$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Playas Uvero Alto,, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
815 out of 815
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katya nova
Business
punta cana, dominican republic
Nov 20, 2012

best value for a romantic getaway!

my husband & i live on the island and travel to different resorts a lot - we are wedding photographers here. excellence stands above the rest when it comes to food, service, and room coziness. we staff are fantastic and the coconuts at the cascade pool are the perfect touch! love the decor - picture-perfect. we also love that there are mostly north-american couples in love, which makes for great conversations around the pool. last but certainly not least, lightning-fast wireless internet almost everywhere around the property!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the sit-down breakfasts & lunches are better than buffet...

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kegger39
Business
Texas, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Adults Version of Spring Break

Upon arrival the staff immediately greets you with champagne and a hot towel that is well needed after the 1 hour bus trip from the airport. Overall the grounds and lobby are pretty well kept. The rooms are quite musty and a bit outdated with an 80's vibe (pastel, pickeled wood). The musty odor is kind of a given with all the humidity. The mini bar in the base suite is beer and soda, no liquor. I am very familiar with my vodkas and this place boasts "premium liquor." They do offer Stoly, Absolut, or Finlandia, however there were multiple times where the liquor spoiled (possibly heat stress). We complained several times and they were willing to repour, however the issue was sometimes not resolved with a new bottle opened in front of our eyes. It was hit and miss. The bar staff was incredible, especially with a bit of tipping. Omar, Javier, Juan, Victor, and Altagarcia provided us with a plethora of service and a lot of humor, regardless of our location. They moved frequently but they always kept track of us. Pools were nice and good fun was had. The swim up bar gets a bit wild, but there were quiet areas for lounging. The beach was pretty, in terms of view. Beach maintenance was hit and miss. We did get kicked off the beach in the late evening. One staff member told us it wasn't a problem, but then it was according to another member. The food was decent and we really didn't go without choices. It wasn't five star quality but it was 3.5/5.0. It lists "casual elegance" for men, but jeans and a collared shirt and shoes are appropriate. We just wanted to lounge on the beach, in the pools, and take in some beverages. We went with one other couple, which is a good thing. There were many single couples that were looking for someone with which to converse. If you are looking for a kid-free, extended weekend with another couple, it is worth the trip. We went during "hurricane season" however experienced only one afternoon of rain. Going during this season provided a lower rate. I wouldn't pay peak season prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zeus963
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 17, 2011

Excellence Hotel - Fair Stay

We stayed at this hotel for 7 days and upon arrival our room was ready, but the tub in the room was dirty. We called the front desk and it was cleaned right away. Their are 8 restaurants at the resort, but only 3 I thought were very good and the rest served the same type of food day in and day out (need to change that for guests). The room was clean and maid service was very good. The main problem at this hotel were the mosquito's, and unfortunately they were in the room which made for a really bad stay. Please do not book any tours with Coco Tours especially to do the doom buggies some of their staff were really rude to us and that left a soar taste in our mouths. In all fairness the staff were really good and attempted to correct errors when possible. Hope your stay will be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymoon Getaway
Business
South Carolina
Dec 24, 2011

Expected More

Me and my now wife visited the Excellence for our honeymoon. The resort is very pretty, however we were somewhat disappointed in the food and stay at the resort. What bothered us the most was someone coming up to you every 5 minutes asking you to buy something or go on a trip even after saying no the first time. It got to the point to where we were trying to dodge the members of the resort to keep from being asked to buy something. The food was OK which is about the most we can say about it..our "hot apple pie" came served frozen and we couldn't even get a fork in it. Free drinks seems to be the biggest asset to the "all inclusive" but being that neither me nor her are big drinkers this didn't really stand out to us. I think next time we will look for a vacation somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The night shows were all great. We would highly recommend anyone visiting to attend these.

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shawntem
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Good Time

We had a good time. The hotel staff is nice, friendly and accommodating. However, the food is not very good and the entertainment is lacking. It was a glorified cruise ship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gamecock
Business
Fort Mill, SC, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great Beach, Horrible Service

After staying at Excellence Playa Mujeres, I had very high hopes for this vacation. We went with friends who have all stayed at Excellence Resorts in the past and had great experiences. We were there over New Years. The drive from the airport is almost and hour. If you get car sick, the take some medicine beforehand since the roads are rough. When we got to Excellence, it looked nice. The front desk workers were very friendly. We were supposed to stay in building 12, but they changed us to 4. Thanks goodness they did. Our other friends got 12 and it was a dump. Room: The room was average at best. The shower was very small. The bed was minimally comfortable and had about 50 thread count sheets that feel like sandpaper. The comforter was cheap and felt like polyester. Pillows thin and uncomfortable. The AC barely worked and the room was hot and muggy. Bars, Food, and Restaurants: Other than the Grill, I would say the food was terrible. It was worse than food on a bad cruise. The service was equally as bad. We spent 3 hours at the New Years Eve dinner and the food was not good. Service was so bad that we eventually went to the bar to get our own drinks. Most of the waiters did not speak good English and things got lost in translation. I am not sure if the regular staff was off for vacation, but it was bad. The drinks and service at the beach and bars was pretty good though. Beach and Pools: These are the only saviors for this resort. The beach is immaculate and the water is beautiful. The pools are well maintained and extend almost the entire property. pool service for the bar is great. Entertainment: The New Years bash was great until the ball dropped. I mean who plays Mariah Carey's "All I Want For Christmas" as their New Years song? The breakdancing was pretty awesome. The sports area is also pretty nice. Casino: The casino is very small. Only Blackjack, Roulette, and Slots. The staff is not very friendly, but we still had fun. Not very much English spoken in here either. Overall I was very disappointed with this resort. I expected more from Excellence. The Dominican is very beautiful, but this hotel ruined it for me. If I ever decide to go back it WON'T be at Excellence. Playa Mujeres was about a 1000 times better than this one. Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann and Wall
Business
Western, NY, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Nice hotel. However it is not a five star.

This hotel seems to very old and the rooms are a bit run down. Dont count on having internet acess at this hotel. Room service on average is about a two hour wait and the order was wrong seven out of eight times we ordered. Over all i would give the food a B- and room service food a C. That staff at this hotel do an excellent job and the people in the region are some of the nicest we have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boogie Adventures dune buggy excursion. Top notch and tons of fun!!!!

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Islander2
Business
NY
Jul 8, 2012

Good for 3 or 4days

If you stay only at the hotel without going out, it's perfect. Ocean was a little bit rough, so we couldn't swim. The lagoon at the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time Punta Cana
Business
Vermont
May 8, 2013

Nice Beach Getaway

My wife and I spend 6 days in this hotel. I have to say the premises are nice, they have a nice pool, the lobby, bars and restaurants are really good, but some of them lack of air conditioning so sometimes where a little hot. We love the beach that it was the excellent part you are surrounding by a beautiful beach and palms and you can just relax. The staff was great they treat you very good and always there to help you. The bad part for us was the room is not that excellent. It was old and have a weird glass window on the bathroom that you can see your bed is just awkward. For us it was a good hotel not an excellent hotel, we might never come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zto03
Business
lampasas, texas
Dec 17, 2013

Excellence

The food was below average, the fact that there are 9 restaurants but it was hard to piece together a really good diner. There's only one pool bar for those who like to drink which is kind of a pain. The biggest disappointment was the bed which was rock hard...and by rock hard I mean the floor was probably softer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Excellence Punta Cana Luxury Adults Only - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arash
Business
Reseda, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 30, 2014

Overall it's good

The foods and restaurants were average. The building is old however the beach and pool are great. Overall we had a great time but I don't rate this resort as a 5 stars hotel. Probably either 3.5 or 4 starts hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top