! The resort was beautiful, and EVERY DETAIL was thought out! We had our mini bar stocked daily, turn down service, never had to wait for restaurants or beach chairs, the beach was combed daily, they brought you pizza and drinks on the beach, the staff was very friendly and the entire trip was fabulous! We definitely did not want to come home! We are booking with some other couples for next December!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine81
Business
Washington DC
Dec 28, 2009

Great winter getaway

A great hotel with a perfect location. We'll be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribean cruiser
Business
Bosotn, USA
Dec 27, 2009

Beautiful beaches and welcoming staff

This hotel is beautiful..on the outside. The rooms are a bit disappointing as is the "ocean view" we paid for; the resort is set back from the ocean- separated by the pool and dining facilities- so don't waste your money on an ocean view, it should be called "pool view with a little ocean in the background". The beach, pool, and facilities were immaculate and impressive but the rooms were not: kind of smelly, small, cheap furniture. I was expecting something more luxurious based on the lobby and grounds. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The "excellence club" provides you with 24 hr room service and access to a lounge with the best food on the resort, free movie rentals, free internet access, and lots of other amenities that make it worth the few extra bucks per night. The only real disappointment other than the room, was the food- awful. But I guess that's what you expect from an all inclusive. The only decent restaurant was The Grill. And don't be fooled by familiar offerings like "apple pie" or "falafels", what you will be served will in no way resemble what you are expecting. Very weird. Overall, I'd say that this is a great place to lie on the beach, drink some free alcohol, and get away from children. But don't go for the food or to hang out in a luxurious suite. If you spend the whole time on the beach or in the pool then it is well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R&S
Business
Nashville, Tennessee
Dec 27, 2009

Sun and Fun All Inclusive

Stayed on location for entire stay, good spa, fitness ctr could use a ceiling fan, great pool and pool service. Premium "excellance club" was worth the upgrade. Food rather redundant and bland between restaurants, desserts could be improved. Nighttime entertainment shows were average/high school talent levels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Dec 25, 2009

Excellente!!!!!!!

My husband and I travel frequently inside and outside the U.S. We had a wonderful vacation at Excellence. [...] The ride was 45 minutes give or take a few from the airport to the hotel. No problem there. I was interested in seeing a bit of the country since we were not doing any excursions. The people in the van were very friendly. We only made one other hotel stop on the way to Excellence. The driver was friendly and the drive was safe. He had a companion in the van that was helping and hoped to work for the van company eventually. The companion was very friendly, very nice, and told us a lot about himself and the country. A great start to our trip... The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean and nice. The pictures on the website do not do the resort justice. It is much prettier than the pictures depict. Very, very nice retaurants, extremely friendly, professional and respectful staff. The food is excellente! Beautiful, beautiful nights with the clear sky, full moon and many many beautiful coconut trees. The waves were rough so we never swam in the ocean. We stayed by the pool, but the resort's beach was clean and well-groomed. The staff is constantly cleaning and fixing things up. I did not see anything in disrepair or unattended to. The grounds are very well-kept. Enjoy. Tip well. They deserve it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The floating mats are not supposed to be taken from the pool. They are to be shared, so if you go to lunch or take a nap please don't be a greedy and slide it under your chair like you own it. It just reflects badly on you...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2009

Great Extended Stay

Wonderful stay at the Excellence. My wife and I were supposed to stay for 5 days, 4 nights but after the huge East Coast snow storm we were "forced" to extend for another 2 days and couldn't be happier. Great friendly staff that always greeted you with a smile on their faces. Truly a great week in the amazing DR weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top